Cortona farmhouse rental - Jasmina four-poster double bedroom
Jasmina four-poster double bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Cortona Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
4 and 2 bedroom houses sleeping 4-8 and 4, with 3 and 2 bathrooms respectively.

Our beautifully restored C16th Tuscan farmhouse, called Violina, is set in peaceful countryside with lovely views towards Cortona and the Tuscan hills. Violina is divided vertically into two private self-contained houses called Rosa and Jasmina. Rosa sleeps 4-8 people having two en-suite double bedrooms and two twin bedrooms with a shared bathroom. Jasmina sleeps up to 4 people with a double bedroom and bathroom plus a twin room with en-suite. They can be rented together or seperately. Violina is exclusively situated in 13 acres of private land which consists of a small pine copse, 150 olive trees and 1 acre of private landscaped gardens.

Situated behind the house in the middle of the gardens is a 14m x 7m saline swimming pool (open May - end September) shared by Rosa and Jasmina guests. Features include Roman steps, travertine marble and antique brick patio. A large pergola and umbrellas provide shade whilst all outdoor furniture is of high quality. Rosa and Jasmina have their own outdoor eating areas.

Both Rosa and Jasmina have been furnished with high quality comfortable beds. When people are on holiday we believe a good night's sleep is an essential part of the experience! Comfy sofa's in spacious living rooms with access to tv, internet and books provides a relaxing indoor space.

Violina is ideally situated for visiting the wonderful regions of Tuscany and Umbria. Perhaps most importantly the house is less than 15 minutes drive from Cortona, the Etruscan town whose origins are older than Rome. Although a small town it is perfectly formed! Aside from its great architecture and historic importance the town is blessed with wonderful restaurants, gelateria's, coffee bars etc. The monasteries and churches are marvelous, the museums excellent and the festivals which take place throughout the year are great fun. Its close proximity means you can easily visit on a daily basis but if one evening it feels too far why not head to Casa di Francesca, one of the best restaurant's in the area, and only 10 minutes walk from Violina.

For those seeking to explore further afield access to a major trunk road is an easy 5 minute drive. From there within 30-60 minutes are Montepulciano, Pienza, Arezzo, Perugia, Assisi, Sienna and Orvietto to name a few. San Gimignano and Volterra are only a little further. Also of great convenience is the local railway station which is 5 minutes from the house. Here express trains can be boarded to Florence or Rome, enabling a day's visit.

Lago Trasimeno, the 4th largest lake in Italy, is 10 minutes away, where boat trips, wind-surfing, and child friendly beaches are found. Bike hire and trekking are just two ways with which to explore around the lake.

Violina is next to La Strada del Vino, the wine route which links Cortona with Montepulciano. Wine tasting nearby can be arranged at La Braccesca, Avignonesi or Poliziano and many others.

Outside of the high season Rosa is available for smaller parties of 4+ people, at our discretion. Please contact us for a quote.

Details for Jasmina 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4, 2 Bathrooms

Stylishly decorated and furnished in shades of taupe and cream. On the ground floor there is a lovely triple aspect living room with fireplace, terracotta tiled floor and original chestnut beams. LCD TV/DVD, Freeview, WiFi. The kitchen/dining room has Italian marble worktops and ceramic double sink. Lovely antique table. Appliances include Bosch dishwasher and washing machine and a large Koning fridge/freezer. Upstairs there is a large double aspect bedroom with queen sized four poster bed complete with cream viole drapes. Adjacent is its own separate bathroom featuring mosaic tiling and twin Italian marble basins. Additional twin bedroom with lovely wrought iron beds which can be made up as a double. There is an en-suite shower room. To the front of Jasmina is a listed brick capana for al fresco dining and there is also a further shaded area with table and chairs in the garden for Jasmina guests. External utility room with washbasin and wc.
More Details
Hide Details

Our love affair with Italy began in the 1990's and continues to grow. Now that we have both retired from our respective careers we have been able to enjoy more of our time in this beautiful country, getting to know its people, culture, history and many delights.

Vicki Chamberlain purchased this farmhouse in 2004

It took over 5 years of searching before we identified and bought Violina for our home in Italy. We think the house is beautiful; a mix of brick and stone that has developed over the centuries. Podere Violina has been on the local maps for over 500 years and is classed as a building of historic artistic value; the equivalent of a listed building in the UK.

The restoration work of Violina is complete and so today it offers peaceful and extremely comfortable accommodation for those seeking time out in Tuscany and neighbouring Umbria. Whilst it is sometimes difficult to pull oneself away from the house its close proximity to Cortona is always a draw. Without doubt Cortona is a very special place and is a key reason why we purchased Violina.

The restoration is complete but the project is not. Each year we aim to undertake one or two projects to continue to improve the house and grounds (over and above general maintenance / redecorating etc). The works have just been completed for the formation of a new olive grove in the grounds where a further 50 trees will be planted in spring 2013. Our 'guestbook' in Rosa and Jasmina is always open and we welcome further suggestions on how to improve the house from all our guests and to whom we say a big thank-you for all those who have supported us thus far.

18 Reviews of Property 65675 in Cortona, Italy

Jasmina
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
Jasmina
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65675?uni_id=48714
+44 (0)7867971172
Cortona Cortona area
5

Fabulous location with great amenities Malissa O

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had the pleasure of staying at Jasmina for 18 nights this spring. This property offers a tranquil setting amongst the beautiful Tuscan countryside, and has a location that provides easy access to a number of nearby towns and sights. We thoroughly enjoyed being in close proximity to Cortona, which is a delightful and full of charming shops and wonderful spots to walk.
We were hosted by the owners who happened to be on sight during our visit, they were incredibly gracious and went out of their way to make our stay exceptional.
Overall, I would definitely recommend Jasmina to any traveler who is looking for a charming, well appointed property that offers a great location.
business
Jasmina
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65675?uni_id=48714
+44 (0)7867971172
Cortona Cortona area
5

Peaceful retreat with a bonus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
When we booked this property, we knew it had the perfect location for all of the day trips that we were going to make in our almost 3 weeks in Tuscany. It was also the perfect size and had all the amenities that we were looking for (dishwasher, washing machine, pool, full kitchen, modern furnishings, window screens, etc.). But what we had not imagined was the bonus of having the owners in residence next door. In addition to being helpful with places to see and things to do, offering DVD's, and borrowing some excellent tea, they also became fast friends. They are a delightful couple who were gracious and outgoing - even inviting us for cocktails! We are already planning a return visit next year to enjoy the peaceful and beautiful retreat that this remodeled farmhouse offered for our home away from home - and to reconnect with Vicki and Steven (and their charming dog Rosie)!
business
Jasmina
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65675?uni_id=48714
+44 (0)7867971172
Cortona Cortona area
5

Beautiful Tuscan farmhouse in excellent location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a fantastic Tuscan holiday staying here in Jasmina, a beautifully renovated farmhouse mixing tradition with modern convenience. Perfect location for making day visits to towns and places all over Tuscany and Umbria. The owners Vicki and Steven are the perfect hosts and were easily available for any advice. The house itself the perfect place to relax and if not travelling, very peaceful and extremely well kept, including the very large pool. Our 2 year old had a great time and was very safe playing in the large grounds of the house. If you want to explore southern Tuscany, combined with beautiful and peaceful accomodation, then I couldn't recommend highly enough.
business
Jasmina
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65675?uni_id=48714
+44 (0)7867971172
Cortona Cortona area
Sonoma County, California
5

Next time we will stay longer!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed 18 nights in Jasmina.  I wish we could have stayed longer! The property has been restored with love, lots of hard work, and tasteful simple elegance by the truly delightful English owners, Steven and Vicki, who with their sweet dog Rosie were on site for our entire visit. They were the consummate hosts, unobtrusive yet informative and helpful with every request and then some.  Their attention to detail and appreciation of beauty shows in the lovely decor and furnishings, with comfortable beds and sofas to relax in after a day spent hiking or visiting any of the many nearby Tuscan hill towns.  The location of the countryside property is perfect - very private, safe (electronic gated entrance) and peaceful - with beautifully tended grounds lush with roses, jasmine and cypress, and a large, refreshing crystal clear salt water pool - yet less than a 5 minute drive from the Terontola train station for an easy train ride to Florence.  It's an easy drive to the charming hill town of Cortona with many historical sites, several museums, a lovely park, stunning views from several hiking paths, cafes and restaurants, gelato shops, bakeries, a fresh pasta shop, and shops of all kinds. The nearby good-sized non-touristy town of Camucia is handy for food shopping at the well-stocked Co-op and the extensive weekly market.  We prepared most of our breakfasts and dinners in the well-equipped farmhouse kitchen with 4-burner gas cooktop, oven, full-sized fridge w/ freezer, dishwasher, and washing machine, after enjoying amazing lunches in the various towns we visited with easy day-trips on scenic country roads: Panicale, Lago de Trasimeno, Pienza, Montepulciano, Orvieto, Montalcino, Assisi, Spello, and others.

I highly recommend Jasmina farmhouse for its excellent location, tasteful and comfortable accommodations, and fantastic owners.
business
Jasmina
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65675?uni_id=48714
+44 (0)7867971172
Cortona Cortona area
5

Another wonderful trip to Italy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We were fortunate enough to find La Violina and apartment Jasmina. We found the location ideal to visit many of our favorite Tuscan and Umbrian towns. The apartment was all is was described to be and much more. It was neat, clean and well supplied. The grounds were beautiful, spacious and very well maintained. Luckily the owners and their talented dog, Rosie, were there. We arrived early and they recommended the restaurant Francesca, which was not only minutes away, but had excellent service and great food and wine.The owners, Vicki and Steve, were an absolute delight and it felt like we had know them forever. The area was so peaceful that it was the first time I slept all the way through the nights for a week! We will return and would highly recommend this property.

Joanie and Helen
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Jasmina
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65675?uni_id=48714
+44 (0)7867971172
Cortona Cortona area
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I almost hate to write this review, because I am not sure I want to share this gem with the rest of the world! But it would be selfish to keep Jasmine all to myself! Even if it means in future years I have to plan further in advance to stay there.

Jasmine really is a lovely slice of heaven if you are staying in Tuscany/Umbria region. It is perfectly located and Vicki and Steven are the perfect host if you are lucky enough to meet them. From start to finish we LOVED this house! I would have been happy spending my days by the pool, in the garden or curled up on the sofa and forgone the sightseeing. The house has warmth that embraces you from the time you enter! It really was a home away from home and there is nothing that I would change!! Well, next time I’m going to stay for 2 weeks!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Jasmina
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65675?uni_id=48714
+44 (0)7867971172
Cortona Cortona area
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I almost hate to write this review, because I am not sure I want to share this gem with the rest of the world! But it would be selfish to keep Jasmine all to myself! Even if it means in future years I have to plan further in advance to stay there.

Jasmine really is a lovely slice of heaven if you are staying in Tuscany/Umbria region. It is perfectly located and Vicki and Steven are the perfect host if you are lucky enough to meet them. From start to finish we LOVED this house! I would have been happy spending my days by the pool, in the garden or curled up on the sofa and forgone the sightseeing. The house has warmth that embraces you from the time you enter! It really was a home away from home and there is nothing that I would change!! Well, next time I’m going to stay for 2 weeks!
business
Jasmina
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65675?uni_id=48714
+44 (0)7867971172
Cortona Cortona area
5

BLISS IN CORTONA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
"Where to start when trying to review the perfect holiday in the
perfect location? How about with Steven & Vicki, the owners of La
Violina. We will start with them because it's such a
bonus when you meet genuinely special people on holiday. They were on
hand in a very discreet way & very happily shared their wealth of local
knowledge suggesting restaurants & places not to miss. We spent many
happy hours in & around the stunning town of Cortona.


Which brings us to "La Violina". What a total surprise! As veteran
users of Owners Direct, we have been fortunate with accommodation over
many years throughout France, Spain and Italy, which is why we
continue to use this site. But La Violina is absolutely at the top end
of our many fine experiences. A large and luxurious farmhouse, it's set
out in two separate self-contained houses, one accommodating 4 people, the other
accommodating 8. But you get no real sense of the beauty of the
place, set in 13 acres of meadows, from the website - but then, how
could you? Images will never do justice to the layout, taste and warm
atmosphere you'll find here. And the location! Look out from the
windows at the rear of either house and you'll see the town of Cortona

floating above you, just 15 minutes away, with it's many excellent
restaurants, shops and galleries. You can even see it from the very
large pool!

Our eleven year old son Jordi, himself an Italophile, really summed up
our shared experience. We were lucky enough to be heading to Boston
for another vacation the week after we returned home from La Violina.
Half way through a lovely trip, which he was enjoying very much, he
asked if we could book La Violina for next summer! "Let's finish this
holiday first" we said, "then we'll see!"
business
Jasmina
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65675?uni_id=48714
+44 (0)7867971172
Cortona Cortona area
5

Tuscan Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This perfect Tuscan holiday house has everything you need. We stayed in Jasmina for two weeks and couldn't have asked for anything more. Our hosts Vicky and Stephen were very welcoming, we had perfect weather, though that's not a guarantee for future visitors!
The house is situated close to lake Trasimeno and Cortona, with easy access to Sienna and Florence (very easy by train) and the hilltop towns of Assisi, and Montepulciano.
The house and grounds are well maintained, and very comfortable, (not like the Italian rustic beds and furniture often found in Italian accommodation!).
The pool is the perfect size for the property and you can shade under an olive tree with great views of the mountains.
We will be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Jasmina
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65675?uni_id=48714
+44 (0)7867971172
Cortona Cortona area
5

Perfect Tuscan Holiday House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We have just returned from 2 idyllic weeks at Jasmina. As many other reviewers have said, it is a wonderful house in a perfect location with lovely furnishings and delightful owners. Jasmina is a 2 bedroom cottage attached to Rosa, the larger main house. You share the beautifully landscaped 12 acres including a large swimming pool, with the residents of Rosa. Fortunately for us, the owners, Vicki and Stephen along with their adorable dog, Rosie, were staying there at the time of our holiday. They shared with us their wealth of knowledge about the area, including restaurants, sightseeing, using trains for visiting nearby towns, wine tasting, cooking classes, walking trails. and most anything else you would need to know while there.
We had guests for a few nights and Jasmina was fine for 2 couples. There are many great restaurants nearby which can be casual (La Tufa which is is a favorite with locals and has live music on Friday nights and great views of Cortona) or elegant (Casa di Francesca). Cortona is a short drive away and offers sightseeing, loads of restaurant choices and music festivals all summer long.The house's location is perfect for exploring both Tuscan and Umbrian towns and villages or as we did, just enjoy yourselves under the Tuscan sun. We look forward to returning again next year on our own as well as with the family.
Helpful votes: 3/3