Kailua cottage rental - Three miles of the soft, white sand of Kailua Beach
Three miles of the soft, white sand of Kailua Beach
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kailua Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

E komo mai to The Cottage at Hale Makai - our piece of island paradise in Kailua. Lying alongside a fabulous three-mile stretch of protected beach, Kailua is a small town on the windward side of Oahu. With no hotels in town, only local residents and visitors who rent vacation homes get to enjoy our island lifestyle. Kailua Beach was one of TripAdvisor's emerging "hot spots" for 2007 and is routinely voted one of the best beaches in the world by Dr. Beach. Your family will love this kama'aina (local) way to enjoy Hawaii.

You couldn't ask for a more perfect location! Set up for couples or small families, our one-bedroom, one-bath detached cottage is just 250 steps from Kailua Beach. Pick up your cappuccino at the Kalapawai Market on your walk to the beach every morning and your shave ice (snow cone) at Island Snow every afternoon on your walk home. Your family will love this Kama'aina (local) way to enjoy Hawaii.

Kailua town, with its restaurants, shopping, and entertainment is just a mile away. And, in just a short car ride, you can swim with the dolphins at Sea Life Park, snorkel in Hanauma Bay, hike the stunning Ko'olau mountains, swim/surf the North Shore, browse the "Swap Meet" at the Aloha Stadium, sample Honolulu's nightlife, walk Waikiki Beach, or get to the airport.

Kick back. Our cottage has been furnished in island style to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. You will feel right at home while you barbecue dinner on the lanai, wander to and from the beach, watch movies or cable TV, play games with the family or drift off to sleep in the comfortable new bed. We also have wireless internet access if you have to stay connected!

The detached one-bedroom, one-bath cottage has a queen-size bed in a separate bedroom and queen-size sofa bed in the living room (sleeps two to three comfortably, sleeps 4 if the children are small), kitchen/eating area, and covered patio with a Weber gas grill and outdoor furniture. Includes access to all the beach toys - boogie boards, sand toys, beach chairs/mats/towels and cooler.

Located on a large lot with a separate, three-bedroom, two-bath detached house, the cottage is available to rent separately or together with the house for larger groups.

NOTE ABOUT AVAILABILITY: You can check availability of the cottage alone by clicking on the calendar on this listing. For availability for the house, see the calendar link on vrbo listing #55006. For availability for both, see vrbo listing #101378.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 55009 in Kailua, Hawaii

Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
average rating of 4.869565 based on 28 reviews
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
5

Great spot for a family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our family of 3 (including a 2-year old) stayed here in late November right before Thanksgiving. The cottage was exactly as advertised: it's right around the corner from the Kalapawai Market, which in turn is at the entrance to Kailua Beach Park. We settled into a relaxing daily rhythm that included coffee from the market, a walk in to town for breakfast, then beach time. We did have a car and used it occasionally but would have done just fine without one. It's about a mile from downtown Kailua where you have your choice of good eats as well as a well-stocked Whole Foods.

The cottage was nicely appointed with amenities that made us feel at home, including a gas stove and a nicely maintained propane grill so that we were able to cook at home a few times. The bedroom was big enough to set up our 2-year old in a pack-n-play and the manicured yard was a great place for him to stretch his legs. Lisa was a gracious and responsive host; we definitely recommend and would stay here again!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the Kailua Cottage. It's a 1 minute walk to coffee, 1 short block to the great Kailua Beach park, and walking distance to a small strip mall, and 2 - 3 minutes drive to downtown. Buzz's Grill is walking distance.

The cottage is very comfortable. Lisa asked for feedback regarding any possible improvements and I can't think of any. There is a beautiful soft lawn to lie, stretch, exercise etc on, and the rooms are great. The barbeque worked perfectly. The towels are ginormous.

The guests in the main house were fantastic and I suspect Lisa selects all her guests very carefully. There is good barrier privacy between the cottage and house, but we found the other guests to be pleasant to talk with, without being at all intrusive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
5

Great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I have rented many places lin Kailua, This a 9.5 out of 10 this says it all
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
Altadena, California
4

A Great Spot on Oahu

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My girl and I spent several days in this cozy cottage located around the corner from Kailua Beach Park and thoroughly enjoyed being so close to the amazing beach. The cottage was well equipped for those who like to cook and was a quiet oasis for those leaving the urban centers of the world. Everything went smoothly in booking this property and would gladly refer friends and family to enjoy it at another future date.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
Bend,OR
5

couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The cottage is a perfect size for a couple. The photos are totally accurate. It is nicely furnished,
very clean and stocked with anything you could possibly need for your stay. It truly is only a few steps to the most incredible beach....miles of blue blue water and white sand. It is a great beach to take walks on and the water is warm and great for swimming (no giant waves). The store is just steps away as well and has great take out food (or you can eat in) as well as any grocery items, beer, wine etc you may need. There are also a number of larger grocery stores and restaurants in Kailua just a short drive from the cottage. There was a family staying in the house on the property as well the same time we were there. It was not an inconvenience in any way to have them next door. We would certainly stay here again if the opportunity came up.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
Portland, OR
5

Perfect little place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The cottage left nothing to be desired. It is clean, cute, and cozy. Everything we need to make our own meals was there. It's the perfect walk to a beautiful beach. The place has a lovely yard that was nice to just chill out on the lawn chairs. The bed is super comfy! The windows open throughout the place to let in the perfect breeze and you can hear all the tropical birds singing. It was like being in Disneyland's Tiki Room, but all of Hawaii is that way.
I would definitely stay here again the next time I visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
Houston, TX
5

Perfect in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We just returned from a fabulous stay in Kailua. Mahalo for your your lovely rental! The house and cottage far exceeded our expectations. It is very clean and there is plenty of space for families or couples. It had everything we needed and more! We love the layout of this home. It felt so good to open the windows and enjoy the soft island breezes. Just wonderful! The location is perfect. We enjoyed morning walks to Kailua Beach and Lanikai. We loved cooking on the grill for family dinners and took long afternoon naps. We also walked to Kailua Town to enjoy the shops and restaurants and had a fabulous massage at Lomilomi Hana Lima. The Windward side of Oahu is just beautiful and the mountains are amazing. We also toured Kualoa Ranch and visited the Macadamia Nut Farm. We felt completely at home. Highly recommend this rental! Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
Central Coast California
4

Great location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at this cottage. It was an easy walk to a great beach and the store. The store was so convenient to grab a salad or sandwich at very reasonable prices so you didn't have to think about having food on hand. There was a great trove of beach chairs, boogey boards, coolers, fins, etc. The place was very clean with nice furnishings. This is a one bedroom cottage and just right for a couple. Another family was renting the larger home in front and that really wasn't a problem. We would certainly come back for another stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
Pacific Palisades, CA
5

Great little place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Having spent many summers in Kailua as a kid I was very concerned as to location and amenities for my stay in Hawaii. This little cottage is great. While other rentals will say, “steps from the beach” this place really is. The 250 steps is an exaggeration. Although it is not on the beach it is very close. Not only did we walk to the beach, but we also walked to world famous “Buzz’s Steakhouse”, Island Snow and the local market. The cottage has everything needed for a long or short term stay. Although we did not use the AC, it is available if needed. The washer and dryer were great to have and very easy to use. My 8 yr old loved to throw the football in the back yard and the included boogie boards, beach chairs, beach toys, fishing pole, coolers, etc. were an added bonus. We even took advantage of the DVD collection. Can’t wait to go back and stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
san diego
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My boyfriend and I planned a last minute trip to Hawaii at the end of January for the pro bowl in Honolulu. We got lucky that this cute cottage was available after our weekend in Waikiki. This place was great for two people seeking rest and relaxation. Perfect location near the great market on the corner and within walking distance to the beautiful beach. Also within walking distance to where you can rent kayaks, paddle boards, etc. Would definitely stay here again!!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3