Ponte di Castelvecchio house rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Ponte di Castelvecchio House Rental Photos and Description
Beautiful Tuscan village house with stunning view

Castelvecchio is an unspoilt medieval village in which Casa delle Rondine is to be found. It is a traditional village house, the front within the village yet the rear of the house is totally private. Beautifully restored and furnished with antiques, it provides accommodation for 6 - 7 people. It has 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, recently fitted marble kitchen dining room . There is a beautiful large traditional stone terrace perfect for al fresco dining, extensive terraces with olive and fruit trees. Casa delle Rondine enjoys stunning panoramic views of the Tuscan hill villages of Stiappa and Pontito and the surrounding forested countryside. Parking is easy and access through out the village is by foot, three excellent restaurants can be reached within a ten minute drive, of which one can be walked to in ten minutes. It is most suitable for couples and families. Facilities include an excellent DVD & book collection,Casa Rondine is the perfect place to enjoy the real Tuscan

Castelvechio ammenities include Bar Marina, a short 3 minute walk from the house. The bar opens at 8am for capuccino and pastries and closes around midnight throughout the summer months. The bar provides light meals at very reasonable prices. Also they have a small grocery shop attached and although very little English is spoken, Riccardo the owners son is very patient and very willing to help.

This property can be booked with our other sister property 'Casa Della Torre' also in Castelvecchio , some 3 minutes walk away. This property is also a village house that can accomodate 4 people.

More Details
Hide Details

4 Reviews of Property 826072 in Ponte di Castelvecchio, Italy

Ponte di Castelvecchio holiday house Casa delle Rondine in Castelvecchio
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Ponte di Castelvecchio holiday house Casa delle Rondine in Castelvecchio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p826072
+44 01233714775
Ponte di Castelvecchio Pistoia Area
5

Tuscan Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Castelvecchio became home for our family and friends for two glorious weeks in July. It is an idyllic location; a hill-top village with breathtaking views, a refreshing contrast to life in a London suburb.

We couldn’t believe our luck. The house was beautifully presented, comfortable and well equipped in the Tuscan style.

After a warm welcome in the Bar Marina by Riccardo, Samuela and the rest of the family, our bags were delivered through the narrow lanes aboard the family Ape. Despite our very limited Italian the little village was forever welcoming - even the cats!

We tried all the local restaurants and they were all excellent in atmosphere, service and quality. Pescia market on a Saturday is a particular delight of colour and smell, while the restaurant in the old Flower Market was superb for lunch – busy with locals who know the best places to eat.

The information pack provided by the owner was comprehensive and the welcome basket was very much appreciated after a hot thirsty journey from the airport.

This is the perfect way to experience Tuscan life. It is very easy living; sunbathing, walking, making friends with the chickens, listening at night for the cinghiale snuffling in the woods and the fun of the occasional barbeque.

It is heaven on earth and we were sad to leave.
Owner's Response: Caroline and family , a great big thank you for your kind words , we try to make our guests feel comfortable and to enjoy a stress free holiday. Internet is now available at the house for those who wish to keep in touch.
Once again thank you for your recommendation
Best wishes
Graham and Vanda
business
Ponte di Castelvecchio holiday house Casa delle Rondine in Castelvecchio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p826072
+44 01233714775
Ponte di Castelvecchio Pistoia Area
5

A week in August

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This amazing house offered us an unforgettable week of true relaxation and exuberance. Castelvecchio is very quiet and calm. Through its narrow stone-paths one discovers different views of the beautiful scenery.

The house boasts a rustic character, its stonework is authentic, the terracotta floors are magnificent as is the wooden beaming on the ceilings. Wooden furniture with marble tops, old-style yet comfortable beds along with careful lighting prove the owner's respect to local aesthetics and culture. More so when one can only admire the taxing, obviously arduous duty of keeping the character intact in a bathroom which must also offer all modern amenities. I loved the small windows here and there which negate the need to turn on any light during the day. If I was alone, I would sleep in the terrace bedroom with its exposed stonework and fancy bath.

The terrace is totally private, its view is superb. In fact, we spent most of our time out there and took some exceptional photos.

The welcome pack contained everything a late traveller could ask for, bread, olive oil, coffee, honey, pasta, biscuits, eggs in the fridge and of course a generous bottle of Tuscany house wine.

All the rooms were clean and prepared in a simple manner. We also found helpful instructions and suggestions from the owner. Where to go, what to see etc. I admit we wouldn't have visited Lucca if it weren't for Graham's suggestion. We are thankful for that, as Lucca is fabulous. We liked it so much, we went there twice eating our hearts out on the bicycles.

A gas fired cooker with top brass cookware is an amateur 'Chef's' paradise. We prepared some excellent meals in less than an hour. A wide variety of seasonings was also available.

Of course we visited other classic Tuscan destinations, Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano. If we were not so reluctant to leave the house, we would have visited Pisa or Viareggio. All these are close in a sense of a day's trip. But we preferred to indulge in the homey environment and meditate watching the view from the terrace instead.

All in all, a week was too little. We plan to go back. I imagine Easter or early spring would be fantastic. Meanwhile, this property, more of a home rather than a rented house, offers true Tuscany living experience. It feels like your own Tuscan house and the owner sees to that really hard. As such, and if your vacation is more that a swimming pool, this property cannot be recommended highly enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Ponte di Castelvecchio holiday house Casa delle Rondine in Castelvecchio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p826072
+44 01233714775
Ponte di Castelvecchio Pistoia Area
Midlothian
5

4 Day Short Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This was my first visit to Tuscany and it will definitely not be my last. The house was beautiful with stunning views everywhere. The rooms were immaculate and the bed was so comfortable; the best sleep I’ve had in years! The large veranda was perfect for eating out and had exquisite views. The area was extremely safe and the locals very friendly. We used the local buses but a car would be advisable if you want to visit lots of places.
The only problem was having to leave. I would thoroughly recommend this property, you will not be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ponte di Castelvecchio holiday house Casa delle Rondine in Castelvecchio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p826072
+44 01233714775
Ponte di Castelvecchio Pistoia Area
Edinburgh Scotland
5

Holiday 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Spent 3 weeks in this beautiful villa in 2010. We were a group of 5 (2 adult and 3 teenagers) and were looking for a quiet spot which allowed easy access to Lucca and Florence. An easy drive from the village to Pescia gives fabulous access by car or train (we suggest the train - it is very affordable) to main cities in Tuscany and beyond.

The village is quiet and very friendly with a fair amount of local activities going on. The house was exactly as described with the terrace being a very special place for eating and general relaxation and with completely uninterrupted views.

On arrival the house was spotless and equipped with everything we could possible need. In the village itself there is a charming little cafe for breakfast and the occasional evening meal. They also stock your morning bread and some great local produce. Within a few minutes walk from the house there is a pizzeria restaurant serving take away as well as sit in food. A little further down the hill there is another super restaurant where you can eat in or out (maybe a 10-15 minutes walk).

If you like to get out and explore the area on foot then there are nearby villages which are worth the visit and maybe take anything from 30 mins to a couple of hour to walk there and back - stopping of course for the much needed cappuccino along the way. On our walks we stumbled across an outdoor art exhibition and a sculpture exhibition so worth the effort.

Whilst there is public transport to and from the village I would recommend travelling by car at least to and from the main town of Pescia. Maybe worth also noting that if planning to walk there is a fair amount of hills involved so perhaps not for anyone who needs help getting around.

if you feel like a day relaxing by a pool then there is a very nice country club as you enter Pescia which allow daily membership or weekly membership - again quite affordable.

All in all a lovely home from home and to be recommended for people looking for the authentic Italy but also wanting the benefits of being fairly close to some beautiful cities.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1