Ben Lomond cottage rental - Large deck area with fire pit
Large deck area with fire pit
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Ben Lomond Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

Nestled among the ferns, under the majestic Redwood trees, this cozy little cabin was built in 1930 as a fishing cabin. Back then, the creek was full of steelhead and one could fish right from the living room window. Once the road was put in and electricity came to this canyon inside of a canyon, it became a resort area of sorts. The creek was dammed up in the summer for the local swimming hole known as 'Club Lompico'.

There is a large deck with views of Lompico Creek. The living room has 1 full wall of windows facing the creek. Beautiful Loch Lomond is just a 5 minute drive away. (Due to the drought status Loch Lomond will not be opening for the 2014 season. This may change with more rain.) Paddle boat,

row boat, and canoe rentals, fishing for stocked trout and indigenous bass, picnicking, and hiking trails. Loch Lomond is open from March-September. In the mountains we may be, but ever so close to the sea. Santa Cruz is a 20 minute drive. There is the famous Roaring Camp Railroad attraction. Kayak rentals and tours go all around the bay. From town, it just a short hike to the Lime Kilns. Near the border of Scotts Valley and Santa

Cruz lies the Mystery Spot.

The big, elegant sail boat sloop, the Chardonnay, has wine tasting with its coastal tours. You can take the train all the way to the Beach Boardwalk for a day of fun rides, mini-golf, and sun. Nearby, the Felton Commons Park boasts the tallest covered bridge in the United States, (Guinness Book). All around are famous local wineries; Bonny Doon, Bargetto's, Zayante, and Hallcrest to name a few. Limo tours are available. In Felton town, Don Quixote's Mexican Restaurant features live entertainment every night. Italian and Chinese cuisine and pizza are also in town.

Keywords: Small Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 68472 in Ben Lomond, California

Redwood Mountain Hideaway in Felton Near Lake + Santa Cruz
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Redwood Mountain Hideaway in Felton Near Lake + Santa Cruz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68472vbi
(831) 477-6498
Ben Lomond Santa Cruz County
5

Peace and Beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was me and my boyfriend second stay. I do believe we have fallen even more in love with the place. The cabin is fully equipped with everything that you need. It is so quit and peaceful that you just don't want to leave. Jenea is absolutely the best and right there if you need her. We can't wait to come back again..
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Redwood Mountain Hideaway in Felton Near Lake + Santa Cruz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68472vbi
(831) 477-6498
Ben Lomond Santa Cruz County
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This place was just as advertised. It was close enough to Santa Cruz to drive in to enjoy the town and then drive 20 minutes back up into the redwoods to stay in the cozy cabin. It was kid friendly and family friendly. The kitchen had all of the basics, there were plenty of towels, plenty of comfy seats indoors and out. Our host Janea was responsive and helpful. We;ll definitely stay here again if we're in the area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Redwood Mountain Hideaway in Felton Near Lake + Santa Cruz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68472vbi
(831) 477-6498
Ben Lomond Santa Cruz County
Concord, CA
5

SUPER PEACEFUL, QUIET, AND A VERY PRIVATE COTTAGE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
If you are craving to get away from the hectic life style of the city, or just life in general, want to reconnect, zen out and refresh yourselves, you must try TRANQUILITY BASE!

This cottage is so cozy and well equipped you'll never want to go home. The beds are super comfortable to say the least. And, the outdoor living is the plus here. The soft lights all around gently aluminate the entire and very large deck. There are separate places to sit with a fire pit and barbeque to enjoy. Just sitting out there and gazing at the towering redwoods and listening to nature just takes you away from all of your troubles. You just feel closer to heaven and the stars when you are there.

I can't forget to mention the new ZEN garden just below the kitchen window. Doing dishes has never been so relaxing to me. Janea has made this such an intimate resting place with tiki torches, plants, benches and a very pretty and mellow sounding water feature. Situated on a lower level of the grounds it is a separate place away from the upper deck to sit and reflect.

I also must mention what an awesome person the owner Janea is. She is such a very pleasant and giving person who really takes pride in keeping the cottage inviting and warm for her guests. She will leave you alone to all of the privacy you need, but if you need anything, she will help out as much as possible.

I've just mentioned the cottage, but if you read all of the reviews you will know that this location is prime for fishing, hiking, train rides and eating out. The Trout Farm restaurant down the road has great food and you can eat out on their deck. Their foot bridge repair is in the works soon to get to the area for trout fishing again, which is at the back of the property. Also a great glass of Merlot at The Oak Tree restaurant in Felton on hwy 9 is the best I've had, and you can sit outside under the very large oak tree on their very spacious patio.

As you can tell, we have visited Tranquility Base for years now, it is close in distance, very reasonably priced, and it is one of our favorite places to go to get away from fast paced Concord.

Please try Tranquility Base, you won't be disappointed!

Cindy & Wayne, Concord, CA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Redwood Mountain Hideaway in Felton Near Lake + Santa Cruz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68472vbi
(831) 477-6498
Ben Lomond Santa Cruz County
San Francisco, CA
5

Beautiful, cozy cabin and in a great location - the pictures don't do it justice.

Beautiful, cozy cabin and in a great location - the pictures don't do it justice.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My girlfriend and I just spent the weekend at this cabin for our three year anniversary. We are totally in love and plan on returning sometime in the near future. Janea takes great care to include special little touches, so you will feel extremely welcome, if not giddy, upon arrival. The deck is very large and great for lounging. The living room and kitchen are also cozy. The beds are spacious and comfortable. She has great Hawaiian and other music to listen to while reading a book by the gas fireplace. The hot tub is a GREAT temperature -- nice and hot (this is the #1 most important factor with a hot tub in my opinion). The overall atmosphere makes you feel like you were transported to some other world, which is so important for kicking back and relaxing. The very nearby Roaring Camp Railroads was also a blast. Easy drive to Santa Cruz beaches. Amazing nearby healthy grocery store (~4 miles). Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Redwood Mountain Hideaway in Felton Near Lake + Santa Cruz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68472vbi
(831) 477-6498
Ben Lomond Santa Cruz County
San Luis Obispo, CA, USA
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was a delightful, cozy, fully stacked cabin. We felt like we had all the comforts of home come with us on our journey. It was perfect for the whole family!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Redwood Mountain Hideaway in Felton Near Lake + Santa Cruz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68472vbi
(831) 477-6498
Ben Lomond Santa Cruz County
Bay Area
5

Exactly what we needed.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Janea is great and this little secluded home was exactly what we needed to get away from the big city. Had a nice time blazing some trails off the beaten path on a nearby trail, enjoying the hot tub, and making some great meals. The best surprise was all the extra essentials that this place has. We came prepared with food and such, but the cooking utensils were great and helped me make some great meals for us. I think the only surprise was thatthe hot tub is just that, a hot...tub. No jets. BUT it is extremely relaxing and I quickly forgot all about it and rested in it while looking up a the stars. Would definitely come again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Redwood Mountain Hideaway in Felton Near Lake + Santa Cruz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68472vbi
(831) 477-6498
Ben Lomond Santa Cruz County
San Jose, CA
5

Relaxing Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My family and I had a great time staying here. The house was the right size for our family of three (2 adults & 1 toddler). House was easy to find with the directions given by Janea, and our GPS wasn't too bad matching her directions either. Janea was very courteous, helpful and easy to reach by phone. The welcome information book was the greatest! It answered all our questions, so our stay was stress-free. We loved how the house was extremely quiet and very comfortable since everything you need is provided. We visited many hiking trails nearby. Henry Cowell was a favorite and we also went to Quail Hollow as well. We would definitely stay here again. I highly recommend renting this house if you love to outdoors or just want to get away from everything.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Redwood Mountain Hideaway in Felton Near Lake + Santa Cruz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68472vbi
(831) 477-6498
Ben Lomond Santa Cruz County
Carson City NV
5

Relaxing Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We enjoyed our stay in this quiet, comfortable retreat. The place is well maintained and the clean. The location was perfect for us.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Redwood Mountain Hideaway in Felton Near Lake + Santa Cruz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68472vbi
(831) 477-6498
Ben Lomond Santa Cruz County
Texico, NM
5

Happy Camper

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Tranquility Base was a wonderful cabin for my family and I. It was exactly what we wanted and where we wanted. If you are looking for a cabin that is smaller and quaint, quiet, peaceful, and centrally located, this is a great find! Not to far from Santa Cruz with all of the city's fun activities, and the drive to the city is worth the trip, but also, the cabin is only a couple minutes from Henry Cowell State Park, which we hiked several times because of its beauty. Additionally, the cabiin is only minutes from Loch Lommond, a great place to spend an afternoon on the lake with the family, and it is only minutes from Roaring Camp Railroad, which is also a great family excursion. Janae was a very friendly, wonderful host, helpful in every way. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and we highly recommend this cabin to any couples, singles, or families. My family included my wife and I, and two small children (2 1/2 and 11 mths), and it was perfect, with protective gates and fences for the kids all around the property. We look forward to more memories in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Redwood Mountain Hideaway in Felton Near Lake + Santa Cruz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68472vbi
(831) 477-6498
Ben Lomond Santa Cruz County
sacramento
5

Forrest Haven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Our family of 5 stayed here for a getaway and found everything extremely enjoyable. Owner had everything we needed, hot tub was a little scalding for kids but just ask her to turn it down when you arrive. Cabin is cozy and remote but it only takes 15 mins to get to Santa Cruz and the drive is breathtaking. We went to Loch Lomond and rented a boat for $10 - brought our fishing poles and set off for a glorious lake adventure. Something for the whole family! The decor is cottage funky with a mellow cozy ambience - couldn't be better! Outside deck with hammock/fire pit were fun too and deck stairs are gated if you have a little one or pet.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2