Santa Teresa house rental - Pool of Casa Don Tomás
Pool of Casa Don Tomás
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Santa Teresa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-7)

This two bedrooms, two bathrooms, swimming pool, beachfront villa, is located in the tranquil and exclusive North-end Santa Teresa, a quiet residential neighborhood a little bit over 1 km from the center of town and close to award winning and internationally renowned boutique hotels and restaurants such as Latitude 10, Flor Blanca and Milarepa . Casa Don Tomas is right on the beach, directly in front of the best beach break in all of Santa Teresa. North-end Santa Teresa, famous for its pristine and white sandy beaches is home to top model Gisele mundchen, her home overlooks Playa Santa Teresa and Matthew McConaughey, Leonardo DiCaprio, Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen and Matt Damon are but a few of celebrities that are frequent visitors to this piece of paradise. Casa Don Tomas borders to the North with architectural magnificent Casa Yin Yang and Milla La Maria and to the South with another great home: Sandy Lane. The combination of location, ambiance and beauty makes Casa Don Tomas in North-end Santa Teresa, the natural choice for your vacation.

Nestled amid the tropical forest but just a few walking steps from the ocean, the house enjoys the privacy of its three acres property. It is gated, fully fenced and landscaped with abundant gardens with thousands of flowers and thick grass lawn including a wide variety of tropical hardwood trees, Croatian, bamboo, bougainvillea, amapolo, cactus, cocos, various palms, lemons and guava trees, plumerias, and flowering tropical plants such as hibiscus, jasmine, heliconias, bromelias, tabacones and more. Howler Monkeys, White faced Monkeys, iguanas, squirrels, racoons and parakeets are just a few of the creatures you may see and hear right from your terrace.

A long driveway that extends from the gate to a large circular private parking area located just off the entry to Casa Don Tomas takes you inside the Estate grounds.

Newly remodeled Casa Don Tomas comes with a WiFi Internet connection, a full kitchen, refrigerator, stove, oven, coffee maker, blender, large electric griddle, cloth washer and dryer are available as well as a safe to store valuables. Daily maid service is included, except on Sundays at no extra charge. Josefa (Chepita) the house keeper will sweep the house, make the beds, do dishes and tidying up the place so that you can relax, feel comfortable and take a break from house chores.

The two bedrooms of Casa Don Tomas are a/c with ceiling fans. The main bedroom has a Queen size and a Full (DBL) size bed. The second bedroom has a Full (Dbl) bed and a single size bed. There is a sofa-bed in the living room area that sleeps one additional guest.

Separate Unit: Need more sleeping area? In addition to the two bedrooms forthmentioned a separate unit (cabin) with a Queen size bed and a single size bed, a/c, ceiling fan, private bathroom, refrigerator, stove and a fully equipped kitchenette, will give you the option of lodging 3 additional guests and can be made available as part of the rental for an additional fee.

Casa Don Tomas also comes with local telephone calling. International calling can be made from the house using your computer or a pre-paid phone card ready available in all the stores in Santa Teresa. Casa Don Tomas employs a full time groundskeeper and cleaning staff to attend to your needs.

For even larger groups we recommend that you reserve Casa Santa Teresa also (vrbo.com/104673), a three bedroom, 3 bathrooms home located in the same estate grounds. The two homes together and the detached unit can accommodate comfortably from 12-20 guests. Special rental rates may apply when the two homes and the detached unit are rented together.

No other house in North Santa Teresa has a swimming pool with the view and the proximity to the ocean shore as Casa Don Tomas. Swimming pool is for the exclusive use of guests of Casa Don Tomas only.

Do you need a nice place to stay in San Jose? Please see the web page of The Penthouse Apartment of Casa Don Tomas (vrbo.com/77704).

Keywords: Villa,Ocean front, beach front, beach,rental,santa teresa, surfing, surf, costa rica, mal pais

More Details
Hide Details

I was born in Costa Rica a few years back. At age 18 I left home and went to California, USA in pursuit of a better education. During the Vietnam War I joined the USMC and serve with the 1st Marines in Vietnam. Upon my return to the USA from overseas I attended California State University in Los Angeles where I studied International Relations. During the 32 years I lived in the Golden State I worked at different things among them: Played and sang with a Mariachi Band in a night club in Los Angeles, Was Director of Data Processing for a large Insurance group in LA. Toward the end of my self-impose exile in the City of Angels I served as Comercial and Public Relations Attache for the Costa Rica Consulate General in Los Angeles, as a Consul of Costa Rica in Los Angeles, and last as Costa Rica Director of Tourism for Western United States and Canada, before retiring and moving back to live in Costa Rica.

The Owner purchased this house in 1985

Being away from my native country for more than 30 years, I came to treasure from afar the natural wonders and the beauty of Costa Rica and its beaches. Santa Teresa was but a little fishing village lost in the wilderness of the Nicoya Peninsula. No one knew back then, not even me that the waves and the beaches of Santa Teresa were unique and the best in the country. It was love at first sight.

When I first built Casa Don Tomas it was just a house to come home to and spend a few days at the beach in total solitude before going back to Los Angeles to make a living. I have found Santa Teresa to be the perfect antidote to stress and the busy life. The four acres property of Casa Don Tomas in Santa Teresa will offer you plenty of peace and the best surfing Costa Rica has to offer. One of the big advantages of staying at Casa Don Tomas is that you are away from the busy part of Santa Teresa. The beaches of Playa Santa Teresa and further north are less crowded and hotels are more spread out. The pool of Casa Don Tomas has the best view of the ocean in all of Santa Teresa.

Some of the most luxurious lodgings of Santa Teresa are found here. You can make extensive walks along the scenic, white-sand beaches, bathe in tide pools, or curl up in a beach chair or a hammock strung between swaying palm trees.

11 Reviews of Property 56909 in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica

Casa Don Tomás Beach Front Villa/ Pool / ac / Wi-Fi / housekeeping
average rating of 4.571429 based on 11 reviews
business
Casa Don Tomás Beach Front Villa/ Pool / ac / Wi-Fi / housekeeping
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56909vbi
+506 8911 6161
Santa Teresa Puntarenas
Sweden
5

We had 2 wonderful months in casa don Tomas.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The house is simple but it has everything you need. Beds are comfortable and the kitchen is well provided. The photos of the property and the video are accurate. Josefa is a real gem and will keep it clean for you as well as she can provide you with a good laugh.

The true luxuary of this property is the location and the garden! Only a few steps away from the surf and with a supermarket only 5 minutes walk away. The garden is beautiful and the pool is very nice.

The owner has been very helpful when needed.

We had a very good time in the house with our 1 year old son and our parents.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Don Tomás Beach Front Villa/ Pool / ac / Wi-Fi / housekeeping
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56909vbi
+506 8911 6161
Santa Teresa Puntarenas
Bath, UK
5

Beautiful Home, Perfect Location for surfing at the right price!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Just got back from spending 6 fabulous days in Casa Don Tomas located in Santa Teresa Beach, Costa Rica and I would like to share my experience: First of all let me begin by thanking Don Tomas, the house owner and Chepita, the property caretaker and house keeper for having contributed so much to make possible one of the best vacations my family has experienced in many years.

Casa Don Tomas is the ideal place to relax with the family, away from the noise of busy Santa Teresa. It is located about 2 miles north of “Downtown” just far enough to enjoy the solitude of its surroundings and the distinctive sound of the crashing surf.

The beach front house is newly painted and everything in it is there for a purpose. It is a no frills vacation home, comfortable, well equipped and just the right size for our family of 6. We had a superb time surfing and swimming in its magnificent pool overlooking the Pacific. We enjoyed Santa Teresa and nearby Mal Pais very much.

I highly recommend Casa Don Tomas to everyone, not only surfers. The place is safe and beautiful but what makes it even better is the human warmth of Chepita. She will do anything for you with a big smile in her face. Thank you Chepita for your kindness and for the delicious tortillas you baked for us. Pura Vida Costa Rica we will be back. Almost forgot, a great Super Market outside the main gates to the beach property, Well stocked, good prices.

William T.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Don Tomás Beach Front Villa/ Pool / ac / Wi-Fi / housekeeping
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56909vbi
+506 8911 6161
Santa Teresa Puntarenas
California
5

Good Times!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Casa Don Tomas is a wonderful beach getaway location- you really can’t get much better in Santa Teresa, really! Don Tomas obviously had some serious insight when purchasing this property – for it is located in the prime surf and beach play zone of Santa Teresa. My husband and I surf and the waves offered a great experience for both the beginner surfer and the expert depending on the tide and swell – everyone gets some! Our family stayed at Casa Don Tomas for one month – we have 2 children under 5 and the house was set up perfect for our needs. The size and layout is great for families with children or for a couples getaway – the separate bathroom areas make it more private. Things we enjoyed: the outdoor dining area overlooking the beach, the layout of the kitchen/common area (we did some serious cooking), the proximity of the store (daily ice cream walks!), the pristine private pool overlooking the ocean, the wi-fi access, the privacy of the property (rarely encountered others staying on the property). Something to consider – we rented the Cabina for our friends and family to stay in – it is important to note that it is not proximal to the house, it is farther down the property and it is very rustic – meaning bugs, and bats, as well as no A/C. While my Tico friends were fine with the set-up, our family from the US chose to forgo the experience and hunkered down with us in the house. Just so you know what you’re getting into.
Now for the grand finale – CHEPITA (aka Josephina) – the woman who both manages the property on-sight and cleans the house. She is AMAZING! Our trip was so enriched by her presence. Our children fell in love with her and still ask for her. She is an incredibly hard worker, who always offers a smile. She is very respectful of your space, yet if you are looking to have a more engaging experience like we were, she is a joy to get to know and spend time with. She always did way more than expected, (like cut coconuts with her machete for the kids to drink!). Chepita made our time at Casa Don Tomas that much more special – THANK YOU CHEPITA!
If you are looking for a beautiful location, a Costa Rican experience and great beach play and surf – this is your spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I want to thank my guests for this fine review of Casa Don Tomas in Santa Teresa. It is people like you that encourage us home owners to continue providing the best options for your hard earned vacation money. I am very pleased that you spent a whole month at my home at the beach and that you and the family had a great time. You are right about Chepita, my property manager, house keeper, everything!!. She is an unbelievable human being always ready to attend to your needs with a big smile. Thank you for your generous words and do come back to surf with us soon..
business
Casa Don Tomás Beach Front Villa/ Pool / ac / Wi-Fi / housekeeping
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56909vbi
+506 8911 6161
Santa Teresa Puntarenas
Ocean City MD
5

Little piece of paradise !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My husband and I had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Casa Don Tomas for 1 month last year. First, I have to say, the location of this property is key. Located right in the middle of the beach in Santa Teresa, this place gives u privacy,peace and quiet at all times, the neighbors on each side are far enough that you don't hear them at all. There is a grocery store right across the street from the property which is so convenient ! The surf is unbelievable right out front. This town also offers many activities, shopping,and multiple choices for restaurants since this place is very cultural. The caretaker of this property is one of the sweetest lady ever, always ready to help in any way she can, she keeps this place clean and very well maintained.
Waking up in the morning and looking right at the beach makes u realize this was a great choice. Nice breeze all day long coming from the ocean helps to stay cool. Always a great ocean view while eating your meals or enjoying the pool. If you choose to come to santa teresa to chill and kick back this house is wonderful, it has everything you will need to have a great vacation. Simple but amazing, a little piece of paradise !!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Don Tomás Beach Front Villa/ Pool / ac / Wi-Fi / housekeeping
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56909vbi
+506 8911 6161
Santa Teresa Puntarenas
France
5

Amazing property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We had a great time at Casa Don Tomas, the views of the surf and sunset are magnificent. The pool is so nice, you can see the waves from the pool!!! The house is very comfortable, the rooms are very nice, the kitchen has everything you need to prepare meals, the terrace was my favorite part of the house, with comfy hammocks to take long naps in the hotter times of the day. Great for families and group of friends. The maid Chepita is an amazing woman, she's very helpful, and Don Tomas is always taking care of the houses and gardens. The location of the house is the best, the beachbreak in front of the property is fantastic, a supermarket right in front of the property, walking distance restaurants...you don't need to move too much...you have everything you need to enjoy a perfect vacation...great accommodation, surf, beach, food...you will never want to leave this place!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted Casa Don Tomas lived up to your expectations. Just before your arrival in Santa Teresa, I decided to undertake a major maintenance and renovation effort to keep Casa Don Tomas competitive and among the leaders of the area in comfort and beauty. I am very pleased with the outcome and to see that my effort is paying off; nothing pleases me more than to see happy and satisfied guests. Let me point out some of the changes that took place in the house and pool areas just before your arrival and that I am certain contributed to make yours a wonderful vacation experience: The house was painted in and out with a new coat of high quality paint. Pool Area: A new set of pool side and beach lounge chairs were acquired. Kitchen area: A new cupboard to store dishes was installed and new cooking utensils such as cooking knives, cutting boards, measuring cups and can and wine bottle openers were purchased. A new Oster blender was put in as part of the kitchen upgrade. The old gas stove was replaced with a brand new one. A new 12 piece Non-stick Cookware set was bought to replace the old pots and pans. Master Bedroom: The a/c unit in the master bedroom was replaced with an 18.000 BTU mini split u capable of cooling down the entire house if you leave the bedroom door open. New bed covers are in place in both bedrooms. A new hand free telephone was put in place. Bathrooms: New bath towels have being acquired and all the electrical wires have being covered from sight making the bathroom and shower areas more pleasant to the eye. Screen doors and windows: All screen doors and windows were checked and fixed when it was necessary. Roof: The roof was checked for leaks and painted in anticipation of the rainy season that begins in late May. Internet: Internet cabling was replaced and a new modem was brought in to replace the old one. You noticed that it is working like a champ.If you are planning your vacation around being able to stay connected with the outside world at all times, then please consider the possibility of having to go to a cafe internet (there are several in town) when the system is down or the electrical power is out. Keep this in mind and do not let this issue spoil your vacation. Many thanks once again for your nice comments about the house. Proud to say that Casa Don Tomas is up to par and meets the standards of comfort,quality and beauty expected by my guests.
Many Thanks,
Don Tomas
business
Casa Don Tomás Beach Front Villa/ Pool / ac / Wi-Fi / housekeeping
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56909vbi
+506 8911 6161
Santa Teresa Puntarenas
Woodstock, Il. USA
3

I'd give this excellent ratings, if the owner fixes up broken and damaged things

I'd give this excellent ratings, if the owner fixes up broken and damaged things
  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
But Don Tomas has refused to communicate or fix the situation, so the only recourse is to alert you.
Let me address the drawbacks, before you start dreaming. You cannot drink the water, which means about $5/day/2pp for bottled water and the need to make ice cubes, and have bottled water for brushing your teeth. We didn't find out that there is a central grill to use until our very last day, because there isn't a welcome book in the unit to inform clients or to advise on emergency evacuation. (There is an APP for your computer/phone for tsunami warning in Costa Rica).
There must be a leak in the roof, because the back section is covered in black plastic, ensuring a dark place for scorpions and other critters to hide. They sometimes get into the house, which can happen in a tropic environment.
Two of the three chaise lounge chairs at the pool are broken. We reported this to Don Tomas at the beginning of our full month rental, and they were never repaired or replaced. In fact, he ignored my request. Two of the screen doors are broken from people walking through them. The kitchen is very difficult to cook in. Two of the 4 burners on the stove don't work. The grease splattering the back wall is awful + I suggested that it be partially tiled for easier cleaning. The louvered wood cabinet doors are dirty. The cutting board and toaster oven should be thrown out and replaced. There isn't a measuring cup, a single sharp knife, or a cookie sheet. The Teflon pans are all scratched + should be replaced—very unhealthy to eat chipped Teflon.
We had a few other blips with ant infestations (no "raid" available--we went and bought it) and something dead on the roof that dripped into our air conditioner. That's another thing---the air in the master bedroom takes a very long time to cool down. This whole thing reminded me of being a kid and vacationing in the North Woods in a cabin. Hot water is tricky, and my husband assured me that the exposed wires wouldn’t cause a shock. But don’t touch them, please.

Ask Chepita for Alexi's phone number for fresh fish to be delivered to you at the Casa. (Ahi tuna $7/lb, lobster #10 tails for $24) She is your advocate, as she kept on Tomas's case regarding the poor internet connections. The poor woman works so hard--with a machete to cut the grass. I wish Tomas would buy her a leaf blower and other equipment to make her life easier. She is a GEM, but doesn't speak English--difficult w/Tomas's refusal to communicate
Owner's Response: Let me begin by thanking my guests for having chosen our home in Santa Teresa to spend their vacation. The Pacific coastal town of Santa Teresa in general and Casa Don Tomas in particular are indeed a little piece of paradise on earth.

As a vacation home owner of many years I take great pride in making sure my guests are comfortable and the houses they rent meet their expectations. I pay close attention to all comments regarding my houses. I own three rental properties, two of them in Santa Teresa and the third one in San Jose.

You can take a look at very positive comments about their vacation experience left by previous guests, by going to: 'All my rental listings ' section of this Web Page.

Most experienced travellers will agree that drinking bottle water instead of tap water is a good idea. I myself when I travel to the US or any other country I always drink bottle water thus avoiding stomach problems. Santa Teresa is not the exception and spending a few bucks in god drinking water is a wise practice.

Regarding the Internet connection: If you are planning your vacation around you being able to stay connected with the outside world at all times, then please consider the possibility of having to go to a café internet (there are several in town) when the system is down or the power is out. Santa Teresa is small rural community and all of these technical advances of the most industrialized nations of the world not always work here. So keep this in mind it is the same all over town, but do not let this issue spoil your vacation.

At the time of my guests stay in my property, I was going thru a painful divorce and if it seemed that I did not responded in a timely matter to their inquiries, I apologize for this. I have taken a serious look at all of the things mentioned in the review letter and have already made corrections and implemented the necessary changes.

The proximity of my house to the ocean, the salty ocean breeze and Santa Teresa’s tropical weather are the perfect combination to have things rust and stop working overnight if you are not careful and aware of the situation at all times.

Sometimes we all have a bad day specially in the rental business. I keep on learning and paying attention to detail hoping my rental homes will continue to be among the best in the Santa Teresa area. Many thanks, Don Tomas.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Don Tomás Beach Front Villa/ Pool / ac / Wi-Fi / housekeeping
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56909vbi
+506 8911 6161
Santa Teresa Puntarenas
Austin, TX
4

A Piece of Paradise!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We stayed at Casa Don Tomas for 5 nights in June of 2010. My husband and I were looking for a quiet, private home to share with another couple, and we found exactly what we were looking for! The pool was pristine and such a nice thing to have as the surf is a bit rough during high tide. The ocean is right outside the back door, and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. Although we had a few hiccups with the electricity that provides heat to the shower heads, it was properly addressed in a timely manner. The kitchen is a bit difficult to cook anything beyond the easy basics, but there were plenty of reasonable restaurants in the area. The woman who manages the grounds, Chepita, is extremely nice and helpful, but she only speaks Spanish. Luckily, I know some Spanish which was enough to communicate, but if you only speak English, you may have a bit more difficulty. She is always willing to call the owner on the phone who is very helpful though, so not a huge problem. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would definitely return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Don Tomás Beach Front Villa/ Pool / ac / Wi-Fi / housekeeping
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56909vbi
+506 8911 6161
Santa Teresa Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We want to thank you Don Tomas and Chepita for an incredible vacation. The perfect location, perfect accommodations and perfect hospitality. What more could you ask for? You both went above and beyond our expectations to make sure all our needs were met. We started each day eating breakfast with an incredible view of the ocean. We shared the view with monkeys, iguanas and Perone the dog. Santa Teresa was absolutely the perfect location for our 3 week stay, with great restaurants, surf and activities. The supermarket right across the street was perfect for our ice cream runs. Our afternoons were spent playing games and reading books in the hammocks. Our children spent all their time either in the ocean or pool. To say we were relaxed is an understatement, we did no housework--Josefa did our laundry, dishes, and made our beds, she spoiled us and always had a smile on her face and a great story. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. We will be back.
business
Casa Don Tomás Beach Front Villa/ Pool / ac / Wi-Fi / housekeeping
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56909vbi
+506 8911 6161
Santa Teresa Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
The place is fantastic! 2nd time in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa, first time in Casa Don Tomas and certainly not the last. House is comfortable with a great pool and the surf break in front of the house is a work horse. We highly recommend staying here.
business
Casa Don Tomás Beach Front Villa/ Pool / ac / Wi-Fi / housekeeping
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56909vbi
+506 8911 6161
Santa Teresa Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We just returned from our first trip to Costa Rica and the beautiful Casa Don Tomas. We loved the peacefulness of this wonderful home. Heaven on earth! What a fabulous home with great views. It was close to everything we wanted to do, and yet a secluded retreat. We would find ourselves racing home to catch the sunsets from the pool...what a perfect way to end the day! We were there during the "rainy season"or how the Ticos call it "The Green Season" but had only one day without sunshine. The thunderstorms from the house was like watching our own fireworks display. Thanks Don Tomas for sharing this wonderful home. Costa Rica is truly a beautiful country and we will DEFINITELY be back to stay here as soon as we can!!
Helpful votes: 1/1