Montecastelli farmhouse rental - OLIVO's pergola
OLIVO's pergola
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Montecastelli Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Tuscan farmhouse, in a very romantic valley, 1 hour from Siena, Florence, Pisa

Le Pietraie is a stone-walled farmhouse first built in 1600's, surrounded by a wonderful garden full of many typical and rare plants and shrubs, lovely at all times of year. The house nestles in the beautiful Peacock Valley (Val di Pavone), encircled by fine woodlands, hills and meadows, and is like a terrace on the valley. The valley is home to a wide variety of animals, birds, butterflies and rare wild plants: snowdrops, hellebore, anemone, narcissus, cyclamen, wild orchids, primrose, brooms, wild cherry trees and arbutus unedo to name just a few. The Pietraia lies 300 m from the Peacock River (Pavone) where it is possible to bath, to swim, to make long walks in a wonderful canyon until you reach the confluence with the Cecina River. On our website you can see more photos of the garden, the Valley, the hills around Le Pietraie. The owners live on the first floor. They speak English,German, French and Italian. In case of health problems an English speaking family doctor is nearby.

Guest book: 2004: We had wonderful days cycling the many hills. active on the slow ascents. This is a very special place. B. Beerle , Anchorage, Alaska *** July 2006: We had an absolute great time staying at your place. You achieved a perfect combination of comfort and fine style, a superb mix of old and new at your property. We certainly like to return to Pietraia one day again. N. Bendin, Ottawa, Canada. *** August 2006 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your wonderful place. Set in a beautiful area, within driving distance of some fabulous sites; we could not have asked more. At times, it felt as though we were a million miles from anything/everything; and that is the way we we wanted it! It was totally relaxing! The Smith family, Louisiana, USA

Cities of art – thermal baths: According to the UNESCO, 60% of World's Heritage is concentrated in Italy, half of which is to be found in Florence alone! Florence is one hour from Montecastelli, Pisa 80 minutes, Volterra 40 minutes, Siena 40 minutes, San Gimignano 40 minutes, Colle Val d'Elsa 25 minutes, Lucca 1 hour 45 minutes, Castelnuovo Val di Cecina 15 minutes, Montecastelli 5 minutes, not forgetting the little discovered gem of Massa Marittima,45 minutes. But remember: the lesser known Medieval and Etruscan towns of Tuscany hold its real charm and beauty. Hundreds of churches, museums, art galleries, buildings, as well as street markets, shops and restaurants, hidden in narrow streets of little villages, are waiting for you to discover and explore them. Very old and beautiful thermal baths were you can relax yourself are 40 to 90 minutes far: Bagno Vignoni, Petriolo, Casciana Terme, Venturina.

Tuscan wines, Tuscan olive oil, chestnuts: Around Montecastelli it is possible to find high quality wines at really reasonable prices, in Castelnuovo VC (15 minutes) there is a good Enoteca. Montalcino with its Brunello and Rosso is not far. It is possible to buy good olive oil in many villages. In Castelnuovo Val di Cecina there is in October a chestnut fair. In San Gimignano there is in November a Festival for finest olive oils (olio extra vergine). In Volterra you can find the local white truffles. During the early spring you can find wild asparagus along the paths. Three good local restaurants at very reasonable prices are 5 minutes from Le Pietraie, many others are in the nearby villages.

Details for Olivo 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4, 1 Bathroom

Olivo is isolated in the garden, has a big terrace outside with a pergola (2x8m), a kitchen, a big bedroom with a sitting area and a bathroom. The kitchen has an antique table and an antique cabinet, and has a big glass door (200x240 cm) on the terrace. The bedroom has an iron bed from 1800 and a sofa bed for 2 persons. In the bedroom 2 low windows open on the terrace, and you can see the garden from the windows. There is also a little private garden just in front of the terrace, among olive trees, with shrubs and a pergola of roses.
More Details
Hide Details

6 Reviews of Property 74626 in Montecastelli, Italy

Olivo
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Olivo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74626?uni_id=68016
+39 0039328 8181923
Montecastelli Val di Cecina
seattle, washington, USA
5

Tuscan Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
If you are lucky enough to travel to Tuscany, and even luckier enough to be able to stay at Le Pietraie, consider yourself one of the privileged few. This place is absolutely enchanting. From the moment you drive through the long, winding driveway through gorgeous hillsides with sheep grazing placidly, to the first glimpse of the stone gate and indescribably gorgeous villa, you will know you chose the right place. Nothing is more Tuscan than this, and the pictures cannot do it the justice it deserves.

The three villas are all charming and they have everything you need. We were only going to stay one week, but extended our stay to two weeks because we loved it so much. We stayed in Olivio, which bordered the most gorgeous garden with a covered pergola. We were truly secluded up in the hillside, able to hear birds and grass blowing in the wind, but not much else.

The villas have kitchens with great stoves (we cooked a LOT here, which was fantastic when you think about how much great produce and white truffle oil and wine there is!) and all the amenities for cooking and entertaining. the bed is soft and warm and the bathroom is spacious and new. there is an antique table that you can spend hours sitting around talking about your tuscan adventures as well as playing cards and relaxing. There is closet space and plenty of storage areas, which allow you to stay for an extended time and be very comfortable.

There are many beautiful places to stay in Tuscany... but what makes Le Pietraie so special is the family that lives in the main home. This is what makes a place to stay more than just a room. Nedda and Gionata gave us incredible information about the area, little gems we could never have found on our own. They were so lovely, always there if we needed anything, but also gave us privacy.

What more can i say except writing this makes me miss Le Pietraie so much i wish i was sitting in the garden with a glass of wine instead of at my desk in my office this Monday morning. You will not find a more special place than Le Pietraie to make your stay in Tuscany the most memorable trip of your life. (I am still earning points from my boyfriend for choosing this place!)

This is also the perfect location from which to take day trips to the most special Tuscan cities. Volterra, Sienna and many other cities are a perfect day trip away. you are close to things but yet isolated enough to feel secluded.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Olivo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74626?uni_id=68016
+39 0039328 8181923
Montecastelli Val di Cecina
5

Dream Vacation in Tuscany

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The best place for quiet vacation in Tuscany!!!

This summer we decided to celebrate our 20th Anniversary in Italy. We were looking for quiet place for two in rural Tuscany, but still close to cultural centers like Florence and Siena. This time we were planning to explore country site. Olivo is perfectly located in the most beautiful part of Tuscany. We visited Italy on several occasions last few years, but this trip was very special thanks to quality of accommodation we found in Le Pietraie. This typical rustic Tuscany free standing cottage with private garden and beautiful pergola creating ideal space for outdoor dining and relaxing was a “dream come through”. Inside we found traditional finishes, exposed stone walls, original terracotta floors, antique furniture, and white Carrara marble bathroom. Owners - Nedda, Matteo and Gionata welcome us with some fresh fruits and great bottle of Chianti. We felt like we were part of Italian family.
Place was very clean and well maintain. We enjoy outdoor stone patio overlooking quiet Tuscany countryside. Early morning breakfast with fresh bread, vegetables and eggs from local market was complemented with sound of ships bells. We enjoyed late dinners after stunning sunset with pecorino cheese, prosciutto, fresh tomatoes, and bottle of great local wine, watching glow-worm and listening orchestra of crickets.
There are several small beautiful hill towns nearby. Volterra, Radicondoli, Casole d’ Elsa, San Gimignano are only few we visited within close driving distance. We had the best dinner in pizzeria La Pergola in Radicondoli, and one of the best cappuccino ever in Casole d’ Elsa. We went to see Cecina Mare only 40 minutes’ drive west, were we enjoy breeze of Mediterranean See and traditional summer drink – Spritz. After these daily trips we always finish the day at our Olivo relaxing on patio under green pergola surrounded with colorful flowers.

We already started to plan our next trip to Italy in May next year. Le Pietraie Olive will be our Italian home again….

Teresa and Michael
Denver, Colorado USA
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Olivo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74626?uni_id=68016
+39 0039328 8181923
Montecastelli Val di Cecina
5

Memories for a lifetime!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My husband and I are both aspiring artists. Two years ago, we were searching the Home Away website for ideas for a dream painting vacation and came across photos and wonderful descriptions of the charming Le Pietraie farmhouses in Montecastelli Pisano. We couldn't travel at that time, but we could not seem to get the idea of going there out of our minds. Thankfully, this September we were finally able to make the trip. We stayed for a much too short week in the one-bedroom house called Olivio, and had an absolutely perfect time in every way possible. We couldn't have asked for more from the entire experience - starting with the timely email communications with the owners leading up to our stay, the accurate information given about the property, right down to the easy-to-follow driving directions to Le Pietraie. When we arrived, we were completely taken aback by the exquisite surroundings. The little cottage aka 'farmhouse' was everything we hoped it would be and Nedda, the owner, was so welcoming and helpful in getting us settled.
Olivia was exactly as it was depicted on the website, so we felt totally at home right from the start. Importantly for me, with a bad back, the bed was extremely comfortable. In fact, I don't think I've slept as well in years. Of course, the quiet of the countryside also helps, along with the gentle sound of distant sheep bells you wake up to in the morning.
We made very good use of our 'home', whether we were cooking pasta using the insanely amazing tomatoes Nedda left for us from her garden, or just hanging out on the pergola watching one exquisite Tuscan sunset after another.
Our first night, we went out for local pizza at Frattoria San Paolo, which was so delicious, we actually went back the last night of our stay. In addition to the pizza, the location of the pizzeria is on a renovated farm, which is quite beautiful, including a natural swimming pool complete with lilly pads, little frogs and bright red and blue dragonflies darting all around.
Another day we went just down the road to paint in the tiny village of San Dalmazio and stopped for a fantastic (and very inexpensive) lunch at Ristorante La Rocca. In fact, you would do well to follow all the local tips given by the owners. Everything they recommended was wonderful.
We running out of superlatives to describe our stay, so will end it on the best recommendation we can give. We can't wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Olivo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74626?uni_id=68016
+39 0039328 8181923
Montecastelli Val di Cecina
Sherbrooke
4

A picturesque country paradise in Tuscany

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Le Pietraie is an idyllic property for nature lovers. Each accommodation has its own terrace covered by a vine-ladden pergola and surrounded by beautiful flowers.The Olivo villa is charming and well-appointed where you can relax and take in the breathtaking vista after a day of sightseeing, or why not stay put and enjoy it all day!!

The Amadeo family is very welcoming and can suggest things to see and do in the area and the nearby cities. Gionata is always ready to help his guests in any way he can.

We found that Montecastelli is a good base to go out on day trips to Sienna and San Gimignano (40 min.), Florence (1h15), Massa Maritima (1h), Volterra (20 min) or even go to the coast.

Thank you Gionata, Nedda and Mateo for your warm welcome. Hope to see you again!

Lucie and Alain
Sherbrooke (Quebec)
Canada
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Olivo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74626?uni_id=68016
+39 0039328 8181923
Montecastelli Val di Cecina
enschede, the netherlands
5

olivo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
Enneke and Theo:
Le Pietraie really is a paradise in the paradise of Tuscany!
We we're here end of april and beginning of may 2008.
We won't forget our romantic appartment, the lovely en very helpfull owners of the house, the smell en the view at the beautifull flowers in the garden (and in the apaprtment!), and the nice dog! And now even the road to the house is easy to ride!
We really loved it all and we hope to return back one day.
Thanks for the help with reparation of our bikes and tyhanks for your hospitallity!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Olivo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74626?uni_id=68016
+39 0039328 8181923
Montecastelli Val di Cecina
Aix en Provence, France
5

Romantic, quiet and comfortable stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
La Pietrae is a lovely and quiet farmhouse to relax and visit the most famous places in Toscana. We really enjoyed this little piece of paradise, providing us a comfortable, quiet and romantic stay. This typical farmhouse is surrounded by vast fields from which you can hear the sound of the sheep- bells. We really enjoyed the friendly welcome we had (with flowers cut from the garden and a delicious apple pie). The garden and pergolas are wonderfull. Flats are very charming, well maintained ... I've already recommend La Pietrae to several of my friends, and I hope to come again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6