La Ventana house rental - View of Casa Datil from the beach
View of Casa Datil from the beach
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay nights
 

La Ventana House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

This traditional Mexican style house is on the water with low bank access and surrounded by mature palms making it a private tropical paradise. The open space adjoining the house has plenty of room to launch kites and windsurfers. It is only 2 miles north of the La Ventana campground. Two sit-on-top kayaks are provided for your use.

The house is an easy 40 minute drive to La Paz on paved road to shop, go to the theater,carnival or do 'big city' stuff. There are indoor and outdoor dining areas. It has a king bed in one bedroom and in the other bedroom, there are two twin-beds. Maid service is available upon request.

The house was remodeled the summer of 2005 and has all new appliances, fully painted inside and out and a new palapa and patio added. Pictures of all the rooms are available upon request. The typically gentle winds, smooth waves and small shore-break and the somewhat predictable afternoon thermal winds, makes this area the kiting and windsurfing mecca of Baja.

MORE PICTURES and LOCATION INFORMATION are available at our web site. A link to the web site is below. SEE 'LINKS TO MOTE INFORMATION'.

Keywords: Beach front house

More Details
Hide Details

Even though we live in Los Barriles (one hour away by car), we stay at Casa Datil often. We have made the entire house and furnishing up to our standards. A good night's sleep is a must for us; which the house provides. We come here to kite and are never disappointed.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

We bought Casa Datil because of the wonderful location and beautiful sandy beach. The mature plants on the property made our decision to buy even easier. This Mexican village is very friendly and we really like how convenient it is to go to La Paz.

Casa Datil is cozy and very convenient for 2 couples or a couple with children. The location, view, privacy and feeling of Casa Datil makes this one of the most desirable rentals in the area.

6 Reviews of Property 66106 in La Ventana, Baja

Tropical Beachfront House - Kiting, Windsurfing, Fishing
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Tropical Beachfront House - Kiting, Windsurfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p66106vbi
La Ventana Baja California Sur
Harrisburg, IL USA
5

ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL SUNRISE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Stayed at Casa Datil in March 2013. I am still in awe of the beautiful sunrises. The home was perfectly suited for 3 adults. It was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The palapa is where we spent most of our time and it is perfect for coffee and sunrises in the morning and grilling and eating dinner in the evening. The village was very charming and "authentic". Definitely not a touristy setting which is exactly what we were looking for. The locals were very kind and helpful, especially the owner of Oscarita's which is the well-stocked grocery store that is just up the road from the house. They didn't bother us and we didn't bother them, but they always were willing to help if we had questions. You can't get fish much fresher than right off the boat as the local fishermen launch and come ashore all along the beach that is just steps from the house. You will be completely mesmerized by the sunrises, but don't forget to look the other way in the evening to watch the sun set over the mountains...BEAUTIFUL as well! And one more tip...Out on the main highway there is a Chinese, yes, I said Chinese restaurant that is absolutely delicious! El Chino Restaurante. Very very clean and the owner is a super nice guy. Best Chinese food I've ever eaten. Very fresh! He will add a Mexican flair to any order which is what I asked him to do. A stay at Casa Datil will be money and time well spent. I hope to get back there very soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jim and I are so thankful for people who appreciate Casa Datil and the surrounding area. We work very hard to make it the best possible experience for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to comment. Gracias.....Judy and Jim
business
Tropical Beachfront House - Kiting, Windsurfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p66106vbi
La Ventana Baja California Sur
Pueblo Colorado
5

Casa Datil

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My husband and I just returned from our trip to Casa Datil. We enjoyed our week stay and was so delighted with the quaint casita. We arrived to find everything in order and couldn't have asked for anything more. Each morning we enjoyed watching the fishing boats go out while the sun was rising. Easch afternoon, we went and purchased our evening meal from the fisherman when they returned. Can't tell you how wonderful the Red Snapper and the Yellowfin Tuna was grilled on the outside grill. There is also a great little marcado in walking distance to purchase fresh fruit and vegetables. We look forward to our next trip to Mexico and look forward to returning to Casa Datil. Thanks Jim and Judy for making our vacation so wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you there! It is always fun for us to see people enjoying Casa Datil and being in Mexico. Muchas gracias......Judy and Jim
business
Tropical Beachfront House - Kiting, Windsurfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p66106vbi
La Ventana Baja California Sur
Santa Barbara, CA
5

On the Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Just stayed here in late Nov, 2011. May be a little hard to tell from the photos, but the property is right on the beach and from the lounge chairs out front you can look past the front yard area straight to the Sea of Cortez. The area is famous for kite boarding, but I went here to go fishing and was not disappointed - ended up renting a boat from a local and getting some nice yellowfin tuna out by the north end of Cerralvo Island. Depending on the season it can be very windy, but there are some periods too. The house is small but comfortable, and yes there are some dogs and chickens in the neighborhood that greet the day early each morning, but so what - it is Baja, right? The house has a wall around it except for the part facing the ocean, so there is still a fair amount of privacy too. Had a great time here and would not hesitate to go back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Bob, It was great having you there. Glad you enjoyed our "slice of Mexico"'. Judy and Jim
business
Tropical Beachfront House - Kiting, Windsurfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p66106vbi
La Ventana Baja California Sur
SLC, Utah
5

Casa Datil

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Casa Datil is a quaint mexican style cottage, just a few short steps from the Sea of Cortez with views of Isla Ceravalo. The house is classically simple, clean, private, and perfectly set up for a relaxing week in La Ventana! Don't let the above posters comments deter you, Casa Datil is a small slice of heaven if you aren't overly fussy! Kitchen is stocked for easy use with all you need right down to a blender and tupper wear. MiniSuper up the street has essentials, though not a huge grocery store (We brought groceries from Los Barilles), and the propane grill was greatly appreciated for cooking the days catch. The palapa covered concrete porch is a gorgeous place to watch the sunrise before you start the day, and a great place to shade up in the afternoons. We even brought some bocce balls for fun evening games in the scenic and well tended yard of sand. Pictures represent the property well, location was easy to find, well cared for, and the owner a pleasure to deal with! We will be back for sure!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. It was a pleasure having you there. Judy and Jim
business
Tropical Beachfront House - Kiting, Windsurfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p66106vbi
La Ventana Baja California Sur
Oregon
4

We love this place!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We are planning our third vacation at Casa Datil, and each time we stay longer! The house is located in the sweet, small town of El Sargento. The lovely beach and Sea of Cortez are just steps away from the palm frond palapa covered front patio. The grounds are beautiful, with many different kinds of palms. We love watching the brilliant sun rises, followed by the local fishermen heading out for the day right from the beach. There is a local grocery store within walking distance, a great fresh fish market just down the road, and several good places to eat out (although we mostly cook at Casa Datil). We love the house- it is clean, comfortable, and more than adequate. Our friends who have stayed with us agree and are coming back for more next year. If you want a resort experience, this is not the place for you. But if you want a comfortable, safe, authentic Mexican vacation in a charming spot, we highly recommend this place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Looking forward to seeing you next year. Jim and Judy
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Tropical Beachfront House - Kiting, Windsurfing, Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p66106vbi
La Ventana Baja California Sur
Hood River, Oregon
2

Nice location but rough around the edges

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Casa Datil has a tin roof which makes for cold nights & hot days. The shower needs to be remodled. There is no hot water at the bathroom sink. There are large cracks in the master bedroom windows. The owners were made aware of these issues and were reluctant to disclose, respond or repair. The location is nice, right on the beach and near a grocery store. Watch out for the septic tank! The location was not clearly marked and I almost broke my leg falling into it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: We are at a loss for words. We have rented this traditional Mexican Home for over four years and all we have ever received are positive comments. The house is cozy and comfortable. We have a maid who keeps the house neat and clean and a gardener who maintains the grounds. The desert does get cold at night and warm during the day. We have never had anyone suggest that the bathroom should be remodeled or that the windows needed replacing. We did replace the septic lid which had a small hole where the renters bicycle tire had broken about 6 inches into the supporting rebar. We are proud of our little piece of Mexico.
Helpful votes: 1/1