Canico apartment rental - Comfortable lounge/dining area
Comfortable lounge/dining area
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Canico Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 4 people, 2nd floor apartment

The apartment is located on a road in the village town of Canico, just 10km east of Funchal & about 10km from the airport making this apartment ideally situated on the island. The lounge/dining room is very spacious & has a balcony with views of the ocean and the coastal resort of Canico de Baixo a further 2km away. In the lounge area there is a TV, VHS & DVD player, CD/radio player, dining table (extendable). The master bedroom has a double bed, bedside tables, fitted wardrobes, dressing table along with an ensuite bathroom with shower unit, sink and toilet. The second bedroom has twin beds, bedside table and fitted wardrobes. The apartment has 2 bathrooms, one ensuite with the double room and the other is fitted with a bath/shower, bidet, sink and toilet. The apartment also provides a travel cot in case guests require one for their baby. The kitchen is spacious, with washing machine, fridge/freezer, microwave, hob/oven, extractor fan, coffee machine, kettle, toaster, dining table and cutlery.

Golf Information: Golfers will find two superb golf courses within easy reach, 15 minutes by car - the 18-hole championship Palheiro golf course and the 27-hole Santa da Serra golf course [also known as Campo de Golfe part of the PGA European Tour] is 13km away and has spectacular views. A 3rd course is under construction 45 mins drive to the west at Prazeres and a 4th is planned at São Vicente.

Hiking & Walking : With its wide open spaces and extensive coastline Madeira is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts year-round, and there are countless activities that can be enjoyed either individually or as part of a group. Canico is an excellent location from where one can hike and walk the islands amazing levada irrigation system spanning 2,500 kilometres, which meander round the mountains.

Funchal - The Capital City: Funchal is not only the capital, but also the heart of Madeira and home to many of the islanders. This makes it a busy, chic, cosmopolitan and fun city, full of shops, bars, cafes and a great variety of restaurants and entertainment. The natural magnet for visitors is the extensive seafront, Avenida do Mar. At one end is the marina and harbour, the departure point for boat trips around the island. Inland is the historic centre, a series of graceful streets lined with shops, museums and gardens.

More Details
Hide Details

17 Reviews of Property 63659 in Canico, Portugal

2 Bedroom Apartment in village of Canico - in an ideal location!
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
business
2 Bedroom Apartment in village of Canico - in an ideal location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63659
Canico Madeira
5

Great place to escape a British winter!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This apartment is a real home from home - extremely well-equipped, spacious, clean and easy to maintain. We stayed 8 weeks from mid-January to early March and really enjoyed life in Canico. For 2 months the temperature ranged between 18 and 22 and the occasional rain showers were generally fleeting. Residents in the apartment block were very friendly and the town has a good range of shops, restaurants, etc. We recommend La Terrasse in particular for well-presented, good value fish dishes.

The regular bus service from the end of the road is great for trips to Funchal to do the tourist trail. We can also recommend the Pride of Madeira minibus tours to see the rest of this beautiful island. The office is just around the corner from the apartment and the pick-up is from outside the door. Car-hire is expensive and Madeira's roads not for the faint-hearted but we got around easily by bus, sometimes hopping from one to another in Funchal.

It's an easy walk down the old road and a sign-posted path to the seafront in Canico de Baixo but, unless you're hoping to improve your fitness, you'll probably want to get a bus or taxi rather than face the steep climb back to Canico. Gluttons for punishment, we made life-time friends with the owner of a bar halfway back up the path. It has a huge terrace with great views of the Ilhas Desertas. The apartment balcony has the same wonderful sea and island views. It is quite small but south-facing and a real suntrap.

We also took a short bus ride from the town to Assomada church where you can pick up the levada trail. The local people guided our way and the views of the valley up there are stunning. We left our walking guidebook in the apartment so enjoy!

Thanks to Roger and his father who offered us this apartment at a great rate for a long stay. (Some friends of ours paid more for a fortnight's B & B than we paid for 2 months of spacious luxury!) Whether you're looking for just a week or two or can enjoy a leisurely winter stay in your retirement, you really can't go wrong in this great apartment in Madeira.
Owner's Response: Hi Jenny, thank you so much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you both stay in our apartment and you would be always welcome to stay again in the future. Kind regards, Roger
business
2 Bedroom Apartment in village of Canico - in an ideal location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63659
Canico Madeira
England
5

'Home from home'

'Home from home'
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We really enjoyed our two week stay in the apartment. Everything was clean and tidy and just as described .The owner very kindly met us at the airport to take us to the apartment, about a 15 minutes drive. A good bonus was the secure underground parking and a lift up to the apartment, which was in a pleasant, quiet area of town. A very convenient base for moving around the island. We would certainly stay again. Highly recommended.

Tony and Carol Hindle.
Owner's Response: Hi Tony
Thank you so much for the kind comments and glad you found our apartment to your liking.
Any time you wish to stay again just get in touch.
Kind regards,
Roger De Nobrega
business
2 Bedroom Apartment in village of Canico - in an ideal location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63659
Canico Madeira
4

Canico Apartment

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We have just spent two happy weeks in Roger's apartment which is conveniently situated in the lovely town, Canico. We have holidayed in this town many, many times and will, hopefully return again soon when we would have no hesitation in reserving this spacious, airy and well equipped apartment. We enjoyed our cup of tea sitting on the balcony in the morning sunshine and a glass of wine in the early evening and were lucky that it was warm enough to sit outside again after dinner. There are several very nice restaurants within easy walking distance, our favourite is A Lareira situated in the square where we enjoy a jug of wine outside watching Canico life, often there is a fesitval with traditional dancing and singing.The food here is excellent. If you don't want to hire a car to see the island there are tours, usually in small friendly groups with a well informed guide. The bus stop is close by with frequent buses to Funchal or down to Baxio, the sea front, where we also enjoy a drink and/or meal (excellent fish soup here) either at the restaurant far end of the promenade or at the pool side restaurant of the Four Seasons hotel. We would recommend you take a walk around the spectacular gardens of the hotel Splendida in Canico and experience the theme nights in the restaurant, we particularly enjoyed the Thai meal.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2 Bedroom Apartment in village of Canico - in an ideal location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63659
Canico Madeira
Kent, UK
5

A wonderful Madeira apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This apartment is very accurately described in the owner's information. We felt that it represented excellent value. We found it to be impeccably clean on arrival. The kitchen was very well equipped with a large fridge/freezer and full sized hob with oven. The furnishings and accommodation were ample for four. Everything was tastefully presented - it had the feel of a home rather than a holiday let. We experienced very little noise coming from adjacent apartments or from the road. The village of Canico is very well served with supermarkets, smaller shops and restaurants. We enjoyed sitting in the square every evening, soaking up the atmosphere of this charming community. The fact that free wifi was available in the square was an unexpected bonus. The secure assigned parking was appreciated. We hired a car so we could explore the island more easily. The proximity of the VR1 main south coast road meant that it didn't take long to reach the west of the island.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this property to anyone visiting Madeira. The contact with the owner before our stay was very helpful. If you want a relaxing stay in a very comfortable apartment, you would be well-advised to choose this one.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2 Bedroom Apartment in village of Canico - in an ideal location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63659
Canico Madeira
Lancashire, UK
5

Lovely Apartment in Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Me and my husband stayed in Mr & Mrs De Nobrega's apartment in October 2010. I must say we had a wonderful time in Madeira and the apartment was ideal for our requirements. Located about 10km from the airport, it was easy to find and we met Mr De Nobrega Snr at a Cafe underneath the apartment block. He gave us the keys to the apartment and showed us around. He was very helpful and told us some nice places to eat and drink in Canico. There is a lovely patisserie (very cheap) located just at the end of the street which was great as every morning we would wake up and buy the local pastries (Pastel da Nata) and have a fresh espresso...yum yum! There is also a small supermarket (Sa) at the end of the street so no need to use a car to buy your food. Canico is a lovely little village/town with a beautiful market square.There are plenty of nice restaurants and cafes for you to go to if you do not fancy cooking. There is also a great outdoor bar near the post office which you must go to. We went when karaoke was on although we didn’t sing it was very funny listening to everyone else have a go. Getting to Funchal is very simple if you do not have a car. There is a bus stop again located at the end of the street. It is very cheap (less than 2 euros) and takes you straight into Funchal…ideal for a day out. We hired a car and we really appreciated the underground car park that is provided for the apartment. Overall we would highly recommend Madeira and the apartment. We would have no hesitation in staying again. Thank you!"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
2 Bedroom Apartment in village of Canico - in an ideal location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63659
Canico Madeira
Lancashire, UK
5

An excellent location and clean apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Me and my husband staying in Mr & Mrs De Nobrega's apartment in October 2010. I must say we had a wonderful time in Madeira and the apartment was ideal for our requirements. Located about 10km, 15 mins drive from the apartment, it was easy to find and we met Mr De Nobrega Snr at a Cafe underneath the apartment block. He gave us the keys to the apartment and showed us around. He was very helpful and told us some nice places to eat and drink in Canico. There is a lovely Patiserie located just at the end of the street which was great as every morning we would wake up and buy the local pastries (Pastel Da Nata) and have a fresh expresso...yum yum! There is also a small supermarket (Sa) at the end of the street also so need to use a car to buy your food. Canico is a lovely little village/town. There are plenty of nice restaurants and bars for you to go to if you do not fancy cooking. There is also a great outdoor bar near the post office which you must go to. We went when karaoke was on although we didnt sing it was very funny listening to everyone else have a go. Getting to Funchal is very simple if you do not have a car. There is a bus stop again located at the end of the street. It is very cheap and takes you straight into Funchal. Ideal for a day out. We hired a car and we really appreciated the underground car par that is provided for the apartment. Mr De Nobrega will provide you with a key fob to operate the security gates leading underground. Overall we would highly recommend Madeira and the apartment. We would have no hesistation in staying again. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2 Bedroom Apartment in village of Canico - in an ideal location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63659
Canico Madeira
London, United Kingdom
5

Holiday stay at the apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
From the moment that the apartment was booked to the time to the end the apartment holder was very friendly to me and my family. When i arrived at the apartment i was impressed with everything and the description of it was exactly how it was. The property was very clean, there was a hoover but i hardly had to use it, the owner showed me around the place and showed me on how to use the cooker and things like that. I would recommend this apartment to everyone really because it can be used by everyone with or without kids, old or young it's great. The surrounding area is great too with a small walk turning left and left again to a restuarant which i enjoyed alot, there's a big supermarket to do your shopping and cafes to relax. I would really like to stay at the apartment again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
2 Bedroom Apartment in village of Canico - in an ideal location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63659
Canico Madeira
Wales
5

Ideal location for exploring

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We had a great time in Madeira, and the apartment was the ideal base for exploring the island. It's large, very comfortable and clean, and so close to the supermarket and cafes. The beds were very comfy, and the kitchen had everything we needed.

Looking on the map before we went, I thought it would be a bit far from the north and west of the island for easy exploring, but with the new network of roads and tunnels, it couldn't have been easier to reach beaches, small villages in the north or the central mountains.

The town itself is lovely, with some good restaurants and bars (and one club), and the beach is only a couple of km down the hill. Unlike nearby Santa Cruz, there isn't the constant stream of planes overhead, and it's well out of Funchal so nice and quiet. And despite my fears, driving in Madeira was fine, and certainly a lot easier than Spain.

Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
2 Bedroom Apartment in village of Canico - in an ideal location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63659
Canico Madeira
Brighton, England
5

Our Driving Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
The apartment is wonderful & very clean & tidy- it has everything you need for your holiday & very well equipt. The supermarket is less than 5 mins away & the underground parking helps a great deal.

There is an excellent restaurant within 5 mins walk as well as a snack bar, Pizza & Tapas restaurant in the new Cani Golden Shopping centre by the apartment, which is also within 5 mins walk. Busses run very regularly & are quite cheap & on time. You do need a hire car to see all the Island. Mr De Nobrega snr is on hand should you need any help & is very friendly.

The balcony is great for just sitting & watching the world go by with a glass or two of the local wine at the end of the day. It was the perfect location near to Funchal but away from all the noise & traffic of the city, everywhere is so easy to get to.

If you go during festival time there is a band in the square during the day & evening & they had a pop group there as well on the Saturday - & its all within 5 mins walk. Beware they let of very loud rockets during the festival throughout the day & evening. We loved the chimes from the church in the square, it starts at 8am & chimes every 15 mins until 8pm every day. Internet access is available at the main Canico Shopping mall - about 10 mins away, but only from 7pm in the evening during the week & they only have 2 terminals. However there is WiFi access for your own laptop at CaniGolden if you take it with you.
Meals were reasonably priced in Canico, but more expensive in Funchal, make for Guiseppi restaurant near the fort the food is fantastic, its located just off the seafront, east of the cable car station. Try & make a trip to Ponta Du Pargo & eat at the Casa du Cha, they have wonderful food & the view from the restaurant is breathtaking.

We loved the Monte Palace Gardens & could have stayed all day, the Tobogan at Monte is expensive 25 Euros for 2 people, but does go a long way. However you do need to take a taxi back to the cable car station as its a very long walk up several steep hills or even longer into Funchal. The Taxi costs 15 Euros & is well worth it. We loved the Monte Cable car its very gentle & costs 23 Euros each for the combined Cable car & gardens ticket (thats a return fare).

Driving is very easy but the hills are very steep, everyone is so friendly, even those who don't speak English. Lots & lots of gift shops everywhere.

We had a wonderful & relaxing holiday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
2 Bedroom Apartment in village of Canico - in an ideal location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63659
Canico Madeira
Preston
5

Lovely Apartment in Canico, Madeira

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
Stayed here in March. Beautiful apartment, absolutely spotless, well equipped and excellent location. We would recomend car hire. Area was lovely and quiet. Great supermarket in walking distance with lovely fresh bread and rolls first thing in the morning. Would certainly recommend this apartment and will definitely be returning in the future
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5