City of London apartment rental - Main room with double bed and sofa
Main room with double bed and sofa
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

City of London Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 min zone 1 tube. Large studio with many extras. Wifi, phone calls, Oysters...

The Old German School studio is a larger than average, airy studio flat, with the feel of a much larger place due to its generous proportions and layout, on the LOWER GROUND FLOOR of a listed converted Victorian school. Although it is classed as lower-ground it is not a dark airless basement as it has large windows and natural light in all the rooms but it is lower ground so please do not book if you are not happy with this. It is also double-glazed to the front so is relatively quiet for the centre of London. It is less than two minutes walk to Aldgate East tube which is zone 1 and five minutes walk to the beginning of Brick Lane and, in the other direction, ten minutes walk to Tower Bridge and the Tower of London.

The building was built as a German Lutheran School in 1877 and converted ten years ago to luxury apartments in the grounds of the oldest German church in the country.

The flat comprises a hall with fitted storage cupboard, a walk-in drying and storage room perfect for suitcases, wood flooring throughout, a fully fitted attractive eat-in kitchen and a good-size studio room with fitted wardrobes, sofa and pull-down quality bed. There is also a good-sized bathroom with shower attachment above the bath and a large window (with blinds!).

There is a locked gate (with video entryphone) and the flat is down a locked staircase to a private front door so is extremely secure and very suitable for single women travellers.

Check-in time is 16.00 and check-out time is 10.00 but we offer an early arrival or late departure for 25 GBP.

Our rates include absolutely everything: all taxes, utilities, high quality bed linen,fluffy towels, Oyster cards, unlimited high-speed WIFI, free phone calls to landlines in the US, Australia, NZ and all major countries and end-of-stay cleaning. We also quote a totally all-inclusive rate which encompasses a driver to meet you at the station or airport and deliver you in comfort and safety to the flat!

We require a 200 GBP security deposit which is refunded swiftly after the stay (unless there is a cancellation in which case the deposit is not refundable although we always do our utmost to rebook the time and refund any money we can) and a copy of the principal guest's passport as security.

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 734840 in City of London, United Kingdom

Cheap & Chic! Zone 1! Trendy E1! Between Tower & Brick Lane! Extras!
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
business
Cheap & Chic! Zone 1! Trendy E1! Between Tower & Brick Lane! Extras!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p734840
+44 7957765927
City of London London
5

Cute, cozy flat! Perfect for a stay in London!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This flat is exactly as it is shown in pictures. The description provided by the owners is completely accurate. There are no surprises about this flat. The property is well maintained, and was very clean when we arrived. Though there is construction going on outside, it never bothered us. It was a very quiet environment. Great for unwinding after long days of sight-seeing. We looked forwarded to coming home to the flat each night.

The owner, and property manager could not have been nicer people. Before, during, and after our trip they checked in to see how we were doing. Their consideration made the experience that much better!

Furthermore, the location of this flat is perfect. You can walk to a couple of sights. For sights farther away, the tube is simple two minute walk max from the flat. Next door is a pub/restaurant The Dispensary, which has great food and drinks. Or if you want to cook in the flat has a well stocked kitchen with almost everything you need to make a meal.

I would recommend this property to anyone going to London, and if I ever go back I will definitely be staying at this flat again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cheap & Chic! Zone 1! Trendy E1! Between Tower & Brick Lane! Extras!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p734840
+44 7957765927
City of London London
5

Great location and Helpful Manager

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Elizabeth was in charge of coordinating my details and she alone would warrant 5 stars. She was organized and helpful in every possible way. The apartment is ideal for 1 to 2 people as the flat is small. Even though it is small, it has all that you need for your London getaway. For instance, the Oyster cards are a huge advantage. I liked the location because it was very close to two tube stations and within zone one. Even better, being a bit on the outskirts of zone one took you away from the din of the city. As well, the car service that Elizabeth coordinated for me was excellent. When I return to London, I will undoubtedly stay here again. Great location, professional service, tidy flat with all the amenities - you don't get much better.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cheap & Chic! Zone 1! Trendy E1! Between Tower & Brick Lane! Extras!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p734840
+44 7957765927
City of London London
Newark, DE
5

2nd Stay Just as Good as the 1st

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is the 2nd time I've stayed at the flat and it didn't disappoint again. It's comfortable, clean, secure, and in a fabulous location. I'm a frequent traveler to London and this location is one of the best. Even when Aldgate East station was closed. The flat is a short walk from Aldgate Station.

I've been there when the weather was warm and cold and I was never uncomfortable in the flat.

Elizabeth is professional and friendly, ensuring you are prepared for your stay.

I highly recommend this flat.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Cheap & Chic! Zone 1! Trendy E1! Between Tower & Brick Lane! Extras!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p734840
+44 7957765927
City of London London
5

Simply, like being at home!! Great!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This appartment is great!! and Elizabeth, the girl from the agency is so nice! She answered quickly and help us with all the things I asked her. The location of the flat is just in the end of the city, so you can go on foot to the centre of London. But if you don´t like this option the tube is two minutes far from the flat. The appartment is as you see on the photos, and just when you arrive you feel like being at home with the films, the guides, your coffe and package of biscuits... just perfect!!. Surely I will return to this appartment again.. Thanks for your help Elizabeth, you were right, " the meet and greet" service is the best option to the flat!!

.
Owner's Response: Dear Casti, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write us a five-star review. You were a pleasure to deal with and I look forward to welcoming you back to the studio flat or, if you bring the family, the larger flat above. My warm wishes, Elizabeth
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cheap & Chic! Zone 1! Trendy E1! Between Tower & Brick Lane! Extras!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p734840
+44 7957765927
City of London London
British Columbia Canada
5

Great Location, Well Equipped

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed in this flat for one week in September. The location was excellent. Two minutes to the underground station Aldgate East where you could pick up a couple of lines that took you to most of London's attractions. Also within walking distance to a couple of small grocery stores and the Oldspitalfield market which has a large antique market on Thursdays as well as places to eat (we enjoyed the Real Greek). Also ate at the Dispensary right on the corner...great food excellent service (closed on Weekends).
There was a well equipped kitchen with everything needed to cook meals in. There was an oven which not all European kitchens have. It also had a clothes dryer which also is not common.
The meet at the airport was a great bonus as it took the guess work out of arrival time and place as sometimes can happen. We also had constant e-mail contact before during and after which was appreciated.
Would definitely recommend this property to friends or family.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Cheap & Chic! Zone 1! Trendy E1! Between Tower & Brick Lane! Extras!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p734840
+44 7957765927
City of London London
New York, NY
5

Great flat, great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My girlfriend and I stayed at this cozy flat in the Tower Hill area. The flat has everything: fully stocked kitchen, wireless internet, washer and dryer. The owner even left a stack of British themed DVDs (we watched Notting Hill one rainy night). The area is in Zone 1 and the tube is a two minute walk from the flat. We were even able to walk to the Tower of London in about five minutes. The owner was very responsive and hospitable. She answered all of my many questions and helped make our short stay in London very enjoyable. We would definitely stay here again.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Cheap & Chic! Zone 1! Trendy E1! Between Tower & Brick Lane! Extras!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p734840
+44 7957765927
City of London London
Newark, DE
5

Amazing! My new home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I'm a frequent traveler to London, but this was my first time renting a flat and it worked out amazing!

The flat is roomy, comfortable, clean, and quiet. As a single female traveler, one of my top concerns is safety, and I felt very safe. The area around the flat is quiet, but not deserted. And the flat itself is very secure.

The location is perfect! I like to bounce around London and the very short walk (minutes!) to Aldgate East station was perfect! So many things are a short walk away as well. I walked to Spitalfields Market in less than 10 mins.

Management is professional and polite. All of my questions were answered a ahead of time and I was able to check in and out with no problems.

I highly recommend this property! I'll be looking to book for all my future trips!
Helpful votes: 18/18
business
Cheap & Chic! Zone 1! Trendy E1! Between Tower & Brick Lane! Extras!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p734840
+44 7957765927
City of London London
5

Just perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The apartment was perfect for all our needs (my partner and I stayed 7 days), the pictures you see online are exactly as the apartment is...clean, comfortable and homely. We were surprised by how light the apartment was and how quiet it was within the apartment...we heard not a noise from outside so had restful sleeps.

The location is perfect, obviously as listed in other reviews there is the Tower of London and the tower bridge within walking distance...but we found other hidden treasures:
1) Jack the Ripper tours (£9) started only a few minutes from the apartment
2) great London curries from the curry houses...a cheap evening out with great food, just down the road
3) st Katherine's dock...walk down and see the wonderful yachts/boats at dock and sit back at the restaurants with a glass of wine and just enjoy the views within the dock

The apartment is close to the shops so you can cook your breakfasts and dinners in the excellent kitchen in the apartment...where everything you need is provided

The London guides and Oyster cards which were of free use in the apartment make it so easy to get around London, and given east aldgate station is a 2 min walk away...you have no reason not to explore the rest of London. The subway system is easy to use.

Elizabeth was a dream, in all correspondence prior to our arrival and whilst we were there....so thank you Elizabeth, you were a real friend to us and we appreciated it.

Basically, we can not recommend this property more highly. Is perfect for either singles or couples...
Helpful votes: 16/16
business
Cheap & Chic! Zone 1! Trendy E1! Between Tower & Brick Lane! Extras!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p734840
+44 7957765927
City of London London
Westlake Village, CA
5

Great Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I booked this flat after reading all the great reviews and I can now tell you that the place was even better than I had hoped it would be. The location is ideal. Two blocks/less than five minutes (it was cold, on a warm day it's a one minute walk tops!) from the Tube and if you want to just grab a bite/pint nearby, there are many places within easy walking distance. The place felt super safe for me (a single female traveling alone) - gated entry and private access to your unit. The room was immaculate and well appointed. The bed was comfortable. There was ample space (and nice hangers) to hang your clothes and many drawers for storage. The owners provided a converter for your electronics, but they also stock a good quality hair dryer AND straightener!!

The room has books on travel in London and maps, so you don't have to bring your own. The washer/dryer worked great. You do have to bring your own toiletries, but for people like me who forget -- there were plenty of extras under the sink left by prior renters. When I went it was snowing and really cold outside, but the unit stayed nice and toasty (I like it extra warm).

The owners were extremely helpful when I had some questions when I first got in and responded immediately. Very friendly and accomodating, I can't stress that enough. The rental agency was also very helpful throughout the rental process and the stay.

Everything was as advertised. The wifi was perfect -- fast and reliable. It was great having access to a local phone as well. If I had a complaint it would be the same for every place I stayed in London -- the showers tend to flood the surrounding floor. Try full shower curtains, England!!

To sum up -- the pictures and descriptions don't lie! You will be very happy here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Cheap & Chic! Zone 1! Trendy E1! Between Tower & Brick Lane! Extras!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p734840
+44 7957765927
City of London London
5

Looked, Booked and Hooked!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We LOOKED at this studio flat because of the zone one location, we BOOKED it because of the speedy, intelligent response and the really good value all-inclusive offer and we left HOOKED on our little London home and location! It IS small by US standards but it has everything you need. A relatively large kitchen with a breakfast table and large fridge and freezer along with washer; all neatly fitted into cupboards; a studio room with a double bed that fit into the wall (but we chose to leave it down for convenience); a separate bath with tub and shower over and a really neat laundry cum luggage storage room with a great dryer and lots of room for all the clutter that you need out of the way during your stay. It is in a semi-basement but has large windows with natural light so it doesn't feel claustrophobic especially as there is a fire escape in the kitchen for anyone of a nervous disposition. Not that flames are going to get far down the brick and stone staircase! The staircase is original Victorian and is a bit bendy so very large cases would be an issue but the driver helped us with ours after showing us the sights on the way from Heath Row.

What a joy that was. We emerged from the airplane after an overnight flight and to find someone waiting for us to take us to the flat was wonderful. Never again will I land in a strange country and navigate the transit system or rogue cab drivers! This was the first of a list of included extras. Free phone calls to the States were ideal to call my mom who doesn't use email, there's a TV and DVD player with English films, lots of guide books and maps, teas and cookies, travel cards that you upload with a weekly pass which is about half price of standard fares. Real thoughtful touches that made us feel right at home. Elizabeth checked in on us which made me feel that we had a friend in England which was cool. And the area is WAY cool! The building is surrounded by construction work but the noisy work had finished so we did not notice it at all. The sidewalk and road are closed so no-one goes past the building and so it was very quiet. It is only five minutes walk to Spitalfields and Brick Lane; THE place to be in London. And Elizabeth is THE person to get you there!
Helpful votes: 18/18