Onomea house rental - A wall of windows on front of home reveals the ocean view, skylight in kitchen
A wall of windows on front of home reveals the ocean view, skylight in kitchen
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Onomea House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5-7)

The beautiful Malia Bree at Onomea

HI Tax ID # W83948495-01

Enjoy the beautiful ocean view and the tropical landscaping in this private home with gated entry. Spend hours on the wrap-around deck enjoying the tropical breezes and Hawaiian ambiance. Sit back and watch for the humpback whales from the patio, or see the cruise ships make their way toward Hilo. Be dazzled by our incredible stargazing, as the island has been outfitted with special lighting for the observatories up on Mauna Kea.

Centrally located in East Hawaii on the Onomea Scenic Route, often called the most beautiful place on the Big Island, you'll find yourself in old Hawaii. The whole house is yours to relax in, with the town of Hilo just 10 - 12 minutes away, serene Akaka Falls and Honomu Town five minutes away, and the 'must see' Volcano National Park 45 minutes away.

The Hamakua coastline's best kept secret is our unique tradewind weather that encourages most of the rainfall to occur in the early mornings and evenings, leaving the day fresh and clean with sunshine and breezes. You will not be disappointed by the colors, plants, museums, gardens and tours. Many of our attractions comes with no cost other than your camera to help you savor your memories.

Honeymoon, enjoy your keiki (children), or write a book. The ocean views, tropical landscaping,and peace of old Hawaii at the Malia Bree will surely inspire you to not only 'be on vacation,' but 'feel on vacation.'

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

40 Reviews of Property 64302 in Onomea, Hawaii

Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
average rating of 4.826087 based on 40 reviews
business
Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p64302vb
(808) 963-6103 (Pacific Hawaiian Time)
Onomea Hilo District
5

Excellent service

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This isn't a review of the home, since we've had to cancel our vacation, but a review of the wonderful service we received from Lynda.

My husband and I had been planning and looking forward to a our Big Island vacation for a year. In October he was diagnosed with colon cancer and had surgery in early January. Unfortunately there were several complications resulting in a second surgery and no way of him recovering in time for our trip. I notified Lynda and she was genuinely sympathetic and refunded our payment even though we were months past the cancellation policy.

Lynda, we are truly astonished and grateful!!! It's been so comforting to have some good news since we feel overwhelmed with the bad. We are going to give this vacation another try next winter and wouldn't consider booking with anyone else. Mahalo!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p64302vb
(808) 963-6103 (Pacific Hawaiian Time)
Onomea Hilo District
4

Good place for discovering the east coast

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Plus: Very spacious house and nice view with a bit of ocean. Excellent location for exploring the east coast.
Minus: It could be cleaner and sheets in main bedroom were worn to a thread: definitely time for replacement.

We used it as an operating base to explore the vulcanoes, check out some falls and do some serious stargazing. For that purpose it was perfect!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p64302vb
(808) 963-6103 (Pacific Hawaiian Time)
Onomea Hilo District
Davis, California, USA
5

Great place to stay in paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family loved our stay at the Malia Bree near Hilo, HI. We found everything we needed in the house and enjoyed the beautiful views every day, the rain every night, and the serenity of the area. The smoothies and food across the street were an added bonus at What's Shakin' Smoothies. The proximity to Hilo and the farmer's markets on Wednesday and Saturday made the location perfect. We visited with friends in the area and loved how we got to share their little piece of paradise in Onomea by the sea. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms clean, big open air feeling to the house and a wrap around deck with views of the ocean made the Malia Bree the perfect vacation home.
We will return again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p64302vb
(808) 963-6103 (Pacific Hawaiian Time)
Onomea Hilo District
Maryland
5

Tranquility and Serenity at Malia Bree at Onomea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I returned home today from our wonderful vacation at Mala Bree. We have been to the big island 3 times since 2007 and this is the best place we've stayed at to date. Beautifully furnished inside and beautiful on the outside. My son had a BBQ for us and some of his friends who told us over and over that they drive past the house all the time and have always waned to see what it looked like inside and just loved it. Hopefully their families will rent it for a week when they come to visit too.

We were able to watch the rain walk across the ocean and within 10 to 20 minutes the rain was pouring down on us. It almost felt interactive and so cool. We had fruit trees in the front yard and we were able to try out the freshest of fresh fruits right from the tree. There are cows that graze at times just beyond the fence that was fun to watch and we often saw mongoose that played in the back yard. I give this home 5 out of 5 stars for beauty, location to shopping and activities AND hospitality of the owner/manager Lyndy. If you get a chance to rent this place, take it, it's well worth it.

One note though, don't forget to bring you mosquito repellent, your in a rain Forrest and there are Mosquitos like here on the mainland.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo from Hawaii. Wow, I am feeling very "prioritized" and grateful that you took the time to post a review for us so very quickly. I can just image that stack of junk mail and tasks you need to get to! I am so glad that you got to spend time with your son, met his wonderful friends and came back to the islands for your third time to experience the beauty here and understand why he lives here on this special island. I graciously thank you for your response and your visit with us. Welcome to our "Malia Bree at Onomea" ohana ! Lyndy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p64302vb
(808) 963-6103 (Pacific Hawaiian Time)
Onomea Hilo District
Paris, TX
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family had a wonderful time at the Malia Bree. It is a very nice place and what a beautiful setting! If you want to escape the crowds and experience the beauty of the lush side of the Big Island, this is the place for you. We hated to leave. Each morning it was a delight to rise and watch the world unfold on the wrap-around deck of the house. And, the deck is a super place to enjoy the gentle showers that passed by. Lyndy has thought of just about everything. The house was very clean and was a perfect base for the "east side" of the Big Island. We hope to return some day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p64302vb
(808) 963-6103 (Pacific Hawaiian Time)
Onomea Hilo District
Oregon United States
5

Beautiful home, beautiful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Thank you for a lovely stay at the Malia Bree! The house was perfect for our lifestyle - homey but not overly crowded with stuff, open but not austere, very private with lush plants surrounding the house, comfortable seating areas and beds, nice big kitchen (we saved money by cooking most meals!),fans to keep the place cool, lanai with comfortable chairs to enjoy morning coffee al fresco! We enjoyed the birds, flowers, cattle (across the fence) and cattle egrets, the geckos who would scamper along the lanai rail or crawl across the windows to catch the bugs drawn by the light. A great launching point for Hilo, botanical garden, zipline (!). What's Shakin' smoothie and lunch spot across the street is good food and drink and very nice people. The rooster down the road caught us off guard the first night (well, morning really) but earplugs solved that and the frog songs as well. We loved it - thanks so much for helping us start our 10th anniversary trip off so well!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p64302vb
(808) 963-6103 (Pacific Hawaiian Time)
Onomea Hilo District
Evergreen, Colorado/USA
5

Boston and Evergreen friends' Hawaiian Vacation

Boston and Evergreen friends' Hawaiian Vacation
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This is a great place to stay -- convenient, clean and well appointed. Loved the huge deck. Lyndy was a wonderful hostess, providing all the information we needed and checking to make sure we had everything. The botanical garden just down the road is a must see. We also enjoyed our full day at Volcano National Park in spite of the vog. Hilo was a wonderful break from the insanity of Waikiki. Don't miss the Farmer's Market and the abundance of fresh fruit. Smoothies and lunches from What's Shakin' across the street were delicious. Be sure to bring earplugs to wear at night because of the noisy frogs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your review. It is such a beautiful spot indeed. I am glad that you were able to take in the beauty of the island and the wonderful attractions that we have here. We look forward to your next visit.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p64302vb
(808) 963-6103 (Pacific Hawaiian Time)
Onomea Hilo District
Charlotte, NC
5

Lovely vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a wonderful stay at this home. There were 4 of us, but more could have stayed comfortably. The owner called to check on us, left info for nearby activities and attractions that she recommended, and made us feel like part of the family. Everything that we had at home, was here at this vacation home. We really needed for nothing. The scenery was amazing, and we even cooked and bbq'ed while we were there. Truly a home away from home, except much more beautiful. So glad I happened across this listing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo ! Glad that you enjoyed your Hawaiian Tropical Vacation. I have finally gotten my 2nd guest book at the home (first one was so well loved and worn), as comments from previous guests like yourselves are so very important. I do try to keep up to date pamphlets and travel books at the home. Thank you for your visit and your post. Lyndy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p64302vb
(808) 963-6103 (Pacific Hawaiian Time)
Onomea Hilo District
Escalon, California
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband and I have stayed in this home several winters now, and will keep coming back. It's beautiful, restful, with a comfortable relaxingly rural feel. Owners Lyndy & Scott are very friendly and helpful. The elevated pole house is as attractive as its description and pictures, and the location is our favorite spot on the Big Island...close enough to Hilo, but on the rain-forested scenic drive...only a mile from the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden, another of our favorites. It's a good walk from the house to the HTBG. Old Onomea Road is just up the road--another beautiful (bumpy) short drive (or walk).

Wi-fi makes it possible to keep up with office work, but the inviting deck and lush scenery--trees, ocean, flowering bushes, as well as parading cattle, egrets, wild pigs and other wild life--lure us away. The kitchen and laundry facilities are up-to-date. When we don't feel like cooking, What's Shakin' just across the street has appetizing, healthful sandwiches and smoothies. Coqui frogs sing us to sleep at night; doves and other tropical birds help us awaken. Several family members have visited, and the second bedroom and bathroom were appreciated.

Use this as a comfortable home base for excursions to Laupahoehoe (terrific waves!), Volcano, Waimea, Kona, beaches, waterfalls (several are close), Hilo's farmers' market, malasadas from Baker Tom...whatever adventures you enjoy. Or, just relax; it's a beautiful and unique place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you my "Two Bees". I am so appreciative for your continued visits over the years. You both have become very near and dear to me and my family. Our home always seems to magically be improved after each of your visits! Must be those crafty menehunes! I am so touched that you have chosen our vacation rental as your winter home away from home. Mahalo Lyndy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p64302vb
(808) 963-6103 (Pacific Hawaiian Time)
Onomea Hilo District
Santa Rosa, CA
5

Susanne

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had a FABULOUS stay at this beautiful home. We so want to go back and do it all again!! Lindy was amazing...she gave us great advice about things to see and was very friendly and responsive. It was just my husband and me, but there was plenty of room for a whole family. I didn't realize before we got there that this home is situated on a 4 mile scenic drive off of the main highway. Everything about this location is breathtaking. There is so much to see on the Hilo side of the island: Volcano Nat Park, Black Sand Beaches, Incredible Botanical Garden right on the ocean (just a minute down the road), waterfalls.... WOW. The home was clean and well taken care of, the bed we slept in was very comfortable, the place was more than roomy. I have already recommended this home to friends and our children. I only have good things to say! A little tip for anyone coming here...I've never had better smoothies than the ones right across the road. A must if you're a smoothie fan!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Susanne! I thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. Thank you also for the hinter of our location, as I have just fixed a glitch in my marker on the VRBO map that would not take our address in correctly. The helpful VRBO staff did it manually from their end. It is a beautiful area, and I am so very glad that you both had a great visit on our special island. Mahalo for your visit and Mahalo for your kind and thoughtful review. Lyndy
Helpful votes: 2/2