Alton Bay house rental - The view of the house from the lake, the beach is on the other side of the dock
The view of the house from the lake, the beach is on the other side of the dock
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Alton Bay House Rental Photos and Description
4 Closed Bedrooms + Futon, Sleeps 8, 1.5 Baths, Dock on Lake Winnipesaukee

## Cottage on the Bay ##

__________________________________

|

| Note: Under New Management

|

| 2014 Season vacancies: Last week of Aug, All of Sept

| Ask about Great discounts for mid-late September!

|__________________________________

Waterfront home was built on one of the premier lots in Alton Bay around 1902 and has been owned by the same family since 1918.

The house has been modernized, but it retains the old cottage feel. It has a screened in porch facing the water on the west side of Alton Bay which affords excellent views of Lake Winnipesaukee and plentiful morning sun.

The private driveway places this house over 700 feet from the highway. There is adequate parking next to the house on the same level as the main floor, and is accessed by a single six inch step.

On the main (first floor) there is a bedroom with two twin beds. The full bath is located on the first floor. There are three bedrooms on the second floor with one queen and two double beds, and a half bath.

The house is fully furnished. The kitchen is fully equiped with new appliances, dishes, silverware and settings for 8 persons. Renters must provide their own bed linens and towels.

The beach is located about 40 feet from the house via a concrete and stone stair way. (Vertical distance is about 20 feet.)

The boathouse has two outside docks available to the tenant which will accommodate up to 30 ft. boats. The sandy beach opens onto a shallow sand bar which extends for 100 feet into the lake with a depth of about 4 feet. This is an excellent and safe place for young children.

During 2007 this house was equipped with all new appliances including: Dishwasher, Clothes washer, Bottom freezer refrigerator, and ceramic top electric range.

The cabin contains a new hot water baseboard heating system was installed which includes an instant hot water supply.

A 50' Plasma TV with DVR is in the living room with three additional televisions all with DISH network.

Looking for Peace and Quiet? This house is very private and quiet as the rear of the property is mostly woods. The property itself is 4.5 acres total.

Boater? Bring your boat and park your trailer in the driveway, or rent a boat from one of the many Marinas around the lake. Park it on the dock on property for your stay. Take the Canoe on site out for a nice ride if you'd like.

Looking for Adventure? Bring an ATV or rent one to try out the many long trails around the lake. Travel a short distance to Weirs Beach or Alton Bay by land or water and have a blast with numerous attractions and come home and relax on the porch.

Have Young Kids who love to swim? Bring them down to the beach on the property. The shore is very sandy and the sand bar extends 150 yards from shore and allows for a large, shallow swimming area.

========================================================

DISCOUNTS Offered for:

-Early Booking (before 3/1)

-Consecutive Weeks

-Referrals (both parties)

-Repeat Customers

All rentals require a $900 refundable security deposit(cashiers check or eCheck) at booking.

Owner prefers contact by email, please use convenient form on this page.

========================================================

More Details
Hide Details

I am a Corporate Educator from the Boston Area and I inherited this now fifth generation family property from my father when he passed in October 2013 down here in MA. In an attempt to keep the property in the family I intend to continue renting it in the summers to pay the bills and fund improvements to the property.

Evan Burleigh purchased this house in 1918

This is the cleanest water anywhere, and when My Great, Great Grandfather bought it in 1918 with a house that was already 16 years old, it had the best location with a great sandy beach.

The accommodations are complete, with excellent views, lake access and modern appliances to make your stay comfortable.

6 Reviews of Property 62340 in Alton Bay, New Hampshire

Lake House with 150' of Winnepesaukee waterfront, Sand Bar, Very Private
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Lake House with 150' of Winnepesaukee waterfront, Sand Bar, Very Private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p62340vb
+ 6172333826
Alton Bay Lake Winnipesaukee Area
Iowa City Iowa
5

Classic Lake House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We have rented this house for the past 3 summers with our children and grandchildren. The house is the perfect, classic Lake House. The setting is as beautiful as you could find on the Lake. We practically live on the front screened-in porch overlooking the Lake and on the beautiful sandy beach (so nice and shallow for the little ones). The house has always been clean when we arrive. The four bedrooms and 11/2 baths have accommodated our family well. The rooms and floors are furnished in a typical cottage manner -- meant to be worry free when kids and dogs are in and out all day, sandy feet in tow. No stress-- total relaxation. The kitchen is equipped with all the necessary tools for cooking. There is a local "handy dad" who is available to help with any issues that arise. We've had no problem in getting our deposit back from the owner in a reasonable period of time and have enjoyed our e-mail contacts with him. In summary, if you are looking for a fancy hotel style Lake experience you may want to look elsewhere. This house is for those who appreciate a simple, bygone-era, Lake vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake House with 150' of Winnepesaukee waterfront, Sand Bar, Very Private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p62340vb
+ 6172333826
Alton Bay Lake Winnipesaukee Area
bedford, nh
2

Problems with this rental

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The view is great, the rent is cheap, and the lake is wonderful. thats it for the positives.
The place is dirty and poorly maintained. Old furniture, cheap dirty carpet, peeling paint, and just plain grimy. the pots, silverware, and kitchen appliances are older then me. the refrigerator broke while we were there and we lost our food. the deck on the back is improperly built and dangerous. the boathouse is sinking and on rotten timbers.
Biggest problem is the owner. Has not returned our damage deposit despite emails saying "the check in in the mail". Has not responded to our inquiries. We are in the process of legal action. My advice is that you do not leave nor pay without a return of your deposit. I suspect the issue is that they are strapped for money as the power was turned off while we were there due to non-payment of their electric bill.
Owner's Response: Rental has a new owner, trying to reach out to this customer to resolve any issues. Though the home will be in much better shape in the 2014 season than it was in 2013, the Appliances were new in 2010 and work well. The furniture is in fact old, very old, most of it is antique, part of the charm of the place. Any damaged or worn out furniture will be replaced for the 2014 season.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Lake House with 150' of Winnepesaukee waterfront, Sand Bar, Very Private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p62340vb
+ 6172333826
Alton Bay Lake Winnipesaukee Area
Norton, Ma
5

A relaxing, peaceful getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My husband and I rented this home at the end of the summer last year and it was everything we hoped for. We were overdue for a vacation and this turned out to be a great getaway. It was private, peaceful and very relaxing. We spent alot of time on the beautiful screened in porch enjoying the view and the solitude. Even our english bulldog enjoyed himself! He loves the water but isn't a very good swimmer, so the beach was perfect for him.
We looked at many rental properties online before choosing this one. It had everything we needed and the location was great. It was a very private spot and at the same time just a short drive to stores and shops including Dunkin Donuts!
We are definitiely interested in renting this home again...we loved it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lake House with 150' of Winnepesaukee waterfront, Sand Bar, Very Private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p62340vb
+ 6172333826
Alton Bay Lake Winnipesaukee Area
Monroe, New JErsey
5

Great spot! Great Landlord! Great Week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
I am a 26 year old female, who spent a week at this great spot last August. There were 8 of us in total. The house has a very cozy feel, and it over looks the gorgeous lake. The house is fully equipped with everything you may need! The house, although older, is very clean, and feels like home! There is a big TV (which we barely even used), as well as an awesome screened in porch that we frequently made use of. Additionally, the landlord ensures that the place is turned over quickly and that everything is cleaned out before the next tenant occupies the house. There is an available contact to call at anytime should you have any questions, concerns etc. (Although we didnt have one single problem or question while we were there!). It really was a wonderful vacation, and would recommend it to anyone and everyone to rent this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lake House with 150' of Winnepesaukee waterfront, Sand Bar, Very Private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p62340vb
+ 6172333826
Alton Bay Lake Winnipesaukee Area
Maryland
3

Beautiful view

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
As the review states, this house was built in 1918, so if your looking for a modern look, you wont find it here. I found both good and bad here. Yes, the stove and fridge are new, but as for pots and pans and utensils, bring your own. We had to go out and buy a pot and pan and a few utensils because the ones there were "not usable". The on demand water heater DOES NOT WORK and should be removed from the listing. Two short showers and the hot water is gone. The Filtered water was not filtered,, it was actually pretty disgusting. The deck off of the kitchen is held up by two 4x4's. I would not allow anyone on it or under it. The water pipes in the bathroom sweat constantly, so you have to leave a towel around the pipes. The gas grill,, well lets just say it needs to be thrown out. The life preservers for the canoe are unserviceable. OK, now the good. I can see why it says the property is located on a sought after area. Its view of the lake is beautiful. The water is clear and actually pretty warm. If you have smaller kids, they will love it. We sat on the porch every evening playing games and just relaxing. The beds were pretty comfortable for a rental unit. The TV, when we used it, was great. Surprisingly, hardly saw a bug. The owner was very responsive to our needs. So, in the state its in now, I cant really recommend it if your looking for new and modern. If the items I described were corrected and you didn't mind an older house, then I would say go for it. Remember that the cleaning is your responsibility. I also received my deposit back in about a week.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: The problems mentioned by this renter have all been addressed long ago.

A new heating system was having difficulty at the time of this rental. We responded immediately, and were luckily able to install an old electric water heater, which is still on site as a backup (though we haven't used it since). The system has since been replaced and works flawlessly.

He accurately described how well we responded, and how they loved the house.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Lake House with 150' of Winnepesaukee waterfront, Sand Bar, Very Private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p62340vb
+ 6172333826
Alton Bay Lake Winnipesaukee Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Just a note to say how much we enjoyed our stay. We especially appreciate the extra day. The weather was beautiful yesterday.

We really relaxed and felt quite at home here. The personal items (Alice's stichery ...) says much about its history. I hope everything is in order.

Thank you.

Jim and Elaine
Helpful votes: 10/10