Beware! Nice vilIa let down on a number of levels
We stayed here in the middle of August 2013. Having stayed in Tenerife many times before I know the Island very well and knew this was a great location for La Caleta and El Duque. Just to point out, I am an extremely well traveled and have rented a number of villas before so don't treat this review lightly!
Although the villa is high spec, clean and well furnished it was let down by some very basic things;
1) When we arrived we discovered the air conditioning was inoperable as the last tenant had broken the remote control. Having paid a premium for an A/C villa I was a little frustrated to be told it would take several days to replace it as there are no remote controls on the island (I could not believe I was told this when there are 1000's of these units all over Tenerife). I was also told by the agent it was broken by the last tenant so it wasn't his fault! I'm not sure it was mine either as a paying customer.
2) No gas in the BBQ the first night I had guests for dinner.
3) On the fifth night of my stay when housekeeping finally arrived to replace the gas, still no remote control for the A/C unit as promised. When I took the matter up with the housekeeping manager, he managed to source one in under an hour from a local shop. Not sure why this wasn't done prior to our arrival, or as a bare minimum with 24hours of our stay.
4) This is NOT a fully air conditioned villa, so don't be mislead by the specification. There is only one unit downstairs in the lounge which only forces hot air up into the bedrooms. As a result you need to sleep with the windows open. But beware...its noisy. Not only the church bells ringing, but there is constant traffic to the hotel next door 24 hrs a day, and the local sea gulls make a high pitched warbling noise throughout the night. So both my wife and I had little sleep all holiday.
5) Although featured in the pictures on the website (the main one which has since been removed following my complaint), the hot tub in the back garden is not included in the rental. You can still see it in some of the photos now if you look closely
This could be such a great villa, it was just unfortunate the level of service is sub-standard and the specification is misleading. And one other thing to be mindful of, the villa is currently for sale, so if you choose to make a booking, check the refund policy! Hope this is useful?
Owner's Response: There are some things, which are not correct in our opinion:
We never have advertised, that the Villa is fully air-conditioned, in our advertisements, we have only mentioned that there is an air-con in the house.
The second thing is, that you critisized that you couldn´t use the hot tub. It might be shown on the pictures, but it is the same as the air-con: we never advertised the hot tub. It is a private thing of the owner. The house has also a garage, where the owner has his private things and it is always closed. I waited all the time, when you would ask me, why you couldn´t use the garage... It is also inside the Villa, that you have rented, but it was never promised to use.
You cannot critisize missing things, which never have been advertised and promised - not on the webside and not in our mail-offers! It was not part of the rental-agreements.
Let me come to the problem with the remote-control of the air-condition: the tenants which have left the house only some hours before you have arrived, have damaged the air-con. So our housekeeper has ordered a new one from the company which built the air-con. I told you many times, that Tenerife is an island and we couldn´t organize the original within one day - it is impossible! After some days our housekeeper decided to buy another one (not the original), because we didn´t want to wait longer for the original.
The most important thing for you was the air-con, you have been on Tenerife only some hours and you contacted me to get a new remote-control...
I think, you have been here for holidays - not for worrying about those unimportant things!
The third thing was the gas in the BBQ, which was fully consumed by an other guest. We didn´t know that till the time, you mailed it to me and we acquired a new gas-bottle the same day.
Let me come to the fact that the house is also for sale (incidentally since 3 years), nearly all properties on Tenerife are for sale, but everybody can be sure, that all rental agreements, which we did, will be done without any problems - even if it would be sold.
There is no reason to confuse other people with a negative review.
You never mentioned that the house was nice, your holiday was wonderful or anything positive. After getting back to UK, you mailed me that you will contact your creditcard-company, not to pay the rent to me or pay it later!
I think, that is not a good behaviour, we don´t need such guests in the future!
Hope this is useful?
Helpful votes: 3/3
Did you find this review helpful?