South Iceland farmhouse rental - Thorkelsgerdi 2
Thorkelsgerdi 2
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

South Iceland Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
91 m² house, 3 bedrooms, accommodation for 8 pers

Thorkelsgerdi 2 is a 91m² newly renovated farmhouse located by the ocean in the peaceful and sparsely populated Selvogur. The house is spacious and light, has 3 bedrooms, an open kitchen/dining room, living room and bathroom. The kitchen is well equipped with a big dining table for 8 people or more. Children friendly with indoor and outdoor toys. Big, comfortable sofa in the living room. TV and DVD and a selection of books. Ocean view from the windows and 2 min. walk to the beach where seals and birds can be watched. Patio with gas grill, table and 8 chairs. Huge lawn, perfect for outdoor activities such as football, softball, Frisbee and kite flying.

Perfect either for the activity filled family vacation or the romantic getaway!

The Blue Lagoon: The Blue Lagoon is an hour's drive from Selvogur.

Krýsuvík: Some 25 km from Selvogur (about 25 min drive) is the famed Krýsuvík geothermal area, Seltún, with its amazing solfataras, boiling mud springs, blowing steam vent and astonishing palette of colour. Just a few minutes’ drive from there are the stunning Krýsuvíkurberg cliffs, where sea birds by the thousands nest and the rolling waves of the Atlantic crash against the rugged shore. Both are examples of amazing natural beauty.

The landscape at Krýsuvík was formed by volcanic activity and upheaval.

The Grænavatn, Gestsstaðavatn and Augun lakes are explosion craters created by volcanic eruptions at various times. Of those, Grænavatn lake is the largest, some 46 meters deep. Its water is green due to thermal algae and crystals which absorb the sun.

Eldhestar - Horse rentals and guided tours. They offer itineraries that range from one or two hours to several days to suit riders of all ages and abilities. All their tours begin at their farm Vellir, just 30-minutes drive from Selvogur.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 818745 in South Iceland, Iceland

Renovated farmhouse by the ocean, 1 hour drive from KEF airport
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
Renovated farmhouse by the ocean, 1 hour drive from KEF airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p818745
+354 692 9140
South Iceland Iceland
5

A Marvellous Interlude

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My daughter and I enjoyed this lovely house set on the ocean and with neighbours on either side. It was wonderfully large and comfortable and nicely appointed with everything we needed. The peaceful south coast still lingers in our minds - all the beauty of Iceland. And in this case, we felt somehow that we were really in a community setting amongst the neighbours and the horses and bird life. Needless for me to say, we two are enthralled by the landscapes and grandeur of Iceland. This is also within easy driving distance of major centres including the airport. It was a wonderful three nights, four days.
business
Renovated farmhouse by the ocean, 1 hour drive from KEF airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p818745
+354 692 9140
South Iceland Iceland
5

Iceland Seaside Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The cottage was well-maintained and the kitchen was well stocked with spices and other cooking essentials. It was also easy to find with directions furnished by owner and less than an hour drive from the airport. We were all greatly pleased with the accomodations for our family of four. While not expansive, the 3 bedrooms and living spaces were comfortable and well-sized.

Beach access was across a short meadow that was full of cute Icelandic ponies during our stay that the kids found quite interesting. The coast is rocky and rugged with shore birds and picturesque storm surf when weather got rough. Church down the road is also quite picturesque. Shopping stores were about 30 minute drive one way. Location was good for Golden Circle day trip and another day trip east along the coast to waterfalls and a final day trip to Reykjavik. Owner was flexible with duration of our stay and allowed early access to unit, which was greatly appreciated as we arrived early in morning from an overnight flight.

Only issue was operation of the washer/dryer that most likely stemmed from our lack of familairity with single washer/dryer unit. Some basic operating instructions would have been helpful.

Overall, we were greatly pleased with the cottage and would return if we were to visit Iceland again.
business
Renovated farmhouse by the ocean, 1 hour drive from KEF airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p818745
+354 692 9140
South Iceland Iceland
4

Very nice family cottage to spend your holiday in

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at this nice farmhouse in Iceland. Upon our arrival we were very warmly welcomed by Steinunn and Friorik, who showed us the property and gave the children a nice warm blanket (we arrived quite late in the evening). They even did some grocery shopping for us before we arrived, so we had something to eat the first morning.

The children totally LOVED all the available toys and especially the kite.
It is a very cosy house only 100m off the seashore with all you need for a pleasant stay.
We visited Iceland from Reykjavik up until the Dyrhólaey rocks with the puffins and also the entire Reykjanes peninsula, starting by car from the farmhouse. This was very doable allthough we did quite some miles by car.

All and all a very enjoyable stay.
PS: We LOOOOVED the Blue Lagoon (even did it twice !).
business
Renovated farmhouse by the ocean, 1 hour drive from KEF airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p818745
+354 692 9140
South Iceland Iceland
5

Great Cottage in a Stunning Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Fantastic cottage, fully equipped and in a very quiet and beautiful location. Ideally placed with just a short drive from the International airport, yet outside the busy capital. Would definitely recommend this location to anyone wanting to experience Iceland and all the fantastic scenery it has to offer. Hope to stay again at this wonderful cottage.
business
Renovated farmhouse by the ocean, 1 hour drive from KEF airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p818745
+354 692 9140
South Iceland Iceland
5

Idéal pour famille, bien équipée, neuf, calme

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Superbe location en Islande, endroit calme, bord de mer, grand terrain, à proximité d'un restaurant et d'un camping. Endroit idéal pour découvrir le Sud Ouest de l'Islande. Propriétaire très accueillant. Maison d'une propreté parfaite refaite à neuve, trois grandes chambres. Equipement exceptionnel, tout pour cuisiner, lave vaisselle, machine à laver, jouets, livres, guide, jumelles, torche électrique etc... il ne manquerait que internet mais on trouve le WIFI dans les centres commerciaux (10 Kms )
business
Renovated farmhouse by the ocean, 1 hour drive from KEF airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p818745
+354 692 9140
South Iceland Iceland
5

Very nice and cozy house next to the ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Very clean and comfortable, quiet location and with nice view to the sea and the auroras at the night sky!!
It was the perfect gateway for very nice daytours to Reykjanes peninsula with Krisuvik, to Reykjavik, Thingvellir and as far asLandmannalaugar! We were so lucky to get clear skies and superb Northern lights!
Very nice and friendly owners! Thank you very much!
business
Renovated farmhouse by the ocean, 1 hour drive from KEF airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p818745
+354 692 9140
South Iceland Iceland
5

Perfect holiday house for a family with kids

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We enjoyed our stay in this holiday house very much. When we arrived at the house, we could smell the sea (not like here in Belgium where you smell wafles en French fries when you visit the beach, but really the sea like it smelled when I was a child). There was a huge space outside to play and run and make noise (very important to our children) and even inside there was enough room to play, sit, sleep, read... On a bookshelf I even discovered a book in Dutch! Everything we needed was provided, even several herbs in the kitchen and soap for the washing machine. Our children (9, 7 and 3 years old) had a marvelous time with al the toys we found in the house, especially the kite was a success. The owners were very friendly and helpful, even though we arrived more than an hour late. They had several suggestions for child-friendly trips, for which we sadly hadn't enough time. We will certainly return to Iceland in a few years, when the children are older, to discover more, more, more!
business
Renovated farmhouse by the ocean, 1 hour drive from KEF airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p818745
+354 692 9140
South Iceland Iceland
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our first time in Iceland and we were very lucky to find what for us was the perfect place to stay.

The kitchen was very well equipped, the rooms were spacious and the grounds very large.

We were made to feel very welcome by the owners who were at all times friendly and helpful.

Thouroughly recommend this to anyone wanting to do the Golden Circle.
business
Renovated farmhouse by the ocean, 1 hour drive from KEF airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p818745
+354 692 9140
South Iceland Iceland
5

A comfortable holiday home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Using Steinunn's description, the haouse was easy to find. It is located a little off the main road No. 1, so it is a good starting point for excursions without having traffic noise.

The house was clean and in a real good shape, we immediately felt like home.
We enjoyed the scenic mountain view as well as the vicinity to the shore.
Cokking in the well equipped kitchen was fun. We spent four nice and relaxing days here.

When we return to iceland one day, we certainly are going to visit this house again.
business
Renovated farmhouse by the ocean, 1 hour drive from KEF airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p818745
+354 692 9140
South Iceland Iceland
5

A true Five-Star-Holiday House...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Visting Iceland for the first time is an interesting and extensive experience. But being guest in this perfectly equipped and charming little property was just as much a true highlight as meeting Steinunn and her family.

These are just a few words for a review but I think that says it all! Thank you very much again and best regards from Germany and your „partnercity“ of Cuxhaven!
Helpful votes: 1/1