Indian Rocks Beach cottage rental - Sandy Shores overlooks the dunes and gulf. You can't get closer to the beach.
Sandy Shores overlooks the dunes and gulf. You can't get closer to the beach.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Indian Rocks Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Sandy Shores has been in the Hall family for over 60 years, and is currently owned and operated by Myrtle Hall. Myrtle is German-born and moved to Indian Rocks Beach in 2000 when she married her late husband, Ned. Ned’s grandmother bought the Indian Rocks Beach property in 1946. Ned's father George Hall built the first, two-story building in 1952. The one-story Gulf Cottage followed in 1972. Ned's family lived here in the winter, and spent the summer in Ithaca, NY, where his father was the Golf Coach at Cornell University for over 40 years. Ned followed in his footsteps as a PGA Teaching Professional for over 25 years. He was teaching at the Clearwater Golf Club located in Clearwater, Florida when Myrtle, in Florida on holiday from Germany, met him in 1998. Myrtle and Ned, of course, had their wedding right in front of beautiful Sandy Shores!

Like Ned, Myrtle fell in love with this beautiful property and its rich family history. Ned and Myrtle started to rent out their cottages in 2005 after a complete beautification and enjoyed every minute of sharing this lovely property with their guests. Myrtle carries on the Hall family tradition of hospitality at Sandy Shores and adds her special brand of German warmth. Her attention to detail and cleanliness makes Sandy Shores a unique and charming retreat.

Surf, sand and sun, coupled with quiet solitude, magnificent sunsets, and the shade of the Australian Pines make this the perfect getaway spot. You will enjoy one of the most beautiful beaches in the world - perfect for a morning stroll or an afternoon shelling expedition, as well as beautiful-maintained accommodations. Sandy Shores is a slice of Old Florida at it's very finest.

Wireless/WIFI available

Visit our other properties at:

VRBO.com/508989 - Patio Cottage

VRBO.com/508994 - Garden Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

Sandy Shores has been in my late husband, Ned's, family for over 60 years. Ned's Grandmother bought it in 1946 and his Father built the first two story building in 1952 and the Gulf Cottage followed in 1972.

I live onsite so I am available during your stay. I've also worked for 12 years in a local bank. One of the things my guests repeatedly tell me, is that they can see my love for Sandy Shores in the cleanliness and beauty of the property. I take pride in knowing my attention to detail ensures my guests have the most comfortable stay. And, for my German visitors, I enjoy speaking German to help you feel at home.

Myrtle Hall purchased this cottage in 1946

We started to rent out our cottages in 2005 after a total beautification and enjoying ever since every minute of sharing this lovely property with all our guests.

Rest in our secluded gardens, enjoy the shade under our beautiful Australian Pine Trees and watch the Gulf of Mexico and the fantastic sunsets from your living room and dining area. You can't get any closer to the dunes and beach.

57 Reviews of Property 78339 in Indian Rocks Beach, Florida

Beachfront Cottages at Beautiful Sandy Shores
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 57 reviews
business
Beachfront Cottages at Beautiful Sandy Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78339vbi
(727) 4182799
Indian Rocks Beach Florida Central Gulf Coast
Naperville, Illinois
5

Paradise on the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
If you are looking for a tranquil, beautiful place to stay that is only steps away from the beach then Sandy Shores is the perfect destination for you. I have stayed at 4 other places in Indian Rocks over the last 30 years and Sandy Shores is by far my favorite place to stay. Myrtle is continuing the tradition of cozy, clean and affordable accommodations that was started by her late husband Ned. Everything you need is provided. A variety of restaurants are just a short walk away and the beautiful white sands of Indian Rocks Beach are just steps from your door. As long as I go to IRB, Sandy Shores will be my choice for a perfect, relaxing vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront Cottages at Beautiful Sandy Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78339vbi
(727) 4182799
Indian Rocks Beach Florida Central Gulf Coast
Munich/Germany
5

Verry special place, a insider tip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at Sandy Shores for the first time, and it was very relaxing. It was a garden paradise with the beach and gulf of Mexico just down a short path. Sandy Shores is wonderful and the cottages are super clean, well appointed with a great location. You won't regret your stay at "Sandy Shores"! We had a little bit bad luck because of the weather. So we visited Cape Caneveral (KSC), Myakka River State Park (Gators without a fence 15 yds away), Homosassa River with the Manatees, Tarpon Springs, Ybor City, Cleerwater Beach with Pier 60. All these points of interest are reachable within at most 2 hours. For dinner there is Crabby Bill across the street - fantastic place with excellent shrimps. Also across the street is a CVS for forgotten milk etc. We hope to come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront Cottages at Beautiful Sandy Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78339vbi
(727) 4182799
Indian Rocks Beach Florida Central Gulf Coast
Denver, Colorado
5

Perfect Beach Vacation Spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
When I first found this property on VRBO I was a little skeptical, as there are so many properties to choose from and it can be difficult when you are looking at pictures and reading descriptions from another state. What attracted us was the layout of the property, with only 3 cottages, instead of the large, high rise condominiums that have replaced many of the quaint, older properties. Dealing with Ned and Myrtle instead of a large property management company made me feel even more comfortable about renting the property. The listing was very accurate and the photos were exactly as the property is. The property is well maintained and comfortable with so many places to relax and enjoy the landscaping and lizards! The kitchen in the Gulf Cottage was well equipped and everything was spotless. We also had the Garden and Patio Cottages, which were smaller but comfortable and clean. The private beach was beautiful, and there are many activities and restaurants within walking distance. We rented beach cruisers the first day and rode the beach...very relaxing and enjoyable. The next day was spent parasailing from John's Pass, just a few miles south, and relaxing on the private beach. Ned and Myrtle were very helpful with any questions as well as restaurant referrals, etc. We will definitely be back, and would highly recommend this property to anyone seeking a comfortable, peaceful vacation on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico! Thank you, Ned and Myrtle Hall!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beachfront Cottages at Beautiful Sandy Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78339vbi
(727) 4182799
Indian Rocks Beach Florida Central Gulf Coast
Murfreesboro, TN
5

BEACH BEAUTIFUL!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I were looking for a little relaxation and we found it at Sandy Shores in Indian Rocks Beach. Ned and Myrtle are friendly hosts who have created the perfect beach accomodations. The cottage was CLEAN CLEAN, CLEAN with all the amenities. If you want sand, surf, sun, mixed in with a little food, this is THE place! We could see the beach from our window and within 20 steps our feet were in the sand. The sand was white and clean, and the beaches were not crowded. We wanted a trip to decompress and we were able to do just that. We never drove anywhere once we got there. We played paddle ball, walked, picked up seashells, watched sunsets, and thoroughly enjoyed our time on the beach and in the sun. There is a fabulous ice cream shop just down the street a block and the restaurants across the street had great food. There is no reason to go anywhere else -- This is a FABULOUS rental and location. I can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beachfront Cottages at Beautiful Sandy Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78339vbi
(727) 4182799
Indian Rocks Beach Florida Central Gulf Coast
Georgia
5

Perfect Place in Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I am a confirmed returned customer of Myrtle & Ned at their beautiful "Sandy Shores". They are wonderful and the cottages are super clean, well appointed with a great location. You won't regret your stay at "Sandy Shores"!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beachfront Cottages at Beautiful Sandy Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78339vbi
(727) 4182799
Indian Rocks Beach Florida Central Gulf Coast
Pearland, Texas
5

It's PERFECT!!!!

It's PERFECT!!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was my first time at Sandy Shores and already cannot wait to go back!!! Ned and Myrtle have created the perfect beach get-away!! It's not only beautiful, but also cozy and comfortable. I brought my two young nieces and they had a blast as well. The cottages are clean and welcoming - and had all the comforts of home. The gardens are just gorgeous and provide various places to eat, relax, and enjoy the sounds, smells and flowers of the beach climate. I simply could not have had a better time. Thank you Ned and Myrtle - See you next year for sure!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beachfront Cottages at Beautiful Sandy Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78339vbi
(727) 4182799
Indian Rocks Beach Florida Central Gulf Coast
Maine
5

Quiet oasis on a busy street

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Loved our little oasis. You would never know there is a busy street in the back. Enjoyed our sunsets every night and the wonderfull beach steps away from our door. Ned and Myrtle are great hosts for this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beachfront Cottages at Beautiful Sandy Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78339vbi
(727) 4182799
Indian Rocks Beach Florida Central Gulf Coast
Holland,Pa
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Great location..Godly clean, Ned and Myrtle are such nice people.... We had a great relaxing vacation. Only a few steps and there you are on the beach. We loved it so much we are going back next year. Jean and Jay Calhoun
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Beachfront Cottages at Beautiful Sandy Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78339vbi
(727) 4182799
Indian Rocks Beach Florida Central Gulf Coast
New Castle, Indiana
5

Wonderful Accomodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our third time to stay at Sandy Shores. I found it the first year through this webbsite. I read the reviews that stressed cleanliness. The reviews turned out to be true. The owners take pride in the upkeep and cleanliness of the property. The owners are very helpful answering questions. There's plenty of beach space. You can cook in the units or go out to eat. There are plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance. I recommend Crabby Bill's. We are going back for a fourth spring break.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beachfront Cottages at Beautiful Sandy Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78339vbi
(727) 4182799
Indian Rocks Beach Florida Central Gulf Coast
Cape Cod, MA
5

2 Cape Cod tourists

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We stayed at Sandy Shores for the first time, and it was most enjoyable. It was a garden paradise with the beach and gulf of Mexico just down a short path. Three weeks was too short a stay for us!! The unit we occupied was very comfortable and very clean! The Indian Rocks Beach area,( where Sandy Shores is located), is a flourishing community with excellent dining establishments, clothing stores and tourist shops. Our hosts Ned & Myrtle made our stay as relaxing as a vacation should be. We'll be back in the future!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3