Epoisses farmhouse rental - Gite and courtyard
Gite and courtyard
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Epoisses Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 4/5 people

Tivauche is a beautifully restored farmhouse which sits on the edge of a sleepy hamlet with fine views over the Auxois countryside. Vast open-plan living area with comfortable armchairs around old stone fireplace, dining area, well equipped kitchen & french doors leading onto the patio & garden. Spacious bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms. All linen and towels provided with beds made up. Nearby towns of Epoisses & Semur-en-Auxois provide plenty of choice for bars, restaurants & shops. Superb walking & biking; visits to historical sites (13th C Abbaye de Fontenay, Vézelay); Chateaux (Epoisses etc); Medieval towns (Flavigny etc) ; Markets (Dijon,Chablis); Lac du Pont(ideal for watersports); Morvan National Park,Golf & Tennis nearby.

5 hour drive from Calais or Zeebrugge. 1 hour TGV train to Paris or Euro Disney direct.

PREVIOUS GUESTS WROTE.....: For Jane & myself this is our second visit to Tivauche. We beleive it is a most beautiful gite in one of the most lovely areas of France. Jane & Alec, California. - We could not have asked for a more beautiful place to stay! All of our day trips have been great - Vezelay was our favourite, but the best part of our trip has been coming 'home' to this amazing gite, sitting outside with a glass of wine, enjoying the beautiful view. Scott & Christine, Georgia. - One of our best holidays ever. We could easily have stayed longer; there is so much to see. Andrew & Susanne, Surrey. - We have rented many gites across France, this being our first visit to Burgundy. Never have we experienced this excellent recipe of luxury, cleanliness and warmth to such an extent. Congratulations to you both. We hope to see you again. Heather & Peter, Devon.

More Details
Hide Details

42 Reviews of Property 6396 in Epoisses, France

Beautifully restored farmhouse, magnificent views in central Burgundy
average rating of 4.928571 based on 42 reviews
business
Beautifully restored farmhouse, magnificent views in central Burgundy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6396
+33 0380963412
Epoisses Montbard area
5

Beautiful setting, extremely well appointed gite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is a lovely gite in a small Burgundy hamlet. The views of the rolling hills are lovely, especially from the upstairs bedroom in the early morning. The farmhouse is well appointed with Gien porcelain and Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. All of the rooms are tastefully decorated. I could have stayed here for a very long time.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautifully restored farmhouse, magnificent views in central Burgundy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6396
+33 0380963412
Epoisses Montbard area
5

superb rural retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
An extremely comfortable, well equipped and tastefully furnished farmhouse with an amazing upstairs bedroom and lovely garden to relax and enjoy the view of the surrounding countryside. A perfect spot for sightseeing, cycling, sampling the local produce and stargazing at night. This was our second stay here and just as enjoyable as the first, particularly as we were blessed with fantastic weather all week. The owners are very helpful and accommodating regarding recommendations of places to visit and restaurants in the area.
We have stayed in many properties in France and this has to be one of the best!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Beautifully restored farmhouse, magnificent views in central Burgundy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6396
+33 0380963412
Epoisses Montbard area
Brevard, NC
5

A superb place in the Burgundy Countryside

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
While we have traveled a good bit in France this was our first stay in Burgundy and we felt extraordinarily fortunate to have found the Tivauche rental. This is a beautiful area; obviously rural countryside but plenty to do in nearby villages and within an hour drive.

We have generally had good luck with VRBO and HomeAway, but this was one of the best we have encountered: a very well appointed and tastefully decorated house, well maintained with large rooms and extremely comfortable chairs, sofas and beds for sitting around, reading, etc. The kitchen is excellent and the back patio offers a stunning view of the rolling hills of Burgundy. It was unseasonably cool and gray for part of our visit, but it didn't dampen our enjoyment of the area. There are many villages and towns to visit within an hour drive and some excellent restaurants which are described by other visitors in the visitor's book at the house.

And if you have any questions or needs, just knock on the door of the nearby owners; they are extremely helpful and, while not intrusive, glad to help in any way.

We can't recommend this place enough!

Dan and Jane C.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautifully restored farmhouse, magnificent views in central Burgundy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6396
+33 0380963412
Epoisses Montbard area
netherlands
5

Lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We, a family of four, stayed at the gite for a week.
It has been a lovely week.
To start with the Bill and Jenny, who made us feel more than welcome and at home.
The cottage, well appointed, larger than it shows in the pictures, good kitchen, enormous fireplace, the surroundings, lovely sleepy medieval hamlets, Tivauche le Haut itself, and finally the weather, all lovely!
Because is had been so cold there were no trees in bloom, but very slowly you saw spring starting.
The whole Tivauche experience was very relaxing, and we can certainly recommend the house.
One small remark, the downstairs bed is 140 so excellent for the young:-).
Upstairs 160 in a very large, and nice bedroom.
And a view not only from the bedroom window, but also from under the shower!
Hope to be back soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautifully restored farmhouse, magnificent views in central Burgundy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6396
+33 0380963412
Epoisses Montbard area
netherlands
5

Lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We, a family of four, stayed at the gite for a week.
It has been a lovely week.
To start with the Bill and Jenny, who made us feel more than welcome and at home.
The cottage, well appointed, larger than it shows in the pictures, good kitchen, enormous fireplace, the surroundings, lovely sleepy medieval hamlets, Tivauche le Haut itself, and finally the weather, all lovely!
Because is had been so cold there were no trees in bloom, but very slowly you saw spring starting.
The whole Tivauche experience was very relaxing, and we can certainly recommend the house.
One small remark, the downstairs bed is 140 so excellent for the young:-).
Upstairs 160 in a very large, and nice bedroom.
And a view not only from the bedroom window, but also from under the shower!
Hope to be back soon.
business
Beautifully restored farmhouse, magnificent views in central Burgundy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6396
+33 0380963412
Epoisses Montbard area
netherlands
5

Lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We, a family of four, stayed at the gite for a week.
It has been a lovely week.
To start with the Bill and Jenny, who made us feel more than welcome and at home.
The cottage, well appointed, larger than it shows in the pictures, good kitchen, enormous fireplace, the surroundings, lovely sleepy medieval hamlets, Tivauche le Haut itself, and finally the weather, all lovely!
Because is had been so cold there were no trees in bloom, but very slowly you saw spring starting.
The whole Tivauche experience was very relaxing, and we can certainly recommend the house.
One small remark, the downstairs bed is 140 so excellent for the young:-).
Upstairs 160 in a very large, and nice bedroom.
And a view not only from the bedroom window, but also from under the shower!
Hope to be back soon.
business
Beautifully restored farmhouse, magnificent views in central Burgundy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6396
+33 0380963412
Epoisses Montbard area
5

Now that's a holiday home

Now that's a holiday home
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is a holiday home that wasn't just comfortable. It's a home I would be happy to live in, it's that good. It may be the style, the facilities or just the fabulous view - more likely a combination of all three. The neighbours (and owners) are as helpful and friendly as one could hope for too.

The photos on the website particularly attracted us but to be quite honest, they don't do it justice.

The area is great too. We only spent a week there and didn't get to see everything we could/should have done. There are some great local places and fabulous towns to visit well within an hour's drive (and we didn't even get to Dijon!).

We're a family that likes to go somewhere new every year and never go back to the same place twice. If anywhere was going to make us break that rule, this would be it. If you love amusement arcades, clubs and a bustling night-life then DON'T come here!! If you need a relaxing holiday, then this is the place for you.

I can't recommend this highly enough. Many thanks, Mike, Jeanette, Charlie (16) & Catherine (10)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautifully restored farmhouse, magnificent views in central Burgundy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6396
+33 0380963412
Epoisses Montbard area
5

A Gem in Burgundy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We rented this beautiful French farmhouse in early April. It was accurately described and more. The property was situated on a hill which gave it a commanding view and a perfect setting. The area was very tranquil and just right for beautiful country walks. The interior of the house was very well maintained and furnished to a high standard which made everything extremely comfortable. Our favorite thing was experiencing all the wonderful Burgundian adventures and then returning to our cozy fire and a glass of red wine. The house is centrally located and convenient to Beaune, Vezalay, Abbye de Fontenay and Chateneuf. The owners were fabulous right from the start. They were easy to work with and most accommodating. Bill set up a wonderful bike trip along the canal. It was one of the highlights of our trip. We travel frequently in Europe and have very high expectations, We have to say that this special property fulfilled all our dreams.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautifully restored farmhouse, magnificent views in central Burgundy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6396
+33 0380963412
Epoisses Montbard area
5

Wonderful time at Tivache

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We had a wonderful time at Tivache although I think we were a bit of a jinx as we broke the wine opener and then the television and then the dvd broke down but they were all replaced in minutes and with a smile, nothing was too much trouble for Bill and Jenny who are the nicest people you could meet along with their adorable girls and three dogs.
The gite was very comfortable with a great big open fire place which we used a couple of times just because it looks so wonderful and cosy. The upstairs bedroom is huge and the bed really comfortable with an amazing view out of the window and so peaceful and quiet. The downstairs is all open plan which we loved.
We were lucky to have two weeks there and found plenty of places of interest, Veselay really is beautiful as was the drive there, the scenery was just amazing and we saw only one other car all the way there. Dijon is a must. We found the best supermarket in Epoisses which had a good selection of wine, there is also a little shop that sells wine and meats and you can have lunch there and try them all.
We brought our dog (Bonnie) with us and she went everywhere we went including all the restaurants. After a day of exploring Burgundy it was lovely to come back to the gite and sit in the garden with a cold glass of wine and relax in the peace looking at the wonderful view. Thank you Bill and Jenny for being such great hosts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautifully restored farmhouse, magnificent views in central Burgundy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6396
+33 0380963412
Epoisses Montbard area
4

Our first visit to Burgundy

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The booking arrangements went very smoothly. Bill & Jenny were very helpful from the beginning.
We were warmly greeted by Jenny on our arrival and provided with extensive information about the property and the area.
The Gite was clean & comfortable - the upstairs bedroom being very spacious. As there was just the two of us we did not need to use the downstairs bedroom/bathroom, which was perhaps just as well as the old fashioned bath and plumbing did result in a bit of a smell. We were warned about this on arrival.
The kitchen area could have done with a bit more cupboard space - the crockery and cutlery being in a unit in the dining room. No big deal but a little inconvenient at times.
It was very useful having Bill & Jenny on hand - they directed us to a couple of good restaurants - the Auberge des Chenets at Valloux being first class.
Situated in a quiet hamlet was an ideal setting. We perhaps should have done a bit more homework before coming to the area as there did not appear to be many places of interests to visit.
All in all an enjoyable visit, but I must admit I think we preferred our holiday in the Loire Valley last year!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/7