Waikoloa Village condo rental - Tropical Flower Garden Decor in Second Bedroom
Tropical Flower Garden Decor in Second Bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Waikoloa Village Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

Our Beautiful Two Bedroom condo, HALE O MELE LA'I, our 'House of Happy Songs' in Waikoloa Villas on the Big Island has been beautifully furnished as a home, not just a vacation rental. Our Non-Smoking, spacious 1260 sq ft unit, plus a very roomy lanai allows for very comfortable living and a view across the golf course to the Pacific Ocean. We are on the 2nd floor of the two-story complex, so you have an even better view from the lanai and don't have anyone above you.

***************************************

For a review of the many comments that our Guests have written in our Guest Book, please Scroll down below the photos to 'Traveler Reviews' near the bottom of this web site. Down below the 10 reviews, Click on 'VIEW ALL REVIEWS' (in green) to view the remaining of the 98..

***************************************

Among our Beautiful Furnishings is a cushy Leather Double Recliner. In our travels we have found that other couches with wicker frames and loose floral cushions are pretty, but also pretty uncomfortable to sit on,...if you are spending any extended time here, (which we hope you will do). We enjoy decorating with local art of Hawaii, more than 35 pieces on the walls.

With our Free Wi-Fi HIGH SPEED INTERNET connection you can keep in touch when you bring your laptop.

We take pride in keeping our unit looking fresh and inviting, assisted by our one special housekeeper. Our unit is in a quiet setting not disturbed by traffic noise.

HALE O MELE LAI is indeed our 'House of Happy Songs' in Hawaii! ' MELE LA'I' is the name of an old Hawaiian Hymn. We love the Hawaiian Culture and since Music is such an important part of the Culture and of our own lives, we want to share that with our guests by providing a library of HAWAIIAN MUSIC. You may enjoy picking up the ukulele and making your own music.

We enjoy the best of both worlds by being at about 900 foot elevation, with nights a little cooler and days warm and sunny, therefore the 6 ceiling fans are adequate for comfort. A short 10 minute drive to the South Kohala Gold Coast, where there are six beautiful long sandy beaches to choose from, including the well known Hapuna Beach, (voted the best in the country) and 'Anaeho'omalu Bay ('A Bay').

Waikoloa Villas is situated along the 18 hole WAIKOLOA GOLF COURSE, designed by Robert Trent Jones, Jr., for which we include golf discount cards. For the avid golfer, there are six other golf courses near by.

WAIKOLOA VILLAGE has a small Shopping Center with a full line, top notch, affordable local grocery store with pharmacy, bakery, deli, and fresh fish and meat market...also a gas station, several small restaurants, a larger Italian restaurant is soon to open, medical offices, beauty salon, bank ,and Post Office.

We are Centrally Located to the Beaches, Shops and Restaurants along the Kohala coast, the North Shore with Kamehameha's birthplace, the Paniolo (cowboy) town of Waimea, the old town of Hilo, the Volcano, and the shops and restaurants of Kona, and much, much more.

The Big Island has 11 different climate zones from the ocean to the top of Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa, so much variety of things to see and do.

Please read further from our Guest Comments link as to how people have enjoyed themselves and appreciated the way we have dealt with them in a personal way.

We invite you to come and be pampered in the Beautiful Home-like Environment we have created for your enjoyment.

Keywords: Condo, spacious, beautiful Hawaiian decor, peaceful, golf, pools, home-like, beautiful grounds, caring owner-operated, value

More Details
Hide Details

We moved from Kansas City years ago, where we were teachers, to our dream place of Estes Park, Colorado where we were in business for 25 years. Soon, we wanted a get-away from the winter cold and discovered Hawaii, our NEW dream place! After years of shopping real estate, we finally decided the Big Island was it, so we took the plunge.

Sylvia dances hula both in Hawaii and on the mainland and plays the ukulele. Hawaiian music, old and modern are a big part of our lives, hence the large collection in the condo. Denis is an avid photographer and videographer, finding much to capture from the island’s beauty. When we return to the mainland, he spends hours in his studio where he creates increasingly professional DVDs from the video he takes.

Sylvia or Denis McMahan purchased this condo in 2005

We chose Waikoloa Village because it has a small town local feeling, more quiet and laid back than the hustle and bustle of the beach complexes. We like the Waikoloa Villas complex because we found a feeling of home and comfort, of belonging to a place. We enjoy the somewhat more moderate temperatures and especially the clearer air than in Kona, helped by the trade winds.

The culture and spirit of old Hawaii are very important to us and we found that easier to access on the Big Island. We love the small Hawaiian churches where you can meet the people and hear the hymns sung in the beautiful Hawaiian language.

We enjoy the ability to go from our condo out in any direction---to the Kohala Gold Coast with its beautiful, long, and accessible white sand beaches, the historical old towns up north, the old Hawaiian cultural sites, Mauna Kea, the Parker Ranch, the Volcano, Kona shops, Hilo, great restaurants in the Queen and King shops and so much more.

The Villas sits at the edge of the beautiful Waikoloa Village golf course, so you can walk over to the Pro Shop, get a cart and head out for 18 holes, very reasonably priced, by virtue of the discount cards we can provide.

98 Reviews of Property 67128 in Waikoloa Village, Hawaii

ALOHA SPOKEN HERE! $99 A Night--JULY-NOVEMBER, Salt Water Pools, on Golf Course
average rating of 5.0 based on 98 reviews
business
ALOHA SPOKEN HERE! $99 A Night--JULY-NOVEMBER, Salt Water Pools, on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67128vb
(970) 218-5287 Mountain Daylight Time
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Mckinleyville, CA
5

Guestbook Comment

This is a large very nicely appointed condo, very quiet, with a nice view of the golf course. Waikiloa Villas is also convenient to some of the best ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2006
  • Stayed: May 2006
This is a large very nicely appointed condo, very quiet, with a nice view of the golf course. Waikiloa Villas is also convenient to some of the best beaches and sights on the island. Definitely reccomended!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ALOHA SPOKEN HERE! $99 A Night--JULY-NOVEMBER, Salt Water Pools, on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67128vb
(970) 218-5287 Mountain Daylight Time
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Walworth, NY near Rochester, NY
5

Beutiful Condo and Quiet location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This condo is second to none. Beautifully furnished and everything you need. Located on a quiet golf course and only minutes from many beaches. We will definetly try to get this condo when we return to Hawaii in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Harry,

What can I say, except that we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hale O Mele La'i, as so many of our past guests have expressed in the reviews. Our desire is to help our guests have such a positive experience that they will desire to come back to us. We very much look forward to your future stay!

Mahalo,
Sylvia and Denis
business
ALOHA SPOKEN HERE! $99 A Night--JULY-NOVEMBER, Salt Water Pools, on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67128vb
(970) 218-5287 Mountain Daylight Time
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
5

Wonderful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed at this awesome vacation rental from April 26 to May 10th, 2013. It was our first time staying in a vacation rental and not a hotel, and after our experience, we will definitely do a vacation rental again! We had the pleasure of actually meeting the owners, Dennis and Sylvia, at the beginning of our trip as they were leaving paradise to head back home. Sweetest and most accommodating couple you will ever meet! They made us feel welcomed and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. We brought our 18 month old son and they even provided a high chair, pack and play pen for him to sleep in, and even swim diapers! Very baby friendly place.

This place is truly a home away from home. The unit and complex is older, but is very well kept. The unit itself was clean, comfortable, and cozy, stocked with everything you would find at home. The rental does not have AC and it did get quite warm during the afternoon and evenings on some days, but the ceiling fans they installed (especially the one on the balcony) really made it more comfortable. You can really tell that the owners put their heart and soul into upkeeping their unit, and it shows. Did I mention they have an extensive collection of DVD movies to watch, and an amazing selection of hawaiian music to relax and listen to?

Great place to stay, and the owners themselves were a delight to deal with! Very prompt in replying to all emails and inquiries, and again, super accommodating! Made the whole thing, from emailing to inquire to the end of our vacation smooth, worry-free, and problem free.

Thanks again Dennis and Sylvia for an amazing stay! God bless you both! :)

Mahalo,

Gary, Tiffany, and Micah
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Gary and Tiffany,
We are glad that you found your first vacation rental experience to be such a positive one at Hale O Mele La'i. It was really fun to get to meet you and little Micah. We do enjoy the personal contact with our guests and try our best to meet their needs when we can.

Sounds like the trade winds were being a little fickle, as they usually blow through the condo with the windows open, keeping things comfortable. Most homes and condos in the Village don't have air conditioning because it isn't needed that often at our 900 ft elevation.

We do look forward to your staying with us again.

Mahalo,
Sylvia and Denis
business
ALOHA SPOKEN HERE! $99 A Night--JULY-NOVEMBER, Salt Water Pools, on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67128vb
(970) 218-5287 Mountain Daylight Time
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
British Columbia, Canada
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Hale O Mele La'i is located in Waikoloa Village, about a 10-15 min drive inland from the beaches and all of the busy resort areas. The village has a great supermarket, a gas station and a few restaraunts (Dave's Coffee Shack aka Kau Kau Depot has great food, great prices, and great people; Banjy's at the golf course has really good pizza). All of the people we met here were very friendly, including the residents at the condo complex.

We really enjoyed our stay at the condo. It was well equipped in every way, which makes for a very comfortable stay. It truly felt like a home away from home. You will find the kitchen stocked with all the supplies you could ever need (incl. storage containers & re-sealable bags - so handy for bringing snacks on your adventures!). And even better, there were tons of beach supplies - chairs, coolers, boogie boards, etc. etc.!! Even if you are on a business trip, Sylvia and Denis have that covered too - free high speed wireless internet, free local calls, and a desk stocked with basic office supplies. If you are staying in on a rainy day - there are tons of dvd's, books, and games!

They have thought of everything - we really appreciated the binder filled with information about the condo, local beaches, and other sights on the island. And let's not forget the beautiful Hawaiian artwork displayed throughout the condo... that you can enjoy while listening to music from their extensive collection provided for your listening pleasure!!

Sylvia and Denis were a pleasure to deal with. They were always available through email and were always extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying here on our next visit to the Big Island!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
ALOHA SPOKEN HERE! $99 A Night--JULY-NOVEMBER, Salt Water Pools, on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67128vb
(970) 218-5287 Mountain Daylight Time
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
British Columbia
5

A Month in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The description of the property is accurate. The condo is well equipped and comfortable. The furniture in the living room is very comfortable and the bed gave us a fabulous sleep each night. It is quiet, relaxing and peaceful. The salt water swimming pool was practically our own. If you enjoy golf you will like the convenience of playing the most reasonably priced course in this part of the Big Island. We loved the location with its access to Waimea, the beaches on the coast and other site seeing and recreational opportunities.
The owners take pride in their home and do their best to ensure that your holiday stay is a great one!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We like to give our guests a good idea of what they will see when they walk in the door of our House of Happy Songs by showing a large number of quality photos on the web site. There are no surprises, only that some guests say that it is even better than the pictures. Being in Waikoloa Village does give easy access to the island activities and sights in all directions, kind of like the spokes of a bicycle wheel and being in the center.
Mahalo and a hui hou.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ALOHA SPOKEN HERE! $99 A Night--JULY-NOVEMBER, Salt Water Pools, on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67128vb
(970) 218-5287 Mountain Daylight Time
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
San Carlos, CA
5

Hale O Mele La'i loved our stay. San Carlos, CA

Hale O Mele La'i loved our stay. San Carlos, CA
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
It is truly a place of happy song. We enjoyed your condo very much, you can feel the Hawaiian charm.
It is in a convenient location.We loved your place, you can see that you have put your heart in every room. Everything was just right. You have thought of everything that a guest would want. From the time we inquired about the condo till the end of our trip, you were always there for us. We would highly recommend your condo. Clean, charming, great location. We would love to stay there again.
Mahalo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Anna and Artur,
Your comments and enjoyment of Hale O Mele La'i make it worthwhile to do what we do to provide the nicely appointed decor and special atmosphere for our guests. We also were happy to be able to help you out when needed and we look forward to your next visit.
Mahalo,
Sylvia and Denis
business
ALOHA SPOKEN HERE! $99 A Night--JULY-NOVEMBER, Salt Water Pools, on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67128vb
(970) 218-5287 Mountain Daylight Time
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Snohomish, Wa. Pacific Nw
5

Waikoloa Villa's Christmas Vacation

Waikoloa Villa's Christmas Vacation
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had stayed in 2006 at this same condo and were so excited to return to the comfort and luxury of this Peaceful Piece of Paradise. Located in Waikoloa Highlands, it is away from the the hubub of the resorts at the beach. We made daily treks to the beaches nearby, Hapuna, Spencer and 2 new beaches we either had recommended by locals or fellow travelers. All great beaches and certainly had fun in the sun.

The condo is equipped with every little thing you could think of including sunscreen if you forgot that. Lots of nice towels and coolers. Lovely pool and hot tub area. Great area to walk or run and not worry too much about traffic. The boys golfed. Nice course complete with wild goats and turkeys. Friendly residents and guests. Clean and well kept Cabana with BBq's!

Denis and Sylvia left a decorated Christmas tree on the Lanai for us which was really beautiful and made us feel at home. We cooked many meals and enjoyed the views every morning with our breakfast. This is a great condo, beautifully decorated and impeccably maintained.

Great place for active family or 2 couples.Lots of great places to explore. Over the course of 2 weeks we saw most of the Island. Lots of great restaurants in the Resort area's. Subway and a couple small cafe's in the village, within 1 mile. Rainbows most days!

Our niece lives near Costco in Kona. We drove there often or had them up for dinner. Kids enjoyed walking along the many walkways and paths throughout the property. Pool was often void of guest and we had the place to ourselves. Extremely relaxing place. Teens walked to the store for snacks!

All in all I think this is a super value and enjoy staying here very much. We had a small earthquake while I was speaking to Sylvia. We both had a good laugh at that!

We have enjoyed the Whale Watching tour near the Kings/Queens Shops area very much. Also Fairwind tour in South Kona. There are many great Luau's nearby. All are great, we have enjoyed the inexpensive ones as much as the high end! Often there is also free Local Entertainment at the King Shops most evenings.

All in all great times and great holiday! We will return again to this little piece of Hawaiiana!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, had to catch my breath after reading this wonderful review from these return guests! Mahalo nui! It is so helpful for our future guests to have some recommendations from past guests of things to do and places to go. We also help by providing a nice library of books with guidelines to make deciding what to do just a little easier. There is so much to do and see on the Big Island, it can't all be done in one visit. Waikoloa Village is centrally located and within easy reach of most of the places you might choose to enjoy.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ALOHA SPOKEN HERE! $99 A Night--JULY-NOVEMBER, Salt Water Pools, on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67128vb
(970) 218-5287 Mountain Daylight Time
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Nanaimo, BC, Canada
5

Haven of Aloha

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This was my 7th time on the Big Island but my first ever condo rental (Sharon). Sylvia made this experience SO easy and straightforward and we felt supported every step of the way. The condo was super clean and had everything we needed and felt like we were home.

As two cousins travelling together, having separate bedrooms and bathrooms was fantastic. Would be great for two couples or larger family too, since the bedrooms/bathrooms are on separate levels. We were able to have our privacy and share the beautiful living space together. We enjoyed the sunsets and some dinners on the lanai and breakfasts there. The location is fantastic and we felt part of the Big Island community instead of staying at a hotel and feeling like a tourist.
It was fantastic to be able to really enjoy the Farmers Markets and bring home produce to enjoy, with the well appointed full kitchen.

We would highly recommend this condo, with its' lovely Hawaiian furnishings. The condo and complex are really well maintained (building and landscaping). Truly a haven of aloha to come home to at the end of busy or relaxing days on the Island. We would come back here again and again, whenever going to Hawaii.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We do so enjoy making our condo feel like home, as it does not have just a vacation rental appearance. Every time we ourselves visit we enjoy finding new and different ways to enhance and improve the experience. When our return guests come, we enjoy their comments on what has been added or improved since their last visit. Sharon, we hope that you will have the opportunity to return and experience another visit where we enjoy "speaking aloha".
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ALOHA SPOKEN HERE! $99 A Night--JULY-NOVEMBER, Salt Water Pools, on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67128vb
(970) 218-5287 Mountain Daylight Time
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Brocton,NY (Westerrn NY)
5

Hawaii THE BIG ISLAND

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This was our first trip to Hawaii, and my sister-in-law and I decided to try a condo vs. a hotel. I research different places on the island and finally decided on Waikoloa Village. Viewing the property on line was a true picture of what to expect. The minute we arrived and walked in, we were transported into a Hawiian paradise. All our expectations were far exceeded. The peacefulness of the surroundings, the beautiful interior design, and the impeccable landscaping, why would you want to stay in a hotel. A plus for anyone who golfs, the course could be seen from the lanai. The pool is directly across the lanai, but not visable because of the landscaping. For those who like to cook out, the pool house has a total kitchen set up with the best grills I have ever used.
For those that don't want to travel into town, which is about 20 miles away, there is a small shopping area just before you get to the main road of the complex. Plus the grocery store was much better then the one in Kona. The beaches are about 6 miles away on Rt. 19. They were just beautiful and a good place to take sunset pictures.
To get a good history and see the sites around the island, I felt the 12 hour sight seeing tour was well worth it. We did the submarine excursion but really felt that it was overpriced. It only lasted 1 hour and basically all you saw were those little yellow tropical fish. We were told by the natives that over the years the bay has been fished out and they are not allowed to bait the fish into the bay. The kayak ride through the irregation flumes was quite interesting.
If you should chose this condo, you will not be disappointed. The owners are within a phone call away, or email them, and they will immediatly deal with your concerns. They were just the nicest people as were the residents of the complex.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoy helping to make our guests' stay comfortable and memorable, therefore we are always upgrading and improving Hale O Mele La'i each time we are there. It gives us pleasure to hear the compliments that say that it is worth our effort. Mahalo.

Since Hawaii is called the Big Island, these guests are an example of seeing it from end to end, filling their days, and still leaving so much more to do another time. Our centralized location makes this much easier.
business
ALOHA SPOKEN HERE! $99 A Night--JULY-NOVEMBER, Salt Water Pools, on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p67128vb
(970) 218-5287 Mountain Daylight Time
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
modesto
5

aloha from modesto,ca

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I did try to post the last review but I could not see it today. Our vacation at Sylvia and Denis condo was truly enchanting. We enjoy the beautifully decorated condo and the tremendous hospitality in every little details and thoughtfulness. I contacted Sylvia off and on by email during our stay and I really enjoyed her enthusiasm. We can't wait to come back.
I am recommending this little piece of heaven to all my friends and relatives. I wish I can keep it a secret for me but it would not be nice to Sylvia and Denis.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We do enjoy the relationships we build with our guests and the Aloha we share, as we feel that Hale O Mele La'i is more than just a vacation rental to us. We try not to be intrusive and yet always available to enjoy our guests experience vicariously if offered. For that reason, we too enjoyed the e-mails back and forth. You are so kind and we hope to hear from you again. Mahalo nui!