Carcassonne City apartment rental - Living room in apartment Marshall Massena
Living room in apartment Marshall Massena
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Carcassonne City Apartment Rental Photos and Description
One and two bedroom apartments available for short or long term lets

Character apartment building close to the river and historic Pont Vieux in Centre of Carcassonne. The building including all communal areas has been totally renovated to offer a selection of four one bedroom apartments and one two bedroom apartment furnished to a very high standard with new fitted kitchens. All mod cons including English Satellite TV and WiFi internet.

Well established, friendly English owners living locally.

Property owners offer free pick up from Carcassonne Airport or train station with supermarket stop en route.

The apartments are accessed via a traditional winding French staircase tiled with terre cuite tiles. There are two one bedroom apartments on the first floor and two one bedroom apartments on the second floor. On the third floor, the two bedroom apartment has its own shaded roof terrace for outdoor eating with a lovely view of the castle.

We offer discounts for bookings of more than one apartment and also for longer stays. Each of the one bedroom apartments are equipped with dining furniture for four people. Friends can book two one bedroom apartments on the same floor so they have their own space and en suite bathroom whilst being able to eat and socialize together.

Rue du Pont Vieux is a prime location as it is located within a few minutes walk of Carcassonne town centre and Carcassonne Tourist Office. Two UNESCO World Heritage sites- Carcassonne Cite and the Canal du Midi are also within a few minutes walk from rue du Pont Vieux.

We wanted to keep to a French theme when naming the apartments so we decided to name them after some of Napoleon Bonaparte's most famous Peninsula Marshalls - Ney, Mortier, Suchet, Marmont and Massena.

Details for Apartment Massena 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4, 1 Bathroom

Located on the second floor, this light and airy apartment has a large open plan kitchen/ living area. As with all our apartments there is a modern fitted kitchen with dishwasher, washer/dryer, fan oven, ceramic hob, microwave, coffee machine, toaster, kettle and plenty of utensils. The living room is equipped with a quality sofa bed so an extra person can be accommodated. Satellite TV and Wi-Fi Internet provided. Double bedroom with good quality king size bed ( guests often complement us on how comfortable our beds are). Large walk in shower with high quality tiles and fittings.
More Details
Hide Details

We moved to this region 15 years ago from Herefordshire in the Uk.

We fancied a change as Jason was often away from home with his work in sales and contracting. We have renovated several properties in and around Carcassonne for rental which we take great pleasure from meeting guests from all over the world.

Annette also has a small but very busy hair salon in our village of Escueillens in the beautiful Razes countryside just outside Carcassonne.

We have three children, James (21) who is training at the C.N.E.S in Toulouse, Charlotte (18) who is studying at University in the UK and Samuel (15) who is at Lycee in Castelnaudary. Our children often help us out with changeovers during holidays and weekends.

Jason or Annette Carr purchased this apartment in 2006

We selected this property from local knowledge and advice from a Notaire in Carcassonne.

It is the ideal location in Carcassonne between the Cite and the town centre. We wanted to buy a building to renovate and to retain character but also to modernise.

Having heard so many horror stories of rental properties with dodgy electrics and plumbing and poorly maintained communal areas, we realised that renovating an apartment building from scratch meant we could ensure all of our properties meet with current norms and hopefully avoid maintenance issues which might affect guests.

We carried out a lot of the work ourselves, hence it took us several years to complete but we have achieved our aim of providing modern, well equipped apartments with character.

Ideal position between Carcassonne town centre and Cite so walking distance to all ameneties.

The right balance of modern, comfortable apartments with character. Things that really matter and make a difference according to our guests are extremely comfortable beds, well equipped kitchens, fast internet and free pick up from airport or train station.

We always aim to be professional, friendly and down to earth landlords who strive to ensure our guests have a fantastic stay in Carcassonne.

8 Reviews of Property 832798 in Carcassonne City, France

Apartment Massena
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Apartment Massena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p832798?uni_id=1171621
+33 468693407
Carcassonne City Carcassonne area
Los Osos, California
4

comfortable and convenient

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
A very comfortably equipped apartment - Jason, a friendly host, was there to greet us and explain the layout. Basic supplies were stocked in the apartment and the towels/bedding were great.
The location is great for exploring the city - easy walk to both modern and ancient parts - a couple of minutes from the river. While there is no reserved parking it was easy to find a free spot down the road.
The neighborhood is "transitional" and the building looks a little shabby from the outside but this should not deter you from renting from Jason. The inside of the apartment was first class and we felt perfectly safe in the area. Would happily rent here again, sorry our stay was short!
Owner's Response: Nice to hear these guests appreciated the great location.
Carcassonne as a town is very much 'transitional' with many old buildings being renovated over the last few years and Carcassonne airport due for major development.
We have completely renovated the entire building with all new services including wi-fi internet and satellite tv whilst retaining the character features such as the winding staircase with terre cuite tiles.
Being so close to two UNESCO world heritage sites- Carcassonne Cite and the Canal du Midi it is compulsory to work closely with the local Mairie and Historic Monuments Department.
We have done so whilst renovating the building to retain original features and the last phase of this will be the entrance door and wooden facade. This work (restoration and painting) will be carried out in a quieter period to minimise disturbance to our guests.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Apartment Massena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p832798?uni_id=1171621
+33 468693407
Carcassonne City Carcassonne area
5

Great Holiday Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My husband and I spent a week in this very comfortable apartment. It is fully equipped with all mod cons including heating which was a good thing as the weather wasn't great! The owner, Jason, picked us up from the airport and took us to the apartment and as we arrived on a Sunday he kindly bought us a few basic provisions. The apartment has everything you need from ipod dock, uk satellite tv, wifi, board games and most of all an extremely large comfortable bed. The apartment is ideally located midway between the town centre and la cite (the old town). We would gladly recommend it.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Apartment Massena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p832798?uni_id=1171621
+33 468693407
Carcassonne City Carcassonne area
5

A wonderful home from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My girlfriend and I stayed in apartment massena over October half term and had a fantastic break. Jason met us at the airport so that we could follow him back to the apartment in our rented car which I thought was a nice touch. The apartment was beautifully presented and well equipped. Plenty big enough for the two of us. Carcassonne in general was a beautiful place and I found food/drink reasonably priced. I would have no hesitation in recommending this apartment and if returning to Carcassonne would happily stay there again.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Apartment Massena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p832798?uni_id=1171621
+33 468693407
Carcassonne City Carcassonne area
5

Arguably the best place to stay in Carcassone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We rented the Massena apartment in late September and couldn't have been happier with the location and accommodations. The space was decorated with taste and was fully equipped. There was nothing we might have needed that wasn't already there. The big screen TV was even provided with full French cable access AND British satellite reception.

Jason has provided us a small heaven in southern France.
Owner's Response: These guests were so taken with the area they are interested in buying a property in the street. They realise it's the perfect location between the town centre and the castle with free local parking and easy access to all ameneties.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Apartment Massena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p832798?uni_id=1171621
+33 468693407
Carcassonne City Carcassonne area
5

Beautiful apartment and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The apartment was lovely, recently renovated and well equipped, in an ideal location between the modern city and the medieval Cite. We had a lovely week and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Carcassonne. We didn't have a car but there was enough activity with the Festival on to keep us amused locally and we ventured on a bus ride one day to the Lac De La Cavayere to laze on the beach and take a walk around the lake - would recommend this - very safe for children to play and swim. It is also very easy to get about by train and the ticket office are very helpful. We loved going up to the castle in the evening when it was a little quieter but still bustling with atmosphere - some lovely restaurants and bars up there with very reasonable fixed price menus. We found one with a small jazz band playing on Friday and Saturday night and enjoyed a relaxing evening with a glass of wine. Jason was very helpful and picked us up from the airport and we went back to the airport on our return by bus which was very easy to do. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable week - despite some rain! and would not hesitate to recommend. Just hope it doesn't get too booked up so that we can return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Apartment Massena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p832798?uni_id=1171621
+33 468693407
Carcassonne City Carcassonne area
Scotland
5

Ideal location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Recently and tastefully renovated apartment with all facilities including dishwasher and washing machine.
Ideal location situated mid way between the Cite and the town centre with easy access to the railway station and Canal du Midi.
Excellent selection of resonably priced restaurants to choose from both in the town and the Cite.
Great base for exploring the local area.
Owners very helpful with bookings and collection / drop-off at railway station.
Highly recommended for short stay or long stay and I would certainly stay in this property again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Apartment Massena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p832798?uni_id=1171621
+33 468693407
Carcassonne City Carcassonne area
Ireland
5

Lovely apartment in great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had a lovely stay in this apartment. The apartment is recently renovated, very comfortable and has all the facilities we needed and more. We were collected from the airport by Jason, one of the owners who is very friendly and helpful.

The apartment's location is perfect for a tourist as it is situated between the town and the Cité and is within walking distance of both. The train station and Canal du Midi are also nearby.

I would stay here again if I were to return to Carcassonne as I consider this apartment offers value for money in an excellent location.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Apartment Massena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p832798?uni_id=1171621
+33 468693407
Carcassonne City Carcassonne area
San Francisco, California
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We stayed in the apartment for a week and the location was perfect. Just a short walk to town and a few blocks to La Cite, the castle. Also a block from the canal with a beautiful trail we walked along daily. The apartment is newly renovated and was the perfect size with all the needed amenities. The market in the city square was held Monday, Tuesday and Saturday while we there and we picked up fresh fruits, veggies, cheese, bread, olives, basically everything we needed for our own little feast each night. Train station is about a 10 minute walk, Jason picked us up when we arrived and answered all our questions and more. We couldn't have asked for a better host. We also rented a car for a few days and made daily trips to Narbonne, Toulouse, Limoux, and Castlenaudry while we were there. I highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a great place to relax or explore with all the modern conveniences.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6