Elounda apartment rental - The Artist's Studio
The Artist's Studio
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
 

Elounda Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Near sea, stunning view, terrace/balcony, 4/5 guests, air conditioning, WIFI

This unique, large and air-conditioned (35 Euro per week extra), self-catering Artist's Studio is located on the upper floor of a stylish, renovated stone house of the 19th century. The house offers a magnificent view of the Mirabello Bay and the Tripti mountains and it is located in the traditional village of Mavrikiano, only 5 minutes walking from the idyllic holiday resort of Elounda. The Artist's Studio offers a large living area with an open kitchen, separate bedroom, a gallery and a bathroom with shower. In total, the apartment sleeps 5. A terrace with barbecue and an additional balcony invites you to relax. The studio is tastefully furnished, with lots of attention to detail. It also offers an ideal space for artistic work - alone or for teaching small groups. The necessary facilities are provided. On request, the enclosed, romantic Mediterranean garden can be reserved for painting sessions.

Crete: Crete is the southern-most and largest of all the Greek islands and has a rich and varied history dating back to the Minoans- 2500BC. Due to it's location the island has had many different cultural influences- Minoan, Byzantine, Roman, Venetian, Turkish, many remains of which one can still see today, making Crete an exciting and fascinating place to explore. Its flora and countryside is also just as varied and is a paradise for those who love wild flowers or bird watching or exploring the wild and rugged mountains, pine forests, magical gorges, wandering around traditional villages or simply relaxing on one of the many blue flag beaches or less frequented secluded coves.

Agios Niklaos - a 15min drive - an attractive coastal town is the capital of the Lassithi prefecture has a port and marina, archaeological museum and offers splendid shopping and dining.

Mavrikiano: Mavrikiano is one of three villages that form Elounda. Built on a small hillock close to the sea and fishing harbour it overlooks the bay of Elounda The original village with Cretan cottages and charming traditional taverna lies just below the studio. Nowadays Luxury villas are scattered in and around the village.Elounda is an upmarket popular tourist resort with many luxury hotels in the vicinity. The pretty fishing harbour with it's brightly coloured boats is bordered by the main square surrounded by inviting tavernas serving traditional specialities and fresh fish. From here one can take a boat to the nearby island of Spinalonga -now a national monument famous for its Venetian fortress, Turkish architecture and short history as leper colony as depicted in the best-seller book 'The Island' .Elounda has supermarkets, banks , post, chemist, doctors, many places to walk on the flat or in the mountains, archaeological remains, beaches or the secluded coves.

Further details about the Studio: The studio itself contains a small, recently installed kitchen area with basic cooking facilities. There is also a sofa bed, large work tables, shelving, folders,easels, lighting and full air conditioning (35 Euros per wk extra) providing a perfect space for artists wishing to work alone or for teaching a small party of students. (further accommodation can be arranged in the vicinity)

For those holiday makers not requiring to work but to simply relax in comfortable surroundings with atmosphere and character this offers an ideal place.

The compact shower room/CW is adjacent to the entrance of the studio in a small entrance hall. Private parking is available in front of the house.

The English/Swiss owner lives on the ground floor and will be happy to give advice on painting locations and the sourcing of art materials locally.

The artist owner - Jane - can arrange to purchase or provide any special art materials required, provided these are available. The cost price of materials to be paid in advance by client.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 740089 in Elounda, Greece

Artist's studio/apartment in a traditional stone house near sea
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Artist's studio/apartment in a traditional stone house near sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p740089
+30 2841042393
Elounda Lassithi
5

ARTISTS STUDIO - WHAT A TREAT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Thank you so much we enjoyed our stay
Magnificent views of Elounda Bay
'The Artists' Studio what a treat
Romantic, quirky, cosy so sweet

Top of the hill you stand so tall
It makes you appreciated life in all
The flowers, insects, birds and bees
Rustling leaves on pretty palm trees

Your walls I bet hide a story or two
Balcony views crystal waters so blue
Sound of the locals fill the air
Breathtaking views shed a tear

Morning sunshine fills your bed
'This is the life' it must be said
If you're lucky enough to rent this place
It'll deliver a smile upon your face

Adele & Brian Dunn 28/5 - 8/6/2012
Thank you so much for making our holiday a good one. Lady Jane who lives downstairs the owner of the Studio is ever so kind and she will wash your bed sheets, towels and beach towels (all of which are provided) as and when required, your own attire can be washed with the help of a washing machine in your studio. The bathroom is quaint with plenty of spare towels to dry yourself after a lovely hot shower everyday with a gismo showerhead that changes colour, blue when cold and red when hot, gadget but wise, this I rather liked. Good if you have children with you on your holiday, just shame they would spoil it as this place needs to be lied back and enjoyed. Ample cupboard space to hide toiletries and a shelf for your false teeth! Quirky little kitchen where everything had its place, condiments provided, two hob electric cooker, oven, microwave, kettle, toaster, sandwich toaster, cutlery, pots and pans, everyday essentails under the sink, iron and ironing board. TV in bedroom with DVD player and plenty to watch also stereo in the lounge with plenty of CD's. Air conditioning with timer, fan & turbo boost facility (now an optional extra) worked a treat on those hot nights. Oh! & Thank you! for the complimentary Welcome bottle of wine & water with some bread & milk, nice touch. Would definately return one day even though I did leave some smalls in the laundry basket (how embarrassing) Cheers to a good life!!! x
business
Artist's studio/apartment in a traditional stone house near sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p740089
+30 2841042393
Elounda Lassithi
5

Kleines Paradies mit fantastischer Aussicht

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Ich hatte das grosse Glück, den Winter/Frühling 2011 im Artist’s Studio verbringen zu dürfen und ich hätte es nicht besser treffen können. Die inspirierende Atmosphäre und der Charme des Studios liessen mich sofort zu Hause fühlen. Das Studio ist mit viel Liebe zum Detail eingerichtet und bietet alles denkbaren Annehmlichkeiten. Kurz und gut: The place to be! Ich verbrachte eine wunderbare Zeit! Herzlichen Dank Jane!
business
Artist's studio/apartment in a traditional stone house near sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p740089
+30 2841042393
Elounda Lassithi
5

Tolle Ferien auf Kreta, weil alles gestimmt hat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Das Künstleratelier von Jane ist einfach perfekt für uns - in jeder Beziehung! Es ist gemütlich, grosszügig, hat alles was wir brauchten! Wir liebten den Balkon, die Terrasse, die Ruhe und vor allem die sagenhafte Aussicht auf Elounda, die Bucht, die Insel Spinalonga - da haben wir manche Stunde gesessen und manchmal ganz vergessen weiter zu lesen - umwerfend! Wir haben uns zu Hause gefühlt- ja uns sogar ein bisschen in das Atelier verliebt, geträumt... Die Nähe zum Städtchen Elounda ist ideal (gut zu Fuss erreichbar), da bekommt man alles, also nicht viel mitzunehmen. Essen kann man in der Umgebung und überhaupt fast überall wunderbar! Die griechischen Meze sind köstlich und den frischen Fisch haben wir genossen! Auch Mavrikiano hat zwei empfehlenswerte Tavernen: das Despina und 'the hope'. Wir waren mit unserem Kleinwagen oft unterwegs auf Ausflügen und haben während der 3 Wochen den Osten ein wenig entdecken können. Oft gingen wir wandern und danach baden, einfach herrlich! Es ist eine sehr abwechslungsreiche Gegend, Meer und Berge - perfekt für uns. Die Menschen sind überaus nett und gastfreundlich und so haben wir uns auf Kreta besonders wohl gefühlt. Gerne und total überzeugt, empfehlen wir das Atelier von Jane weiter - wir werden einmal wiederkommen. Es ist der geniale Ort zum Geniessen, Ausspannen, Staunen - echte Ferien für Leib und Seele! Danke Jane, dass Du Dein Atelier für Gäste zur Verfügung stellst. Herzliche Grüsse, gaby & sigi
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Artist's studio/apartment in a traditional stone house near sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p740089
+30 2841042393
Elounda Lassithi
4

Erholung pur

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Ich suchte Ruhe, Wärme und ein großzügiges Arbeitszimmer um kreativ arbeiten und verweilen zu können. Hier kam ich voll auf meine Kosten. Das Haus ist ein Schmuckstück , das Atelier war für meinen Individual-Tripp perfekt, sehr liebevoll eingerichtet und die Aussicht ist atemberaubend. Selbst den täglichen Gang zum Meer (10 Min. zu Fuß) konnte ich als Fitnessprogramm verbuchen, der Anstieg ist ziemlich steil. Auch wenn in der Nachsaison alle Liegen und Schirme am Strand eingesammelt wurden, und die Restaurants nach und nach schlossen, war dies für mich der perfekte Urlaub, weil alles ruhiger wurde. Und der November war dieses Jahr ausgesprochen warm, das Wasser herrlich, die Nachmittage mild und ab 16.30 Dämmerung konnte die kreative Phase beginnen.
Danke Jane für diese Möglichkeit
business
Artist's studio/apartment in a traditional stone house near sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p740089
+30 2841042393
Elounda Lassithi
5

im Atelier

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Wir wählten diese Ferienwohnung wegen des großen Maltisches mit heller Lampe und weil sie genau unseren Geschmack traf mit den Steinwänden, dem herrlichen Ausblick und der sehr schönen und schlichten Ausstattung. Die Wirklichkeit war noch viel besser! Berauschende Sonnenaufgänge und Ausblicke auf die Mirabellobucht inspirierten schon vor dem Frühstück und an den Wänden hat Jane echte Kleinode aufgehangen - alles optimal für eigenes kreatives Schaffen.
Die Wohnung ist sauber und gepflegt und Jane hilft gerne und schnell, wenn eine Kleinigkeit nicht klappt oder wenn man irgendwelche Fragen hat. Wir haben auch gekocht und in der Küche fehlte es an nichts.
Wir haben viele Restaurants ausprobiert und empfehlen Kanali zum Sitzen! und Trinken, Paliria in Plaka zum Essen!, Kantouni 150 m neben der Fewo zum Sitzen und einfachen Essen in toller Tavernenatmosphäre.
Wir liebten die Ausflüge nach Plaka und Spinalonga, Kritsa, Lato, Malia, Sissi und in die Berge über Plaka. Abends haben wir mit Händen und Füßen der greisen Griechin von nebenan von unseren Erlebnissen berichten müssen. Nun lernen wir Griechisch!
Einziger Wehrmutstropfen: Siegfried ist schlecht zu Fuss und konnte den steilen Hügel nur in Begleitung hinunter gehen oder er musste das Auto benutzen.
Insgesamt großartige 2 Wochen! Danke Jane!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Artist's studio/apartment in a traditional stone house near sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p740089
+30 2841042393
Elounda Lassithi
5

das dritte Mal...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Dear Jane! In diesem Jahr werden wir Sie zum dritten Mal zu sehen. Während dieser Zeit verliebten wir uns in mit Ihnen und Ihrem gemütlichen hellen Atelier. Schöne Aussicht auf die Mirabello-Bucht, die Berge, Olivenhaine, die Geräusche der Zikaden, der Duft von Blumen geben uns einen unvergesslichen Urlaub. Wir Ihnen gerne zu Ihnen immer und immer wieder kommen. Vielen Dank für Ihre Gastfreundschaft und Herzlichkeit, mit dem er jedes Jahr Treffen haben und kümmern uns! Ein ruhiges und beschauliches Dorf von Elounda. Laut und fröhlich Stadt Agios Nikolaus-Port. Schöne alte Höhlen. Die alten Klöster. Das Essen ist köstlich. Schöne Insel Kreta! Mit Liebe Angela, Valery und Kinder.

Dear Jane!
This year we're going to see you for the third time.
During this time we fell in love with you and your cozy bright studio.
Beautiful views of the Mirabello Bay, the mountains, olive groves, the sounds of cicadas, the smell of flowers give us an unforgettable vacation.
We will gladly come to you again and again. Thank you for your hospitality and cordiality with which you have had meetings every year and take care of us!
A quiet and tranquil village of Elounda. Noisy and cheerful town of Agios Nikolaus port. Beautiful ancient caves. The ancient monasteries. Delicious food. Beautiful island of Crete!
With love Angela, Valery and children.
business
Artist's studio/apartment in a traditional stone house near sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p740089
+30 2841042393
Elounda Lassithi
Werkhausen
5

Unser schönster Kreta-Urlaub!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Wir haben drei wunderbare Wochen im Artist´s Studio verbracht. Die Wohnung ist sehr stilvoll eingerichtet, verfügt über alles was man braucht und bietet einen fantastischen Blick über Elounda, das Meer und die Berge.
Die Lage im kleinen Dorf Mavrikiano bietet Ruhe und auch ein wenig Urtümlichkeit. Im Dorf selbst gibt es drei Tavernen. Durch die unmittelbare Nähe zu Elounda stehen dort zahlreiche Einkaufsmöglichkeiten und weitere Tavernen zur Verfügung. Die Vermieterin ist stets hilfsbereit und um das Wohl ihrer Gäste bemüht.
Wir freuen uns schon auf das nächste mal!
business
Artist's studio/apartment in a traditional stone house near sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p740089
+30 2841042393
Elounda Lassithi
5

Fantastische Ferienwohnung mit toller Sicht!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Wir verbrachten im Oktober 2011 drei wunderschöne Wochen in dieser Ferienwohnung. Alles ist wie beschrieben, die Vermitterin ist eine sehr freundliche und zuvorkommende Person, die sich prompt um alle Angelegenheiten kümmert. Sehr schöne Gegend, das Haus liegt etwas abseits vom Touristentrubel, die Taverne gleich nebenan ist zu empfehlen. Wir können das Feriendomizil jederzeit und sehr gerne empfehlen!

Andrea & Jonas mit Martha
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Artist's studio/apartment in a traditional stone house near sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p740089
+30 2841042393
Elounda Lassithi
5

Wir kommen wieder !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Liebe Jane,

wir verbrachten eine wundervolle Zeit in deinem Atelier.

Das Studio liegt im kleinen Örtchen Mavrikiano, oberhalb von Elounda.
Man kommt über kleine, etwas steile Strassen an, betritt die Unterkunft und fühlt sich angekommen!!! Die besonders schöne Lage des Ateliers mit einem fantastischen Blick auf Elounda und die herrliche Mirabello-Bucht lassen Raum und Zeit für künstlerisches Schaffen oder einfach nur zum "Seele baumeln lassen", weit genug entfernt vom Trubel und Tourismus.
Das etwas kleine Bad ist ausreichend und zweckmäßig, dafür entschädigt der offene und gemütliche Wohnbereich und die beiden herrlichen Terrassen!!
Die einzige kleine Taverne im Ort ist sehr zu empfehlen und in wenigen Gehminuten zu erreichen. Nicht weit ist es auch zum kleinen Strand (ca. 5 Gehminuten) und zum beliebten Ferienort Elounda (ca. 10 Minuten zu Fuss). Auch zu empfehlen ist ein Ausflug auf die Halbinsel Spinalonga, wo man noch relativ ungestört die Natur geniessen kann und am Abend im Restaurant Kanali die Fischerboote nach dem Fang vorbeiziehen sieht.

Wer den individuellen Urlaub sucht ist hier richtig. Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt und denken noch heute sehnsüchtig an den wunderschönen Urlaub zurück.

Vielen Dank liebe Jane, Dir alles Gute und Liebe Grüße von Daniela und Jens

PS. Wir kommen wieder !!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Artist's studio/apartment in a traditional stone house near sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p740089
+30 2841042393
Elounda Lassithi
5

Sehr zufriedene Gäste

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Das Objekt war genau so wie im Angebot beschrieben.
Der Kontakt zur Vermieterin im Vorfeld des Urlaubs war sehr gut,
wir bekamen auf jede Frage sofort eine Antwort.
Auch am Urlaubsort wurde uns jeder Wunsch, Betwäschewechsel oder
Handtücher sofort erfüllt.
Wir hatten einen 2. Kühlschrank für Getränke und eine Kühlbox zum Getränke mitnehmen und einkaufen, was sehr angenehm war.
Wir haben vor allen den fantastischen Blick über die Bucht genossen,
und einen sehr schönen Urlaub verlebt.
Angenehmt ist auch das man zu Fuß in 5 Min am Strand und in 10 Min.im Ort ist.
Wir können dieses Objekt jedem weiterempfehlen, der auf Kreta Urlaub machen möchte ohne die Hektik eines Hotelbetriebes.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6