Puako house rental - Mango Hale
Mango Hale
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Puako House Rental Photos and Description
House & Cottage, 4 Bedrooms plus Studio, 4 Baths

House & Cottage, 4 Bedrooms plus Studio, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Located at the private and quiet end of Puako Beach Drive, Mango Hale offers the opportunity to experience a stay in 'Old Hawaii.' Recently renovated, these two original beach houses have all the modern comforts and conveniences, while the relaxed and tranquil community reminds you of an earlier era.

Mango Hale (three bedroom, three bath) or Mango Cottage (one bedroom, one bath) are available individually for couples or small families, or both houses can be rented together to accommodate a larger group. The property is filled with mango, banana, and coconut trees surrounded by a lush manicured lawn and other tropical plants. The caretakers apartment is located on the garden level off the garage of the Hale. The owner lives here full time and is available for security and other assistance

Directly across the street is the popular beach access known as 'Paniau.' This natural bay has a small coral and sand beach and is well known for its easy access to one of the most premier snorkel and dive spots on the whole island. Paniau has great surf breaks in the winter months and offers easy shore fishing as well as excellent sunsets year round. The Puako General Store is located just minutes down the road and offers movie rental, groceries, and sundries.

Keywords: House & Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

19 Reviews of Property 67917 in Puako, Hawaii

Mango Hale & Mango Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
Mango Hale & Mango Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67917vb
(303) 746-8806
Puako Kohala Coast
5

Home away from home... in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family of three stayed in Mango Cottage for nine days, and I'm not sure we could have found a better spot. Puako is probably my favorite place on the island for its excellent beaches and convenient amenities. The beaches near the cottage had beautiful views, and the two closest sandy beaches (one an easy walk, the other a five minute drive) are both excellent for snorkeling. Rick provided us snorkel gear and a boogie board, and even picked mangoes for us! He was a gracious and helpful host, and we are forever grateful that when our flight was cancelled due to a hurricane (what a way to end a vacation!), he and his brother graciously agreed to let us extend our stay.

The cottage itself has a well-stocked kitchen, comfortable beds, and is overall clean, bright, and charming. We really enjoyed being able to make ourselves at home, and we sat each morning before heading to the beach with a cup of coffee we made ourselves, watching the birds flutter around the lanai, and spying the occasional gecko or watching for falling mangoes! If we get to return to the big island next year, we'll certainly stay here again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mango Hale & Mango Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67917vb
(303) 746-8806
Puako Kohala Coast
San Francisco, CA
5

The Perfect Vacation = The Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Thanks to Scott for providing a great place for our little girl who was learning to walk! Great location, excellent snorkeling and swimming, and really easy access to the Fairmont Orchid via an awesome beach trail. The cottage has everything you need to enjoy life; the outside shower being the best. We'll be back again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mango Hale & Mango Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67917vb
(303) 746-8806
Puako Kohala Coast
North Vancouver, BC
5

Mango & Papaya lover

Mango & Papaya lover
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed first few days in Mango Hale and then in Mango Cottage. Both places are absolutely amazing! We are a young family with 2 boys, 5 & 9 year old. The house is highly recommended when you are more than 4 in your group. Otherwise, the cottage is small, very cute, just perfect for 4 or less. Scott, the owner is always around, he helps with everything. His suggestions are very practical, we used each one of them...places to go, food to eat...Mangoes on his trees were just ripening, so if you are just going there, you will have a mango feast! They were dropping at night on the roof, it took a while to get use to it. The ants are in the kitchen and the bathroom, but they don't do anything...they just like to live there, also :) If we come back to this island, this is the place we will stay again. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mango Hale & Mango Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67917vb
(303) 746-8806
Puako Kohala Coast
Oakdale, Ca
5

Puako - Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My wife and I stayed in the one bedroom cottage for 10 days. Definitely more rustic than the house but comfortable and a fabulous location. The owners were very helpful and friendly. Just across the street from great beach access areas. Quiet location; almost at the end of the road. Sunsets, snorkeling and a wonderful sandy beach nearby.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mango Hale & Mango Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67917vb
(303) 746-8806
Puako Kohala Coast
Calgary, AB
5

AMAZING!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I would like to extend our sincerest thanks to Scott & Rick for sharing their place with us - it was amazing, and they were amazing hosts. It was everything we had hoped for, in an amazing location - so amazing that we changed our plans and tried to return before we left the island!
Thanks again for everything!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Mango Hale & Mango Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67917vb
(303) 746-8806
Puako Kohala Coast
Canada
5

Dec 22-31

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our family's first visit to Hawaii. Pueko was a very special place--quiet, great snorkelling and our stay in Mango Cottage provided access to this. The service from both brothers was superb. You were able to be honest about any issues and they resolved everything. They even washed bird poop off our car! I highly recommend this accommodation. The outdoor shower was amazing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Mango Hale & Mango Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67917vb
(303) 746-8806
Puako Kohala Coast
Lake Tahoe
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I went to Mango Hale with my daughter for a dad/daughter trip and had a great time. Scott and Rick are great hosts. Location was perfect, quiet and just across the street was a great snorkeling bay. You will love the outside shower, we never used the inside shower once. I love this side of island near the really nice beaches and lots of sun. I'll be back with my wife, soon I hope.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mango Hale & Mango Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67917vb
(303) 746-8806
Puako Kohala Coast
El Campo, Texas
5

A little piece of heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My husband and I got married in Hawaii and we stayed at Mango Hale for 9 days. Words just don’t seem to be enough to describe the beautiful surroundings and accommodations. The Hale is where you want to stay if you want to experience nature, the cool wind softly blowing through your bedroom windows at night, and waking up to birdsong and the astounding colors of flowers and foliage that surround this property. It is located near the end of a dead end street, so traffic is minimal and it has such a quiet, comforting feel… like home. It was sparkling clean and spotless when we arrived and we had everything we needed from the beautifulyl appointed kitchen to the large back lanai to watch the sun rise. Right across the street, about a 2 minute walk, is the some of the best snorkeling around. The owners, Scott and Rick are warm and friendly and always available to help with directions or anything else you may need. I cannot recommend this property more highly. Book it now!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Mango Hale & Mango Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67917vb
(303) 746-8806
Puako Kohala Coast
Denver, Colorado
5

A great place to stay in Puako.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We recently stayed at the Mango Hale, and our extended family loved it! Rick and Scott were super to deal with, and available if we needed anything. Puako is a funky place, although (unfortunately), the older homes are being replaced with McMansions. It served as a wonderful base for exploring the northern parts of the Big Island, with great snorkeling and swim beaches within either walking or 5 minute drive distances. The Mango Hale was very nice, with great bedrooms and a super new kitchen. We made almost all our meals here, and enjoyed the many lanai and peaceful setting. One suggestion is to bring food from the Hilo area (if you arrive on that side of the island), since food costs more on the west side. We would recommend this fine property to anyone in a heart beat. If you are into the resort experience, then Mango Hale is not for you. If you enjoy an off the beaten path, more personal experience, then we can't recommend this lovely spot enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Mango Hale & Mango Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67917vb
(303) 746-8806
Puako Kohala Coast
Cockeysville, MD
5

A charming house in a beautiful location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We spent three wonderful days at Mango Hale and wish we could have stayed longer. Puako is a secret gem of a location - a collection of beach cottages that has a much more authentic and "old Hawaii" feel than the Waikaloa resort area just down the beach. We were very comfortable in the 3 bedroom/3 bath Hale and loved the huge lanais, the outdoor shower, and the generous kitchen and living space. The Hale has been renovated with all the amenities, but without losing its charm and rustic feel. We looked right out onto Mauna Kea and could see the observatories from our lanai. The best parts were being able to walk right across the street to snorkel in Turtle Bay or zip down the road to Beach 69. There is also great scuba diving in the underwater caves at Turlte Bay as well - though we stuck to the snorkeling and loved getting up close to the turtles, eels, and dozens of fish we saw. The great beaches of Hapuna and Mauna Kea are also only a few minutes away by car. We also could walk down the beach path right from our front door and onto the resort area of the Fairmont Orchid in a few minutes as well to grab a fancy dinner or a tropical drink at the bar. Brothers Rick and Scott were great hosts, living right on the premises so they were easily accessible to give tips on the area and answer questions. They also provisioned us with extra boogie boards, beach chairs, and snorkeling gear that prior guests had left behind. They treated us to the most delicious mangoes right off the trees and a young coconut where the flesh is still soft - what an experience! We agree with the prior review that if you are looking for a resort experience, go elsewhere, but if you want a comfy quiet beach cottage where you are 30 steps from awesome snorkeling, this is the place for you.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1