Steigen house rental - the house on early summer
the house on early summer
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
 

Steigen House Rental Photos and Description
Large and comfortable timber framed house with 2 receptions and 6 bedroooms

The house is accessed via a 70 meter path from the side road. The nearest neighbours are 500 meters away. The rose garden is enclosed with garden furniture and a barbecue area. If you follow the path down from the house you will arrive at the bay inlet where our boat is moored. On entering our three floored house, there is a hall area leading to a family bathroom and open plan living and kitchen space. In the basement is a further open plan reception room. Both areas have scandanavian wood burning stoves. Tthe house also benefits from air conditioning units and wall mounted heaters in each of the six bedrooms. Upstairs there are four singles, one with bunkbeds and a double bedroom. There is a WC with sink on the same floor. On sunny days meals can be taken on the spacious wooden balcony which overlooks the garden.

13 Reviews of Property 786254 in Steigen, Norway

Idylllic Norwegian farmhouse by the sea wtih views
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 13 reviews
business
Idylllic Norwegian farmhouse by the sea wtih views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p786254
+47 75779271
Steigen Salten
Birmingham, England
5

Characterful house on an amazing island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a magical week staying in the house in February 2014. The house is located in peaceful, idyllic surroundings, ideal for a holiday to get away from it all, and is perfectly is located to explore the beautiful island of Engeløya. The house itself is very charming and characterful, and contained everything we needed for a very comfortable weeks holiday. Engeløya has a wonderfully remote and genuine feel to it, and is fully of breathtaking scenery! We had a lot of fun walking, hiking and driving around the island and its surroundings. As a bonus, on one night we saw a particular vivid northern lights display! Would be more than happy to recommend the house and island!
business
Idylllic Norwegian farmhouse by the sea wtih views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p786254
+47 75779271
Steigen Salten
5

Peace and tranquility off the beaten track

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We spent a week here with our 3 kids (13,12,7) to round off a month long tour of Norway. We loved the remoteness and extraordinary beauty of Engeloya. We happily filled our days with hiking, playing on the beach, fishing and boat trips. It was a pleasure meeting Kerstin and family, who were friendly, helpful and hospitable. Our only regret is that we didn't book a second week. The house is charming, characterful, well maintained and equipped with everything you might need. The inclusion of a boat in the rental is a great touch. The listing description and photos give a fair and realistic impression of a stay in this property. Highly recommended!
business
Idylllic Norwegian farmhouse by the sea wtih views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p786254
+47 75779271
Steigen Salten
MA
5

Stunningly beautiful and relaxing vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I spent the second week of our Norwegian honeymoon in Kerstin's lovingly restored farmhouse on the island of Engeloya. It was such an incredibly beautiful and unique place to visit and truly the highlight of our entire trip. The house is full of charm and the care and love that went into restoring it is apparent in every room. We loved cooking ourselves dinner in the quaint kitchen and watching sunsets over the water from the porch just off the back of the house. The island is quiet and relaxing with incredible vistas from every side - there is a long white sand beach to walk with the jagged Lofoten landscape on the horizon, WWII bunkers to hike around and explore, and even a mountain to climb if you're so inclined. We will cherish the memories of drinking our morning coffee looking out over the young cows in a nearby field and taking a twilight-at-11pm boat ride with Kerstin and family. Kerstin was a gracious and welcoming host, meeting us at the house upon our arrival to show us around, and so helpful in making our stay comfortable. What a truly fantastic and once-in-a-lifetime place to stay. I would recommend this experience to anyone!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Idylllic Norwegian farmhouse by the sea wtih views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p786254
+47 75779271
Steigen Salten
4

Engeloya House, Nordland

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
A very traditional house, with all the facilities you need for a comfortable stay. Great Location, Amazing Views, Incredible Sunsets, Tranquil and a great place to just wander outside to see the Northern lights during the Norweigen Winter. We were especially lucky to arrive after heavy snowfall which meant the landscape just glistened white and the water shimmered blue with a perfectly clear ice blue sky - truely magical.

We were so lucky to see the Northern Lights here 4 nights in a row (very rare) just by walking out the door. The lights were amazing, like someone drawing and filling in the sky in front of your eyes.

Just when you think it does not get better you will meet Kerstin, Rolf and their family, who could not have done more for us, organising a Fishing Trip on a real trawler, lending us their Nordic skis and kids sledges and even a trip with our children to see their cows.

If there was one reason to go here if would be for the amazingly beautiful Island of Engeloya

We now look forward to visting in the summer and taking the boat out for a little fishing trip.

Thankyou. Paul, Julia and Ellwood Raggett + The Forrer Family
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Idylllic Norwegian farmhouse by the sea wtih views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p786254
+47 75779271
Steigen Salten
4

Urlaub in einer großartigen Landschaft

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Schönes und großes Ferienhaus ( alles drin und dran was man braucht ) in einer ruhigen Lage und einer Landschaft die man nicht vergißt.
Sehr nette und hilfsbereite Vermieter. Gut sortierter Kaufmannsladen in der Nähe.
Im Mai /Juni 2013 teilweise nur mit viel Sonnencreme und gekühlten Getränken auszuhalten. Die Insel ist landschaftlich so
vielseitig und die Gewässer so fischreich (und das abseits der üblichen Anglercamps) , daß nur ein Urlaub dafür nicht ausreicht.
Auch bei nicht so gutem Wetter ist zum Angeln immer ein geschütztes Plätzchen zu finden.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Idylllic Norwegian farmhouse by the sea wtih views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p786254
+47 75779271
Steigen Salten
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

14.02.-21.02.2013

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Thank you Kerstin for a wonderful stay in your lovely house.
We found your house to be very well equipped and you were only too happy to help with anything we needed. Such a warm and cosy place to come back to after a night of searching for the Northern Lights. which we were fortunate to see from the patio. The views are stunning from every window and we pretty much lived in the heart of the house being the huge kitchen.
You have brought a real creative look to the house - so cosy, but authentic, you and your family were very welcoming, very kind + helpful even though you are very busy yourselves !"
I would highly recommend this place to my friends and anyone looking to get away from the cities. I hope to return again in the not too distant future.


Thanks again Kerstin:)
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Idylllic Norwegian farmhouse by the sea wtih views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p786254
+47 75779271
Steigen Salten
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

26.12.-29.12.2012

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Liebe Kerstin!
Vielen Dank für die tolle und warme Betreuung vor und während unserer Reise.
Insbesondere die Wanderung auf die Bergspitze mit Dir im Dezember wird uns in
Erinnerung bleiben.
Trotz fehlender Nordlichter haben wir das Haus, Engeløya und die Ruhe unglaublich
genossen.
Euch alles Gute fürs nächste Jahr! Auf ein Wiedersehen,

Johannes & Leonie
P.S. Leonie fand Deine Kühe bezaubernd!
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Idylllic Norwegian farmhouse by the sea wtih views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p786254
+47 75779271
Steigen Salten
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

From Wednesday 15.08. - Tuesday 28.08.12

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Thirteen tranquil days on the island of Angels,
punctuated by mountain walks, bracing dips in the sea (Bø Sands), a boat trip to see the Sea
Eagles and an overnight stay in the Lofoten
Islands. We will depart from here envigourated by the calm silence and the distant tinkle of cow bells.
Today is our last day. Not shure wether we will chance our arm with some fishing!
Thanks to Kirsten and Rolf-Arne for wonderful
hospitality and a cosy, clean and comfortable
place to stay. We have all recharged our batteries here and time has passed so quickly.
Hope to make it back sometime.
All the best and warmest regards from the Kleinman family.
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Idylllic Norwegian farmhouse by the sea wtih views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p786254
+47 75779271
Steigen Salten
5

Jederzeit gerne wieder!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Sehr empfelenswertes frei stehendes Haus mit Terrasse und sehr schönem Blumengarten. Es war ein wunderschöner Urlaub, alles wie es auf der Homepage beschrieben ist und noch viel mehr hat sich bewahrheitet :-) Die Fussboden-Heizung im Badezimmer läst selbst kühlere Tage gut beginnen. In der Umgebung gibt es viele Wandermöglichkeiten; Beschreibung mit Karte sowie Seekarte für Angler... vorhanden ( sehr löblig).
Kontakt zum Vermieter war so Gut, das wir dort einen schönen Vormittag verbracht haben, der uns allen gut gefallen hat selbst den Kindern.
Wer Ruhe sucht ist dort richtig, die Vermissen wir schon und hoffen daher auf ein wiedersehen.

Viele Grüße aus Köln
Martina & Michael
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Idylllic Norwegian farmhouse by the sea wtih views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p786254
+47 75779271
Steigen Salten
4

Beoordeling huis in Engeloya in Steigen.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Hallo Kerstin, we hebben heerlijke dagen in jullie mooie huis gehad. We konden vanaf het balkon de fjord zien en zijn met jullie motorboot op de fjord geweest. Je wilde alles voor ons doen en niets was je teveel. Het was daar een prachtige omgeving en jullie huis stond op een heerlijke rustige plek. Een aanrader.
Groeten,
Gerrit en Willy uit Enter.
Helpful votes: 2/3