Gulf Shores house rental - Lucy the Big Bama Beach House
Lucy the Big Bama Beach House
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 - 30 nights
 

Gulf Shores House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

Sorry, our quiet cul de sac is not appropriate for college groups!

Lucy the Big Bama Beach House is a wonderful, family-friendly, Gulf Shores vacation rental beach house--close to the beach, lots of room, PLUS a shared pool (March-October) and fishing pier! We think the Gulf and lagoon offer you the best of both worlds.

Lucy is located in a quiet family-oriented setting in the West Beach area of Gulf Shores just 300 yds from the beach, and 2.5 miles west of Hwy 59. You are away from the condos and crowds, yet close to all the restaurants and activities. Our cul-de-sac is directly on Little Lagoon so you have good fishing and crabbing, a place to tie up your small boat or jetski, or just a wonderful place to enjoy sunset cocktails (a neighborhood tradition!).

With over 2700 square feet on 3 Floors plus 2 Large Covered Porches & 2 Open Decks, you'll have plenty of room to spread out at Lucy the Big Bama Beach House.

Lucy sleeps up to 14 in 4 Bedrooms + 3rd Floor Crow’s Nest. Each bedroom opens to a porch or deck. There are 3 large, full baths, a powder room on the main floor and an outdoor shower.

There are 2 King Masters, 1 on the Main Floor, 1 on the 2nd Floor. Each has a Private Bath, Private Deck, and TV. The Main Floor Master Suite is extra luxurious with a King Bed & Luxury Bath with Garden Tub & a Separate Shower.

On the 2nd floor you'll find 2 More Bedrooms, a 3rd King and a Family Bedroom with a Queen + a Pair of Twins. In the 3rd Floor Crow's Nest you'll find another Pair of Twins.

Lucy's lovely, tranquil setting & amenities make it a truly unique place for a family vacation. Just across a cul-de-sac from the house there’s a Shared Pool, Fishing Pier with Boat Slips & a Small White Sand Beach on Little Lagoon. You are just 300 yards from the Big White Sand Beach on the Gulf.

This peaceful Pool & Pier retreat is just for the houses on our cul-de-sac. The covered fishing pier is a great place to fish, crab or just relax. Cocktails at sunset on the pier are a tradition in the neighborhood - the sunset view is one of the prettiest in Gulf Shores.

The pier is equipped with chairs, a fish cleaning table, lighting, electricity & hammock hooks. You can even tie up a boat or jet ski here. There is room in the driveway to park a boat trailer, and a nearby public launch. The Pool is open March through October and offers a beautiful view of the lagoon & plenty of lounge chairs for relaxing. And the little beach by the pool is a safe place for even small children to wade & play in the sand while you relax at the pool or pier.

Click on the link below to see rental terms & more information as well as up-to-the-minute availability.

Lucy the Big Bama Beach House rents by the week from Saturday to Saturday throughout the year. Lucy is in a quiet family subdivision, and is not appropriate for young adult (under 25) singles groups. This policy & occupancy limits are strictly enforced by the owner and home owners association.

More Details
Hide Details

31 Reviews of Property 84086 in Gulf Shores, Alabama

'Lucy' 5bd Family Home, Near Beach. Pool and Pier
average rating of 4.882353 based on 31 reviews
business
'Lucy' 5bd Family Home, Near Beach. Pool and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p84086vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
scottsboro, AL
4

To far from the beach

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house was nice, my biggest complaint ,it is to far from the beach. It was farther than I expected it to be. I think you really need to check your properties after the cleaners are through. The ceramic tile in the kitchen and bar area were very dirty. Not with things, just black from lack of scrubbing. I scrubbed one of the tiles in the bar area when my kids were not at the house and then ask if they could tell which one I cleaned and all of them could see the difference. I am a very clean person and it would of been nice to have a floor you could go barefoot on and not get black feet. If the cleaners would scrub the tile and get it clean it would be easy to keep that way with a steamer. I know the agreement said extra cleaning would be charged to me at $50.00 per hour. And the orginial cleaning fee is $199.00. If the renter has all the towels and other things beside the bedsheets cleaned and put away, which is what they ask you to do, what are the cleaners doing for four hours? I have cabins in the smokies and if my cleaners left the floors like this was I would be very upset.I'm not talking about sand on the floors I'm talking about an accumalation of dirt over time and some spills over time that just get skimmed over.Also on the stairs between and around the spindles was sand that I cleaned off. I just think you aren't getting your moneys worth from your cleaners. Otherwise we had a good time at Lucy and for the price it was good.I'm usually not a complainer, but since I received this review I decided I would let you know what I thought. And like I said I would want to know if it was one of my cabins.
business
'Lucy' 5bd Family Home, Near Beach. Pool and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p84086vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
McIntosh, AL
5

Great Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We have stayed are several homes in the area and this property surpassed all the others. Wonderful time.
business
'Lucy' 5bd Family Home, Near Beach. Pool and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p84086vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Madison, AL
5

Review of "Lucy the Big BAMA Beach House" at ...

Review of "Lucy the Big BAMA Beach House" at ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Review of "Lucy the Big BAMA Beach House" at Gulf Shores,AL

Our vacation rental experience with Geoff and Susan at GSV Rentals was excellent. Their photos and property descriptions were accurate and they promptly answered all of your questions prior to our vacation. We had one issue with the WIFI not working and following our service call someone was at the house within about 15 minutes to resolve the WIFI issue. The house was very clean and we hope to include "Lucy" in our future beach plans to continue building great family vacation memories. It was convenient to the beach and access to the pool and Little Lagoon (where we docked our jet skis) was perfect. The neighbors were great and we shared specialty grilled food items and cocktails on the pier at sunset. Lucy the Big BAMA Beach House is a great value for a large family and I would recommend it to anyone with a group of 10 or more. Lucy has beds for up to 12 guests, excluding the sleeper sofa! We hope to book "Lucy" again next year...you want be disappointed either! Thanks Susan and Geoff!
business
'Lucy' 5bd Family Home, Near Beach. Pool and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p84086vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Ledbetter, KY
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We all had a great time. Grandkids and all. The house was more than I could have hoped for. The weather was fine, and beach was great. Would do it again if the chance arises.
business
'Lucy' 5bd Family Home, Near Beach. Pool and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p84086vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Iowa, USA
5

Fantastic Family House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Lucy was a fantastic house for our two families! The room arrangements were perfect, everyone was comfortable and happy. The area is great for kids of all ages! Nice pool and small bay side beach for younger kids. Beautiful ocean side beach, within a short walking distance for older kids. Our family enjoys fishing, swimming and nature, Lucy is close to all of those and much more! Thanks for a great time!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Lucy' 5bd Family Home, Near Beach. Pool and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p84086vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Bellevue, KY
5

The best family vacation stay EVER!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We have only good things to say about Lucy! We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and the price was very reasonable. Everything was just like the website shows, and everything exceeded our expectations. We had a total of 9 people stay in the house so there was MORE than enough room. The ages ranged from 21 - 58 and every one of us loved this house! We all took full advantage of the decks, as well as the beach supply. It was so nice not having to bring all of our own beach gear! The communal pool was great - it was perfect size to cool off in. Although we shared the pool with several other houses, most of the time, there was no one else in the pool and we had it all to ourselves! Throughout the entire trip, everyone continued to comment how great the house was, and how it made our vacation so much nicer than staying in a hotel, condo or duplex. We will continue to praise Lucy and refer our friends/family to this house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Lucy' 5bd Family Home, Near Beach. Pool and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p84086vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
League City, Texas
5

Family Get Together - Grandparents, Kids, & Grandkids

Family Get Together - Grandparents, Kids, & Grandkids
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house was a total delight! We loved our time spent in Gulf Shores at the Lucy house. It is the perfect location....not too far from the fabulous beaches and the swimming pool was a bonus too. Anything and everything we needed was available and we slept like babies. We are really hoping to stay there again next summer. Thanks
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Lucy' 5bd Family Home, Near Beach. Pool and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p84086vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Midwest
5

Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We've been home now for a couple of weeks and are SO ready to go back! The house was great and accommodated 14 people very comfortably. The kids enjoyed the pool and the men, the fishing dock. The neighborhood setting made everythig feel so homey. Only a few blocks to the beach and a short drive to restaurants and activities. We parasailed, played on the beach, visited the USS Alabama and the Alligator farm, kayaked in Florida, ate at Bahama Bob's and the Oyster House, golfed, shopped, took a Dolphin Tour (fantastic!) and spent time on the Pier. We also enjoyed the ability to barbeque on the Weber grill when eating at home. My brother and his family especially enjoyed S&S Seafood located behind Waves convenience store. We'll be trying that one out personally on our next trip to the Gulf. We found the prices for restaurants and activities to be reasonable and the locals to be very friendly. Geoff and Susan were great! Thanks again to you for all your help and suggestions!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Lucy' 5bd Family Home, Near Beach. Pool and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p84086vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Cartersville, Ga.
4

An Enjoyable Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our family included 5 adults and 3 little children. We loved the room sizes, especially the living areas. We also enjoyed the porches and having the washer and dryer close to the bedrooms. We did have trouble getting the little ones to nap with the lack of dark curtains and would have packed less if we had known all that was in the bottom closet. We thought the walk to the beach was OK, and the little ones enjoyed washing off under the outside shower. We also liked being able to leave things at the beach. We did wish the pool was bigger considering 11 houses use it. But overall the house was inviting and comfortable and gave the little ones plenty of room to make great memories!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Lucy' 5bd Family Home, Near Beach. Pool and Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p84086vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
St Louis
5

Roomy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had 12 family members staying in the house, and never felt crowded. We often had the cul-de-sac pool to ourselves. The gulf was a very easy stroll, even loaded down with all the tourist gear (chairs, noodles, towels, coolers, etc.) The kitchen was well stocked--it even had items like a slow cooker and wine glasses that I never would have expected. The master bath was enormous. The only negatives I can say were minor. One was that the plates and drinking glasses didn't fit well in the dishwasher so we had to be creative in making it work. Another was the dryer takes a long time to dry. The last was that the jets in the master bath did not work (apparently the replacement part can't be located since the tub is discontinued). But these in no way would make me not go back, the house was wonderful!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2