St Chamassy farmhouse rental - Front of house
Front of house
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 14 nights
 

St Chamassy Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Self-catering, 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms , air-cond/central heating, sleeps 10+

Les Bourgézies Hautes is a beautiful Perigordine stone farmhouse, restored to a high standard, all modern conveniences, central heating, air-con.bedrooms. It is surrounded by several acres of its own land, set high up in an idyllic, woodland setting with ample lawned areas around the house, completely quiet but not isolated. From upstairs windows there are views over surrounding woodlands and fields.

The very attractive, fenced, heated,11mx5m pool (1.05 to 1.85 deep) is only yards from the house but disposed in such a way as not to impinge on the centuries-old aesthetic integrity of the house and its setting. It is private and not shared with anyone else.

In summer the villa sleeps 10+2 small children with ample privacy & quiet for all, but thanks to its configuration is also ideal for a couple, a small family or small parties.

The immediate area offers many tourist attractions, restaurants, prehistoric caves with paintings, children's theme parks, water activities for all ages. Le Bugue, 5mins, by car offers all shops, banks, doctors surgery.

Prehistory and culture : The Perigord Noir is an area of rich pre-historic interest, including the Cro Magnon caves and the Prehistoric Centre in Les Eyzies with the Font de Gaume cave paintings, as well as the famous Lascaux complex.

Culture is well catered for: there are several series of classical concerts performed in beautiful churches and numerous exhibitions of painting, pottery, woodcarving, ironwork, tapistry, weaving, etc.

There are several activity parks locally for children some based on water activities. River activities include beaches for swimming, canoe hire to discover the Dordogne and Vézère rivers, fishing and boat trips.

Practical considerations: Le Bugue has a famous 800-yr-old market on Tuesdays. Sarlat (30 minutes by car) and Saint Cyprien (10 minutes) have theirs on Saturday and Sunday respectively.

Le Bugue has 4 supermarkets: Intermarché with a good range of English food, Leader Price, Lidl and Aldi as well as an excellent DIY store and other shops and services, banks, chemists, restaurants, cafés, hotels. There is an exceptionally good medical centre with some English speaking doctors who do home visits where necessary at very reasonable rates.

Organic farm produce is available and local French neighbours are exceptionally friendly.

Swimming Pool: The pool is for your exclusive use and is open from April to mid October. It is heated continually. (We can usually get a temperature of 24°C to 25°C in October although we can't guarantee this as it is dependant on the weather. )

We have a personal site for our property with further details and photos. We can send you the address if you email us.

More Details
Hide Details

17 Reviews of Property 7314 in St Chamassy, France

Dordogne large, idyllic fully renovated Perigordine farmhouse, heated pool,wifi
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Dordogne large, idyllic fully renovated Perigordine farmhouse, heated pool,wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7314
+33 (0)557 870029
St Chamassy Perigord Noir
5

Beautiful home in the Dordogne

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family, consisting of 10 people, spent a most wonderful week at this beautiful, well-equipped, idyllic home in St Chamassy. The description of the home and facilities are exactly as described. Aside from seeing the caves and visiting nearby towns, staying at the McKenna's home was delightful. The kitchen was well-equipped and easy for a group to cook in. The pool is large and was wonderful to come to after a day of visiting the area. The garden is beautifully maintained and the house lacked for nothing. Our family consisted of a 4 year-old and an 11 year old child. There were toys for them already at the house. The McKenna's were available should we have needed them. We would return to this property in a heartbeat and would absolutely recommend it to friends and relatives. Our thanks go to Gillian and Ross for helping to make our vacation in the Dordogne wonderful.
Cecile, New York
business
Dordogne large, idyllic fully renovated Perigordine farmhouse, heated pool,wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7314
+33 (0)557 870029
St Chamassy Perigord Noir
5

Perfect family retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We found the farmhouse perfectly catered for two families (4 adults and 3 kids) with everything you could possibly need to enjoy a relaxing week. The local town (Le Bugue) is sufficiently large to meet all your food and wine needs, including a couple of good restaurants, and there is a local winemaker next door! The house is within easy reach of St Cyprien, Sarlat, Beynac and la Roque Gageac. We had a memorable half-day canoeing on the Dordogne river (start at la Roque and head downstream towards Beynac).

Gillian and Ross were very helpful both before we arrived (providing directions on how to best reach the farmhouse, options for sleeping configurations) and on arrival. The house itself was very clean and comfortable and kid friendly. We really enjoyed dining outside and using the swimming pool. It is a truly beautiful setting. Make sure you take the time to look through the photo album which shows the progression from neglected farmhouse to wonderful home.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Dordogne large, idyllic fully renovated Perigordine farmhouse, heated pool,wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7314
+33 (0)557 870029
St Chamassy Perigord Noir
5

Fabulous Home , relaxing and beautiful.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed here for 1 week and really loved our stay. We were two families, with 3 children aged 8, 6, and 3. The house was perfect for us. Its quite and we had sense of being in our own huge space with total privacy. The house itself is very beautiful with a lot of love and care obviously put into its restoration. We spent alot of time outside eating and drinking while the kids ran around enjoying all the space and freedom of the lovely lawns and garden or racing for the hammock. We made great use of the pool which was lovely and warm. The house had absolutely everything you may need . A very well equipped kitchen full of crockery and cookware , a shelf of spices, everything you need to cook up a storm with all the great food we found at local markets. A few different areas to eat and relax being outside. or the kitchen or the living/lounge area. Plenty of linen, pillows, piles of bathroom towels and pool towels, soap and other bathroom products all there if you need them. Things for little kids such as a step in the bathroom and booster chair to make life easier. It was a very warm and inviting home. The location was excellent with many beautiful villages to visit within 15-30 minutes drive. The local village is just 10 mins drive to get your morning pastries as well as a choice of supermarkets. We visited lots of great restaurants including a fabulous meal at a farmhouse " Les Truffiers " near Tremolat.
We loved our stay, wanted to stay longer and would definately recommend this home to anyone.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Dordogne large, idyllic fully renovated Perigordine farmhouse, heated pool,wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7314
+33 (0)557 870029
St Chamassy Perigord Noir
5

Rest and relaxation in an idyllic setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. It was one of the very best locations and the absolute top house we have stayed in. The kitchen was superb with everything we could possibly need provided and then some more. Thanks so much for all those little extra touches which made us feel very welcome and got us in holiday mode from the moment we arrived. Really appreciated your help to organise tennis when, in spite of our best efforts, we had drawn a blank. The pool was fantastic and we spent many leisurely hours there just reading and relaxing. We were very impressed with the whole experience - from the canoeing in the Dordogne to exquisite food in local restaurants. The reality exceeded our expectations.Great service all round and would highly recommend your beautiful property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Dordogne large, idyllic fully renovated Perigordine farmhouse, heated pool,wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7314
+33 (0)557 870029
St Chamassy Perigord Noir
Shanghai
5

Lovely property, friendly owners.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
A lovely and quiet property. The listing description was exact. A child-friendly heated swimming pool. Mr. and Mrs Mckenna were the most honest and kind holiday house owners we have never met.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Dordogne large, idyllic fully renovated Perigordine farmhouse, heated pool,wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7314
+33 (0)557 870029
St Chamassy Perigord Noir
Henley-on-Thames
5

Tranquility and quality time personified

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We have been coming to the Dordogne for the past 7 years but this year was special. We found the perfect place that we could ALL enjoy.

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Not just a stark holiday Let but a real home from home! We had a warm welcome and we were given the low down on everything without any fuss or bother.

The pool was perfect and our pool monitors enjoyed their duties. The kitchen was a wonderful and very well kitted out. The bedrooms are so pretty and the garden offers space to wander and relax.

This place goes to the top of the list and hopefully we will return again another year. Thank you for sharing this special place it was greatly enjoyed by us all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Dordogne large, idyllic fully renovated Perigordine farmhouse, heated pool,wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7314
+33 (0)557 870029
St Chamassy Perigord Noir
London, England & Boston, Mass
5

exceeded all expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
our family met here for 2 weeks and had an unforgettable time. The house itself is spacious comfortable and beautiful. It is extremely welll equipped. The house, pool, grounds are clean and well maintained. We especially enjoyed all of the cribs, high chair toys etc. for 13 month old child. This was a lifesaver for those who need to fly in from the US and UK.

The house had to compete with the wonders of the immediate area and of the Perigord in general. The natural beauty and the villages and monuments are unsurpassed. We ended up (in retrospect) commiting more time to the Perigord and less to the house. Oh well next time!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Dordogne large, idyllic fully renovated Perigordine farmhouse, heated pool,wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7314
+33 (0)557 870029
St Chamassy Perigord Noir
Charlotte NC USA
5

Perfect Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Beautifully restored, this delightful farmhouse is a perfect retreat for any family or group. The hosts have provided everything, along with full instructions. A wonderful place to gather, inside and out, and very close to the best of the Dordogne. Well maintained with beautiful landscaping and outdoor living space.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Dordogne large, idyllic fully renovated Perigordine farmhouse, heated pool,wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7314
+33 (0)557 870029
St Chamassy Perigord Noir
Cambridgeshire
5

Lazy Days in the Dordogne

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
Our extended family party of 11 spent a week in this wonderful house in September. With ages ranging from 11 to 66, everybody was full of praise. The house was comprehensively equipped with all modern facilities, while located in a secluded rural setting. An extensive library of information on the local area was provided, which helped us to plan our excursions to some of the many points of interest in the area. The owners, Gillian and Ross, were very welcoming and were able to offer advice and provide further information if needed.

Everybody had a wonderful time and all members of the group were very impressed with the house and its facilities. The heated pool was a particular favourite with some, while others found the tranquil gardens particularly appealing. All agreed that it was the best holiday home we had stayed in.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Dordogne large, idyllic fully renovated Perigordine farmhouse, heated pool,wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7314
+33 (0)557 870029
St Chamassy Perigord Noir
Sydney, Australia
5

Corner of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We arrived at Les Bourgézies Hautes and were entranced. The photos on the website don't do it justice and it was such a delight to find that it was even better than we'd imagined. It is the best equipped holiday rental that I have ever encountered (I've experience about 6). The house is comfortable and tastefully decorated. The garden beautiful. There are a number of separate areas for eating indoors and outdoors. There is a huge fireplace in the living room which is cosy and relaxing. On the colder days the central heating was extremely efficient.
The McKennas act as invisible guardians - there when you need them, but invisible the rest of the time

We were fortunate to have fine weather our first week and the pool was immaculate.

It is a very private location but central to all perigourdean excursions. La Bugue is ideal for shopping and one has the regular farmers' markets close for every day of the week.
I couldn't recommend it more highly.
I hope to return in the future since it is such a comfortable special place.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 10/10