Canal District studio rental - View on the canal
View on the canal
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Canal District Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

The canal house is in the heart of Amsterdam at top location in safe and quiet area within minutes walk from Prinsengracht, museums, theaters, shops and public transport. This very spacious house has been rebuilt in 1882. 595 euro a week ,extra nights 75, 2 weeks 1100. 4 weeks 1900. see also vrbo 62234 .

The apartment has to offer 40 (round 400 square feet) square meters. It is on the second floor with a view over the canal. This studio also provides everything you need; bathroom with shower, TV, DVD player, Hi Fi, washer, dryer, full kitchen with microwave, but no dishwasher. It is perfect for two people. minimum stay 1 week

.

Keywords: studio

37 Reviews of Property 63027 in Canal District, Netherlands

Studio Apartment in Amsterdam Center
average rating of 4.891892 based on 37 reviews
business
Studio Apartment in Amsterdam Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63027vb
+31 615060586 (Netherlands)
Canal District Amsterdam
4

Home Away From Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
As a frequent traveler to Amst'd (10yrs) I relied on the reviews-that said, I am happy to say that (2014) will be my 3rd year at Marcells'. My monthly stay makes me feel like a local. Great location, reviews are on point, steps are steep-but its all worth it. I look forward to seeing Marcelle and Ivan (owner/host) and seeing previous guests (Paris friends-see u soon)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: the stairs are not steep to european standards but for anyone who is not used to stairs and has knee problems they are. be aware that most houses in Amsterdam have stairs.
business
Studio Apartment in Amsterdam Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63027vb
+31 615060586 (Netherlands)
Canal District Amsterdam
Canton, NY
5

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is our home away from home while we are in Amsterdam anytime we have visited over the past five years. What makes it ideal for us is the proximity (a short walk) to the Melkweg and Paradiso cultural venues. Marcelle has upgraded the windows to heritage glass which keeps out the noise of the street below. It is on the third floor, so has the typical long narrow stairway of most Dutch homes. The bed is comfortable, the furnishings less so, but we don't' spend much time in the apartment so it isn't an issue for us. Ivan, the caretaker, is very responsive to any issues that may arise (Wi-fi, mostly, which isn't as reliable as we have in the United States.) You control your own heat which makes drying any hand washed clothes a snap. We would HIGHLY recommend this apartment to visitors who are looking to explore the city from the center.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: as for the wifi we took recently 3 december a second provider to have always 2 wi-fi possibilities in case one is not working for that moment.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio Apartment in Amsterdam Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63027vb
+31 615060586 (Netherlands)
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Comfortable, toddler-friendly, cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This apartment was a great home base for a weeklong stay with two parents and a 2-year-old. The bed was very comfortable and a crib was provided, and we would wake up in the mornings and wait for the tour boats to pass by below our windows (quite exciting for a toddler). The owner and manager were friendly and helpful. The location couldn't be beat - we walked almost everywhere we went in central Amsterdam but it was quiet for sleeping. There is a nice cafe down the street where we ended up several times for meals or coffee. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio Apartment in Amsterdam Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63027vb
+31 615060586 (Netherlands)
Canal District Amsterdam
Buffalo, New York USA
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This larger than average studio offers location, comfort, and everything you need for wonderful time in Amsterdam. The three large windows looking out onto the Leidsegracht Canal offer what many other accommodations do not. During Tulip season I put flowers in the windows. When I stay here I feel like I live in Amsterdam.

The entrance to this beautiful canal house does not look like a hotel. There are a number of steps to get up to your room, but the climb is well worth it. Ivan will help you with your luggage. :-)

Pull up a comfortable chair close to a window and have a cup of coffee (or cold beer) while watching the boats, large and small cruise by. You will notice many tourists on the Canal Boats taking photos of your building as they pass by.

The sleeping alcove with two twin beds that can be put together is separate from the large living/dining room and has a privacy curtain. There is a TV, DVD, and radio for your enjoyment. Having a large dining table with four chairs, along with a nice couch to sit on gives me everything I need. There also is a work desk with chair next to the door. The kitchen area with a sink, range top, coffee maker, convection/microwave oven, refrigerator, and countertop area allows me to make from a simple cup of coffee to a nice dinner. Use the Shopper's club card they provide, and walk to the grocery store close by. If you don't feel like cooking, then get take away, or eat out at one of the many restaurants nearby. Another big bonus for some is the free washer and dryer just outside the room.

Located just a block from the lively Leidseplein with it's excellent transportation links make it the most convenient choice for all your plans. No need to take the train from the Airport to Amsterdam Central Station. Just hop on the convenient #197 bus found outside the airport which will drop you off one block from the studio.

Nightlife is just down the block, and there is a lot of it!

This is a privately owned accommodation with someone there when you need, but seldom seen when you don't. Marcelle and Ivan are delightful hosts!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio Apartment in Amsterdam Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63027vb
+31 615060586 (Netherlands)
Canal District Amsterdam
Connecticut USA
5

Amsterdam: an urban utopia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We highly recommend this studio apartment. Although the furnishings have seen better days and were quite well worn, the apartment was clean, comfortable, and quiet. On a scale of 1 to 10, the location is a 10! We thoroughly toured Amsterdam by foot and also made good use of the very user friendly tram system. After six days of exploring this beautiful city, we can say that a better location for a stay in Amsterdam does not exist. The neighborhood is quiet and residential, but restaurants, coffee shops, nightlife, museums and public transportation are all a short easy stroll away (2-3 minutes). There is an absolutely lovely picture postcard view out the window. The care taker, Ivan, lives across the hall. He was very friendly, accommodating, and happy to give suggestions and information to the best of his ability. However, travelers who are accustomed to the services of a hotel concierge for making restaurant reservations, finding out museum hours, getting tickets, information about train schedules, and so forth, may not enjoy a VRBO. However, if you are a tourist who enjoys independent exploration and would like to get a sense of what it is like to live as a local resident, this place is perfect. We were very pleased with our experience and would definitely come back to this VRBO.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Studio Apartment in Amsterdam Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63027vb
+31 615060586 (Netherlands)
Canal District Amsterdam
Lee's Summit, MO
5

Great Place Centrally Located

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a wonderful time. The apartment was a perfect base to walk to all major attractions. We arrived the day before Queens Day and the canals were packed with boats. What fun watching the action from our window.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Studio Apartment in Amsterdam Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63027vb
+31 615060586 (Netherlands)
Canal District Amsterdam
Pacific Northwest
5

The Sweet Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a family reunion of sorts renting out all of the flats in Marcelle's building. It was exactly as it was presented on VRBO and perfect for our families. We love the Studio apt as it's just high enough to see all the action and get wonderful light. Our family with the two small children took the big apt downstairs which they loved because of the space. Everything is tidy and in working order.

Marcelle and Ivan are there for you if needed. Ivan hooked my husband up with a bike and Marcelle taught me about Dutch antiques.

If you're the kind of person that likes to live like a local when you travel, this is the place for you. We would stay another month if we could!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Studio Apartment in Amsterdam Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63027vb
+31 615060586 (Netherlands)
Canal District Amsterdam
Ann Arbor, MI
5

The perfect place and person

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We've stayed twice now with Marcelle. The first time was with 2 boys, the last time with just my wife and I. Marcelle is warm, charming and friendly and her apartments are perfect for a vacation stay. The location is very central to everything in amsterdam and the apartments are equipped with everything you need including information about the town. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when visiting amsterdam. If only I could find such a great place in other european cities!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Studio Apartment in Amsterdam Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63027vb
+31 615060586 (Netherlands)
Canal District Amsterdam
-
5

Basking in the sun-filled windows!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This apartment was perfect for our stay in Amsterdam. We loved the light that streamed in through the large windows and the view of the canal was beautiful and entertaining. After seeing all the sights in Amsterdam and surrounding areas, it was a perfect spot to relax and recharge for the next adventure. The location was so easy to get to from the airport and the directions provided by Marcelle made it even easier. Plenty of food choices and shopping close by. We will gladly stay there again if this gem isn't booked already!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Studio Apartment in Amsterdam Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63027vb
+31 615060586 (Netherlands)
Canal District Amsterdam
Victoria, BC
5

Simply the best location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We rented the flat for a week in March this year (2013) and wished we had booked two weeks! We stayed in the same apartment in May 2011 and loved it then too. We think the location is simply the best - close to museums, markets and within walking distance (for those who don't mind a little stroll) to Amsterdam's central station. For those who like to ride, the trams are literally just steps away. Marcelle and her staff make booking easy and the price is hard to beat. We almost hate putting in a good review because we don't want anybody else to find out how great it is - but seriously, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!
One thing you have to be able to do though is climb some steep stairs (always part of Amsterdam canal houses), but once you do that you'll be rewarded with some super views of the canal.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3