Folly Beach house rental - 'Lamm's End' Cottage..a pampered retreat Folly Beach
'Lamm's End' Cottage..a pampered retreat Folly Beach
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Folly Beach House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Friendly reminder to our guests *** First please check the online calender to see if there is availability--- we rent Saturday to Saturday during the summer season--- we have a 3 night minimum in the off season for non-holiday weeks. Now onto the good stuff :-) ***

Talk about a great location!

Lamm's End Cottage is a 2-minute walk to the beach: 8 minute stroll to Folly's quaint downtown: Behind the cottage: a tennis court and an imaginative children's park which includes a pirate's ship, a lighthouse and gazebo for mom and dad to relax. The location can't be beat.

Fully-equipped, granite, stainless kitchen so our guests easily whip up a delicious meal from the abundance of fresh seafood and locally grown vegetables available in the South Carolina low country.

Much was done during an extensive renovation of the home, yet the charm and warmth of a bygone era of old Folly remain. Heart pine floors, tongue & groove wood ceilings and a large, private, front porch have been beautifully restored. Lamm's End Cottage is surrounded by a huge deck-- a great spot to relax.

Beth will consider 1 well-behaved, mature, well-groomed dog but MUST be pre-approved.

Full service, pampered retreat. Lamm's End Cottage is a perfect, affordable family vacation which books VERY quickly. If the cottage is booked.. check out the online calenders of Beth's other homes on Folly. The original Lamm's End and Lamm's End Beach Bungalow.(VRBO 40152 & 343443).

Beth signature is her focus on creature comforts... high quality linens and bedding... a kitchen stocked with the appropriate pots, pans and gadgets.. starter paper products as well as many other extras are provided at no extra charge.

Warm southern hospitality and that close attention to detail ---are why Beth Lamm was selected as the 'Personality Behind the Home' in the Carolinas on VRBO.

Please note that the new rate structure on VRBO does not allow us to price holiday weeks. There are minimum weekly stays and there is a 10% up charge for Christmas, New Years, Easter, Memorial Day, Labor Day and Thanksgiving.

There is no smoking permitted ANYWHERE on the premises. No house parties or weddings are ever permitted.

Please read the reviews that our guests have entered on-line. And again, if the Cottage is booked, take a look at our newest home on Folly. Lamm's End Bungalow, which is perfect for smaller groups and is dog friendly, with Beth's consent.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Beth looked for beach property from the coast of NC to Georgia for 2 years. The minute she drove onto the island of Folly Beach, it just felt perfect. Relaxed, laid-back and only 11 miles from Charleston, SC! 'Lamm's End' was the first home purchased in 2004. A year later, This home, 'Lamm's End Cottage' was added. It was an old and dilapidated --- hadn't been lived in for many years and it required a ton of work. But to Beth, it represented the best of Folly and it was worth preserving. Over the course of the following year, the cottage was gutted and put back together. It is now a completely modern retreat, yet it retains the romance and warmth of yesteryear. The location is perfect... 2 minute stroll to the beach, 7 minutes to the shops and restaurants of Folly and the most darling children's park is directly behind the house. Beth is a licensed realtor and is thrilled to be pursuing her passion for real estate. The Lamm family loves to travel, they are pictured in Mendoza, Argentina. Just a year before a another South Carolina resident (The Governor!!) visited this sensuous South American destination and the rest they say is history!

Beth Lamm purchased this house in 2005

There is no place like Folly. The island includes an eclectic mix of people ... from bohemian artists, to 20-something surfer dudes, to wealthy retired boomers... to regular Moms, Dads and their kids. You can't tell them apart on Folly... tee shirts, flip, flops and shorts are the dress code. They all come to enjoy a beautiful, natural island and a laid-back island lifestyle. Likewise, Folly also has a wide range of housing from multi-million dollar homes to charming beach cottages that have been in southern families for many generations. Folly is a fresh relief from the manicured, Disney-like beaches that so many vacation communities have become. If a golf-gated community is what you're looking for, Folly is not the place for you.

Beth is a completely hands-on owner. No management company... just one on one with Beth. The original Lamm's End, Lamm's End Cottage and her newest Folly Beach home 'Lamm's End Bungalow' are improved constantly. Beth pays close attention to creature comforts... comfortable beds, black out curtains to ensure a good night's sleep, high thread count all cotton bedding, down comforters. This is a turn-key operation. Everything --- from toilet paper, paper towels, laundry soap, dish & dishwashing soap, hand soap, spices--- is provided. The family loves to cook and the kitchen reflects that. The on-line reviews demonstrate years of happy, satisfied, returning guests.

63 Reviews of Property 68889 in Folly Beach, South Carolina

Lamm's End Cottage' Beach, Town, Tennis & Park. Location! Location!
average rating of 5.0 based on 63 reviews
business
Lamm's End Cottage' Beach, Town, Tennis & Park. Location! Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68889vbi
(843) 409-1994
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Knoxville, TN
5

Pampered, Worry-Free Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We have stayed in two of the Lamm's properties several times, and every time it's been a great experience. This last time was no exception. This cottage has lovely details--granite counters, slate floors in the bathrooms, great chairs and a hammock on the porch--too many great things to mention here. And everything is provided. There are beach towels, chairs, and even coolers for your use. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything from mixing bowls to measuring cups. The best thing about this and the Lamms's other properties is that they are meticulously maintained and the owner is scrupulous in her attention to detail. She responds promptly to any questions or request.

And this cottage is lovely. It's an old Folly house that's been lovingly restored and updated, and it's a great space to spend time in. Relax on the front porch or grill out and eat on the back deck. It's a quick two and quarter blocks to the beach walkover (and the big cooler has wheels). We go to Folly twice a year, and I can recommend these properties without reservation. The only difficulty we've ever had is getting a spot--people know a good thing when they see it and you have to book early!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/13
business
Lamm's End Cottage' Beach, Town, Tennis & Park. Location! Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68889vbi
(843) 409-1994
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Asheville, NC
5

Best rental EVER

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family of 6 rents cottages and houses quite a bit, so we have a lot of experience under our belts. Let me cut to the chase. This place rocks. It deserves 5 stars for the following reasons:
1. Beth Lamm, who is responsive and customer friendly.
2. The house. It is really pretty, with comfortable furniture, vibrant colors, more space and privacy than you think (I was skeptical with 4 teenagers in tow, but we had plenty of room to spread out), the kitchen has everything you need (we cook a lot--bought fish from Crosby's several times and made yummy swordfish and wreckfish meals at the house), comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, and most important of all
3. Cleanliness. Really, folks. How many times have you stayed at a house and found some shmutz from a previous tenant? This house was impeccably clean. I don't know who Beth's housekeeper is, but I want her to please come to my house next.
4. Location. The 2 very short blocks to the beach are really short! You can hear the ocean from the front porch at night. The trip to downtown Folly is a hop, skip and jump by car, and certainly walkable if you don't have 4 very lazy teenagers with you. If you have little kids, you'll love the cool community playground right behind the house.
5. Dog allowed. We were thrilled to be able to bring our family dog with us, especially to such a nice place.

In sum, this house is a keeper. We plan to return. Truly a slice of heaven.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lamm's End Cottage' Beach, Town, Tennis & Park. Location! Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68889vbi
(843) 409-1994
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
It was perfect for our stay at Folly Beach. Great place to stay, clean, neat, everything is marked in the kitchen. Great front porch for the evening. We were there to make plans for a wedding and coming home to a comfortable house is very nice. Thanks Beth for all your special touches, much appreciated.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Lamm's End Cottage' Beach, Town, Tennis & Park. Location! Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68889vbi
(843) 409-1994
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Upstate South Carolina
5

Vacation rentals on the beach don't get much better than this

Vacation rentals on the beach don't get much better than this
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My wife and I stayed in Beth's cottage with our two young children and another family of three. As anyone with young children knows, you have to take a lot of stuff just to take care of the kids. You don't have a lot of room for other items that might be nice to have on vacation.

Thankfully, Lamm's End has everything you need already. The kitchen has been immaculately remodeled with high end appliances and is well stocked with dishes, cookware, and utensils. So is the laundry room. It was such a blessing not to have to pack towels or bed linens. From the moment you walk into the house, you realize that someone took the time to really think about everything that families will need to be comfortable on the beach. From the moment we stepped in the door, it felt like out own personal beach cottage instead of a rental. Since we had small children, we didn't spend a lot of time traveling. We divided our time between the cottage, the beach, and one brief walk into downtown. We never felt cramped or in each others' way.

I have to rave about the beds – they beat every other hotel or B&B bed I have ever slept on. Firm but not hard. Soft, full pillows. Comfy, clean, high-quality sheets and bedding. We visited the cottage with a toddler and a newborn so sleep was important.

The house is just the right size and the extra large lot (compared to most other houses on Folly) is very helpful for parking and giving occupants a feeling of privacy.

I cannot recommend this place enough. Beth's rates are very reasonable and she has set up a very welcoming home on the beach. Can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lamm's End Cottage' Beach, Town, Tennis & Park. Location! Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68889vbi
(843) 409-1994
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Columbus, Ohio
5

Comfortable Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I highly recommend this cottage. It was excessively clean, comfortable, and fully equipped with most anything you would expect or need (e.g. kitchen accessories). Very nice decorations, paint scheme, furniture, new kitchen appliances, and tv/dvd/etc. The adjoining tennis court was high quality. The balcony on the front side of the house was private yet with a good view, and the back deck is huge with a scenic backyard. Great access to Charleston, grocery stores, restaurants, and easy walk to a nice part of the beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lamm's End Cottage' Beach, Town, Tennis & Park. Location! Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68889vbi
(843) 409-1994
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

David and Kim, Marietta GA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Lamm's Cottage. Beth was very responsive, flexible and made sure our stay was comfortable and worry free. The cottage is beautifully decorated and we felt at home the second we arrived. And our dog loved the very roomy deck and backyard! The cottage was very clean, the kitchen had everything we needed, and the beds were incredibly comfortable. And the proximity to Charleston was very convenient. We love the Charleston area and will definitely consider Lamm's Cottage for our next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lamm's End Cottage' Beach, Town, Tennis & Park. Location! Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68889vbi
(843) 409-1994
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Rock Hill, SC
5

Cozy, comfortable, and absolutely charming!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I've just returned from ten very comfortable days at Lamm's End Cottage. Beth's hard work and attention to detail have created a cozy, comfortable, and absolutely charming getaway. The nice thing about Folly Beach is that I didn't feel compelled to "do" anything--although I certainly did some things--and the cottage made doing nothing really pleasant. Just sitting in the rockers or swinging in the hammock on the front porch was great. The kitchen was the best-equipped of any rental in which I've ever stayed, though I certainly enjoyed trying out some of the restaurants in the area, too. The beach is just a short walk away, and getting to the downtown area is really easy. The beach is great, by the way, though the storm surge caused by Sandy damaged it a little earlier this week. Materials at the cottage made checking out restaurants and planning excursions really easy. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour at Charleston Tea Plantation. Coming back to the very comfortable beds after a long day was a pleasure. One example of Beth's thoughtfulness is that all the light switches are labeled--no guessing! I had questions about the multiple TV controls--just couldn't find the right combination--and, when I notified Beth, she had her handyman come over to check it out for me. She's apparently assembled a great support crew on the island.

As for recommendations, here's some of what we enjoyed:

Restaurants--The Lost Dog Cafe, Locklear's (at the pier--great ocean view), Taco Boy, Bowen's Island, and Husk in Charleston. One caution--take bug spray to Bowen's Island to fend off the no-see-ums. I suffered! Crosby's for fresh seafood to cook at home.

If you go up Ashley Avenue to see the Morris Island lighthouse, stop along the way at the Washout. Sandy created some waves there that the surfers were really enjoying. One of them told us that it's the best surfing spot on the East Coast. Don't miss Bert's. It's within walking distance of the house--free coffee, the daily papers (including the NY Times), and an interesting variety of other merchandise, as well as lots of local characters.

I would certainly recommend Lamm's End Cottage. As a matter of fact, we hope to go again next year when the butterfly migration goes through Charleston Tea Plantation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Lamm's End Cottage' Beach, Town, Tennis & Park. Location! Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68889vbi
(843) 409-1994
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Virginia
5

Wonderfully Charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I have rented on Folly Beach for years and have often rented dog friendly homes. I have to say that Lamm's End Cottage is the nicest, cleanest, and coziest dog friendly rental I have stayed in. Thanks Beth for making sure my visit to Folly was so enjoyable! My scottie thanks you too!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lamm's End Cottage' Beach, Town, Tennis & Park. Location! Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68889vbi
(843) 409-1994
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

Lovely place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Had a wonderful stay. House was well equipped and had plenty of deck space, the hammock was a nice touch. Easy walk to the beach, also convenient to walk into town (recommend Taco Boy, and the Lost Dog Cafe). Beds were comfortable. Shower was a bit small but otherwise fine. Nicely decorated, everything of good standard. Would stay again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lamm's End Cottage' Beach, Town, Tennis & Park. Location! Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68889vbi
(843) 409-1994
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

Better than advertized

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Lamm's End Cottage is roomy, attractive, comfortable, very well equipped, very clean and in an ideal location for families. We had all the comforts of home only a couple of short blocks from the beach. The playground and tennis court behind the house (but not too close--it was very quiet) are well maintained and we enjoyed them both. We all got to use the hammock and the front porch was a great place to have our morning coffee. The beach was practically deserted except on the weekends, and the sights, tastes and shopping of Charleston are very close by. We liked the local restaurants: the Lost Dog Cafe' has great breakfast and lunch and every coffee and tea beverage you could think of, The Grill has nice soup and salads, and Taco Boy has tasty and innovative food (best guacamole we've had outside of Mexico) although the music indoors was too loud. Be sure to take a boat cruise. We had an excellent marsh/shelling/history ride with a local guide. All in all, it was a fabulous and relaxing vacation, and we plan to do it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5