Trogir castle rental - The triple aspect kitchen/diner is well equipped.
The triple aspect kitchen/diner is well equipped.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Trogir Castle Rental Photos and Description
Self-catering 2 bed, 2 bath, sleeps 4, air-con, historic building.

The Venetian Tower is located in the heart of the old island city of Trogir on the Dalmatian coast. Every corner of this UNESCO World Heritage city is within a few minutes walk including the old stone mainland bridge, the bridge to Island Ciovo, many good restaurants, cafes, bars, art galleries, shops and St. Lawrence Cathedral Square where live music is played most evenings. Due to the narrow polished stone streets cars are restricted to one road.

Centrally located Trogir, 'The Stone Beauty', is within easy reach of Island Hvar, Brac, Bol, Split; Krka waterfalls and many other local beauty spots. Opportunities include scuba diving, sailing, walking, mountain biking and water sports. Local beaches are within a few minutes walk. The 15th c Tower was built by Venetian traders and has been completely refurbished to a modern standard including air-con and luxury bathroom. The unique feature is the top floor quadruple aspect lounge with panoramic rooftop, mountain and sea views.

Getting there: Direct flight from UK to Split International Airport (Code SPU)

Easyjet fly from Bristol from 21st. May 2011.

Easyjet fly from Gatwick from April 2011.

Easyjet fly from Stansted from 28th. April 2011.

Jet2 fly from Manchester from 7th. May 2011.

Croatian Airlines (Telephone:020 8563 0022) fly from London Heathrow all year.

).

We can arrange airport transfer for a total cost of £20 each way when booked in advance.

Website address: We have much more information, photos, details and a booking form on our website. Please click on the link below marked 'Owner's website'.

Car hire.: Trogir is a walled city so, if you hired a car, you would have to park it outside the city walls. There is short term parking within a couple of minutes walk and long term parking about five minutes walk away. You will find much to occupy you within walking distance of the Tower including the beach. The bus station, with buses to Split and Sibenik that connect with the ferries to the islands, is less than five minutes walk. There is also a ferry from Trogir to the islands of Drvenik.

The main roads are good and the motorway is excellent but the country roads are often narrow and traffic can be heavy during the peak season. With this in mind consider not hiring a car immediately and see how you get on. You can always hire one for specific outings.

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 67781 in Trogir, Croatia

Venetian Tower in the heart of the ancient island city of Trogir.
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 18 reviews
business
Venetian Tower in the heart of the ancient island city of Trogir.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67781
+44 01225 851621
Trogir Split
5

Your Own Medieval Tower!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
We had a glorious holiday! It was our first trip to Croatia and it was wonderful.
We loved Trogir --- the weather, the sea, the local market and much more. Its a great location for seeing the coast and all the historic sights along the coast.
We loved that the tower is right in the middle of all the restaurants and so close to the pleasure boat harbour but that it was quiet at night. Everything provided was of good quality, clean and well maintained. The owner was always helpful and his representative at the tower delightful. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to be in the centre of a beautiful, historic and charming village with great weather.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We Agree.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Venetian Tower in the heart of the ancient island city of Trogir.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67781
+44 01225 851621
Trogir Split
5

Imagine, you live in Tower in aincient city:)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We had a great holiday in Venetian Tower! Situated in a small island of Trogir, it has everything necessary outside - from cafes and restaraunts in your every step, seaside in 3 minutes to go to city market with fresh and cheap fruits and bus station. And also everytning inside - from movies and books in living room up to waishing mashine.
Highly recomend to stay there if you like small cute streets without cars, sounds evening life, fresh air in your windows in the morning, walking, sightseeing and just enjoying the vacation.
Please note: sea is very close to the house, but for beaches it's better to take a boat for several minutes.
Thanks to Paul and good luck for his Venetian Tower.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Venetian Tower in the heart of the ancient island city of Trogir.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67781
+44 01225 851621
Trogir Split
5

Great stay at the tower !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We (family with two kids, 11 and 13 years) spent a full week at the tower in July 2011. We had a wonderful time !! The tower is in a fantastic location, it is very well equiped, and - most importantly - it has a great atmosphere. We all loved it there.
Trogir is a great city. Beautiful and full of history by day, vibrant and fun at night. And obviously it provides plenty of sea and beach opportunities too.
So in short : highly recommended !!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Venetian Tower in the heart of the ancient island city of Trogir.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67781
+44 01225 851621
Trogir Split
Vancouver, BC Canada
5

Charming Tower in Picturesque Trogir

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
A delightful place, the stairs add to the charm in this tower home. Trogir is a 45 minute boat ferry from Split, and a much more charming place to call home.The hustle and bustle of Split left behind for quiet evenings in the town, which has a great square with evening entertainment. The tower is well equipped, a dishwasher would make it top rate, but has all the other needs. The local market nearby makes a great place for provisioning, and there are numerous restaurants nearby. We were 2 couples and had privacy as well as a place to drink Croatian wine and talk about our adventures. The town is a photographers delight, safe and quiet. Walk the worn stone walkways as they did hundreds of years ago! We stayed for 8 days and still didn't see all that the region had to offer. We would return here if in the area as well as referring the tower to friends able to deal with the stairs. A memorable vacation home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Venetian Tower in the heart of the ancient island city of Trogir.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67781
+44 01225 851621
Trogir Split
Yorkshire
4

In the heart of Trogir

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Venetian Tower in June/July 2010 and loved our time in Trogir.

It was lovely to have the whole Tower to ourselves and it is perfectly situated in the bustling centre of Trogir, close to the Riva with the numerous restaurants, bars and expensive boats!

The Tower was very well equipped and maintained and it was such a relief to have air conditioning when the sunshine outside was a little stifling at times.

Trogir is a lovely town and perfectly situated to vist the rest of Dalmatia including Split and the islands - we even hired a car at Split airport and drove down to Dubrovnik.

Whilst the stairs were a little hard work at times, the daily exercise made us feel much better after eating copious amounts of pizza and pasta!

We would happily recommend the Tower to our friends and family along with the Dalmatian Coast generally - a wonderful holiday in the sun.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Venetian Tower in the heart of the ancient island city of Trogir.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67781
+44 01225 851621
Trogir Split
Oxford
5

Perfect Trogir tower

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The Venetian Tower was perfect from start to finish. I cannot fault it in any way. We had a lovely warm welcome from Ivan and Caroline when we arrived and I would recommend the aiport pick-up as it makes it stress free.

The Tower was spotlessly clean, even down to the rugs on the floor. The towels felt new and crisp, and it was kitted out with everything you can think of - even a picnic rucksack, coolbag, and a hand blender. We went as a group of five - myself and boyfriend with my Dad, brother and sister, so the bedrooms on separate floors and the single beds on the top floor were perfect as you each had a bit of space. We had the ensuite ground-floor double, which is a bit tight for space, and a little stuffy in July, but a dehumidifier and the fan from the kitchen made this comfortable.

The tower is in a great location, far enough away from the main cathedral square so as to not hear the noise but still right in the centre of the beautiful old town. Plenty of restaurants to choose from and beautiful at night. It's right near the Ferry ports and about a 10 minute walk from the bus station so you can easily make trips. The intercity bus to split was very handy. It's a stone's throw from the sea but you have to take a short boat ride to the beach.

There are a lot of steps in the Tower but they are not too steep - it's a bit of exercise after all the nice food - and the kitchen is in the middle, so it was fine.

All in all we were delighted with the Tower. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a central location in a beautiful old city.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Venetian Tower in the heart of the ancient island city of Trogir.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67781
+44 01225 851621
Trogir Split
5

Trogir in middle of June

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Fabulous time to visit Trogir as still relatively quiet but all sea taxis are running.Apartment is spotless & has everything, Sea is fab, ice cream is fab, restaurants are fab & cheap,Trogir is full of atmosphere. We went everywhere by public transport (sea taxis & ferries).
Will definitely go back to Trogir ASAP
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Venetian Tower in the heart of the ancient island city of Trogir.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67781
+44 01225 851621
Trogir Split
Derby, UK
5

A week in Trogir

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We really enjoyed our week in Trogir. The Tower is very well equipped and brilliantly located for eating out and strolling around the old cobbled streets.
We flew to Zadar and hired a car. The journey to Trogir took a little over an hour and was very straightforward. We managed to park the car for free all week on the little side streets around the supermarket just over the bridge to the mainland.
There is plenty to do in the area, our friends went white water rafting and canyoning arranged through Portal on the waterfront, whilst we preferred to search out quiet beaches. We found some great deserted beaches with views across to Split by driving to the easternmost point of Ciovo until the road runs out. The water is very clear and great for snorkelling.
We also visited Split, Zadar and the waterfalls at Krka national park.
Trogir is lively in the evening with lots of visiting yachts, great restaurants and entertainment in the main square. And the ice cream is fantastic.
I would definitely recommend the Tower to friends and family. The property is suitable for anyone happy getting up and down several flights of stairs.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 21/21
business
Venetian Tower in the heart of the ancient island city of Trogir.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67781
+44 01225 851621
Trogir Split
Kent, UK
4

Super-central location in Trogir old town

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We were a group of 4 in our 20s & 30s. We spent a pleasant week at the Venetian Tower in the 2nd week of September. Trogir's historic 'old town' is quite small and the tower is bang in the middle of it so everything is readily at hand. I was pleasantly surprised that while the city is obviously very dependent on tourists the streets weren't thronging with people during our stay.

The stairs in the house itself are not only numerous but steep! The stairs are painted wood (uncarpeted) so they are quite slippery if you're wearing socks - definitely not a place for the infirm. While the tower has 5 storeys, the surrounding houses are of a similar height so don't expect birds-eye views in all directions. That said, you can see the bell-tower of the Cathedral from the top floor, and vice-versa. We did most of our living on the top floor because that's the only one with views and with the windows thrown open and a breeze coming through it's a lovely place to be.

Apart from the location, a plus point is that the kitchen is very well equipped (by rental standards). A minus is that the ground-floor bedroom (the smaller of the 2) is really quite poky and has little natural light.

I don't think a car is necessary at this property (and 'Split' airport is just 10 minutes by bus from Trogir) but we had one and enjoyed some day trips. The best trip was a day when we visited Klis (a hilltop fortress) and Salona (the regional capital in Roman times, now an archaeological site with amphitheatre etc), both just outside Split about 25 minutes drive from Trogir. The downside of having a car is the lack of parking in Trogir. There is plenty of pay-per-hour parking but other than that you just have to fight over the few untaken spots by the roadside.

In summary, I'd recommend the tower mainly for its central location and its top floor which is great for chilling out. The main drawback is that it has no outdoor space but perhaps in a city centre that's a bit much to expect!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Venetian Tower in the heart of the ancient island city of Trogir.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67781
+44 01225 851621
Trogir Split
Devon
5

3 Generations in August

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We were a party of 3 generations (myself, daughter and 2 grandchildren, 7 and 11) and found the Tower spacious and well laid out. The different floors actually provide good sound proofing - ideal if you feel the need for your own peace and quiet from time to time.
The Tower is perfectly located in the heart of everything (but no traffic and no outside noise so remarkably quiet). It's clean and well equipped with lots of extras, books, DVD's, plenty of towels and linen - even a picnic rucksack, first aid kit and umbrella, which luckily wasn't needed!
Temperatures around 30 celsius each day but you get a nice breeze on the beaches in the afternoon. Beaches are clean and the biggest bonus for us was NO flies or insect bites - something we're usually plagued with in hot places.
The booking process was easy and you get a very useful set of instructions from the owner before departure with detailed info on directions, facilities, telephone contact numbers etc. We took advantage of the airport transfer and were greeted by a very friendly host both on arrival and departure, which made the journey effortless.
Trogir is a great base with something for everyone. Choice of beaches (via regular 1/2 hour boat ferry, local bus every 20 minutes or walking); a magnificent waterfront fringed by numerous restaurants where you can sit for hours watching the boating activity and luxury yachts that come and go and a maze of old cobbled streets full of historical buildings (well worth doing the guided tour when you first arrive as it explains it all and gives you discounts in certain restaurants).
At night Trogir comes alive with free entertainment on the waterfront and in the main square - everything from acrobats, cooking demo's, local singing, street dancing and an excellent portrait artist, who draws large crowds (excuse the pun!).
We didn't have a car but found it very easy to travel on the bus - the bus station is nearby and offers a good reliable service to lots of destinations, including Split.
Would thoroughly recommend a visit to the National Park and Krka waterfalls - this was the highlight of our trip. We booked a guided tour through Portal travel agency and our guide was superb - I don't think we would have discovered half as much without his assistance.
Excellent 2 weeks - would definitely recommend it to friends/family.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4