Grand Lake house rental - Mustang Lodge in the summer
Mustang Lodge in the summer
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Grand Lake House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Newer log home in quiet Columbine Lake, a short distance from Grand Lake Village. Designed and built by the owner/architechural designer,this cabin is loaded with architectural details and cozy warmth. This log home is set up for multiple family get togethers without feeling cramped together.

The main floor has a cozy great room featuring an open kitchen and dining areas with a lofted living room complete with fireplace. The main floor master suit features a king-size bed, spa-style bathroom and views of the Never Summer Range Mountains.

The log staircase to the loft features custom wood carvings in the banister. The second floor has two bedrooms, three quarters bath and open loft area.

Bear Cave room has a bunk bed with trundle bed that sleeps four cubs easily. The Sleigh Room has a queen-size bed and great mountain views as well.

The basement features a large TV/game room with fireplace and comfy couches. The Canoe Room has a queen-size log bed with full bath close by.

The back deck has a grill and table for dining and views of the Never Summer Range.

Keywords: Log Home

More Details
Hide Details

This home was designed by Chris Hartman of Denver, for his wife Ellen and their children Alex and Austin. Chris is an architechural modeler at a Denver architecture firm and Ellen is a physician assistant in family practice. Chris designed and built most of the home himself...including clearing the lot, stacking the logs and laying the tile. Ellen wanted a cozy feeling home...but plenty of room to have friends and family up for visits.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

We have always been drawn to Grand County and Grand Lake. We owned land up there for years before we bought in Columbine...dreaming about the 'some day'. We have ski passes at Winter Park and like to hike in the summer. We like to walk the dog around the lake and enjoy seeing the wildlife. The village of Grand Lake is just so quaint and hasn't changed much over the years...except now main street is paved and they have a wonderful library. Chris has a new 29 inch mountain bike and exploring the trails.

Because the cabin is our second home, it is fully equipted with just about everything you can think of! You really do have enough pans and dishes to make and serve a complete holiday dinner! The house is good for bigger family groups...because it has cozy feel, but yet everyone gets their own space. We keep tinkertoys and legos up in the loft for rainy days and many a guests have thanked us. The fireplace is the center of the living room...not a tv...on purpose. We only have one tv in the basement set up for family movies and do not plan on adding any others. The stars up there are amazing. We now have a phone and internet service...which I resisted for a long time, but finally gave in to.

12 Reviews of Property 81547 in Grand Lake, Colorado

Mustang Lodge in Columbine Lake
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Mustang Lodge in Columbine Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p81547vbi
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Bethesda, Maryland
5

Wonderful family vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house was a wonderful place to stay! We had three generations of people staying in the house and we all had plenty of space. We cooked most meals at the house and found the kitchen to be very well stocked. The house also had plenty of towels and blankets, which came in handy given that we were traveling with two children under the age of three. We also found the owners to be very pleasant and responsive. I would highly recommend a vacation to Mustang Lodge.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mustang Lodge in Columbine Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p81547vbi
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Arvada, CO
5

The Perfect Colorado Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family of 4 kids and 6 adults makes an annual trip to Grand Lake in the summer and we always have trouble finding a home that has the right combo of beds/baths/parking/location/condition/etc. The Mustang Lodge was a perfect fit for us. It is located on a beautiful property, the bedroom and bathroom layouts are well planned for multiple families. I would classify the style as a perfect Colorado style mountain cabin. Our kids nicknamed it the Tree House because of the decorative log interior. The back patio and view is absolutely fantastic! Plenty of parking for our 3 vehicles and a boat. The beds and linens were very comfortable. We had access to the garage and it was perfect storage for bikes and toys. The owners were very kind and helpful. Overall, we had an excellent experience and plan on returning often!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mustang Lodge in Columbine Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p81547vbi
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Summer Mountain Escape from the Heat in KC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My and 2 other families spent the week at the Mustang Lodge and had a fabulous time. We had every ammenity needed and the kitchen was fully stocked with utensils and the necessities needed for cooking. The home was very comfortable for the 12 of us. We grilled out each night and dined on the deck that offered beautiful scenery. Each morning we had our coffee on the front porched and even watched a bull moose dine on aspen leaves about 10 feet from us! The walk to Columbine Lake was scenic (spotted 2 Moose on our way) and the lake itself was just gorgeous. The house was very close to town so we enjoyed shopping, kayaking and dining in Grand Lake Village. Winding River Ranch was within walking distance to the home, and the kids swam in the indoor pool and we went on a lovely horseback/trail ride there. I highly recommend this option over Sombrero Stables in town. The owner, Elaine is a wonderful hostess and the horses are amazing for first-time or experiencedriders. Jeff, our trail guide, was amazing and helpful. Please check it out. We were so sad to leave Mustang Lodge and Grand Lake, and can't wait to come back again next summer! The Mustang Lodge is a very nice place to stay - we all felt like we got much more than what we paid for with regard to space, kitchen ammenities, location, scenery, relaxation, etc.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We hear this similar story from many guests. Lots of moose sighting this summer because of all the moisture from the great snow melt. We are happy to share our creation.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Mustang Lodge in Columbine Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p81547vbi
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Denver Metro
5

Truly Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
A group of 4 adult couples used the "Mustang" as a way to get away from the everyday stresses of the Metro Denver and we couldn't have chosen a better place!

The plans included a combination of snowmobiling, shopping, dining, and general quiet time; believe me, we were not disappointed! One would think 4 couples would be cumbersome when "downtime" beckoned but we were able to enjoy good books, fun games, and MARCH MADNESS w/o stepping over others in our group.

The ventures to town were amazing (which weren't needed) and comforting. We walked the boardwalk (1st night) to have dinner/drinks during a wonderful snowfall that is undescribable. Additionally, the shops in downtown are amazing. We found some true treasures and enjoyed a uniqueness that you can't find in the I-70 corridor resort towns.

Overall, this house will supply most groups with everything they are looking for. We didn't bring our own snowmobiles but rented from On the Trail Rentals for two days. They are a short 10 minute drive if you're renting sleds; if you have your own, you can access the trail system directly from the house!

I can't forget to mention that the dining area and kitchen worked perfectly for a group of 8 and allowed everyone to mingle while meals were prepared...including a bottle of wine or two!

This is most likely one of the best deals someone can find in the Grand Lake area considering the accomodations. I will look no further for my future trips to Grand Lake...Chris and Ellen are perfect hosts!!!

We will return this summer/fall to enjoy fishing, atv rides, trips to RMNP, and quiet mountain evenings...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mustang Lodge in Columbine Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p81547vbi
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Pueblo West, CO
5

Great Winter Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Our family and friends have stayed in the Mustang Lodge two times now and it never disappoints. The house is always clean and available when promised (with usually early check in approved)! We love its location, and for us, the close proximity to the snowmobile trails. We look forward to our annual trip to Grand Lake and staying there. It’s far enough out of town to be quiet, but close enough for dinner, drinks, or to pick up forgotten supplies. Chris and Ellen are great to work with. If you follow their simple guidelines you will never have any issues with your deposit being returned in a very expedient manner. I would certainly recommend this lodge.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love repeat guests! And we are getting lots of repeat guests including this group!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mustang Lodge in Columbine Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p81547vbi
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
St. Paul, MN
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
I visited with a group of college women friends. On our first night, a moose walked right by as we were sipping cocktails on the deck. Amenities, furnishings, and location excellent! We took several day trips into the Park and town, returned to the cabin for lunch, and out again in the afternoon. Plenty of walks right from the cabin to see wildlife, birds, and wildflowers. We used gourmet kitchen and gas grill to cook up wonderful meals. Room for a large group without any crowding.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mustang Lodge in Columbine Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p81547vbi
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Denver CO
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Stayed here with a small reunion group. The moose visited us on the first day as well as a fox, and numerous hummingbirds. The home was perfect for our needs, comfortable with a bit of luxury. We were able to enjoy the National park as well as the town of Grand Lake. The wildflowers were magnificent. Would recommend this rental to anyone wanting a relaxing vacation.
business
Mustang Lodge in Columbine Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p81547vbi
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Colorado
5

Guestbook Comment

This is a wonderful home! We have stayed here several times and will return again. It is very comfortable with lots of room. It has a great play ar...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
This is a wonderful home! We have stayed here several times and will return again. It is very comfortable with lots of room. It has a great play area that kids love to spend hours in. The location is great for snowmobiling as you can ride right to the trails from the home. We have seen several Moose in the area during our stays. We highly recommend this home for an enjoyable and memorable stay in Grand Lake.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mustang Lodge in Columbine Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p81547vbi
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Boulder, Colorado
5

Guestbook Comment

We brought friends and family visiting from overseas for a winter adventure in Grand Lake. There was more than enough space in Mustang Lodge for the f...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
We brought friends and family visiting from overseas for a winter adventure in Grand Lake. There was more than enough space in Mustang Lodge for the five of us, and the great room provided the perfect place for us to hang out together and recover from long days in the snow. A beautiful, cozy log cabin that we hope to stay in again soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mustang Lodge in Columbine Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p81547vbi
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Algonquin, Il
5

Guestbook Comment

We had a great time at this house. It was close to Grand Lake, yet far enough away from the busyness of the town. The home was well furnished and de...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
We had a great time at this house. It was close to Grand Lake, yet far enough away from the busyness of the town. The home was well furnished and decorated exceptionally. There was enough room for 3 families to move around and find a place to relax without feeling crowded. We would rent this home again and highly recommed this to all.
Helpful votes: 2/2