Little Rock house rental - Pier
Pier
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Little Rock House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This is a quiet lakeside cottage located on a fenced 2 acre lot. The original structure was built in 1927 by J. L. Burgie and has remained in the family ever since. Extensively remodeled in 2000, our lake house is a perfect retreat from the pressures of the city. A private pier (not child proof) and concrete boat ramp provide easy lake access. Even in the winter the sunroom is perfect for reading, writing or just contemplating the sun setting over the lake. For warmer days relax on the screened in porch.

Horseshoe Lake provides excellent fishing, and many kinds of birds and other wildlife may be seen near the house, depending on the time of year, including white pelicans, great egrets, bald eagles, barred owls, orioles, cormorants, and warblers. The Cache River Nat'l Wildlife Refuge, where the ivory-billed woodpecker was recently spotted, is within about an hour's drive.

Keywords: House

5 Reviews of Property 78041 in Little Rock, Arkansas

Historic Horseshoe Lake Cottage
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Historic Horseshoe Lake Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78041vbi
(901) 335 2363 (Tennessee, USA)
Little Rock Arkansas
Salem, in
4

Great getaway.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a great time. The house was roomy and comfortable. Large yard was great and the lake access was wonderful. We will defiantly go back for another stay.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Historic Horseshoe Lake Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78041vbi
(901) 335 2363 (Tennessee, USA)
Little Rock Arkansas
Walnut Ridge, AR
4

Great place for the money!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We recently had a group of guys fishing a bass tournament on Horseshoe Lake & enjoyed the stay here. We found this cabin clean & ready to use! With the big yard to park all our trucks & the boat ramp in the back yard this place is a fisherman's dream.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Horseshoe Lake Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78041vbi
(901) 335 2363 (Tennessee, USA)
Little Rock Arkansas
Olive Branch, MS
2

Safety issues and place needs some LOVE

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a good time but there were some problems. One of the main things we wanted to do was swim but the first day, we got in the lake and couldn't get OUT! The ladder on the pier was missing a critical rung. So we ended up having to come out by walking on the muddy bottom of the lake (ick) then up an EXTREMELY slippery boat ramp. Not pleasant so we did not swim again after that.

Another issue was there was only ONE key and you couldn't lock or unlock any doors without it. When you have multiple people, sometimes you need more than one key. It's also a pain every time you want to go out on the porch or out the front door or back door, you must hunt down the ONE key. More importantly, it's a safety issue. With every door requiring the key to open...what if there was a fire? You could get trapped in there. No way would I take children there because of that.

Fire was a legitimate concern too because one of the kitchen light switches sizzles when turned on. It needs to be checked out.

There was also something wrong with the fridge. The freezer melted and dripped water inside the fridge and ruined some of our food.

The yard was also in need of attention. We'd brought a croquet set but the grass was so high we couldn't play. In fact, I was afraid we might get chiggers. Bushes and things are grown up, trash down by the lake. Also, no outdoor seating other than screened porch. So if you want to sit down by the lake you have to just sit on the ground. There's no seating at all on the pier and no shade either.

Overall the condition of the house was disappointing. There's an old microwave sitting on the floor in front of one of the doors. Dirt and cobwebs...light bulbs out, peeling paint...general maintenance and a GOOD cleaning is really needed. The "decor" is old and cluttery. Admittedly, this bothered me more than my companions and some people would be perfectly fine with it. But if you're the least bit picky about such things, you probably should look at the house before renting.

On the positive side, it is VERY spacious and nicely laid out. We loved the dishwasher and the big kitchen. Bedding was good. Loved the fig tree. Screened porch was nice. Ceiling fans all over. AC worked well. Owner super-accomodating and pleasant. But the place just feels neglected and unloved. It's a beautiful old place and a beautiful location and it's kind of sad that it's not being taken better care of. I would absolutely go back if these things were addressed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Horseshoe Lake Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78041vbi
(901) 335 2363 (Tennessee, USA)
Little Rock Arkansas
memphis, Tn
5

Jamie

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Great home for our group. Plenty of room for the kids to spread out and play, huge yard.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Horseshoe Lake Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78041vbi
(901) 335 2363 (Tennessee, USA)
Little Rock Arkansas
franklin,tn
5

Great family time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Our family had a great time. We were very comfortable the entire time and had a blast catching fish.

Very private and peacefull.

Sunrise on the pier is a wonderfull experience. Watch the birds above the pier and across the lake.

We will be back on our next visit to Memphis.

Robert,
Franklin,Tn.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6