Canal District house boat rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Canal District House Boat Rental Photos and Description
Romantic houseboat in the heart of Amsterdam

The Wetter Winde (Change-in-the-Wind) is docked on the Brewers (Brewers Canal) - a picturesque canal adjacent to the famous Jordaan and the stately canals of the canal. The Wetter Winde is a 1920's cargo ship. It has been refurbished for comfort with an eye for its authentic allure and romance: rustic yet practical, clean yet homey. You can either sit on the swing on the back deck or on the main deck and enjoy the scenery and watch the boats pass by. To live on a boat is an amazing experience - the smell of the water, the water birds, the gentle rocking of the boat. A perfect accommodation for a romantic getaway or a fun vacation with friends. Private cruises or Amsterdam on the owner's antique demolition are available.

8 Reviews of Property 841486 in Canal District, Netherlands

Houseboat Wetter Winde.
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
business
Houseboat Wetter Winde.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841486
+31 0641373578
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Lovely, charming and great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My friend and myself stayed here for 4 night. We were pleasantly surprised at how close the boat is to everything! But yet still the perfect peaceful retreat that we were looking for! The boat has all the facilities that we needed.
Like the precious reviews say we were met by Arjen, who gave us they keys and was informative and friendly which was refreshing!
Great location charming boat, perfect for what we wanted, we had a great stay!!
business
Houseboat Wetter Winde.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841486
+31 0641373578
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Loved the houseboat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This houseboat was charming, cozy, and comfortable. It's in a great location - you can walk to anywhere you need to be, and there is a great street just a block away, but the neighborhood is quiet and peaceful. We had great fall weather and spent tons of time lounging on the roof reading and watching people & boats go by. We were on waving acquaintance with neighbors. Inside, we found everything we needed. I was able to cook and make coffee when I wanted, and there was even a TV and DVD player. (Cities make me tired, and sometimes I just need to relax at home!) The owner was very friendly and helpful, and was very cool about accommodating our arrival time, even though we didn't have a phone with us or anything. It's hard to believe this trip was five whole months ago... I still miss Amsterdam! I would absolutely stay here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Houseboat Wetter Winde.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841486
+31 0641373578
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Terrific Time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Loved our time on this boat! Arjen was the perfect host! We met him at the houseboat and he took us on a fun canal tour in which we learned much about Amsterdam.

This boat is quite old and charming. We were two middle aged couples staying for three nights and was not a problem to climb down the ladder into the living space. In the back of the boat is the bedroom with the bathroom between it and the living area. The living area has a futon for another bed with the kitchen at the opposite end. Kitchen was well stocked with all equipment necessary for cooking with seating for four at the dining table in which several meals were prepared during our stay. Amenities we found valuable were the washing unit and Internet access. Everything was neat, clean and well-maintained.

The bathroom shower is different compared to American standards, but did the job well and had HOT water. The neighborhood is fairly quiet and we were comfortable keeping the windows open overnight. Parking was available in front of the boat, but for a daily fee by the city. There is a double chair swing on top of the boat that was nice to sit out and enjoy the sunset and long summer evenings. A lively pub is two blocks away which had outdoor seating with welcoming and friendly staff.

I would recommend this property to my friends that are NOT high maintenance. This is for the adventurous soul that has overseas travel experience and looking to live as a local member of the community. It is charming, meets basic needs, good price within a very nice location. I'm looking forward to staying here again!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Houseboat Wetter Winde.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841486
+31 0641373578
Canal District Amsterdam
Greenville, South Carolina
2

Very disappointed

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I chose this boat based on the reviews and the pictures. The pictures were pretty much right on with what the boat looks like, but the pictures don't get close up with the dirty shower, kitchen, dusty blinds, etc. I am not at all picky, but the boat was extremely dirty, with hair on the pillows, dust everywhere and dirt on the floor. The door to the boat is heavy and requires a good bit of elbow grease to be able to open it. My daughter couldn't do it. If you are older and not sure on your feet, the entrance to the boat is a ladder. This wasn't a big deal to us, but it should at least be mentioned in the description. It is because we are not overly picky that we even stayed at all. I was in Amsterdam dropping my 18 year old daughter off for a 6 month work assignment, so she and I were able to use the boat as a home base while we saw the great sites of the city of Amsterdam. I can say that the location of this boat is fantastic. The Jordaan is beautiful, and I would stay in this part of town again.

My wife is coming back in March to visit out daughter. I would highly recommend that she stay in a houseboat in the Jordaan. Just not this one.
Helpful votes: 1/5
business
Houseboat Wetter Winde.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841486
+31 0641373578
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Feel part of Amsterdam on this idyllic houseboat .

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was our first trip away without the children to celebrate a special birthday. The boat is exactly as the photographs portray but with more character.Staying on the boat made us feel part of Amsterdam life rather than a visiting tourist. The boat and location is perfect and close to the supermarket and bars / coffee shops and tourist attractions but in a quiet residential area for a peaceful getaway.
Arjen the boat owner was the perfect host and oozed charm and personality.He arranged a birthday boat trip for us which we will never forget - especially Arjens horn blowing ! He was the perfect gentleman and very knowledgeable about the history and architecture of Amsterdam. We learnt more from him than we would have from any other guided tour.
The accommodation was clean and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. We are already planning to return to the Wetter Winde again next year.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Houseboat Wetter Winde.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841486
+31 0641373578
Canal District Amsterdam
Fontainebleau, France
4

Great little houseboat in Amsterdam

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We just stayed here for 3 nights in March '12. Had a great time. Arjen was wonderful host even hosting us for a quick boat tour around town. Place is small, as one would expect, low ceilings were noticeable since I am tall (1m90) but no problem. This boat as been around a while so a small musty smell but no real problem with that either. Absolutely amazing location, quiet neighborhood, local bars, coffeshops, resto right around every corner,but out of the main busy tourist streets. Multiple parks close by for our 2 boys to run and play. Had everything we needed on the boat and easy access to attractions and easy walk to/from train station. would definitely recommend for an off the beaten path stay and would stay here again.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Houseboat Wetter Winde.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841486
+31 0641373578
Canal District Amsterdam
4

Superschön

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Wir haben 3 wundervolle Tage auf dem Boot verbracht. Der Empfang war sehr herzlich und wir haben viele nützliche Hinweise und Tipps erhalten. Das Boot entspricht zu 100% der Beschreibung. Die Lage ist toll und es ist alles fussläufig zu erreichen. Die Umgebung ist ruhig und angenehm. Man findet alles auf dem Boot, was man braucht. Wir haben nichts vermisst. Es war ein tolles Erlebnis, einmal auf einem Boot zu leben und Amsterdam ist eine wunderschöne Stadt.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Houseboat Wetter Winde.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841486
+31 0641373578
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Tophausboot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Wer ein echtes "Bootsfeeling" haben möchte der ist hier richtig. Ein wunderschönes Hausboot in zentraler Lage in Amsterdam und trotzdem sehr ruhig.

Eine der schönsten Shoppingmeilen Amsterdams in unmittelbarer Nähe und ein großer Park um die Ecke. Besser kann man in Amsterdam nicht wohnen....aber man muss Boote lieben.
Helpful votes: 5/5