Kawaihae house rental - Relaxing From Your Lanai
Relaxing From Your Lanai
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Kawaihae House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Awesome sunsets, ocean breezes, and quiet starry nights await you at this cozy, newer 1 bedroom home situated 400 feet up on two and a half acres in the rolling hills of the Kohala Coast. From here you are only minutes away from the finest beaches (such as Hapuna), water activites (such as sailing, fishing, whale watching, great snorkeling and diving), dining and golfing the Big Island has to offer.

Hale O Pueo is well built, light, airy, and located where the sun shines 350 days a year. This tranquil, end of the road property is lavishly landscaped with a variety of tropical flowering plants and trees. Comfortably furnished living room framed by night blooming jasmine and lush bamboo, opens out through sliding glass door onto the covered lanai. Luxuriate here in the serene setting and balmy ocean breezes as you swing in the hammock or nestle into the tropical furnishings.

Wake up in your queen sized bed to the morning sun glistening on the ocean below as you look out the large sliding door. Step out onto the covered lanai to take in the expansive, unobstructed views of the rolling hills, ocean, coastline and nearby Hualalai Volcano as you plan your day in paradise.

Spacious tiled kitchen is fully equipped with gas range, new appliances and everything necessary for your cooking and dining needs. Includes breakfast bar and beautiful bamboo dining set. Tiled bathroom with large vanity opens up to your exotic private outdoor shower, surrounded by red lava rock walls and tropical plants.

Check in 3PM; Check Out 11AM (sometimes flexible)

Transient Accommodations License #W01777464-01

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

31 Reviews of Property 82582 in Kawaihae, Hawaii

Expansive Ocean View - Close to Best Beaches Ask about discounts
average rating of 4.903226 based on 31 reviews
business
Expansive Ocean View - Close to Best Beaches Ask about discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82582vb
(808) 880-9014
Kawaihae Kohala Coast
Northern California, USA
5

Retreat in No. Kohala

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Hale O'Pueo is the perfect retreat in No. Kohala on the Big Island of Hawaii. It rests up in a rural area of the island close to the Northern tip and the wonderful town of Hawi, and within 10 miles of diverse and active Waimea. You can plan day trips to Kailua-Kona (and Walmart/Costco...), the beautiful Hilo-town and the Hamakua Coastal drive, or just hang at Hapuna Beach and body surf. When you return to your piece of paradise, the peace overtakes your soul, you can shower outdoors and prepare the perfect meal in the large and fully equipped kitchen. WiFi is available, gorgeous sunsets from your lanai and your favorite games on the large-screen TV, or you can just listen to the abundant bird life and feel the Hawaiian breezes. Kalia has built a lovely home-away-from-home and I, for one, will surely return. Mahalo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is a joy to be able to provide a wonderful home away from home that has such easy access to 5 stunning beaches, including Hapuna just 10 minutes away and be able to hike, sight see, and participate in water activities close by.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Expansive Ocean View - Close to Best Beaches Ask about discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82582vb
(808) 880-9014
Kawaihae Kohala Coast
5

Loved the peace, feel and view of Hale O Pueo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We spent a week a Hale O Pueo, and it was wonderful. The house is beautifully constructed, painted and oriented, with a vast view of the North West coastline, where we watched pairs of whales swim up and down the coast every day. Morning walks revealed three volcanoes, Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa and Hualalai and they were stunning. The house was very comfortable, inside and out, and we loved the outside tropical shower. The host was most gracious and helpful, supporting us in any way she could.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Expansive Ocean View - Close to Best Beaches Ask about discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82582vb
(808) 880-9014
Kawaihae Kohala Coast
Seattle, WA
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We just returned from our 8 day stay at the Hale O Pueo and have only one regret; that we did not stay for two weeks! The Hale was perfect for us, relaxing and calming. The sunsets are beautiful, the geckos entertaining and the location was perfect. Kalia is a gracious, kind and thoughtful host, helping us find a wonderful fruit stand, great walking path on the Northern Coast and an excellent beach for snorkeling. Everything that you will need for a memorable vacation is here. Thank you Kalia!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Expansive Ocean View - Close to Best Beaches Ask about discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82582vb
(808) 880-9014
Kawaihae Kohala Coast
WA State
5

Best ever place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This home was our home away from home; it has everything we needed; it was warm, comfortable and clean. The lanai was so inviting; the sunsets spectacular. The geckos were so entertaining. We were close to so many lovely towns and activities. The nearby beaches are beautiful and after the end of a busy and fun day we had the perfect oasis to come back to. We highly recommend this home with it's tranquility and awesome view. I could only rate it a 5 star; I really needed 10 stars.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Expansive Ocean View - Close to Best Beaches Ask about discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82582vb
(808) 880-9014
Kawaihae Kohala Coast
Camp Hill
5

WOW!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were stayed in three vrbo places as we circled Hawaii. We were impressed with the comfort of the first two places and thought it can't get any better but this beautiful property wowed us. It is located high on a hill overlooking the Pacific. It is a little bit out of the way but oh so peaceful and relaxing. The furnishings are first rate and comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipped . The entire place is extremely clean. We really enjoyed the lanai and the outdoor shower. Kalia supplies snorkeling gear and has a notebook of suggestions of places to go. She wants you to enjoy the area-- a perfect hostess. We highly recommend staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Expansive Ocean View - Close to Best Beaches Ask about discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82582vb
(808) 880-9014
Kawaihae Kohala Coast
Paris, France
5

Very confortable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Very nice home. Beautifuly decorated.
Great outdoor shower.
Kalia is very helpful.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Expansive Ocean View - Close to Best Beaches Ask about discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82582vb
(808) 880-9014
Kawaihae Kohala Coast
Foxboro, MA
4

Peace and Quiet

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We loved the Hale O'Pueo. A very clean and comfortable place to spend a relaxing and quiet vacation.
The house is well equipped with all the necessities. Please be aware there isn't a dishwasher available and the coffee maker is a French Press.
The house is totally solar but it has plenty of electricity and hot water.
The lanai has a beautiful view and comfortable furniture. The "piece de resistance" is the outdoor shower. It's the size of a small room, very private with flowering plants off to the side.
Kalia, the owner lives nearby but respects your privacy and is very accommodating to your needs. You will need a car to get to places from this location.
The beaches nearby are beautiful and plentiful.
business
Expansive Ocean View - Close to Best Beaches Ask about discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82582vb
(808) 880-9014
Kawaihae Kohala Coast
Seattle
5

Relaxing and lovely retreat at Hale O Pueo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We spent 10 days at Hale O Pueo and just loved it! You won't find a better view of the ocean and sunsets anywhere. The Hale was really nice - very clean, well stocked for every need from a great kitchen to guide books and snorkel gear as well as being very comfortable and exquisitely well maintained. You will find yourself in a great location as well here. It is close to the best beaches (not more than a 10 minute drive) and within easy reach of great towns like Hawi and Waimea. Your hosts will let you in on local info such as great farmer's markets and where the best dancing is if you're so inclined. I was invited one day to make leis with flowers from the gardens surrounding the area. Yes, the gardens are also just amazing. Hale O Pueo made our vacation to the big island the best. We would definitely return here when coming to the island of Hawaii and I highly recommend it to you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Expansive Ocean View - Close to Best Beaches Ask about discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82582vb
(808) 880-9014
Kawaihae Kohala Coast
Victoria, B.C. Canada
5

Sunsets, ocean view, breaching whales and one lonely donkey

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We were charmed and delighted. The welcoming lanai, the sunsplashed outdoor shower, the comfy bed and well-stocked kitchen, the garden oasis, the view, but mostly by the peace and quiet. Beaches, towns, good restaurants and markets were a short drive away and Kalia was most accommodating and helpful but totally respecting of our privacy, Would definitely return.Now, if someone would please attend to that one lonely donkey in full view who brayed and gazed at us in dire need of some attention and affection. Bring your mosquito repellent!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Very nice to hear these guests enjoyed Hale O Pueo, as it is difficult NOT to (as noted by all previous reviews)! There are 2 donkeys who roam the acreage below, that sometimes come close to the fence line. Many guests find them enjoyable as they are so fitting in this landscape.
I am very happy to say that we rarely have one mosquito around as we have about 5 inches of rainfall a year in this area. When we do get a little rain they can sometimes appear 10 days afterward for up to 10 days. Typically they are not a problem even when they are around (about 3 times a year), as they do not like the ocean breezes that we normally have. The house windows and sliding doors have screens that are well maintained, so it is also easy to keep any stray mosquitoes out of the house. I would suggest having plenty of sunscreen rather than taking up the space with repellent :-)
Aloha! Kalia ~~ owner/manager
business
Expansive Ocean View - Close to Best Beaches Ask about discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p82582vb
(808) 880-9014
Kawaihae Kohala Coast
Big Sky Montana
5

Excellence

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We just returned from our best trip yet on the Big Island. Kalia provided warm and friendly Hospitality and was very easy to work with. She provided an ultra clean and fully stocked vacation rental and a wealth of knowledge of the area of places to go and see. The property location is ideal for exploring the sunny side of the island and retreating from the busy beaches to a home away from home. It was very peaceful and if you are lucky you might just see an Owl or a Sunset that you may never forget. Thank You Kalia, we look forward to seeing you again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1