Jordaan apartment rental - Front of house from other side of canal
Front of house from other side of canal
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Jordaan Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, 4 persons max, beautiful canal view, tastefully furnished

Marnixkade Canalview Apartment is located in the historic Jordan district on a quiet canal in the heart of Amsterdam. Most Amsterdam landmarks are within walking distance and there are many shops and restaurants just around the corner. There is an indoor swimming pool and health club just one short block away.

This apartment is located in a typical 19th century canal house. APARTMENT HAS A BEAUTIFUL CANALVIEW from Living room and dining room. It is spacious and has been renovated to include all modern conveniences and has a fully equipped kitchen. It is fully furnished and includes all linens. Goose down comforters, and an entertainment system are just a few of the amenities. Historical accents include stained glass en suite doors.

Marnixkade Canal view Apartment is your ideal home away from home in Amsterdam.

Complimentary access to 25 meter indoor swimming pool (located 100 metres from apartment).

Marnixkade Canal view Apartment offers a smoke-free environment.

Our Philosophy: HOME AWAY FROM HOME

We travel a lot both for work and for holidays, and it is these experiences that have inspired us to create the Marnixkade Canal view Apartment. In developing the apartments, we have tried to combine the flexibility and relaxed atmosphere of a vacation rental with the local touches of a B&B and the comfort of a boutique hotel.

The apartment has been furnished with a theme and include the amenities one needs or wants when traveling, we strive for understated elegance, where comfort takes precedence over pomposity.

ENVIRONMENT

We have also tried to factor in care for the environment when renovating and furnishing the apartments. Eco-friendly features including roof-top solar water and photo voltaic panels which provide part of the hot water and electricity used, low energy appliances, low energy lighting, double glazing in most rooms, hardwood bamboo floors in the Mondriaan apartment, eco-friendly cleaning and personal care products and some organic food products.

We know Amsterdam: Marnixkade Canalview Apartments are owned and operated by Eelco and Bruce, a Dutch American couple. We are long-time residents of Amsterdam, and have been renting apartments on the Marnixkade for the past 12 years. We live in the building where the apartments are located and have been restoring the apartments step-by-step since we moved here.

We love Amsterdam, and we love sharing this enthusiasm for our city with our guests. Meeting so many wonderful people from different cultures is what motivates us to do what we do and continue to enjoy it. We look forward to welcoming you.

Details for Mondriaan Apartment 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4, 1 Bathroom

This Eco-friendly* third floor apartment offers fabulous 180 degree views of the canal and park from the living room/dining area. The Mondriaan is spacious and bright; the furnishings are of a relaxed contemporary style. There are hardwood bamboo floors throughout. The combined living/dining area has a table that seats four, a large sofa bed, arm chair, and an entertainment center with i-pod dock. The kitchen is equipped with modern appliances (refrigerator, microwave/convection oven, dishwasher, ceramic stove top, and coffee maker) and the kitchen is stocked with all the necessary house wares. There is also a washer and dryer. * The apartment has been designed and furnished with respect for the environment. Eco-friendly features include: - Solar water heating - Photo Voltaic panels provide a large part of the apartment's electricity - Low energy lighting - Double glazing, and insulating blinds
More Details
Hide Details

Dutch-American living in Amsterdam for the past 25 years. I have always traveled a lot for my work and holidays and have seen some great and some pretty bad accommodation. In developing Marnixkade Canalview Apt. I tried to capture all the things that I would like as a traveller. The small attention to detail is often the most important. I enjoy meeting people from different cultures and different backgrounds. As I have always worked internatioally, I speak a few languages, including: English, Dutch, French, Spanish, Afrikaans, and some German.

Bruce Haase purchased this apartment in 1991

We live on the ground floor and first floor of the building, and have slowly renovated it since buying it more than 20 years ago. The thing I like most about the building is the view. It has the charm of looking out on an Amsterdam canal with a quaint little marina on the other side of the canal, but what's quite unusual is that there's and a small park beyond that.which means that, at least in the summer, we don't see any other buidlings, just trees. This makes it very light and quiet. It feels like the best of both works. Because of course being in the Jordaan, there are literally hundreds of restaurants, cafes and galleries within a few minutes walk.

The property was built in the 1870's and renovated in the 1930's. Te stained glass windows and sliding stained glass doors are all original. But while it maintains the charm of a traditional Amsterdam building, it also has all the modern amenities including double glazing, central heating, a modern kitchen and nice bathrooms. Tastefully furnished. The other thing, important to me at least, is trying to make the buidling as eco friendly as possible. With a solar water heater, photo voltaic panels, and renovations that always take into account the planetary impact.

30 Reviews of Property 54555 in Jordaan, Netherlands

Mondriaan Apartment
average rating of 4.964286 based on 30 reviews
business
Mondriaan Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54555
+44 31206240164
Jordaan Amsterdam
HR GuestBook
5

Comments from Owner Guestbook

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2007
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
This comfortable apartment is in a quiet location and is an easy walk through one of the world's truly unique and great city neighborhoods into Amsterdam center. The gracious hosts make a stay in their apartment that much more enjoyable. Well equipped, plenty of space, good location, a fantastic value. Thanks Bruce and Eelco!
-David, Concord, MA

My wife, two daughters (13 and 10), and I spent a week in one of the Marnixkade Canalview Apartments in the fall of 2005. It was an absolute delight -- tastefully furnished, perfectly located in a quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance to the sights of Amsterdam, reasonably priced. But what made our stay special was the non-intrusive attentiveness of our host, who assisted us in many ways. Our stay was a perfect blend of the social connection one finds at bed-and-breakfasts and the privacy offered by big hotels. When we return to Amsterdam, we'll surely stay here. We VERY highly recommend it!

-Jeff Livesay, Manitou Springs, CO
Helpful votes: 22/27
business
Mondriaan Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54555
+44 31206240164
Jordaan Amsterdam
Vancouver, Canada
5

Excellent Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We arrived earlier in the day when the apartment was still being prepped for our arrival. Bruce was great and let us put our luggage in the apartment while we left and explored the city. The apartment that we stayed in on the 4th level is exactly as the pictures show. Very comfortable and we felt at home immediately. We didn't see Bruce much except at the beginning of our stay and at the end and he was great at answering our questions and telling us about the city and what we could do. The guide binder that he and his wife put together was excellent as it told us everything that we had questions about. We would go exploring from about 10am and get back at 10-11pm after a full day and it was always great to be there. Kitchen was clean and great and there were some basics stocked for us. Bathroom was very clean too. I wouldn't hesitate to book this apartment again as we would definitely return to Amsterdam for another vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mondriaan Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54555
+44 31206240164
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

Exelent time in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We spent 5 exelent days in Amsterdam, in Mondriaan Apartment II appartment.
Vary good location, close to all, vary clean and all necesary equipment.
Owners help us to order taxi and all was on best level.
Thank you vary much for good time in Amsterdam.

Best regards
Michael
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mondriaan Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54555
+44 31206240164
Jordaan Amsterdam
Madison, WI USA
5

Everything we hoped for

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The Marnixkade Canalview Apartments are in an ideal location close to the tram and the shopping and restaurants of the Jordaan area (and walking distance to the Central Station and various attractions in the city center). We spent 8 nights in the Marokko apartment and everything in the owners' description is true. The apartment is very well equipped and we were delighted to find it stocked with planty of food for breakfast plus snacks, wine and beer (and movies, art books, guidebooks, maps, hairdryer, et al) . While we found many restaurants in the neighborhood, it was also a pleasure to shop at the Saturday organic market at the nearby Noordmarkt, and be able to come home to cook ourselves dinner in a small but well equipped kitchen. The wifi was very fast and reliable too. We plan to stay there again!

While I am recommending this for age 55+ (because we are), it's not for anyone who has trouble with stairs - they are pretty steep. It's quite spacious for a couple but it's probably better for 2 people than 3-4. There is a sofa bed in the living room but not a lot of other seating in the living room (other than at the dining table, which does seat 4) and you have to go through the bedroom to get to the kitchen and bathroom.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Mondriaan Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54555
+44 31206240164
Jordaan Amsterdam
Portland Oregon
5

Week in Amsterdam great Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My wife and I just returned from Amsterdam after staying at the Marnixkade Apt, in the Jordan. The apartment was ready for us when we arrived early from Instanbul, key in the door, fridge stocked and fresh roses in the Window. This is perfect location to have peace and quiet in the Jordan, but close enough to enjoy all Amsterdam has to offer. Its a bit of a walk from Central Station, but very doable. The owners were available promptly if needed, but honored our privacy. Lots of guidebooks and maps in the apartment, along with umbrella's etc. Groceries and ATM are close buy, as well as Tram Stops. If your staying in Amsterdam, go for this, we will again.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Mondriaan Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54555
+44 31206240164
Jordaan Amsterdam
fort worth texas USA
5

netherland adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
If you want comfort, view, quiet, proximity to food, cafes, groceries, the primary canals, rental bikes, a gym with pool close by, and anything else a netherland vacationer could want, at a reasonable price, this is the place. With the owner and concierage in the same building, someone is always available to help. They pre-stock the refrigerator with supplies should their new tenant get there after the market closes. As one can see, we really enjoyed ourselves and when we return to the netherlands, this is where we'll stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mondriaan Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54555
+44 31206240164
Jordaan Amsterdam
Oregon, USA
5

Marnixkade Apts./Marokko Apt.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The Marnixkade Apts. are ideally situated to the tram, food, shopping and restaurants. We spent 8 nights in the Marokko Apt. and everything you will read in the apt. description is true. Comfortable, quiet, great location and with the owners and Allen living on the property, you will always have someone there if you need any assistance. We arrived on a Sunday and found the refrigerator stocked with everything we would need to have a meal, with wine; plus food items for breakfast. No need to go out trying to find something open on a Sunday evening. It was just so comfortable to come back to the Marokko every day after spending a full day out. Definitely would stay there again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Mondriaan Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54555
+44 31206240164
Jordaan Amsterdam
United States
5

We will return!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We just returned from a week in this great apartment. The hosts are very friendly, the fridge was nicely stocked which is a plus after travel. Location of the apartment could not be better; quiet residential area with many cafe's and pubs but only minutes by Tram from the tourist areas. We were very thankful we founds this quiet oasis and enjoyed every minute. We do plan on returning and will definitively stay here again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mondriaan Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54555
+44 31206240164
Jordaan Amsterdam
Haddam, CT USA
5

US couple - in their 60's - first visit to Amsterdam

US couple - in their 60's - first visit to Amsterdam
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Excellent apartment - well-furnished - well stocked with food and beverages - wonderful canal views - in perhaps the best section of Amsterdam - Jordaan. Owner very helpful in offering assistance to first-time Amsterdam visitors - spent easily 30-45 minutes with us our first evening - helping us plan our vist - educating us about the extraordinary museums, concert halls, cafes and flowers of Amsterdam! Would highly recommend this apartment without any reservations whatsoever!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mondriaan Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54555
+44 31206240164
Jordaan Amsterdam
San Francisco, CA
5

Great Place - Nice View, Lots of Goodies Provided; Close to Nice Restaurants/market; Great Area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I stayed at the Marokko for 6 nights with my 20-year old daughter. We loved the apartment, lots of afternoon sun and great view of canal. We were lucky as the weather was nice for the first 4 days, and we had the windows open in the afternoon. We walked from train station with wheeled luggage and easily found the apartment. We were a little early, and left our bags until the maid finished cleaning. Came back and showered, and were very surprised when she came back with food (beer, wine, cheese, bread & lots of fruit, not to mention pastries, etc.). Very close to markets and real, real close to small butcher with lots of fresh fruit and Greek pastries. Many good restaurants/bars nearby and after seeing the rest of Amsterdam really appreciated this neighborhood. Alan was very helpful and easy to reach. We rented bikes a few days and locked them right in front of apartment on the canal, and also walked everywhere. Very well appointed place - had everything we needed - I was enthralled with the dishwasher attached to the stovetop - and it worked great. Also found great maps in the info provided, included one with bike trails. Didn't try the washer/dryer. Beds were a little lumpy (clearly someone heavier slept on one side), and the trip up the stairs with luggage was a little tough (the stairs are very steep). Not suited for elderly or those with disability/trouble getting around. But, overall highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3