Gibbs Beach cottage rental - Gibbs Palms on a typical Barbados day. Gibbs Beach, Gibbs, St Peter, Barbados
Gibbs Palms on a typical Barbados day. Gibbs Beach, Gibbs, St Peter, Barbados
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Gibbs Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
A fully equipped, self catering Holiday Home Rental. Away from it all.

Gibbs Palms a place to relax and read all those books you have been saying you will get to, at the cottage or down at Gibbs Beach, St Peter, Barbados in the beautiful Caribbean Sea. A privately owned house used by family and close friends with some available rental times open to people looking for a tranquil relaxing holiday.

Cottage Tidbits: The cottage was built 40 years ago as a winter getaway. It is privately owed and rented out mainly to long time friends. These annual returning friends treat the property like their own place and give it that 'home-like' holiday cottage feel.

Gibbs Beach: Sometimes spelled Gibbes beach, is a typical picture postcard Caribbean setting. All beaches in Barbados are 'Public Beaches'. There are no commercial activities going on at Gibbs beach as it is bordered by private homes and some high end individual beach rental units. The 2 estates that flank each point are 2 of the most beautiful properties in Barbados. Being on the west coast there are almost never large waves, just that soft rolling warm Caribbean tide in and out on the beach. This makes for easy entry (or exit) to the sea and of course great swimming.

Seeing Barbados: There is only one airport in Barbados, so after you find your holiday deal on a charter, (Virgin, British Midland, BWIA, Air Canada, Westjet, US Air, American Airlines or others) you can arrange a taxi pick up at the airport with us, or you can rent a car to use while here and see Barbados on your own. How you get around Barbados is your choice, as many people prefer many different types of vacations; from independent to adventurous to chauffeured. You can also arrange day trips, by car or boat, or water sports from Gibbs Palms from the information at the cottage. Having a car is your choice. It is not a requirement as buses are easy and frequent down by the coast road. For shopping, Speightstown is a 2km walk down the beach, or you can take the bus for $2.00 BBD, or call a cab. You can return the same way, or the local supermarket (Jordan's) offers free rides home for customers with their groceries.

More Details
Hide Details

Gibbs Palms is our privately owned house. It is used mainly by us, family, and close friends. But it does have some available times open to people looking for a fun and relaxing Barbados holiday.

Honor and Rob G. purchased this cottage in 1972

The large Pride of India and Flamboyant Trees along with the openness for the predominant easterly breeze keeps the Gibbs Palms house and property cool and comfortable.

5 Reviews of Property 83312 in Gibbs Beach, Barbados

Relax, refresh and renew in the Caribbean setting of Gibbs Palms.
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Relax, refresh and renew in the Caribbean setting of Gibbs Palms.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83312
+1246 2471862
Gibbs Beach St. Peter
HR GuestBook
5

Comments from Owner Guestbook

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2007
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
Gibbs Palms Guest Book Excerpts: - *What a lovely place to stay. I have stayed in many places in Barbados and this is the best so far. Thank You” - *My 2nd time here and can't wait for a third. What a Haven! Thank You, See you next year.” - *Enjoyed it once again (25 years later) The lush foliage, reliable sunshine and the calm clear waters of the Caribbean at Gibbs Beach.” - *'We are Hooked'! Looking forward to coming back”. - *Every day was great! Every evening Memorable! What a country!”
Helpful votes: 16/17
business
Relax, refresh and renew in the Caribbean setting of Gibbs Palms.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83312
+1246 2471862
Gibbs Beach St. Peter
5

Barbados our way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We settled in right away. Had enough time after arriving from the airport to go for a swim at the beach and then back to the house for happy hour. Beach and sunset swims in the evenings became our routine. The house was well equipped and we lived in it like it was our own. The mood is very relaxed and it seems to come through the walls just being there. After a while we were pretending we were Caribbean property owners for our 2 weeks. Even hosted a cocktail party with fellow tourists we meet on the beach from the neighbourhood. Victor, the gardener, helped us to understand some of the nuances of the locals. Julie, the house manager, was great and lots of fun. Thanks for everything Rob, as you know, we will be back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Relax, refresh and renew in the Caribbean setting of Gibbs Palms.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83312
+1246 2471862
Gibbs Beach St. Peter
rotherham england
5

june 2008

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2008
my wife,a familf friend and i enjoyed the great pleasure of a months stay at vg palms in june 2008 and a memorable stay it was. what made it memorable to us who are frequent visitors to barbados was the gardens and comfortable and relaxing surroundings of vg palms.so impressed were we that i have booked again for 2010.the cottage has eveything one needs + a liittle more.ideally situated just off the main west coast highway for explorin the island and only minutes from a nice quiet beach called gibbs beach
a perfect home from home we actually got the feelin it was home
.situated in a nice very quiet area but within easy access to the more lively places such as holetown and speightstown
knowing we will be returning this year really looking forward to renewing old frienships NOEL AND CHRISTINE
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Relax, refresh and renew in the Caribbean setting of Gibbs Palms.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83312
+1246 2471862
Gibbs Beach St. Peter
London, UK
5

Really did ease in to the cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
Perfectly described, everything as we hoped and even more as Gibbs beach is absolutely wonderful.
We inquired with the owner (Rob) after finding the ad here on Holiday Rentals almost a year ahead. I had researched a lot of other sites and properties. We are not new to Barbados, as we usually stay down in the south in the St. Lawrence Gap area, but this time we were looking for a less populated area and beach. Gibbs Palms seemed almost too good to be true for the price, so I had a few hesitations doing the booking over the internet and also so far ahead. The communication with Rob the owner was refreshingly clear and reassuring during the inquiry time, deposit, and all during the year before leaving for Barbados. Any other trepidations were gone on arrival. The cottage was exactly the kind of place we were expecting to be on our own in and was more than what was described in the ad. Having wireless internet was a great help for my wife with a new grandchild and using Skype.
Needless to say with the usual sun, sand and rum of Barbados mixed with the location of Gibbs Palms to Gibbs beach, our vacation was the best one yet. Brilliant
We are used to taking buses in Barbados and did that the first week, then we rented a car from Direct Rentals very close by and did some driving around the island, that was a first for us. If you are not used to taking buses I would recommend renting a car for staying there as it is about 1.5 miles to Speightstown for groceries and it is fun driving a Moke (Jeep like Car) around Barbados. At least that is what we found.
In my research I saw places with a lot less than Gibbs Palms listed as "Villas" and this cottage was our Villa this trip. In short, we already left a deposit for next years stay as the value for what we paid is fantastic. We paid much less than we did in our Gap Hotel previous years and got so much more.
Not much else I can add other than I definitely recommend it. Anyone one who has already been to Barbados know this, that is how good a glass of wine and a Caribbean beach is for the marriage. Gibbs Beach is that perfect Caribbean setting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Relax, refresh and renew in the Caribbean setting of Gibbs Palms.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83312
+1246 2471862
Gibbs Beach St. Peter
Canada
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Thanks Rob, It was a wonderful holiday. Again.
Arriving at the cottage is now like coming home. The weather was perfect for full days at the beach. Love the changes, especially the new flooring. Hope to stay 3 weeks next time.
Until next year.
Robyn and Pierre
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6