County Waterford cottage rental - main cottage; guest cottage on right
main cottage; guest cottage on right
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

County Waterford Cottage Rental Photos and Description
West Waterford/Cork -- Blackwater River Frontage -- Two Cottages

Marston Cottage is a charming, tastefully renovated 2 bedroom cottage located directly on the beautiful Blackwater River in gorgeous West Waterford and set in 1 acre of private gardens. Included with the rental is an adjacent one bedroom guest cottage ideal for a second couple or family group. Marston Cottage is an oasis of tranquility, and having the prime salmon river in Ireland on your doorstep is the wonderful feature! There's total privacy, but no isolation: One mile to the quaint village of Ballyduff, 5 miles to the heritage town of Lismore with its famous castle and fine restaurants, 10 miles to the main Cork/Dublin motorway, and 35 miles to bustling Cork City. The area is a paradise for anglers, golfers, hikers, birdwatchers and cyclists, and the perfect base for exploring the south of Ireland. Several heritage homes and gardens are open for public viewing.

The main cottage has two large bedrooms (one with queen size bed, the other with two double beds); cozy living room with wood burning stove; dining room overlooking the Blackwater; a small but very well-equipped kitchen, also with river views; bathroom.

The guest cottage has one double bedroom; sitting room; bathroom; washing machine and dryer. The bedroom faces onto the gardens and river.

Amenities include broadband internet access; Sky satellite TV in main cottage; bicycles and some fishing equipment; wood burning stove in living room; a large supply of books and games. A wealth of local information is on hand, including contacts for several providers of salmon beats. The nearby Blackwater Lodge offers a range of facilities and access to miles of the river.

Guests are welcome to help themselves to the organic vegetable gardens in season!

The owner is an American writer and author of the acclaimed travel memoirs, 'Jaywalking with the Irish' and 'Ireland Unhinged.'

More Details
Hide Details

5 Reviews of Property 75499 in County Waterford, Ireland

Romantic Salmon River Cottage
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews
business
Romantic Salmon River Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p75499
+353 214500113
County Waterford Ireland
Florida
4

Pristine country setting

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Marston Cottage was our home for the month of July. The grounds are beautiful, the home spacious,and the hiking, especially the 3/4 mile to the enchanting village of Ballyduff, was most memorable. We had house guests come to stay and the guest house, with spacious accomodation, made everyone comfortable. An ample kitchen, dining room and backyard made barbecuing a joy. Many fine country restaurants are within 20 minute drives.

The area is filled with breath taking scenery and convenient to Cork, Lismore and a few inspiring mountain ranges. The swift running Blackwater river is right there by the property and we watched the anglers casting for salmon. We picked strawberries and rhubarb from the owner's garden. We certainly felt at home and the owner was gracious and available to answer any questions about the area and things to do.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 19/19
business
Romantic Salmon River Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p75499
+353 214500113
County Waterford Ireland
Cork, Ireland
4

One of my favorite destinations

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
If you are expecting the Ritz Carlton you might be disappointed when you check in at this cottage. But, if you are looking for a lovely private garden set under tall trees by a river in what must be one of the most beautiful valleys in Ireland then this might be the place. The house is not huge or finished to a modern standard of heated floors and dimmed lighting but it has everything you need.
I especially enjoy the BBQ on the outside and the very comfortable hammock in the garden.
There is wonderful, albeit challenging fishing within walking distance of the house as well as a myriad of wildlife around. Anyone with an interest in fishing, hunting, photography or walking will surely enjoy this area immensely.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Salmon River Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p75499
+353 214500113
County Waterford Ireland
Singapore
2

Disappointing experience

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Booked for one week stay in June. We were lucky and enjoyed glorious weather the whole of our stay. I found out that this is rare in this part of the world. It started well at first, we had a chilled bottle of wine waiting upon our arrival. I called and thanked the owner. By evening, I discovered the shower was broken, barely any water flowing. Called repeatedly to owner and was completely ignored. Called again and sent email on Day 2, then finally a response, that it was fine when he left the house two days ago. Sent a local handyman to have a look on the Day 3. Local handyman agreed with us that the whole shower need to be replaced with a new one. Emailed owner to inform him, total silence from him on the subject. We had to use the guest cottage each time we wanted a shower. We paid a high rent for having the cottage in the summer and we still had 4 days stay, and he did not even attempt to replace it during our stay. On top of everything, we had mice running around the house. I promptly informed him by email, and the response was the mice were non existence when they were there and asked me to look for mice poison in the garage (Why then did he have poison in his garage?) and if I could place poison around the house. Seriously? I am suppose to do his work for him whilst he chose to ignore our discomfort of not having a decent shower in the main cottage. The owner lives 45-50 mins away fr Ballyduff, hardly an impossible task if he wanted to attend to it.

I agree with other reviews that the grounds of the property is beautiful and the location for touring the area very convenient. However, the main cottage itself is in a state of neglect. Cobwebs in the ceiling, musty smell in the house, the sofa in the living room clearly has seen better days, handles of drawers barely hanging on. Probably nothing much has been put into this home for a long time, with a little effort it would have been a much lovelier home.

After we departed, he wrote to say he had replaced the shower! He said that the cleaner must have placed a kink in tube when she cleaned it. Good for the next tenant but we did not benefited from it. He grudgingly admitted he was wrong that he did not believed me about the shower! He even said he really do try to look after people well. Well, he certainly did not display that charming characteristic to us.

Will I recommend this cottage? My answer is No.
Owner's Response: Over the last 6 years we have had scores of parties be hugely satisfied with their visits to our cottage, and not one before expressing such sentiments.

The most misleading of several such comments in this review is that we would deliberately ignore any guest, ever. We simply did not replay a threatening message left on our home phone, or any messages, until the next night after it was entered. I had spoken with these guests immediately after their arrival, and at that time they said they were quite happy with out place, though "Pancy" did complain about the weather which was quite beautiful.

She did have two legitmate complaints of the renter's nightmare type. One was that the main shower did lose all the normal pressure it had shown as we left 36 hours before their arrival. But her husband kept getting on the phone to say it was okay, they were comfortable using the second shower 30 feet away.
The breakdown occurred on an extended holiday weekend and I had someone look at it immediately after its end, and it is now repaired.

The second complaint was of mice appearing as they never have before in summer and only did once this March. They had not been around 36 hours before Pancy's arrival. She thinks it iappalling that I asked her to put pellets out on 2 plates rather than driving to the country and back to do this myself.

Pancy drove spectacularly straight through a neighbor's fence and afterwards did not like Ireland, where a sense of humor helps. One kitchen drawer handle, true, was askew in the most gorgeous week of weather seen here in years, now it is true again. The house had been thoroughly cleaned hours before her arrival, but beneath a dormer windor 12 feet above our dining room that looks out over such idylic visions she found one cobweb. I have personally killed the responsible spider. Musty smell? Pancy had electric heaters around the bed in a heat wave.

Her husband left a warm note of thanks in our guestbook, expressing his joy in visiting our house, our quaint and welcoming village, our beautiful valley. Every time I spoke with him he said things were okay. I introduced them to lovely people, planned an entire music fest weekend for them.

Were the other maybe 200 people who have loved our cottage all wrong -- some coming back for four and even six separate stays? We look after every person who comes our way with extraordinary attentiveness. We want you to love our place, and to love Ireland.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Salmon River Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p75499
+353 214500113
County Waterford Ireland
5

An idyllic getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We arrived on a sunny Sunday afternoon, to discover this idyllic gem on the banks of the Blackwater river. The cottage itself is cosy, rustic and extremely well equipped with everything you'd want, including wifi, for a short holiday.
We spent our first evening enjoying a bbq under the rustling trees of the beautiful garden that is directly adjacent to the river. We were lucky enough to be able to repeat this experience for the few days we were there.
The place is very family friendly, with bicycles, a hammock and badminton set. We were able to enjoy lovely quiet walks and bike rides along the tranquil country roads into the little village of Ballyduff. The village itself just has a corner shop, ok for the basics, but we stocked up in the larger town of Lismore only 5 miles away. Lismore itself is beautiful, with its imposing castle and riverside walks, Lady Louisa's walk is a must-do! Also a great location for touring to nearby Fermoy, Dungarvan and Youghal.
Overall it was very enjoyable, like a home away from home, rather than an impersonal rental. It's clear that the owners take great care of the cottage, we are intent on returning..if only to lie in the hammock and enjoy the sounds of the Blackwater valley.
John, Maggie, 2 kids, 2 dogs, Co. Meath
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Romantic Salmon River Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p75499
+353 214500113
County Waterford Ireland
London
4

River Cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
The area was quite and very peaceful, the property was as described, and we had a great 2 weeks, Lismore is 7 miles and has some nice pubs and restaurants. The owners checked that everything was OK once a week, and the gardens and river were
in excellent condition, you would need a car unless you like walking long distances, the local village is 2 miles, it has a local store and around 3 pubs. Good location for exploring Waterford/Cork and South Tipperary.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: A nice review from fine guests, but there is one mistake -- the village of Ballyduff is less than one mile away, a lovely walk beside the river or easy ride on one of our bicycles! The property is 10 miles from the major Cork-Dublin motorway, so lots of places are easily accessible.
Helpful votes: 15/15