Upper Carniola chalet rental - Chalet with large South facing terrace
Chalet with large South facing terrace
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Upper Carniola Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Self catering accommodation, in a great location, just 25 mins from airport

The Chalet is just 25min drive from the airport and is located in a hillside hamlet 620m above the Medieval town of Kamnik. It has great views of the limestone peaks of the Kamniske Alps and is surrounded by beautiful Alpine countryside. The traditional chalet-style accommodation comprises a large 1st floor bedroom with balcony sleeping four. The downstairs bedroom sleeps two. The living-room has a corner sofa and woodburner for those cosy evenings in. The galley-style kitchen is well equipped. Outside is a large terrace with comfortable seating plus seating for alfresco dining. There is garden on all sides and a barbecue. The basement has laundry facilities and ample storage for skis, etc. With compact but comfortable accommodation, the chalet is ideal as a tranquil all- year-round retreat to 'get away from it all', for a romantic break, Skiing holiday, or a central base within easy reach of all Slovenia's main attractions.

In and around Kamnik:: The chalet is in a tranquil hilltop location above the delightful medieval town of Kamnik.

There is plenty of garden and outdoor space to enjoy the beautiful alpine setting of the chalet and there are several very enjoyable walks starting directly from the chalet taking in forests, alpine meadows, the quaint local villages, spectacular views of the mountains and overlooking the whole of the Ljubljana basin.

The local town of Kamnik has an excellent choice of restaurants, café bars and shops.

This atmospheric little town, with its baroque architecture, narrow streets full of character , castles and churches is a popular choice for visitors, the tourist information office is located in the centre of town along with numerous tempting pavement cafes and bars to enjoy coffee, ice cream or a leisurely lunch.

Another local must-see is the high mountain pasture plateau of Velika Planina 1600m above sea level, the best-preserved herdsmen settlements in Europe, reached by cable-car ride

Activities:: When the snow falls this area is a winter wonderland, with the local ski resort of Krvavec...one of Slovenias most popular ski resorts only around 9 miles from the chalet. The gondola also operates in the summer, taking paragliders, bikers and walkers.

Other local activities include walking and trekking on beautiful alpine trails for all ages and abilities along rivers, gorges, waterfalls, mountains and forests. Road and mountain biking are also very popular with recommended routes available, paragliding, fishing and horse riding.

Slovenia has so much to offer as a holiday destination, from it's friendly people, beautiful alpine scenery, the idyllic lakes of Bohinj and Bled, the Adriatic coast and world famous Postojna and Skocjan caves to the vibrant capital of Llubljana . The superb range of activities and experiences for all ages makes this is a country visitors fall in love with and revisit again and again. For more information please CONTACT US FOR OUR WEBSITE.

Day Trips: Six of the best!: LAKES BLED AND BOHINJ: The beautiful lakes and tourist attractions surrounding them.

POSTOJNA CAVES: UNESCO World attraction:An electric train takes you deep underground to see the natural formations and creatures of these spectacular caves.

THE SOCA VALLEY: Follow the road beside the Jade-green river as it meanders through breathtaking scenery with plenty of opportunity for water sports or to stop for a lazy lunch at one of the many small towns or villages.

SKOFJA LOKA:This pretty medieval town is a must see for anyone interested in architecture and history.

LJUBLJANA: Visit the vibrant Capital for the daily open air market The city Castle reached by funicular railway, museums, riverside cafe-bars and restaurants and countless other attractions that the city has to offer.

KOPER, PIRAN and PORTOROZ (port of roses) : Slovenias Adriatic coastline, Where Slovenia meets with Italy. Try the best of both countries with Italian influenced cuisine and the views of the Adriatic sea.

More Details
Hide Details

31 Reviews of Property 73010 in Upper Carniola, Slovenia

Cosy Alpine Chalet near Kamnik, central to all attractions with stunning views.
average rating of 4.821429 based on 31 reviews
business
Cosy Alpine Chalet near Kamnik, central to all attractions with stunning views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73010
+44 (0) 1524 733935
Upper Carniola Slovenia
Norwich, U.K.
5

Beautiful Labrador

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
What can you say about Slovenia - scenery, people, value - one of the best destinations for us, we'll be back !
Initially the remoteness of the chalet was of concern, but after 1 day we realised how privileged we were to stay here and enjoyed the tranquility beyond words.
Good luck Mark & Trish, we hope to return.
Richard & Lesely.
P.S. Look out for the beautiful labrador - he likes BBQ's.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your comments Richard and Lesely, we feel that being only 10 minutes from Kamnik our guests have the best of both worlds, peace and tranquility at the chalet and all the amenities you'd need not too far away. We're pleased you met our neighbours dog "Jack", he's probably the best natured dog you're ever likely to meet, and as a result, probably the best fed dog in the village !!
All the best Mark & Trish
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cosy Alpine Chalet near Kamnik, central to all attractions with stunning views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73010
+44 (0) 1524 733935
Upper Carniola Slovenia
5

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful chalet. Everything is so complete. We loved Slovenia and were amazed at how clean everything is.

We walked a lot – and especially the descent from Velika Planina – from the top of the chair lift down to the base of the cable car, was marked as easy but didn’t seem that easy to us – 3 seniors …. But we managed it and it was worth all the pain afterwards.

What a wonderful place you have created, stayed one week but seemed like six.
business
Cosy Alpine Chalet near Kamnik, central to all attractions with stunning views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73010
+44 (0) 1524 733935
Upper Carniola Slovenia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Sunny days

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Sunny days, lovely walks, great views, little tourism.
A good holiday.
Liz, Otmar, Tom.
Munich, Germany
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cosy Alpine Chalet near Kamnik, central to all attractions with stunning views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73010
+44 (0) 1524 733935
Upper Carniola Slovenia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Magnificent view

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Dear Mark, Trish and attendants
On arrival we found a nice, well equiped chalet with a magnificent view. After a good nights sleep we were looking for an electric coffee machine :-) but we managed very well with the cooker and coffee maker. We missed and extra set of towels as we have a family with two adult daughters. The attention we found on arrival are very well appreciated.
Slovenia is one of the most beautiful countries we’ve seen ! A one week vacation is far from enough to see everything but we have visited Bled and Bohinj, the caves of Postonja and Skocjan, Ljubljana and the coast (from Italy to Piran).
Thank you very much for your hospitality
Dirk, Myriam, Sara and Freya
Bertstraat, Belgium
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cosy Alpine Chalet near Kamnik, central to all attractions with stunning views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73010
+44 (0) 1524 733935
Upper Carniola Slovenia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Beautiful country

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2001
Dear Mark & Trish
We really loved the cottage, very neat, well equipped, beautifully located with a marvellous view on the valley.
Kamnik is a very nice place. We have visited it several times, including the Kamfest. Unfortunately we couldn’t understand all the Slovenian lyrics….
We have been travelling across Slovenia from Maribor to Piran and from Bohinj to Ljubljana. We have discovered that Slovenia is a beautiful country and has characteristic towns with a very interesting history. Our children (12 and 15 years) motly enjoyed the swimming pools and the adventure parc Poletni at Krvavec. Special tip for railway fans – the railway museum at Ljubljana is a must !
The weather has been splendid, up to more than 30 degrees in the second week, but also some real Slovenian thunderstorms!!
Thanks very much for this wonderful stay.
Family Michon, The Netherlands
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cosy Alpine Chalet near Kamnik, central to all attractions with stunning views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73010
+44 (0) 1524 733935
Upper Carniola Slovenia
5

Nice week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Thank you for the opportunity to spend very nice week in your chalet. It is very comfortable and well equipped.
We had sunny days in Velika Planina , great experience in cave Skocjan and nice days in Ljubljana.
We have enjoyed breakfast and warm evenings on the terrace, it was a very good holiday for us.
Lenka, Milan, Martin, Petra and Barbora
Brno, Czech Republic
business
Cosy Alpine Chalet near Kamnik, central to all attractions with stunning views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73010
+44 (0) 1524 733935
Upper Carniola Slovenia
4

Well equiped cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The cottage is very cosy, well equiped and in good condition. The bedrooms are large and comfortable with good beds. The bathrooms are small but luxurious. The only disadvantages are the steep stairs. The terrace is large and we have enjoyed the marvellous views.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank You for your very positive review,
We are pleased that you found your stay at the chalet comfortable and enjoyable, and also that you enjoyed the lovely views from the terrace. We hope you will make a return stay at the chalet if you visit Slovenia in the future,
Best Regards,
Mark & Trish
business
Cosy Alpine Chalet near Kamnik, central to all attractions with stunning views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73010
+44 (0) 1524 733935
Upper Carniola Slovenia
Brno, The Czech Republic
5

Amazing breakfast on terrace

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The property was very clean, homely and well equipment. We will recommend it to our friends absolutely. We were fascinated by view from the terrace every morning during our breakfast. We took a lot of trips in Slovenia. We have been in cave "Škocjanska jama" (UNESCO), in mountains (Velka Planina is near ant it is amazing), in Ljubljana and by the sea too. We spend very nice time in Slovenia.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Lenka,

Thank You very much for your lovely remarks.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the chalet and and surroundings as much as we do! It was also good to hear that you visited some of Slovenia's best attractions and that you had a great time in this beautiful country.
Best Regards,
Trish & Mark
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cosy Alpine Chalet near Kamnik, central to all attractions with stunning views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73010
+44 (0) 1524 733935
Upper Carniola Slovenia
Liverpool, U.K.
4

"Good facilities, well located in pleasant area"

"Good facilities, well located in pleasant area"
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Overall very well equipped property, pretty good on space and in excellent location. Owners very helpful in correspondence and responded promply to our one problem that required their help. Unless people like the heat, the downstairs sleeping area was more appropriate for august but this had easily enough room for the 4 of us. Appreciated BBQ and outside area as well as local amenities and generally well located to get onto motorway network for longer trips to places like Lake Bled, Venice, the mountains, the caves or the coast.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cosy Alpine Chalet near Kamnik, central to all attractions with stunning views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73010
+44 (0) 1524 733935
Upper Carniola Slovenia
Reinbek, Germany
4

Good Holidays

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Offers all you need for your holidays.
Recommended for:  Age 55+