Laurière chateau / country house rental - Front of House
Front of House
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
 

Laurière Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedroomed House,sleeps up to 14 people.

Gite de Lauriere offers three 1st floor bedrooms, 1 king-size and 2 doubles, these bedrooms are en-suite, with a fourth bedroom (twin beds) and a bathroom on the ground floor. Further sleeping arrangements are made on the large mezzanine by way of a double sofa bed and 2 single beds and 2 camp beds, A travel cot is also available. A large fully equipped farmhouse kitchen, dining room with seating for 12, a super size lounge with log burning fire, bar area with fridge, TV/DVD and comfortable seating.

A large games room with full size table tennis and dart board.

A selection of bicycles (3 children and 2 adult) to explore the countryside.

Outside we have a secure fenced and gated large courtyard, a mixture of lawn and pebbles, with outdoor dining tables, sun-loungers and a BBQ..To the side of the house across a small lane we have a grassed recreation area.

Garage facilities for motorcycles if required.

Well behaved pets welcome.

Open all year, Gite de Lauriere is ideal for large families, or groups of friends holidaying together.

A perfect venue for your Birthday/Christmas/New Years Eve celebrations and meetings and an ideal base if you are house-hunting.Shorter stays welcome please see rates section for details or contact us for a price.

For up to 4 people, we also offer Les Volets Blancs.

We are just a few kilometres from the small market town of Lauriere where you will find a mini-market, bank with ATM, chemist,butchers and cafe/ bar.

Horse Riding and Pony Treking can be arranged with Elevage des Forges, our local Equestrian Centre. Use this link for more information www.elevagedesforges.com

Located just 35-40 minutes away are the premier golf courses of Limoges.

Every weekend during the summer you will find a fete, brocante or music event in one or more of the charming towns or villages around the area. Visit our web site for links and more information. www.gitedelauriere.com

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 852514 in Laurière, France

Gite de Lauriere
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
business
Gite de Lauriere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p852514
+33 0555 494230
Laurière Limoges
Derbyshire
5

absolutely lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What can we say? Rural, idyllic, clean, quiet, friendly owners. Lovely gite. Can't praise it highly enough. Well equipped and comfortable. Easy reach of Limoges, Ambazac and Lac Vassiviere. Perfect!
Owner's Response: Our thanks for your excellent revue! So glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again. Perfect guests, thank you!
business
Gite de Lauriere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p852514
+33 0555 494230
Laurière Limoges
Haslemere, Surrey
5

HUGE house in the greenest countryside ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
As with all the other reviews, we have to say that Chris and Sue were amazing!. SO helpful and kind, they welcomed us and our 3 noisy children with patience and after 2 days even bought them a big paddling pool to swim in!... (Thank you so much! They didn't deserve it!!!)

The house offers so much space, lovely bedrooms with fabulous views. Great showers in the bathrooms. We didnt even make use of the enormous sitting room. The house is surrounded by the most exquisite green hills and fields. There is a lovely lake in Lauriere that you can swim in with a cafe, and crazy golf. We also went to the biggest green maze in Europe, which is a 40 minute drive away, and a good day out.
All in all, a really lovely 4 day break. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Thank you so much Chris and Sue.
Highly recommended!

(and we forgot to thank you for the red wine you gave us on our arrival that we forgot to repay you for!)
Owner's Response: Thank you!
It was our pleasure having you here with us, so glad you enjoyed your stay and
we hope to see you again.!

Chris and Sue.
business
Gite de Lauriere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p852514
+33 0555 494230
Laurière Limoges
5

Much more than perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
If I said it was perfect I would be unfair... it was much more than that!. From the beginning we felt like at home. Starting from the hospitality of the owners, Sue and Chris -they gave us two very beautiful examples of their hospitality and human quality-, the landscape, the facilities, the cleanliness, the house clothing, the location... everything was... really perfect!
I strongly recommend it.
Ah! my little girls are looking forward to go again.
Thank you, Sue, Chris. we will never forget you.
Owner's Response: Well ! the perfect revue from the nicest of people! Thank you so much!
Don't bother going to Disney next time, just come here and we will entertain you!
The fantastic drawings your girls did for us are hopefully going on our web site, (if i can
do them justice with a photograph).
So again, thank you very much.

Nuestro afectuoso saludo!

Chris and Sue.
business
Gite de Lauriere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p852514
+33 0555 494230
Laurière Limoges
5

silence is golden

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were looking for somewhere that would offer us peace and quiet with plenty of outdoors activity, and we struck lucky with Chris and Sue's accommodation. Les Volets Verts is a modern self contained fully equipped apartment with comfy beds that allowed us to come and go as we pleased, and which is situated in beautiful unspoilt countryside. The English owners are very friendly and helpful, and we found their local knowledge invaluable when planning our days out. There are shops a few kilometres away, and a supermarket in Ambazac 15-20 minutes away by car. We also enjoyed visiting the beautiful city of Limoges. The area is on the Western edge of the Massif Centrale, and the countryside is lush and varied, with fields of cows alternating with wooded areas, and gently rolling hills. It's a perfect spot for recharging your batteries, and we'll definitely be back!
Owner's Response: Its Les Volet Blancs, but so pleased you enjoyed yourselves!
Thanks for a great review and we hope to see you again.
business
Gite de Lauriere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p852514
+33 0555 494230
Laurière Limoges
5

A Rare Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We came as a mixed group of 8 people to meet up and enjoy a bit of the Limousin area, and were finding it difficult to find anywhere that would accommodate us all so that we could still all be together. Then we found this place.

Chris and Sue made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived, and the whole place was really relaxed. We were able to walk the 5km to the lake which was really beautiful, which had watersports, a cafe, beach and fishing spots, then walk into Lauriere for a drink at the local bar.

We were also able to drive into Limoges which is just over half an hour's drive to rifle through the market and wander through the back streets looking at all the shops and amazing architecture. There's also an O'Brien's bar that sells a large range of beers and plays celtic music (if you want a taste of the Irish in France)!

It was amazing to be able to come back to the Villa where we had full use of the house and where we could cook a meal with the fresh food we had bought at the market, all sit down and eat together then either sit in the sun in the garden or use the bar in the huge living room downstairs. When we weren't out and about, we had plenty to keep ourselves occupied with in the games room and having internet and TV/DVDs.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to soak up some beautiful French countryside while also having lots to do and incredibly friendly hosts.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gite de Lauriere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p852514
+33 0555 494230
Laurière Limoges
5

OUR STAY AT THE GITE IN LAURIERE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
On arrival at the gite we were greeted by the owners Chris and Sue, who were very welcoming and helpful.
The part of the house that we stayed in was very nice,comfortable and exceptionally clean, . Everything we needed was there and if it wasn't, all we had to do was ask. The scenery from both the back and the front was amazing.
The location of the property gave us a good base to visit the places we wanted to see like Lake Vassiviere, which was beautiful.
The supermarkets are in Lauriere which is about 18 km away, but easy to find.
We loved everything about our stay.
We would recommend this property to everyone for its friendly atmosphere, its location, its comfort and facilities (especially that shower, wonderful lol). We also hope to return in the future.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gite de Lauriere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p852514
+33 0555 494230
Laurière Limoges
5

Highly recommended - would like to go back again

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We booked the Gite for a week in september. very clean, spacious and full of character- everything you could want. Local shops in the village which are approx 5 mins away - supermarkets a few miles further. Perfect for touring the Haute-Vienne area and convienient for trips into Limoges and the wartime village of Oradour-sur-Glare. Hosts (Chris & Sue) very friendly and helpful, giving lots of ideas of where to visit/go for walks etc, without being obtrusive if you would prefer to be left alone
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gite de Lauriere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p852514
+33 0555 494230
Laurière Limoges
5

Great place in the Sun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We stayed in this great little Gite in October. The British owners were very welcoming and were hapy to help throughout our stay. The Gite itself is an upstairs self contained appartment, very well kept with excellent facilities. There are excellent views from the front of the house. The house stands alone in its own land and is about 4 miles from the nearest village. A car is essential, but we travelled from the UK in our car, so we had transport. The journey from Calais is about 7 hours, and is easily done in a day. There are some things to do locally, we went to Oradour-sur-glan (about 20 miles) and walked around a local lake. If you are after a quite time to yourself, then this place is perfect.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gite de Lauriere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p852514
+33 0555 494230
Laurière Limoges
5

Wonderful gite in a beautiful area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We stayed at Gite De Lauriere in August and had a superb two week holiday. The gite was perfect for us, a large family with our parents. There was ample space for us all, very large and clean bedrooms a superb lounge with its own bar. We have stayed in many gites in France and in comparison this one rates very highly. Immaculate condition throughout, very clean and perfectly presented and with everything we needed for the holiday.

The children especially loved the outdoors, the house in an excellent rural location. Quiet enough that the children could play in the fields and woods most of the day, while we lazed in the garden. The nearest village is very quaint with a traditional french bar ( highly recommended). We also visited Ambazac, another lovely village with an excellent restaurant.

All in all a faultless holiday and a big thank you to the owners for making us so welcome, We shall certainly be returning.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gite de Lauriere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p852514
+33 0555 494230
Laurière Limoges
3

petit appartement bien décoré et pratique

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Nous avons été accueilli par un couple anglophone tres sympathique.
Sue et Chris sont tres discrets et serviables toujours prêt à rendre service.

Nous étions logés aux "volets blancs " petit appartement tres propre et bien entretenu.
Chaque chambre avait sa salle de douche avec produit de toilette, serviettes etc..
La vue du premier étage donne sur des champs et le jardin est clôturé.
Nous avions emmené notre chien qui pouvait courir ds le jardin..au matin ...le laisser sortir est une chose bien pratique!

L'endroit est isolé et calme mais a tout son charme,
Nous vous conseillons cet endroit.

Ghesquiere Hampe Marie Hélène