Killarney chateau / country house rental - House from the grounds look the other way to see the lakes of Killarney.
House from the grounds look the other way to see the lakes of Killarney.
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps16
  • 7 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Killarney Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
Luxury Spacious Historic Rental Manor 7 bedrooms 7 bathrooms Killarney Ireland

Coolclogher House is a historic luxury manor home set on a private 68 acre walled estate near Killarney on the Ring of Kerry route.We are five minutes from Killarney National Park and gardens. There are lakes, mountains, beaches and castles within walking distance, and it is a short walk to the historic and beautiful town of Killarney.Dingle and Kenmare are a short drive away. All the bedrooms are en suite with wonderful views, and the super king-sized beds with Egyptian cotton bed linen ensure guests have a good night’s sleep. The beautiful kitchen is fully equipped, there is a separate dining room that can seat up to 20 and two large, welcoming living rooms with open fires in which to relax and unwind. The house is superbly decorated with antiques, art, polished timber flooring, books, flowers and luxurious rugs throughout. This is a very special place to stay, especially in spring/summer; it is particularly suited to long stays and for celebrating a special occasion. It is licensed for small wedding ceremonies. It is recommended by all the top travel guides and Irish Tourist Board.

WALKING AND CYCLING:

This is a wonderful location for Walkers/Hirkers and Cyclists with amazing scenery to be discovered nearby Killarney National Park is the ideal wilderness for the committed walker, or those who want short, stimulating and exceedingly beautiful walks. There are also many cycling routes in the local. One of the best longer walks circles around Muckross Lake and is 13km of scenic splendour all the way. Another passes through Tomies Wood, a fine oak wood nestled between Tomies Mountain and Lough Leane and passing the picturesque O'Sullivan's Cascade. The walk from Knockreer House to Ross Castle offers some great views, while the slightly longer trek along the shoulder of Mangerton Mountain. Torc Mountain which includes parts of the Old Kenmare Road is ideal for the average walker with stunning views of Muckross Lake if you’re lucky you might see a deer or rabbit on you travels. The park is full of wildlife and bubbling streams which add a natural soundtrack to your walk or hike.

DAY TRIPS:

Coolclogher House provides the perfect holiday accommodation for day trips to Dingle, the Ring Of Kerry, Blarney Castle, Gap Of Dunloe and lots more. Killarney National Park & Gardens, Ross Castle, Torc Waterfall, Muckross Abbey are within easy reach, some guests go for a run in the park before breakfast. One of the most popular day is the Killarney valley tour. This is 7/12 miles through a glacier valley which guests can either walk or take the traditional jauting cart. This is followed by lunch at a radiating Irish cafe and finished by a private boat trip on the Lakes of Killarney for 2/12 hours finishing at Ross Castle. On route from the café to Ross castle it is possible to take a stop at Innish Sallen Island where monks wrote early Irish history.

A day trip to the Wild Atlantic way is a chance to see the rugged and wild side or Ireland that our Irish ancestors would have experienced. There you will see beehive huts that were places of shelter made completely of stones found in the surrounding area. You can see waves hit the cliffs as you drive on the cliff side roads and see in the distance the Skellig islands and much closer the Blasket Islands. Visit Dunn Quinn pier where you can take a boat to the Blasket Islands or continue onto a secret cove where Ryan’s daughter was filmed. To lean more about Sleahead the islands and the filming Ryan’s Daughter a visit to the Blasket Islands centre is great stop for lunch and to learn about this fascinating area. Gallarus Oratory can been seen and is one of the best example of an early Christian church. On your way home a stop into the harbour town of Dingle is a must for a well-deserved pint of the black stuff and nice creamy Guinness in one of the many friendly and colourful pubs.

Other day trips guests enjoy are Blarney castle/ Blarney stone/ Kinsale, also the Ring of Kerry. The cliffs of Moher are also a popular destination. There are also numerous sites to see in a daytrip around Killarney.

There are many Blue Flag beaches a short distance away. There is horse riding through parts of the national park. Guests enjoy fishing and golf or relax at the house sitting under a tree with a cold drink and a book, or visit a local spa or café. For children there is a local pet farm and wildlife park, Crag Cave is also a short drive away. Evenings can be spent having dinner at the house, many guests have a caterer in to cook for them, or for relaxed family meals the kitchen has an aga cooker and there is an outdoor barbeque. In the summer many guests sit out in the garden until well after 10pm.There are also many great restaurants/cafés/ pubs/shops locally. Concert hall and cinema. The house is ideal for long stays as there is so much to see and do in the local area.

GOLF:

Killarney Golf and fishing club, Waterville Golf Club, Valley Bunion, Tralee Golf Club, Dooks Golf club and Old head are some of the may golf clubs guest like to play at.

FISHING:

Coolclogher House offers fishermen and anglers a truly unique location with superb accommodation for their fishing vacation in Ireland. The Ring of Kerry region abounds with numerous rivers and lakes, which provide some amazing trout and salmon fishing. The River Flesk is within walking distance of Coolclogher House, it has great fishing for salmon and brown trout. A stretch of the river runs through the Coolclogher lands by an Old Mill, this provides a truly unique fishing location. The River Laune is about 10 minutes from Coolclogher House and is a lightly fished river, which is excellent for fly fishing. The River Caragh is 20 minutes drive away and offers a rural location with salmon and trout fishing. Sea fishing can also be arranged during your stay. We avoid the more commercial fishing guides and we can recommend a number of local fishermen who know the area and the local lore which really adds to the experience. Easter/spring is a great time of year to visit Ireland. Coolclogher House is ideal for long relaxing stays and exploring this beautiful area .

Many great day trips which we can help you arrange. We can also help you with transport and local guides. Early spring and autumn is a great time to visit Ireland. Killarney is nearer the Gulf Stream which brings warmer weather. Coolclogher House is recommended by top travel guides and classified by the Irish tourist board under Historic Houses. The house is ideal for long stays family reunions and for celebrating that special occasion. Many guests return every year which is great. Coolclogher Historic House is a great place to visit any time of year located in the most beautiful area in Ireland. Many super markets/small food markets open 24 hours per day they sell a huge variety or food and drinks. A caterer can be arranged at extra cost guests pay them direct. Guests love this area; lakes, mountains, rivers and green landscape. We spent a lot of time looking for the ideal house and location Coolclogher House is a very special unique place to stay. The house is hidden away in a very private walled Estate surrounded by lush green pastures huge trees and a mountain backdrop in the distance you see no other houses and yet it is close to a town that has a great many restaurants /supermarkets /cafés/spas/golf /tennis/swimming pools. It is also very convenient for touring and seeing this beautiful area. Golf /horse riding/ racing/ walking /boat trips /Fishing can all be arranged. Guides can be recommended for walkers we also have detailed maps and information/local knowledge. Walkers are well catered for in this area with a huge amount of trails well signed. Fishing is very popular in this area both sea and river we can recommend many great guides to take our guests on a day fishing . Horse Riding and horse racing are very popular in this area. There is lots to do at Coolclogher House for children and the local area.

More Details
Hide Details

We have spent many years restoring the manor it is a labour of love and as most of you know an on going project.

Mary Harnett purchased this chateau / country house in 1993

It is just stunning in a fantastic location.The Manor is just beautiful fantastic light.

The manor is a beautiful historic building set in 68 acres of private secluded parkland with a mountain backdrop really stunning setting It is also walking distance to the national park and the historic town of Killarney on the Ring of Kerry route.The town has great shops restaurants and markets.

9 Reviews of Property 60012 in Killarney, Ireland

Historic Luxury Rental Manor on 68 acre walled estate on Ring Of Kerry, Ireland
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Historic Luxury Rental Manor on 68 acre walled estate on Ring Of Kerry, Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60012
+353 6466 35996
Killarney County Kerry
5

Beautiful Home, Great Location, Irish Hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Having rented Coolclogher House for two weeks in the past with six couples, we are returning this year with family to enjoy the wonderful home and the hospitality extended by the owners, Mary and Maurice Harnett. Coolclogher House is a special place in a special part of the world - great location for sightseeing and day tours in SW Ireland. While feeling miles away as you look at the sheep in the front pasture from the spacious living room, the home is convenient to Killarney and its many restaurants, pubs, National Park/Gardens, and attractions. Great location for golf with easy access to several of the top rated links courses(Tralee, Waterville, Ballybunion, etc.) along with some nearby challenging local courses. I would highly recommend the home for family reunions, golfing groups, or a couples vacation as every bedroom is well appointed and spacious. You will not be disappointed!
Owner's Response: Thank you for this great review we really appreciate it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Luxury Rental Manor on 68 acre walled estate on Ring Of Kerry, Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60012
+353 6466 35996
Killarney County Kerry
5

Manor-Style Living in Killarney

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
On our August 2011 trip to Ireland, we visited the delightful town of Killarney in County Kerry. Located on the Ring of Kerry, this popular destination offers everything your heart desires, from golf to castles, horse-drawn jaunting car rides through Killarney National Park, walking trails and wonderful restaurants. The town is tourist friendly with lots of places to stay, but none finer than Coolclogher House.

We had the good fortune to spend two delightful weeks at the magnificent Coolclogher House. This luxurious mansion dates back to 1746 and has been beautifully restored to its original glory (with modern plumbing). The manor house sits on more than 60 acres of walled and secluded land that provided us with both privacy and a gorgeous outdoor setting - complete with horses, sheep and rolling green meadows. A walk across the meadow to the edge of the estate property rewards you with beautiful views of the mountains, the Killarney Lakes and the spire of St. Mary's Cathedral. Inside, we got a taste of luxury living in an 18th century manor. Together with our dozen or so friends and fellow travelers, we utilized every room that the house had to offer. From the seven bedrooms to the spacious and beautifully decorated parlors and sitting rooms, we were comfortably spoiled day and night. We prepared some fabulous meals in the fully-equipped kitchen and enjoyed them either sitting at the large wooden table in the country style kitchen or in the formal dining room. Throughout the day, you could find a group of us sitting in front of a cozy fireplace reading or sharing our experiences with friends and family on our iPads and laptops. Our hosts, Mary and Maurice, who own Coolclogher House and are responsible for how beautiful it looks both inside and out, were there when we needed them and mostly invisible the rest of the time. They are a delightful couple and getting to know them enhanced our experience. I even received a singing lesson from their lovely daughter, Katie!

Killarney is a must see for any visitor to Ireland. But, it's not often that you get to say that the accommodations were one of the highlights of your visit. Coolclogher House was that and more and we look forward to returning there someday.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Historic Luxury Rental Manor on 68 acre walled estate on Ring Of Kerry, Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60012
+353 6466 35996
Killarney County Kerry
5

MC de Unie weekend in Killarney

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Weekend met de 12 mannen van de MC de Unie in dit prachtige huis in Killarney.
Alles zoals op de site genoemd klopt. Hele mooie slaapkamers in een zeeeeer groot huis met uitgebreide keuken, mooi landschap, natuurpark op 2 kilometer aftand (Torc Mountain)
De eigenaresse Mary doet er alles aan om je het naar het zin te maken.
Niet goedkoop, maar dan heb je ook wat.
MC de Unie Hilversum (the Netherlands)
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Historic Luxury Rental Manor on 68 acre walled estate on Ring Of Kerry, Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60012
+353 6466 35996
Killarney County Kerry
Huntington Beach California USA
5

Once In A Lifetime Experience !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We had the most wonderful stay at this majestic manor. Old World charm with all the modern conveniences! We truely felt like royality when we arrived and for our entire stay.Beautiful antiques and art work throughout the estate.Each room was en suite with wonderful appointments comfy beds and pillows we slept so well with the irish countryside right outside our window. We went on wonderful long walks on the property and Killarney Town is just a short distance away with very fun pubs and great shopping.The hosts, Mary, Maurice and their daughter katie were so welcoming and helped us with our day trips and evening plans.We plan on bringing our entire family back very soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Historic Luxury Rental Manor on 68 acre walled estate on Ring Of Kerry, Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60012
+353 6466 35996
Killarney County Kerry
Wilmington,NC
5

By all means !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2007
After many hours on the computer and even a visit to Ireland to look at property we found Coolclogher House!! We spent a month at Coolclogher House with all my family in 2007 for my 60th Birthday.What a fabulous experience. A truly wonderful manor house with beautiful grounds very well kept with glorious views The Best of the Best. Beautifully furnished livingrooms with fireplaces....with fires every night! The bedrooms were large with comfortable beds and fine linens. Each bedroom had its own bathroom. The kitchen is large and modern with a fireplace and large table that provided my family with many happy hours of talking about our travels for the day. Great outside grill..which we used to grill lamb chops for dinner. The grounds are lush and the out buildings were fun to visit...we missed seeing a new horse being born by a few days. Mary and Maurice were very accommodating...we became fast friends. Being so centrally located we were able to expereince all of "The West" with easy day trips. The whole experience was will worth everthing!! ...My husband and I returned the next year for a week with Mary and Maurice and then had two couples join us for the next week. ...We have returned another time and hope to be returning in 2010....always with great excitement. I would recommend this property to everyone that wants a true irish experience. It doesn't get any better.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Historic Luxury Rental Manor on 68 acre walled estate on Ring Of Kerry, Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60012
+353 6466 35996
Killarney County Kerry
London
5

A trip i will never forget

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Coolclogher House is a stunning house in a beautiful location. The home is furnished with lovely antiques/art work. The kitchen is huge and is a great place to sit, relax, cook and have wonderful conversations in. It is fully equipped with an Aga and there is also a log burner which really gives this spacious room a nice homey touch. The bedrooms are beautiful with large king-size beds on which I had the best nights sleep in years and the fact that every bedroom was en-suite was great! The owners also provide a barbeque and the spacious gardens and fields were a delight to walk through with the family dog Jesi. While we stayed at the manor we had many dinners but our most memorable were when we hired caterers which Mary recommended to cook for us in the beautiful dining room. Mary’s daughter Katie sang Irish songs from the area which was a real treat. I cannot recommend this home enough. The location is perfect only five minutes away from Killarney town and the amazing National Park. Mary organised all our trips and was available to answer even the silliest of questions which was a great help. I will definitely be staying here again in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Historic Luxury Rental Manor on 68 acre walled estate on Ring Of Kerry, Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60012
+353 6466 35996
Killarney County Kerry
Winchester, MA USA
5

Our stay at Coolclogher House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My family of seven stayed at the Coolclogher House for a week in July of 2009. My children, ranging from 25 to 7, were blown away by the majestic scope and breath of the manor house and grounds. My oldest daughther described it as "living in a Jane Austin novel". The whole week was magical and as hard as it was to leave the house, we would stroll into gorgeous Killarney every day to ride bikes, play golf, have tea and just meander around the prettiest town in all of Ireland. Mary, Maurice, and daughter Katie are perfect hosts with Irish charm and humor. They play their hospitality roles so well, it's hard to believe they were successful in London's business world. My kids have been all over the world and according to them this was hands down the best vacation they've ever had. If anything the photos on this site understate the majesty of the estate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Historic Luxury Rental Manor on 68 acre walled estate on Ring Of Kerry, Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60012
+353 6466 35996
Killarney County Kerry
Hinsdale, Illinois USA
5

Perfect Family Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We had the pleasure of staying at Coolclogher House during the first week of August, 2009. We were accompanied by our five children, ages 17 to 26, and another family of five, with children of similar ages. The house comfortably accommodated 12 adults. Without exception, the photographs of the house and spacious grounds on the VRBO website accurately depict the property, which is in impeccable condition, very attractive and equally comfortable. The owners, who occupy adjoining but separate accommodations, are from the area and helpful sources of information. After returning from successful careers in London, they purchased what was then a manor house in need of repair and completely renovated it from roof tile to floors. The kitchen and baths are all modern and fully functional. It sits about 3 kilometers from the center of Killarney and has the dual benefit of being a refuge for adults or a launching pad for kids who want to experience the late night pub and club experience. The spacious kitchen and large dining room permit cooking and informal or grand in-house meals. There are abundant grocery stores in the area and the surrounding area is filled with many dining options. Whether a large or small group, Coolclogher House is a great venue from which to explore The Gap, The Ring of Kerry, Muckross House and the national park, Ross Castle and the many surrounding towns and points of interest. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 10/11
business
Historic Luxury Rental Manor on 68 acre walled estate on Ring Of Kerry, Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60012
+353 6466 35996
Killarney County Kerry
New york
5

Best holiday ever.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
We loved everything about this Mansion, in Killarney where we stayed March this year for three weeks with my immediate family. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large, light, and meticulously kept and feature amazing views of the surrounding Kerry Mountains and the world famous "Lakes of Killarney". The grounds are stunning, an expanse of open space and trees that somehow offer solitude and tranquillity. The town of Killarney is a short stroll from the house, which was fabulous for the teenagers and the more energetic of our group. We had some great chats with Mary and Maurice who really made us feel so welcome!!! They gave us lots of advice and history the Killarney area. They have some beautiful racehorses which Maurice breeds as a hobby. While we were there they had a gorgeous little foal who was an amusement all by himself. Coolclogher House has become one of those invaluable places to stay in the world to which I always know that I will return, and I can’t recommend it highly enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 15/15