South Iceland cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

South Iceland Cottage Rental Photos and Description
New Cottage for 6 persons, 3 bedrooms, hot tub

In the heart of the Golden Circle (N64°06.111' - W020°24.261'), a beautiful luxury cottage, located 70 minutes drive from Iceland's capital city Reykjavik. Here you are surrounded by peace and quiet with good view towards the glacier Langjökull. 30min. distance; Laugavatn, Geysir, Gullfoss, Hvítá, Stöng, Búrfell, Selfoss. 60 min distance; Hekla, Hella, Hvolsvöllur, Thingvellir, Langjökull (glacier) and a ferrie to Vestmannaeyjar. Guests can hike in the area or by the river Stóra Laxá, a salmon-river with plenty of fish and bird life. The house is 75 m2 with an open family/kitchen area and 200m2 outside deck. Hiking, horse riding, golf and plenty of sights nearby. The south of Iceland is famous for sightseeing and spectacular mountains and coastal scenery. Many gourmet restaurants are within easy reach. Grocery store are near by or you can buy straight from the farm, both vegtebles and meat.

The house is 75 m2 with an open family/kitchen area and 200m2 outside deck. Hiking, horse riding, golf and plenty of sights nearby. The south of Iceland is famous for sightseeing and spectacular mountains and coastal scenery. Many gourmet restaurants are within easy reach. Grocery store are near by or you can buy straight from the farm, both vegtebles and meat. Two golf courses are in the area 600m and 5km away plus 10 more in 60 minute drive radius.

Need to rent a car?: When staying at 'Cottage Hóll' you get a special rate at Glacier Car Rental & Travel Service. Go to www.glaciercarrental.is and ask for 'Cottage Hóll' special rate.

Icelandic mobile phone comes with the house free of charge.

A GPS can be provided upon request.

More Details
Hide Details

4 Reviews of Property 822504 in South Iceland, Iceland

Luxury Cottage in the Heart of The Golden Circle
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Luxury Cottage in the Heart of The Golden Circle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p822504
+354 8981680
South Iceland Iceland
5

Very comfortable, excellent location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a brilliant time in this warm and comfortable cottage. It had everything you needed for a self-catering holiday. Pall and Sigrun were very welcoming and understanding when our plane was late. The hot tub was popular with all family members. There were plenty of toys and activities to keep children amused. The cottage is extremely well located in terms of views and outlook but also for visiting many places in South Iceland. Food was easily available in nearby Fludir however a longer drive to Selfoss meant much cheaper and greater variety of food. (the veg stop as you enter Fludir was well priced however). There are many attractions within a half hour drive - horse-riding, golf, hot river, Geysir, Gulfoss. I would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable and peaceful place to stay to explore this amazing area of Iceland.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Cottage in the Heart of The Golden Circle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p822504
+354 8981680
South Iceland Iceland
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I really regret taking so long to write this review - Sorry Páll!
We stayed as a group of 3 couples at the cottage for a week in January during what I understand was unusually snowy weather even by Icelandic standards! Our journey from the airport (much like all journeys to come that that week) was difficult, but Páll had kindly met us at the airport to exchange keys etc and lent us a GPS for no charge which was already programmed to get us to the cottage. Walking into the lovely warm cottage that evening was great and we were very pleasantly surprised. Beds were all comfortable, there really was everything we needed and more (loved the coffee machine). The hot tub was great after days of adventures, great TV facilities, drying room etc and even during an absolutely awful wind/snow storm one evening the cottage remained lovely and warm and dry! Páll (the owner) could not have done more for us, calling to warn us of incoming bad weather, lending us a mobile phone to make local calls/reservations with etc etc.
We hope to be back soon (when it's not snowing...), the cottage is a great location for exploring with Gulfoss etc nearby, and a handy shop just up the road. It's also far enough away from the towns to be able to get great views of the Northern Lights.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Cottage in the Heart of The Golden Circle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p822504
+354 8981680
South Iceland Iceland
5

Luxuriöser Weitblick

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Wenn man im Süden Islands ein Ferienhaus mietet, kann man schnell in in der Einöde des Flachlandes landen. Nicht so hier ! Zwar ist auch die Hütte sehr komfortabel ausgestattet, aber der eigentliche Luxus liegt in dem Blick in die unendliche Weite der Hvita Niederung. Wenn dann abends im Westen hinter den mächtigen Höhenzügen die Sonne in einem gigantischen Farbenspiel versinkt, dann sitzt man hier auf der Terrasse in der ersten Reihe und ist um ein unvergessliches Islanderlebnis reicher. Natürlich haben wir auch das Baden im Pool genossen und uns in der nett eingerichteten Hütte mehr als gut aufgehoben gefühlt. Aber auch die Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft der Vermieter waren einfach klasse. Auch die in der relativen Nähe befindlichen Einkaufsmöglichkeiten (Fludir) sind defakto nicht unwichtig. (Fludir ist Gemüseanbauzentrum, man kann es direkt an der Straße vom Bauern kaufen!!) Der Mietpreis ist zwar, wie so vieles in Island, nicht gerade eben günstig, dennoch würde ich das Cottage Holl als idealen Ausgangspunkt für zahlreiche Sehenswürdigkeiten absolut empfehlen. Wir haben die Tage dort sehr genosen.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Cottage in the Heart of The Golden Circle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p822504
+354 8981680
South Iceland Iceland
5

Im Urlaub zuhause

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Cottage Holl ist ein ausgezeichnetes Ferienhaus, in dem wir uns sofort wohl und heimisch fühlten. Sei es die Ausstattung, die Lage, die Freizeitmöglichkeiten oder der Kontakt zum sehr hilfsbereiten und freundlichen Vermieter - alles macht unseren Urlaub in Island gleichermaßen zum unvergessenen Erlebnis. Wir haben jeden Tag in dem gemütlich eingerichteten Haus genossen und können es uneingeschränkt weiterempfehlen.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/4