Cassis apartment rental - Enveau - a classic callanques
Enveau - a classic callanques
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Cassis Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 Double bedroom, living room with sofa bed, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4.

On the Cote d’Azur in the heart of Provence “Lilas” overlooks this historic fishing town. Beaches, restaurants and the delights of the market square are easy to discover from this central location. Enjoy romantic dinners on the southern balcony-terrace whilst looking out to sea.

There are lovely views of the medieval castle, church and sea. Inviting restaurants and bars spill out onto the streets surrounding the port the market square which are close to a safe, sandy beach. All this is within five minutes' walking distance from the apartment through Cassis’ narrow cobbled streets.

The apartment is on the second floor of a residential building surrounded by shady palm trees and pines. Situated in the town centre, 300m from the nearest beach and 200m from the port, everything is withing easy walking distance. There is also a butcher, baker, pharmacy and newsagent just across the road, close to a convenient car park.

Hello from the owner: I recently fell in love with Cassis whilst on a rock climbing trip. Cassis is a gem; it is a classic, old, Mediterranean fishing village steeped in history and packed with wonderful restaurants and shops. The port and the promenade is an eclectic mix of boats, yachts, bars, cafes and restaurants.

Spectacular hidden coves (les Calanques) are just a boat-ride away. The colourful market comes to the village square twice a week. The scene is just as you imagine....olives, cheeses, honey, fruit and vegetables together with that essential bustle of people.

Moreover Cassis is one of the truly unspoilt parts of the Cote d’Azur. Thanks to the national park, medieval castle and the famous vineyards, property developers have been kept out and Cassis has retained its 16th and 18th century architecture.

Victor Parsons is a truly charming and helpful gentleman who will meet and look after you during your stay. I hope I have drawn you a full and accurate picture of what Cassis has to offer.

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 63018 in Cassis, France

A spacious, comfortable, central apartment close to beaches.
average rating of 4.785714 based on 28 reviews
business
A spacious, comfortable, central apartment close to beaches.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63018
+44 (0)1428 608360
Cassis Marseille area
5

Perfect holiday in Cassis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Lilas is perfectly located, only a 3-minute walk down the road and you are in the very centre of the village which has a wonderful atmosphere and beautiful location. There are several shops conveniently close by. The accommodation is excellent with everything we needed; it was clean and the facilities were first class. Annika (owner) and Victor (local man on the ground) were both so helpful during the booking process and during our holiday. We couldn't have asked for more. We would definitely recommend Lilas and Cassis to anyone. We hired a scooter at Marseille and rode to Cassis along the D559 which gave a very relaxed and picturesque start to our holiday as an alternative to the motorway. You could also travel from Marseille by train. Cassis is a beautiful village. We also rode on the Route des Cretes to La Ciotat - the Route is thrilling and goes through magnificent countryside. (Warning; you need to be an experienced biker). The beach we used at La Ciotat was excellent with very fine sand. The beach at Cassis is a mixture of sand/small smooth stones but not a problem. The boat trip to Les Callanques was charming. We chose a regular bar and cafe and enjoyed exploring the many narrow and interesting streets off the beaten track to find small restaurants which were all excellent. When we ate "at home" we enjoyed sitting on the veranda during the balmy evenings. Only one downside - the tree in front of the veranda needs to be cut back to make the most of the view which was partly obstructed; we appreciate this may be beyond the control of the owner and this is not a criticism of her. We have been abroad many times but Cassis and Lilas is the first place we have felt we would wish to return to - our holiday was everything we could have wished for and more. (A note for car drivers - its very busy in August and you will need some patience. We were able to park our scooter very easily, either in one of the dedicated places or just on the pavement alongside everyone else!) Other activities available (which we didn't do this time) include diving, fishing, walking, cycling.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A spacious, comfortable, central apartment close to beaches.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63018
+44 (0)1428 608360
Cassis Marseille area
Norwich, UK
4

Lovely Apartment in Cassis

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Just spent a lovely week in lilas apartment in Cassis. The apartment was spacious, well furnished and sparkling clean! We felt that Annika and Victor were very helpful and this added to the pleasure of our stay. Cassis is a lovely town with plenty going on and has good walking, swimming and canoeing opportunities. We ate very well and enjoyed visiting the market to buy fresh food. I would recommend this apartment highly and would like to return!
Audrey 03/08/13
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
business
A spacious, comfortable, central apartment close to beaches.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63018
+44 (0)1428 608360
Cassis Marseille area
Canada
4

perfect location and a wonderful town

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We were 4 Canadian ladies who spent a wonderful week in Cassis in October. The apartment was perfect for us. It was clean and equiped with all neccessary utensils and linens. The town of Cassis has a wonderful choice of restaurants and we did enjoy Victor's selection of Bonaparte's twice. We did have a few day trips to Marseille, Aryls and The Camaruge and did find transportation from the train station rather spotty. It is an easy 4 K walk to the apartment from the station but I would recommend arranging a taxi pickup before you go if the walking is an issue.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A spacious, comfortable, central apartment close to beaches.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63018
+44 (0)1428 608360
Cassis Marseille area
5

Lilas appartment, cassis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was the second year running that we stayed at Lilas. This indicates how much we liked both Cassis and the appartment. The appartment is in a perfect location just 5 minutes walk from the town and the beach. Shops and restaurants are close by. The appartment is spacious, clean and well equipped, ideal for two people. Victor is there to greet you on arrival and show you around the appartment and is easily contactable in the unlikely event of a problem. The view from the balcony is stunning and we spent much time there with glass of wine and a good book.
Cassis has a picturesque harbour and old town. The Calanques are well worth making the effort to explore, preferably on foot, Port Pin was our favourite. It is quite possible we will be returning next year.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A spacious, comfortable, central apartment close to beaches.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63018
+44 (0)1428 608360
Cassis Marseille area
Fair Oaks, California, USA
5

Lovely Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Dear Annika, I just wanted to take a moment to tell you how much we enjoyed staying at Lilas on our visit to Cassis. This was the last stop on our vacation, and I think the best and most relaxing. We have visited Cassis several times over the years but never stayed more than a day. But by having a centrally located apartment, we were really able to enjoy Cassis in the proper manner. Loved the food, the village, the Calanques, and most importantly, the lovely apartment. It was all that was advertised and more. We truly enjoyed meeting Victor too who was only too helpful and such a friendly ambassador to Cassis.

We hope we can visit Lilas again on our next visit. But until that time, please accept our thanks for allowing us to enjoy your apartment - it was grand!

Joyce and Guy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A spacious, comfortable, central apartment close to beaches.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63018
+44 (0)1428 608360
Cassis Marseille area
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
5

Lila's Appartment

Lila's Appartment
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I found Lila's to be the perfect choice for our stay in Cassis. Highlights include:

- The apartment was perfectly situated (less than 5 minute walk to the harbour, walking distance to food markets and grocery stores); very clean; and the kitchen/dining room had everything you could need to be able to cook at home.
- The view from the balcony was spectacular. We enjoyed having evening cocktails and appies watching the cap change colours from brown to red to gold. wonderful!
- We appreciated the very warm welcomd from Victor who made sure we knew how the locks worked, provided a tour of the apartment, and key directions for finding groceries etc. We also appreciated the nice welcome wine!
- We are avid hikers and kayakers, and I love to rock climb so Cassis was heaven on earth. The scenery is stunning.
- The people of Cassis are absolutely lovely and charming and were very patient and supportive with our grammatically incorrect French. By the end of the week, we felt part of the community and even went to a local church service which was lovely.
- The food markets on Wed and Friday are incredible. In our opinion, one of the best we found in the 4 weeks we were in France. Because the market was so good, we ended up only having one dinner out (which was very good) and cooked the rest of our meals.

Other practical information:

- We travelled by train. Getting into town required a bit of luck since taxis don't seem to queue at the station and we didn't have a phone or phone card to call one.
- While we were very happy to not have a car and could do everything we wanted, there are many more exercusions possible (e.g. wine tours) if you do bring one.
- For North Americans: internet is very spotty in France and getting connected in Cassis is either very expensive or inconvenient (the snack shop which is the best place turns off its wi-fi at 5). If you absolutely need to be connected, research mobile phone options.
- The entry and stairway of the apartment were poorly designed with little air flow creating a bit of a musty smell and the wall paint is chipping. Our initial impression of Lila's turned into a huge smile as soon as we entered the apartment itself. It's wonderful.

We would highly recommend Lila's to friends and family and we will most definitely be back.

Thanks for a very memorable week.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
A spacious, comfortable, central apartment close to beaches.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63018
+44 (0)1428 608360
Cassis Marseille area
London
4

Lilas apartment in Cassis

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This was a well-located and maintained flat in the very picturesque village of Cassis. Slightly away from the main drag so nice and quiet yet much closer than many of the other new build apartment blocks. The owner's local agent was punctual and helpful and there as a bottle of rose to welcome us - a nice touch. There were several flights of stairs to negotiate with your luggage, which might be a challenge for older people and for people with buggies etc. There's a lovely view of the castle from the sitting room and bedroom balcony, and a small kitchen but with so many nice restaurants we hardly used it. There are lots of nice walks and beaches in the area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A spacious, comfortable, central apartment close to beaches.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63018
+44 (0)1428 608360
Cassis Marseille area
Logan, Utah
5

Magical week spent in a fabulous setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
I had visited Cassis in 1989 with friends and wished to return with my husband. We had a wonderfully romantic and comfortable time in this fabulous apartment. Frankly, I could not believe our good fortune to find such a place that was quite simply perfect: to-die-for views of sea and Cap Canaille; comfortable furniture; laundry; dishwasher; equipped kitchen; bathtub! (The latter was very nice for hot baths after hikes to Calanques or Cap.) We have stayed in several self-catering apartments over a two month residence in France and Italy, and this was definitely the best. If we were not hiking, we had lunch on the terrace.
Victor was a treat--not only in his efficiency but also his very charming personality. Although there is no Wifi, the Internet shop is only a block or so away, lined up conveniently with the boulangerie, the epicerie, the Presse, the charcuterie. We enjoyed dining at Bistrot du Cassis (5 Rue Bremond)--on a pedestrian alley just below the apartment. The markets on Wednesday and Friday were terrific, and, in fact, we cooked every evening except a couple over the week's stay. We hiked to all 3 Calanques one day (5 miles) and another day just the circuit around the peninsula at Port Miou, but it was lovely having pique-nique at end of the land near what seemed to be ruins of Roman temple. We cannot say enough good about this place and highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A spacious, comfortable, central apartment close to beaches.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63018
+44 (0)1428 608360
Cassis Marseille area
London
5

Cassis Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My husband and I went here for the second week of our honeymoon. We wanted somewhere relaxed but easy access to good scenary and tasty food and wine. Cassis and the apartment didn't disappoint.

The apartment is in a fantastic location and has super views. This is a really good apartment to use as a base to explore Cassis and the local area. It is a few minutes walk into the old town but because of its good location it is also quiet at night - a great combination.

The apartment has all the usual facilities, was neat and tidy. We found there was no need for a car. Cassis itself is very pretty and has many bars and restaurants - we enjoyed it all! I would recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
A spacious, comfortable, central apartment close to beaches.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p63018
+44 (0)1428 608360
Cassis Marseille area
United States
5

We loved Les Lilas!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We spent a week at the apartment and never regretted a single minute. Here is our assessment:
Apartment: spacious for two (would be crowded for four), with generous living/dining area; kitchen with functional 2-burner stove, oven, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, counter space, pantry; bedroom with queen (or king?) bed, bureau and closet; modern bath with separate loo; tight laundry room in back; wonderful balcony that overlooks Med Sea, provides stunning views of Cap Caneille, opens from both living area and bedroom, and holds small table with chairs for the perfect glass-of-wine setting in the evening.
Location: Five minutes to a friendly boulangerie for our morning croissants and pain au chocolat. The same for the charcuterie which provided us with rosemary pork loin, moussaka, and potatoes dauphinoise to die for. The major grocery (Marché) is a steep climb of about 15 minutes. (No oxygen tents along the way, either.) Eight minutes to the lively harbor; we especially like La Paillote for dinner. Twelve minutes to the wonderful, clean, sandy beach where we lounged for an hour or two every day. The only down day was when the life guards flew the orange pennant indicating that the water was a bit froid.
Access: We came by train from Marseille. From the Cassis station you can either take a taxi or the bus (only €0.80; schedule is online); we've done both. Rep. Victor met us at the apartment gate and made us feel at home.
Attractions: The calanques are not to be missed. Bring a jacket or sweater and your camera. Hike to them or go by boat. World-class sights. We didn't kayak but many people loved it. La Routes des Cretes: if you don't have a car, a taxi can take you.
Service: Along with apartment rep. Victor, Annika generously provided us with all the information we asked for via personal e-mail. Making the deposit and final payments were virtually seamless.
Summary: An excellent value for a couple that desires a relatively quite getaway in southern France in a clean, well-maintained accommodation and portside town. Access to the harbor, shops, beach, and restaurants is excellent. We plan to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4