Bass Harbor apartment rental - Mother-in-law apartment over garage
Mother-in-law apartment over garage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Bass Harbor Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, kitchenette, sleeps 2

A secluded 'mother-in-law' apartment adjoining a new construction private home situated 95 feet from mean high water. Breathtaking views and sunsets...

The serene five acre wooded property enjoys 300 feet of rocky beachfront and abuts Acadia National Park and the famous Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse. Bar Harbor and other sections of the Park are a short drive.

The tastefully decorated apartment has one bedroom with a queen-size bed, bathroom with shower, kitchenette and living/dining area overlooking the water. Private phone and satellite TV with VCR, etc. There is a private entrance and parking in the finished garage below, which also features a washer and dryer and full-size refrigerator. His and her single speed bikes provided.

Outside; enjoy the quiet serenity of oceanfront estate living and lovely gardens. From the deck, (@ 50 paces walk outside) adirondak chairs or hammock; listen to offshore bell buoys, smell the salt air, look for shells, watch a harbor seal glide by or an eagle pass overhead.

No smoking nor pets. Maximum two adults.

Keywords: 'Mother-in-law' apartment

More Details
Hide Details

Andrew retired from the Navy in 1994, and we moved back to Maine to enjoy a quiet lifestyle. We designed and built our dream house, including the 'Mother-in-law' apartment for Dianne's Mom. (Hence a lot of privacy was designed in). Andrew is a 747 Captain flying freight literally all over the world. Dianne is a retired nurse and avid gardener.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1994

Mount Desert Island has been a destination summer resort for centuries due to it's majestic natural beauty. Acadia National Park is the second most visited Park in the U.S.

Quiet, vewy, vewy quiet! Fantastic sunsets!!! The famous Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse is our only neighbor to the south. Several picturesque ocean trails of Acadia National Park are within walking distance.

The majority of ANP is about a 25 minute drive.

30 Reviews of Property 85130 in Bass Harbor, Maine

Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 30 reviews
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Westampton, NJ
5

Guestbook Comment

A great place to stay for peace,quiet beautiful harbor views and a secluded rocky beach. So relaxing! A short drive to Acadia Park and Bar Harbor, but...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
A great place to stay for peace,quiet beautiful harbor views and a secluded rocky beach. So relaxing! A short drive to Acadia Park and Bar Harbor, but a quiet restful place to return to at the end of the day. Beautiful sunsets and great lobster dining nearby.
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Clarion, PA / USA
5

Fantastic place on the quiet side of the island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Better than expect place, very clean. This rental has fantastic views, with unlimited peace and quiet. We loved the views, the sounds of the harbor and the close proximity to all that MDI has to offer. Our hosts were absolutely the best. We were offered bikes, but we brought our own, the deck was not attached to the apartment, but that was no big deal. We cant wait to return. Took our bag chairs down to the shore every evening to watch the sun set, it was wonderful. Thanks Dianne and Andy, we enjoyed the stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A Wonderful Location and Fantastic Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was the perfect location to get away from the crowds and enjoy a quiet week in beautiful Bass Harbor. Diane and Andrew were inviting and welcoming with great information and help. We were able to enjoy the quiet and beautiful sunsets and hear the ocean waves roll in at night. I would definitely recommend this retreat to anyone looking to stay away from the crowds.
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect Choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This secluded apartment is exactly as advertised and depicted: scenic views, (including sunsets), quiet, clean and comfortable; a beautifully maintained, multi-acre property with access to the oceanfront. This rental is a perfect choice for a couple looking to experience all that Mount Desert Island has to offer and still have a "home" to return to at the end of the day. The owners were extremely helpful prior to our arrival and could not have been more accommodating during our visit. 10 minute drive to Southwest Harbor for bike rentals, kayak rentals, the Cranberry Isle ferry and a variety of shops and restaurants. Good hiking trails within the immediate area with more adventuresome trails only a short drive to the Beach Mountain and Echo Lake areas. We made multiple trips to Bar Harbor and other parts of the island and never found the Bass Harbor location to be a problem. We spent an active week on the island, but left with more to see and do. We hope to return to MDI and the apartment at Harbor Reach Farm at some time in the future. In the meantime, we are spreading the word with our friends.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Lovely Experience---total rest and relaxation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful stay at Harbor Reach Farm and would heartily recommend it. We found total rest and relaxation. The house is right on the water, close enough to Bass Harbor to walk to restaurants (we are walkers, though), next to the lighthouse, near a wonderful boat trip/wildlife trip to Frenchboro, and feels private and secluded. Great place for two people---cozy and comfortable with nice details and decor. We saw deer on the property every single day, and enjoyed the swarms of butterflies on the back lawn. Dianne is a wonderful hostess---very friendly and knowledgeable about just about anything in the area, and was totally responsive and helpful. We also enjoyed her garden (as did the deer). We didn't try out the bicycles, but everything else in the listing was accurate. The property was clean and well-maintained. We enjoyed walking on the beach, walking to the lighthouse, sitting by the water. It's very quiet, but close to many activities and restaurants, including three of our favorite restaurants on Mt Desert Island. We loved being on the "quiet side", getting a chance to see parts of Acadia that are not the main drag. Bar Harbor is close, so we spent a day there as well, but were happy to escape the hubbub. We recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet and secluded spot on Mt. Desert, and hope to return next time we go to Mt. Desert Island!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
La Crosse, WI
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We truly enjoyed our stay at Harbor Reach Farm. Being right on the harbor was wonderful and we enjoyed sitting on the deck, walking the beach, and sitting by the water. Every night we fell asleep to the sounds of the waves on the beach. The sunsets were beautiful! The location really is on the "quiet side" of the island, yet close to many restaurants, shopping and activities. Andrew and Dianne are so helpful in suggestions for activities to pertain to our interests. They are both so friendly and nice!! The apartment is very cozy, clean and decorated very tastefully; There was plenty of room for the two of us. We will definitely contact Andrew and Dianne if we are lucky enough to make our way to Maine again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
MA
4

Summer 11 @ Bass Harbor

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My husband and I had a great week in Maine. The apt was very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for both relaxing days and all the activities that the area offers. Diane was a very welcoming host and offered lots of information on 'things to do' and 'places to go'. I have two caveats. First, the two bikes advertised as provided were not available. They had not been maintained. Second, the deck shown in photos is not attached to the apartment. Rather it is attached to the main house and can only be accessed from the garden. If you want a private deck space, this might not suit you. Overall a really nice place to stay and certainly a fantastic location.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
IL
5

Just the right place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We felt so lucky to find #85130 when we were searching for a Mt. Desert Island vacation. This property was everything that it promised to be... and more. We enjoyed something new every day... i.e. a doe and her fawn, a soaring eagle, lobstermen catching our dinner, lazily watching the sailboats while soaking up some rays, gorgeous sunsets, a brisk walk to the lighthouse and a symphony played out by the bouy bells. And then we got really wild and crazy and went to Bar Harbor where we shopped and took the free bus and enjoyed many stops in ANP. One day of that was enough. After all we only had one week on the "quiet side". This quaint place for 2 can be as much or as little as you want it to be and your hosts, Dianne and Andrew, will help in any way to make your stay perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Cincinnati, Ohio
5

Beautiful unforgettable views from an immaculate tastefully decorated apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This apartment is simply located on a beautiful, quiet, peaceful property! We enjoyed breathtaking views and listening to the calming sounds of the water, bell buoy, and lobster boats while sitting by the beach. The apartment couldn't have been cleaner and was tastefully decorated. It is obvious that this is a well taken care of home and apartment. Dianne was very helpful and friendly in making suggestions and giving advice. It was convenient having a garage and use of a washer and dryer. I would highly recommend Harbor Reach Apartment and we will definitely return. This was one of the most memorable vacations we've had. Maine is such a beautiful place and Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park have the most beautiful and unforgettable scenery!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85130vb
+1 (207) 244-4582
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Alexandria, KY
5

Surprisingly Convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
In addition to its beautiful setting, the apartment is convenient in many ways. The Bass Harbor Lighthouse and the (free) Mt. Desert Island bus service are both within walking distance. A number of restaurants, convenience stores, and walking trails are a short drive away. There is a library in Southwest Harbor which has computers with internet access available. We especially enjoyed the Seal Cove Auto Museum and Island Excursion, both of which were a relatively short distance from the apartment. The apartment was comfortable and the ocean views were breathtaking. Diane was very helpful and gave us some great recommendations for places to visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2