Islington apartment rental - The park and Square are unchanged since 1810.
The park and Square are unchanged since 1810.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Islington Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Stylish living in a quiet flat on a lovely garden square. Civilised and pretty.

2014 is booking fast, but a few SHORT STAYS are available in April, May and June. Many repeat guests are filling up the calendar -- a sure sign that we're doing something right! (Just check out our reviews, below.) Full weeks avail beginning 12 July.

We're in London's historic Gibson Square, which is an oasis of calm just off of Islington's lively Upper Street, where you'll find literally dozens of upscale bars, restaurants and shops. Our neighbourhood is friendly, safe and immaculate, making the flat a perfect fit for a woman traveling alone, for a professional here on assignment working late hours -- for anyone, in fact, who appreciates a civilized lifestyle. We're convenient to public transport running quickly to all the sights and tourist attractions you'll want to visit in this great city. The flat is on the first floor of a Regency terraced town house (2nd floor American). Travel back in time with us -- all sides of the Square, and the park inside it, look just as they did when George III was busy losing the Colonies. This quiet, elegant, comfortable holiday rental flat features very high ceilings, cornice mouldings, and a brand new first-class renovation. The fully-equipped kitchen is a dream!

Perfect WiFi, and Sky TV including the extra cost Sports and Movies options. Sleeps just 2.

Those Wonderful Double-Decker Buses: Several key buses stop just three minutes from the house, giving convenient scenic access to all the museums, tourist sights, markets and historic neighbourhoods you'll want to see on your vacation, cheaper and often quicker than the tube. Unlike in most cities, here the bus is your friend, with its dedicated express lanes and incredibly low cost -- just £1.30 with the Oyster Card you'll get the day you arrive! Take the splendid double-decker #4 red bus to Sadlers Wells, St Paul’s Cathedral, the Millennium Bridge to the Tate Modern and Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre, Fleet Street, Oxford Street shopping, Covent Garden and the West End theatres, and finally Waterloo Bridge across the River Thames to the South Bank (National Theatre, Royal Festival Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall, British Film Institute, Hayward Gallery, the London Eye), Imax, Waterloo Station, and the Old Vic. (All that in barely half an hour’s ride!) Other buses from this neighbourhood have similarly-stunning itineraries

The Tube, and the Rail System: It's just a 7-minute walk to the Angel Islington tube station (Northern Line, Zone 1) for quick connections throughout London – just 1 stop to the King's Cross / St Pancras transport hub for further tube connections, the Eurostar to Paris, and mainline trains to Scotland, the North of England, and Gatwick and Luton Airports. And yes, King's Cross does have a brick wall bearing the sign 'Platform 9 3/4'. It's a 10-minute walk to the Highbury & Islington tube station (Victoria Line) connecting to the Stansted (Airport) Express, and looping through Central London to Victoria Station with connections to all lines. Arsenal's Emirates football stadium is at Highbury, as are National Rail's overground North London and Northern City Lines. Canary Wharf, the Financial District and the 2012

The Olympics venues are quickly accessed from here. Heathrow Airport, by the way, is best accessed by the 15-minute Heathrow Express train, which you get from Paddington Station, less than 20 minutes away.

Your Holiday Rental Flat in London: Contact us now to book your London vacation! We're convenient to all the tourist sights, and you can enjoy fine dining, theatres, museums and shopping, while living in a stylish, cosy, classic period flat. Enjoy your London city break out on the town, or take a night off, cook at home and hunker down for some uniquely English delights on SKY TV. Check out our great reviews, and for a map highlighting our favourite shops, restaurants, markets and scenic neighbourhood walks, just click on the link to our personal website:

www.GibsonSquareProperties.com

More Details
Hide Details

Recently retired, my partner and I now live our life-long dream of having four sweet homes and living in whichever strikes our fancy at a given time. Since the stock market crash of 2008, to cover the bills, all the properties are rented on HomeAway whenever we're not in them. Managing the rentals has turned into quite a pleasant, though very time consuming, new profession for us, wherein we meet (or at least correspond with) the loveliest people from all over the planet. We've had nearly 300 guests in the past six years, and not a single bad experience. Phew! And we have great local staff for each property, so each home is always up to our own high standards for comfort, cleanliness and beauty.

Before retiring in 2005, I spent more than 30 years working on Broadway and in London's West End -- first managing, then producing, big musicals (mostly) plus handfuls of plays and concerts. I was part of the original productions of GODSPELL, DREAMGIRLS, LA CAGE AUX FOLLES, and many dozens more, and producer of The Who's TOMMY and JEKYLL & HYDE, to name a few. Broadway concerts include Bette Midler, Michael Crawford, Frank Sinatra and even a very elderly Josephine Baker (a New Year's Eve concert, at the Palace, of course), whose chateau is just down the road from our house in France.

My partner Bill Rosenfield was for many years what Time Magazine wrote of him: 'RCA Victor's Man about Broadway'. He produced more than 60 Original Cast Recordings -- just pick one up at home if you have one -- if it's from the 1990's or early 2000's, his name is probably on it: CHICAGO, TOMMY, RAGTIME, CABARET, on and on. Billy's now retired from that and actively engaged in his one true passion: writing plays. This new career is just budding, but already showing great progress. He does most of his writing in a cute little shed at the bottom of the garden behind our London flat.

See all our homes at GibsonSquareProperties.com

Gary Gunas purchased this apartment in 2007

We love the Regency (late Georgian) architecture that is so prevalent in this part of town -- simple terraced houses with strict symmetry and Palladio's cube-and-a-half proportions which somehow create a great sense of calm, order and sophistication. Our house, on a perfectly-preserved square containing nothing but its original homes, features large windows and big open sky -- plus that pristine little park right across the square, with something in bloom every month of the year. And we greatly appreciate that very 'London' phenomenon, which is that all we hear is birdsong here, notwithstanding the fact that we're a 90-second walk to the very busy Upper Street, abounding with life and energy.

25 Reviews of Property 811435 in Islington, United Kingdom

A superb studio with a view, flooded with light. Calm, luxurious and romantic.
average rating of 4.88 based on 25 reviews
business
A superb studio with a view, flooded with light. Calm, luxurious and romantic.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p811435
+44 (0) 7850 519 931
Islington London
5

Highest Recommendation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Hands-down the most tastefully decorated rental I’ve ever seen, even handsomer than the photos led me to hope. I loved waking up each morning in such a beautiful room and just wanted to move in and stay. It looks as though the owners decorated it for their own pleasure and outfitted it for their convenience rather than as a rental. Everything is pristine—scrubbed clean and impeccably maintained.

I'd never heard of Islington, but that was sort of the point. It’s an area of the city--like Chelsea, Kensington, Bloomsbury, etc—that was a pleasure to learn a bit about, and because it’s less known, it’s not at all touristy. It’s a real neighborhood where some very lucky Londoner’s live on lovely little Georgian squares. Everything you could want, including excellent pubs and restaurants, is in walking distance, and the major sights of London a tube-ride away.

The owners’ exceptionally thorough and entertaining guide to the flat and to Islington covers all you might want to know. If a question does arise, however, the owners respond in minutes.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A superb studio with a view, flooded with light. Calm, luxurious and romantic.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p811435
+44 (0) 7850 519 931
Islington London
Toronto
5

I didn't want to leave!

I didn't want to leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Seriously, I would like to live in this flat. And I felt as if that's what I did for just over a week, as opposed to just "staying" somewhere. The flat itself is so beautiful and so comfortably equipped that I would not change a thing about it. It was bigger than I expected it to be (something that rarely happens) and looked as good (or better) than the photographs. Clearly, everything has been carefully chosen and the owners care about comfort as well as aesthetics.

The location is great and I loved the neighbourhood. I shopped at the nearby Sunday morning farmers' market, Borough Market (one bus will take you there), and the supermarkets that are just a short walk away and actually did some cooking in the kitchen. So often, kitchen facilities are not conducive to anything more than reheating food or putting take away on a plate but I was quite happy to do more than that in this kitchen.

The underground station is not far away and, even better, many of the buses that stop nearby will take you where you want to go. One of the great pleasures of London is walking and I did a lot of that, too.

I really loved the way the space was flooded with light each morning when I opened the shutters. (Yes, this was the case even when the London skies were grey.) And I also loved the fact that there were many ways to light the flat. I really appreciated the choice of lamps and the dimmers.

I was happy to find that there was a radio - seems like a small thing but it's something I listen to at home in the mornings and often miss when I travel. The bookshelf was equipped with a great selection of books likely to be of interest to visitors to London. I've added some to my list of books I need to get since I didn't have time to read them during my stay!

The information binder in the flat was invaluable and it was great to have the manuals for each appliance at hand. There is no way I would have figured some of this stuff out without instructions! Btw, that's not a comment on the appliances :) Gary was also really helpful and it was great to know that I could always get a quick answer to any question I might have.

In short - I loved this place and would love to return some day.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A superb studio with a view, flooded with light. Calm, luxurious and romantic.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p811435
+44 (0) 7850 519 931
Islington London
5

Absolutely fantastic location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Absolutely fantastic location in a very quiet and "English" neighborhood next to a small park. Tastefully decorated. Good details like wood shutters throughout the height of the window. Well equipped kitchen. Lovely bathroom with freestanding bath. Good and useful information regarding the local area from the landlord.
business
A superb studio with a view, flooded with light. Calm, luxurious and romantic.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p811435
+44 (0) 7850 519 931
Islington London
Seattle
5

Delightful studio flat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Even more beautiful than the photos, Gary's Islington flat was a delightful place to call home. Every detail was considered - from the bedding and towels to the kitchen accessories, lighting, and tv. The main room is tastefully decorated with lovely artwork, furniture and books - so it feels like a real home, not a sterile hotel room. The view of the gardens from the windows is full of light. There's a great instructional notebook with descriptions of how everything works, neighborhood recommendations and tons of helpful information. It was such a comfortable, romantic and luxurious place, I would recommend it highly to anyone.
business
A superb studio with a view, flooded with light. Calm, luxurious and romantic.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p811435
+44 (0) 7850 519 931
Islington London
5

"Just like it says on the tin"

"Just like it says on the tin"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I can't gush more about this flat, it didn't disappoint at all as a home base to explore London. It looked just like in the photos, and Gary's "welcome to the neighborhood" information was just the thing to get acclimated to the area quickly. I took his advice and made a reservation at the Pig and Butcher for my first night in London. OMG. The best. My only regret was that I didn't get the chance to try Ottolenghi. That will have to be for next time.

The price was less than a hotel stay for the same amount of time, and the bonus of having a kitchen and washer/dryer clinched the deal. I want a combination washer/dryer! What convenience to not have to be there to move wet clothes to the dryer, and to do laundry on my last day while I'm out doing some last-minute sightseeing and shopping so I don't have to do laundry when I get home? Nice!

I've already recommended this place to all my friends and family, and I want to come back!
business
A superb studio with a view, flooded with light. Calm, luxurious and romantic.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p811435
+44 (0) 7850 519 931
Islington London
5

A wonderful escape in a perfect neighbourhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed in this flat for a week in October and it exceeded our expectations. The reason we first booked the flat was the photos of the big windows and all of the light streaming in and the real thing was even better than pictured. The main room is just beautiful with the gorgeous windows, the ridiculously comfortable bed, the cozy reading chair and ample but hidden closet space. It was so nice to wake up to the light and the view of the park every morning and also to go to sleep with a breeze from the open window every night. The kitchen was great, spotless and well equipped, including a gas stove and a more than ample fridge. The bathroom is lovely with a beautiful big window looking out onto the garden and an absolutely wonderful bath tub! My wife has a bath every morning and is still talking about how much she misses it. The oversized bathrobes were a nice touch too!
The neighbourhood is fantastic with an endless selection of restaurants and shops; we enjoyed wonderful vegetarian, Spanish, Middle Eastern, Indian and Italian food all within a stone’s throw.
Words can’t really do this lovely little flat justice and we will absolutely stay here the next time we visit London. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.
business
A superb studio with a view, flooded with light. Calm, luxurious and romantic.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p811435
+44 (0) 7850 519 931
Islington London
Belleville Ontario
5

Perfect Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
After staying in the studio flat for two weeks in October,we wonder why would anyone wish to rent a hotel room? Our experience at 24 Gibson Square was perfection from our initial contact with Gary to the moment of our departure. The decor, cleanliness, amenities and location were second to none.

The flat was bright, airy and spacious with so many personal touches. After walking miles each day, it was absolute bliss to soak in the claw foot bathtub filled with hot, hot water. With the windows open to bring in the fresh, cool night air, we nestled under the soft, cozy duvet and slept like logs.

Although we took full advantage of the tube and buses (all within a few minutes' walk), it was a treat to be able to walk around the corner for grocery stores and restaurants. The French bistro, Le Sacre Coeur, quickly became a favourite dining spot.

Our stay at 24 Gibson Square was most certainly a highlight of a most memorable vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
A superb studio with a view, flooded with light. Calm, luxurious and romantic.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p811435
+44 (0) 7850 519 931
Islington London
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
2

Not as Advertised

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My wife and I stayed in this so called luxury apartment for one week. We were extremely disappointed. It was not clean throughout,including the dishes and cutlery, with no teapot for making tea. The king bed is actually two singles placed together, well used and uncomfortable with no top sheet. We were provided with one towel each and one hand towel to share for the entire week. Upon arrival, we discovered that the shower did not work properly and sprayed water all over the ceiling. Needless to say, the excessive security deposit is unwarranted, The unit is over priced. Although the issues with the shower and lack of towels were addressed promptly, we feel the studio is not as advertised. Even though the location is excellent, we would not recommend this apartment in the luxury class it is advertised. We did stay at a five star apartment during our vacation and there is no comparison. It was appropriately priced with no security deposit.
Owner's Response: We are astonished and horrified to read this review! And completely blind-sided by it.

As our other reviews show quite clearly (every one of them five stars), we go to extraordinary lengths to assure the happiness of every one of our guests. We have four properties on HomeAway, each with its own unblemished run of five-star reviews. Though we were out of town the day this couple arrived, we returned just a few days later and had nothing but pleasant interchanges with them -- they didn't give us any hint of dis-satisfaction at any time during their stay. (We live in the flat directly beneath theirs, and, as with all our guests, I repeatedly gave my mobile number to them for any and all questions or concerns, however small.)

They said they were running low on cash and we cheerfully returned to them 60% of their damage deposit on the spot, in cash, at the mid-point of their stay. (This is the first we’ve heard that they felt our £500 damage deposit is high.) We removed all feather pillows from the flat as they’d previously requested, we arranged with our cleaner for an early check-in, and when we got their e-mail about the leaking shower head -- though we were in New York at the time -- we managed to get it repaired within less than 60 minutes.

We are utterly baffled to learn that there was a problem with the cleaning and no top sheet on the bed. Our terrific cleaning lady, Maria, is, like ourselves, an absolute neat-freak. We find this accusation unfathomable, but as we weren’t there to see it for ourselves, we can only accept that this was their observation.

The bed is not two singles. It is a break-apart super-king bed which bolts and zips together. It is designed for old Georgian townhouses like our own, which have staircases too narrow to carry a large mattress through. The zip is absolutely undetectable through the soft mattress cover that we use beneath the bottom sheet. The bed is barely a year old, and most guests comment favourably upon its great comfort. Our White Company sheets cost more than £500 per set, and we’ve never knowingly had the bed made without a top sheet -- though one could do so in the European manner, given that our 800-thread-count Egyptian cotton duvet covers are freshly laundered and pressed for every guest.

Had these guests given us the slightest inkling of their unhappiness, we’d have moved mountains to turn that around. I only wish they’d spoken up when we could have done something about it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A superb studio with a view, flooded with light. Calm, luxurious and romantic.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p811435
+44 (0) 7850 519 931
Islington London
5

Beautiful Flat, Great Location, Wealth of Information.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My wife and I stayed at this location for 9 nights and we have nothing but praises for this property, the location and of course the property owners themselves. This was our first trip to London, and we relied heavily on all of the information Gary provided initially thru email correspondence and of course through his website. I can honestly say, we were not disappointed with any of his information. We utilized his recommended transportation modes (mostly bus, some trains, very little tube, and then the car service to the airport), local area restaurants (The Pig and Butcher, The Albion, Ottolenghi, Carluccio's, Euphorium Bakery, etc.), local shopping, and even the theater (saw "Once" at the Phoenix). Aside from all of the good advice, the flat was just perfect. Easy to get to, in and out of, great decor, comfortable, and very QUIET. I was expecting more city noise, so the location was a wonderful home base to come back after a full day in London. In closing, I normally do not review something something unless it really, really, made a positive impact on my experience. This place and location did just that. I have been bragging to all of my friends on Gary and his attention to detail. Thank you so much Gary for offering such a great place to stay and then supporting it with good quality detailed information to take advantage of the area and what is has to offer. We will definitely return!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind remarks, Jim! It's really gratifying to see our efforts being useful to our guests. As for the QUIET, yes, we marvel at it ourselves. One of London's many great charms is the calm you can get in certain garden squares like ours -- just two blocks from the very lively high street, it's pretty much nothing but birdsong here. We look forward to your return!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A superb studio with a view, flooded with light. Calm, luxurious and romantic.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p811435
+44 (0) 7850 519 931
Islington London
5

Charming, delightful, welcoming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Charming, delightful, welcoming - these same words can be used to describe the apartment and the owners of this clean, Islington studio filled with character and a well-stocked kitchen.

Gary and Billy are a wealth of information about the area. And my wife and I looked forward to coming home every night to what felt like our apartment after just a few short days.

I used to live in England and I would come back here and rent this apartment again in a second. What a real, true find! Thanks again for a relaxing, comfortable stay. Really enjoyed our time here.