Puako house rental - Savor the sites of Puako Bay from Hale Puako
Savor the sites of Puako Bay from Hale Puako
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Puako House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Hale Puako has been owned and loved by the same family since 1978. It is not a fancy home, for those used to luxury accommodations, it may be a bit rustic for you, but for many families who return year-after-year, this is their favorites. Savor some time as they have, on this half acre of paradise, surrounded by a lush, green landscaped yard, numerous coconut palms, and a stunning view of Puako Bay. From the home and lanai you can watch the sailboats moored in the bay, or turtles basking on the lava rocks in front.

The original A-frame home includes a full kitchen, living area and ocean view loft with twin beds. A second bedroom just off the kitchen and nearby full bath has overhead skylights for moon and star gazing as you rest in the comfortable queen-sized bed. An addition to the home, added more recently, has a oceanfront dining and lounging lanai, plus a master bedroom with a brand new California-king bed and a second cozy oceanfront deck for relaxing with a tall, cool beverage. An upstairs office is available for those who must work while on vacation. Office includes high-speed internet access and a fax machine.

This unique piece of paradise is one of the original Puako seaside homes located just steps away from snorkeling, kayaking and swimming right in front of the home!

This home is managed on behalf of the owners, by Mary Fox, R(B) 2 Papayas, LLC.Mary holds an active real estate broker's license in the State of Hawaii.

Keywords: oceanfront house, beach cottage, Puako beach house, oceanfront cottage, 3 bedroom house

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha, I am Mary Fox, R (B) and owner of 2 Papayas, LLC. I manage this wonderful Puako home on behalf of the Owners. I would love to help you and your family find the perfect home for your stay on the Big Island. I am a Puako resident, myself, so I am available to greet you upon arrival, answer any questions you may have, or attend to any concerns or requests that may arise during your stay. Until we meet in Paradise....

Mary A. Fox R (B) Active purchased this house in 1978

It was love at first sight when we saw the house that became Hale Puako on our first trip to Hawai’i Island in 1965. Then it took us 13 years to check out possibilities on the other Islands, find the cash – and - the courage to buy! Hale Puako has been a joy to us, our family and friends since 1978. We hope you will enjoy our piece of paradise.

15 Reviews of Property 82947 in Puako, Hawaii

Classic older oceanfront home for six/snorkel out front
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
business
Classic older oceanfront home for six/snorkel out front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82947vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Western Washington
5

Unbelievably Great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The pictures tell the story. Its two connected a-frames right on Puako Bay. The three bedroom house (one of the bedrooms is a loft over the kitchen) was perfect for our family of 5. Our kids are 9, 11, and 13. The master bedroom and bathroom are very private in the second a-frame. Note that the second a-frame is accessed from the outside sundeck area; there is no interior access to the other a-frame. That's what makes it nice an private.

The house is located down a driveway that leads behind the old church. Its a private setting.

There is good, but not great, snokeling directly in front of the house. If you walk about 150 yards down the beach and swim to the outer part of the reef, the snokeling is great. Its also great at the end of Puako Road, about 1 mile away. There is a little sandy cove two houses down for just playing in the water. This is not a wave beach. The beaches in Hawaii are public access so its easy to get to this little cove. Further, there are great sandy beaches, Hapuna and Beach 69, just a mile or two away.

I think the house is a great value. If you compare to many of the houses in the area or the beach front hotels, its a bargain.

The house is well stocked. We cooked at the for most of our dinners and found what we needed in the kitchen. When we were there, someone before us had left behind beach toys and boogie boards that Mary invited us to use.

All that being said, please look at any of the houses managed by 2Papayas. We typically rent a vacation house somewhere every year or two. Based on my experience I can say that Mary and Robbie are professional and good communicators. The house and financial details were as represented with no surprises or problems. Leave this house to us and rent another one:)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic older oceanfront home for six/snorkel out front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82947vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
5

WOW!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We recently spent a week at Hale Puako with our family of 6. We have 4 children and it fit us all perfectly. It was everything we expected and more. We loved the "Old Hawaiian Charm". Our kids had so much fun exploring the tide pools, and swimming with the turtles right out in front of the house. It was the perfect place for us, it will be a hard vacation to top. Thanks for sharing you piece of paradise with us!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic older oceanfront home for six/snorkel out front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82947vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Philadelphia, PA
5

Worth every penny!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
If you are looking for the true Hawaiian experience, you will find it here. The house is older but maintained extremely well. We were also pleasantly surprised at how well stocked it was with everything you could need and more. Not always the case in a vacation rental. The most impressive aspect of this house though is location, location, location. Wow!!! We grew up on the big island and come back annually for vacation and to be as impressed as we were; awesome. You have two of the best beaches on island minutes away, a store within walking distance, and you have one of the best views right out your front door! Turtles, manta rays, and even dolphins were seen out front almost daily. And if that's not enough, night life and shopping are less than 15 minutes away. We've always known what a special place Puako is but this house and 2 Papayas really made it the special trip we'd hoped for. We will definitely return again.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Classic older oceanfront home for six/snorkel out front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82947vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Denver, CO, USA
5

Wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The property was as described, an older (vintage) beach house tucked into an out of the way spot on Puako Bay. My family of 6 stayed for a week and had a wonderful time. The house was a comfortable fit for my wife and I, 2 teenagers, and 2 near teenagers.

The tidal pools are immediately accessible from the lanai (maybe all of 15 feet from the steps) just as described, and we saw sea turtles every day within a few yards of the shore, and swimming within a few feet when we waded in the pools.

We didn't snorkel in the bay, but we saw others snorkeling, paddle boarding, and kayaking. There are a couple of beautiful, classic white sand beaches a few minutes away (Hapuna State Park, Mau'umae).

The house was clean and well maintained, and the property managers at 2papayas were very helpful answering questions and arranging food to be there before we arrived (we came to the island on a late night flight). The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed in good working order.

We went to the Mauna Kea resort for a luau which was pleasant, touristy fun, and there are restaurants in the little beach town about 20 minutes away, Kawaihae. M's General Store is a few minutes' walk from the house for most of our house supplies.

If you are interested in a quiet place a away from the resorts, but close enough to easily go to the resorts if you want, and to enjoy the tidal pools and soak in the sounds of surf, this is a great place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic older oceanfront home for six/snorkel out front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82947vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Austin, Texas USA
5

A wonderful time was had by all....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I love Puako! It's like a homecoming when I get there, no matter how long it's been. This time, I brought my son's family to share my favorite place! Hale Puako has never been available when I went before so I was thrilled to see the week I wanted available. We weren't disappointed upon our arrival. Hale Puako is a hidden gem tucked against the ocean behind a church. It's nestled by the sea on 2 sides and has lovely landscaping! We saw turtles in the bay and tidal pools every day and swam and snorkeled from the yard.
The house was comfy and lived in like an old seashore house should be, but clean as a whistle with comfortable furniture and beds. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our meals. The living room had nooks and cabinets with books and games galore! There were several books on Hawaii. The best thing about it is location, location , location!!! It's close to the general store, several great beaches and the scuba and snorkeling off the access points on Puako Road is some of the best on the island!
We were happy to find beach chairs, umbrellas, beach towels and we added to the beach toys filling in the sand castle construction tools. This was literally a bring your suit and enjoy vacation!! We all loved it and can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic older oceanfront home for six/snorkel out front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82947vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Chicago
5

Memorable Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our family loved Hale Puako. It was perfect for us: spacious, comfortable, very private location, just a short drive to beautiful beaches. You can’t beat the setting: lovely grounds with a gorgeous view of Puako Bay. We enjoyed relaxing on the lanais. On New Year’s Eve we gathered on the oceanfront lanai where we spotted shooting stars and watched a fireworks display across Puako Bay! We hope to return for another family vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic older oceanfront home for six/snorkel out front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82947vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
United States
5

a gem of a place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
What an amazing location. We were able to kayak and snorkel right out the back door. There's a great sandy beach next door, perfect for young children. The house itself is older but very well maintained. We hope to be back next year!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Classic older oceanfront home for six/snorkel out front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82947vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Jackson, Michigan
5

Steps from the water!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We have never been to the Big Island before so when booking this house, I had no idea about it's location! OMG! It was incredible...we pulled up to the house and the first thing you see is a cool hammock right next to the water! Then you walk around to the front of the house and a huge lanai sits within feet of the ocean! The house itself is older, sleeps 6 comfortably, although one bedroom is a loft with limited privacy, but my kids didn't seem to mind. 2 full bathrooms, one on the small side, a very nice master bedroom with a king bed, nice bathroom and it's own private lanai, not to mention oceanside with beautiful sounds of the ocean! The 2nd bedroom is small, with limited storage for clothes, but we managed fine. The kitchen is nice and well stocked, nice size living room with music player loaded with hawaiian music. Every morning we woke up to coffee on the lanai while watching the whales frolic in the bay! Saw more whales than I ever thought possible. Snorkeling is great right in front of the house, swimming not great for young kids as it is rocky, but beautiful Hapuna Beach is less than 5 minutes away! Overall, we loved this property and would come here again next time we are on the Big Island! The view is worth every penny and more!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic older oceanfront home for six/snorkel out front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82947vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Suquamish, Washington
5

Our Family In Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Three generations of my family enjoyed a wonderful week at this charming Puako home. It is an older house but it's comfortable persona and total privacy make it priceless. The small sand beach was perfect for the grandchildren and the turtles lounging on the lava rocks fascinated old and young. The Puako store is a short walk with very reasonable prices and the proprietor charmed us all. We definitely would return to this house and the many beautiful beaches of Puako. It was very hard to leave....
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic older oceanfront home for six/snorkel out front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82947vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Portland OR
5

Terrific place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed at this A-frame with our daughter's family, for a week. We have visited all the major Hawaiian islands, and this was our favorite location of all! It is in a quiet residential area, but close enough to popular and fun sites. The front yard is a great viewing area for sea turtles and our granddaughter was out there much of the time, when she and her brother were not playing on the hammock. A couple minutes walk away is a lagoon where there are few waves and I could teach the kids some swimming strokes, and then we could look for turtles and beachcomb. There is terrific dining and dancing nearby, and it is a convenient place to be for visitng Hilo and the volcanoes. The house is very comfortable. We certainly hope to return; we are still talking about what a great place it was for us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2