Camps Bay villa rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Camps Bay Villa Rental Photos and Description
Detatched villa - for 2-5 people with private pool and garden

Sun Lion Villa, with its original and inspired architecture, is a house built to maximise the appreciation of the landscape that surrounds it. Viewed from the terrace, a sweeping panorama encompasses the Atlantic Ocean, Table Mountain, Lions Head and the Twelve Apostles. Built on an incline, the deck, swimming pool and garden overlook the coastline and setting sun. In keeping with the style of the rest of the house, the swimming pool has no square edges or corners, and blends into the surrounding shape of the private garden and lawn. A perimeter wall insures both pool and garden are protected from the gazes of neighbours and passers-by, allowing the guest total privacy.

it is extremely rare to find good-sized, detached properties for rent with so few bedrooms, because the average house in Camps Bay has 4 or 5 bedrooms, making it prohibitively expensive for smaller numbers of occupants to find somewhere if they desire the privacy of an entire property to themselves.

Information for golfers: The following nine golf courses are within a half hour drive from Sun Lion Villa: Bellville, Clovelly, Metropolitan, Milnerton, Mowbray, Rondebosch, Royal Cape, Steenberg and Westlake. A further nine clubs are reachable within the hour: Atlantic Beach, Boschenmeer, Erinvale, Pearl Valley, Somerset West, Spier, Stellenbosch and Strand. There are four more golf courses within the Western Cape Province; Arabella, Hermanus, Langebaan and Worcester, but those can only realistically be enjoyed as part of an entire day trip outing.

Some recommended outings: Cape Point Nature Reserve, Table Mountain cable car (only 4 kms away) and the famous Stellenbosch and Paarl wine routes.

For more details and photographs, you may go to the following link: http://sunlionvilla.webs.com/

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 55503 in Camps Bay, South Africa

Exceptional holiday home with panoramic view in Camps Bay
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
business
Exceptional holiday home with panoramic view in Camps Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55503
+33 (0)678 636569
Camps Bay Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
France
5

Brilliant stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2007
I stayed here with my twin boys aged 11 and we had a wonderful time. The view is breathtaking and waking up every morning to breakfast floating above the ocean was magic. The property was in excellent condition and the reception warm and friendly. Nearby we could find everything we needed from supermarkets, top restaurants to beaches and mountains. This house made us enjoy the best the Cape has to offer and is excellent value for money. We'll definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: And we look forward to welcoming you back!
Helpful votes: 17/17
business
Exceptional holiday home with panoramic view in Camps Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55503
+33 (0)678 636569
Camps Bay Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
5

Sun Lion Villa - Perfect 5 star location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
After a long and tiring search through various web sites we decided upon Sun Lion Villa. It was within a few seconds of our arrival at the property that we knew all the effort had been worth it. The moment you step inside the villa you know you have made the right decision. And if your not convinced just open up the doors onto the veranda and take in the staggering view out to the Atlantic and the surrounding mountain, simply stunning.
The villa offers a very comfortable stay with good sized bedrooms and even an on-suite in the master bedroom which comes in very handy. The bed in the master bedroom elevated to maximise the beautiful view out the Atlantic ocean, the perfect view to wake up to each morning.
The outside area provides more than adequate space to sit back and relax after a day out visiting the sights. It was so perfect that we found ourselves staying in each evening with a Braai and the sound of the ocean in the background. We have never felt so relaxed. The property is set in a very quiet street so there are no disturbances to spoil your evenings.
A few of the previous reviews complained about the stairs leading to the property but don't let this put you off. Yes it makes bringing your suitcase up to the villa a little hard work but you only have to do this once and when you see the view from the top it makes it all worth while.
I would highly recommend the villa to anyone looking for a clean, spacious and well maintained property to use as a base for exploring this wonderful part of South Africa and wouldn't hesitate to book another stay next time I'm in Cape Town
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exceptional holiday home with panoramic view in Camps Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55503
+33 (0)678 636569
Camps Bay Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
5

Great Time@Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
As a party of three (50/51 yrs with daughter 21 yrs) this place was perfect to spend 2 weeks in Camps Bay

The location has it all...the views, far enough away from the hustle of Camps Bay but all the highlights of Camps Bay and Cape Town are in a short distance.

The house has a very nice and interesting architecture is well equipped and clean, so we felt very comfortable from the first moment on.

We enjoyed the pool for refreshing, the balcony for breakfast, for sundowners and of course Braii very much.

Contacting and booking was very easy. Also the arrangement and information for arrival and departing were perfect. We had a very warm welcome and perfect support from the housekeeping.

It wasn’t easy for us to leave and we definitely recommend the Sun Lion Villa.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Exceptional holiday home with panoramic view in Camps Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55503
+33 (0)678 636569
Camps Bay Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
5

Camps Bay Cape Town in Springtime 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had a fantastic stay, we sleeped like babys and the view is breathtaking. Even the last day we saw a whale from the bed...with binoculars of course but we saw it.

Nice arquitecture and a very good mood in the house. The soroundings are perfect and with a fantastic view to Lions Head and the backside of Table Mountain. Easy booking and correspondence with the owner. Thanks again Anthony. We really can recommend this location.

We left with a really good feeling. Cape Town and the Western Cape is fantastic. We will return. Great people and a great country.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exceptional holiday home with panoramic view in Camps Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55503
+33 (0)678 636569
Camps Bay Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
UK
4

Good price for Camps Bay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
There is no denying the villa is good value for Camps Bay and the views from the deck were spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed sitting there watching the ocean and waves whilst the sun set. The villa has all the basic needs for a comfortable stay and the location is quiet and away from the main hustle and bustle of Camps Bay.

The only problem I had with the property were the 67 steps to the front door from street level. For anybody, like myself, who are not at the 'peak' of condition this number of steps might be a problem. Although the owner's initial contact email included a line saying there were steps up to the front door, I was not expecting the scale of the challenge awaiting me!

Apart from that little thing we had a very good time and the main attractions were easily accessible from the property. We even spent a few evenings in as it was pleasant to just relax after sightseeing all day.
Owner's Response: The steps are equivalent to three stories in elevation (two stories from street level to pool, and one from pool level to house). This has the positive side-effect of providing a higher level of privacy, and also acts as a natural deterrent to potentially 'unwanted visitors' (in addition the existing alarm system), which might partly explain Sun Lion's lack of crime history in the 20 years I have owned it. Despite the 'advantages' of the steps, they are also the reason I offer the house at reasonable rates in comparison to other Camps Bay properties, and without them, the view would not be so spectacular from the top!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Exceptional holiday home with panoramic view in Camps Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55503
+33 (0)678 636569
Camps Bay Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
Bavaria, Germany
5

Superb Holiday home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We had an excellent and most relaxing time at the Lion Sun villa. The location is very good (close to world famous beaches, hiking trails and good restaurants), and the view from the house is spectacular.
The interior is simple but stylish and the house is well secluded, build into the mountain slope.
Overall an excellent value for money holiday home and we will hopefully be back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We look forward to welcoming you back!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Exceptional holiday home with panoramic view in Camps Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55503
+33 (0)678 636569
Camps Bay Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
Ukraine
5

Perfect for our needs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
We found Sun Lion Villa to be a perfect home for our small family group! Anywhere else in Camps Bay we would have had to pay a fortune to have a stand-alone house with its own garden and swimming pool (without sharing) as most houses in the area have way more bedrooms than we needed. The mountain and ocean view is just breathtaking! Situated within a short distance from all Cape Town's major attractions and activities on the one hand, it also provided us with the option of retreating to the quiet privacy of the house once in a while. The villa is really well-maintained and the customer service is friendly and professional. We will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Exceptional holiday home with panoramic view in Camps Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55503
+33 (0)678 636569
Camps Bay Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
Lissieu 69 380 FRANCE
4

SUN LION VILLA

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
* Camps Bay is a very nice place to visit Cape Town and neighbourhood
* Beautiful villa
* Sympathetic receive
* A real problem with beds: the matress are spoiled
* It would be interesting to have a protection with sun (a blind) on the terrace
* Were it possible to switch on alarm during the night ?
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: A parasol is available for the terrace, which fits into a special holder that is welded onto the terrace railing. Please ask Claire or Shirley where it is kept if you wish to use it. Likewise, they will gladly explain the full functions of all the different alarm modes. If one wants it armed when home at night, there is a mode which disables the interior movement sensors, but keeps it active for the doors and windows. Thank you for your note about the condition of the mattresses. Update 2013: The mattresses have already been renewed twice since this review.
Helpful votes: 24/25
business
Exceptional holiday home with panoramic view in Camps Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55503
+33 (0)678 636569
Camps Bay Atlantic Seaboard Cape Town
5

Grandioser Ausblick - unvergesslicher Urlaub

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Wir waren über den Jahreswechsel 2011/2012 in der Lions Villa. Der Ausblick ist absolut grandios. Wir hatten noch nie ein Ferienhaus mit so einem gigantischen Blick. Absolut empfehlenswert. Der Strand von Camps Bay, die Restaurants, die Nähe zu Kapstadt - alles super. Das Haus ist sehr schön - ideal für eine kleine Familie. Der Pool ist toll und sehr schön angelegt. Wir denken noch sehr oft an die wunderschönen Tage in Kapstadt in der Lions Villa zurück.
Helpful votes: 2/4