Urrugne farmhouse rental - Side face
Side face
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Urrugne Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Elegant Appartments 10 minutes to the beach at the foot of the Pyrenees

Welcome to 'Oyan-zain-baita'. The owners Steffen and Susana, a German-Spanish couple, look forward to welcoming you to their renovated and typical farmhouse. The house, which offers 4 lovely and comfortable apartments (apartment etable, grenier,larrun and ganbara), comes from the 18th century.

Since 2014 we manage another holiday apartment. The house Maison Ihi-Toki which belongs to the father of Susana.

The house Ihi-Toki was built 3 years ago and the holiday apartment is brand new.

The house is located in a peaceful rural location with a nice view of the meadows and foothills to the Pyrenees, at the foot of the mountain 'La Rhune' (900 m), between the idyllic villages of Urrugne and Ascain (5 min.). Close to Atlantic Coast St. Jean de Luz (10 min), Hendaye (15 min), Hondarribia (Spain) (20 min.), Biarritz (20 min.), San Sebastian (España) (30 min.).

The holiday apartment is equipped with a spacious garden with chairs (with grill) for the guests. The house has direct access to a stream to refresh during the summer. Plane-trees, a lime tree and an old oak tree give shade during the summer.

Destinations:

Only 10 min. from our house is the picturesque city of Saint Jean de Luz. The whale fishers went to sea here hundreds of years ago. Now, there is an idyllic harbour, a beach, a lively pedestrian zone and a lot of restaurants. Biarritz (20 minutes) is the more elegant city, a city of the 'belle epoque'.

The beaches from Saint Jean de Luz and Ciboure are the closest ones (10 minutes drive). The wonderfull beach from Hendaye (15 minutes drive) and the beaches from Biarritz arround 25 minutes.

San Sebastián (30 min on the Spanish side), the former summer residence of the king, is the culinary capitol of the area and many consider it to be the most beautiful city in Spain. Other destinations: Bayonne (25 minutes), Bilbao with the Guggenheim museum (1.5 hours), the pilgrimage site Lourdes can be reached in 2.5 hours.

Nearby you will find very idyllic villages with typical Basque houses, Urrugne (10 minutes), Ascain (5 minutes), Ainhoa and Sare (each 20 minutes).

With children:

I will list a few examples for children:

An old cog railway on our mountain (10 minutes), the train takes 35 minutes to get to the summit. An adventure park nearby (10 minutes), behind the indoor pool. Another park is only 15 minutes from our house.

The beach of Hendaye (15 minutes) and the lake of St. Pée sur Nivelle invite you to safely swim.

The zoo 'Le parc animalier Etxola' (20 minutes) and the caves of Zugarramurdi, where witches sat earlier, are also popular destinations.

Kayak classes in Hendaye (15 minutes), sailing and surfing classes in Saint Jean de Luz are other options.

Adventure and sports: There are only a few types of sports that can't be done in this region. Due to the close proximity to the sea, the Pyreneese and the mild climate, nature offers us nearly everything.

The sailing schools in Hendaye (15 minutes) offer guided sailing. Jet ski and water scooter in Saint Jean de Luz (10 minutes) rafting and white water rafting (25 min), kayaking in the sea in Saint Jean de Luz and kayaking on a river (5 km). Deep sea fishing with the boat Bateau Nivelle III.

For mountain bikers, hikers and racing cyclists, the possibilities are unlimited! The same for golf players with fabulous golf courses in Saint Jean de Luz and the area of Biarritz.

Details for GRENIER 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4, 1 Bathroom

The apartment 'Grenier' was the old barn of the farm house. In 2010 it was remodelled in a apartment with modern style. A contemporary construction in interaction with wood, you enjoy a nice sense of being in an attic.
More Details
Hide Details

Susana comes from the nearby San Sebastian and Steffen from Karlsruhe (Germany).

We have 2 children (Tom + Eli) and live since 2007 in this fantastic region.

We also live on the property and are therefore any time available.

Susana Pro/Steffen Heckmann purchased this farmhouse in 2007

The flats of Maison Oyan Zain Baita are very elegant renovated and furnished and offer a lot of place to spend restful holidays.

The region is described in our home-made guide very well and offers between the Atlantic, the Pyrenees, France and Spain nearly everything.

High-class standards (cleanness and equipment of the flats), extremely central situation for beach visits, excursions and wanderings.

24 Reviews of Property 538745 in Urrugne, France

GRENIER
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 24 reviews
business
GRENIER
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p538745
+49 017626930323
Urrugne Cote Basque - Biarritz
Portland Oregon
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our stay in the Grenier apartment was wonderful. The apartment was clean, bright and airy and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Steffan and Susannna were very welcoming and helpful. They were able to give us recommendations on where to go and things to do in the area. Their restaurant recommendations gave us our most memorable meals in the Basque region of France and Spain. Their home is in a picturesque area of small towns with easy access to the beach (which would have been great in the summer), San Sebastian for dining, and the Pyrennes for hiking. We had a great time and would love to go back!
business
GRENIER
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p538745
+49 017626930323
Urrugne Cote Basque - Biarritz
4

Urlaub in traumhafter Umgebung

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Wir haben hier einen tollen Urlaub verbracht. Susanna und Steffen haben mit Ausflugs- und Restauranttips voll ins Schwarze getroffen. Die Wohnung liegt ruhig am Anfang der Berge und man benötigt 17 min zum traumhaften Stand von Hendaye. Alles sehr sauber und sehr gut ausgestattet.

Wir kommen in jedem Fall wieder!!!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
GRENIER
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p538745
+49 017626930323
Urrugne Cote Basque - Biarritz
5

Superbes vacances

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Nous (famille avec 3 enfants) avons passé une semaine dans l'appartement Grenier. La description de l'appartement correspond très bien à la réalité. L'appartement est décoré avec beaucoup de goût et est très fonctionnel. On s'y sent vraiment bien. Le jardin correspondant à l'appartement est très agréable et permet de prendre les repas dehors - tranquille à l'abri des autres locataires. La baguette du matin est un geste très sympathique. L'appartement est très soigné et propre.

Les conseils des propriétaires - aussi bien le guide personnel de la région que ceux donnés sur place sont très pratiques. Nous avons apprécié les conseils pour les cours de surf, les plages et restaurants mais surtout le parcours de marche/course partant directement de la maison (la vue en haut sur la Côte basque et la Rhune sont magnifiques!) Tout le matériel de jardin, sport et plage mis à disposition est vraiment pratique, surtout quand on vient en avion.

La région offre une multitude d'activités aquatiques, de montagne, culturelles et gastronomiques. Tout ce qu'il faut pour passer des vacances variées, dépaysantes et reposantes. Nous recommandons tout à fait cette location et souhaitons à tous d'avoir un temps aussi magnifique que nous!
Merci Steffen et Susanna!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
GRENIER
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p538745
+49 017626930323
Urrugne Cote Basque - Biarritz
5

Nous reviendrons!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Nous - un couple franco-allemand - avons passé deux semaines fin juin/debut juillet dans l'appartement Grenier avec nos deux petites filles agées de 9 mois et de 3 ans. Susana et Steffen ont tout arrangé pour qu'on soit à l'aise avec nos deux petites. Il y avait une chaise haute, un lit parapluie, un tapis de change et même du linge pour le bébé (serviettes, gigoteuse etc.). Les deux sont unec crème et toujours prets à donner des conseils par rapport au visites de la region ou de te filer un coup de mains.

L'appartment Grenier est spacieux, lumineux et meublé avec beaucoup de goût sans oublier l'aspect de la fonctionalité. Il y a tout dont on a besoin pour se sentir à la maison, par exemple des livres à bouquiner. Il y a une machine à laver, un fer à repasser etc. L'appartement était en plus très très propre comme je l'ai rarement vu dans une location de vacances.

L'endroit est vert et calme et on n'entend que la petite rivière qui coule à côté de la maison (protégée par une barrière). L'endroit est pratique en plus parce qu'on est aussi rapidement à la plage que dans la montagne où il y a beaucoup de choses à visiter.

Nous espérons de pouvoir revenir l'anée prochaine!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
GRENIER
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p538745
+49 017626930323
Urrugne Cote Basque - Biarritz
5

2 Wochen im Juli

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Wir, 2 Erwachsene 2 Kinder (11 und 14) haben zwei herrliche Wochen in Urrunge verbracht. Das Appartement ist toll eingerichtet und wir haben uns extrem wohl gefühlt. Die erste Woche war noch etwas diesig aber dank des tollen von Steffen und Susanna verfassten Reiseführers konnten wir die Umgebung bestens erkunden. Die Lage der Wohnung ist für uns ideal gewesen. Prima um Ausflüge zu machen aber nicht zu weit entfernt vom Strand. Unser Favorit war der Strand in Hendaye. In der zweiten Woche dann Wetterwechsel 30 Grad Sonne und Surfkurs (Wellenreiten) für die Kinder. Wir haben uns total entspannen können. Jeder von uns kam auf seine Kosten. Wir können uns sehr gut vorstellen hier noch einmal herzukommen.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
GRENIER
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p538745
+49 017626930323
Urrugne Cote Basque - Biarritz
5

Urlaub machen wie "Gott in Frankreich"

Urlaub machen wie "Gott in Frankreich"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Toll eingerichtete Ferienwohnung in ehemaligem Bauerhaus. Mix aus Moderne, Funktionalität und äußerst gemütlichem Ambiente mit Bruchsteinwänden, großen Fenstern und hellen Räumen. Sehr geschmackvolle Wohnung zum Wohlfühlen mit Terrasse und herrlichem Blick auf die Pyrenäen.
Die Wohnung liegt sehr ruhig und ist als Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge z. B. in das nahe gelegene Spanien (Bilbao - Guggenheimmuseum, Pamplona uvm), zum Radfahren und Wandern bestens geeignet. Auch zum Strand ist man in 5 Minuten.
Steffen und Susana haben alles wunderbar vorbereitet, es gibt einen guten von Steffen zusammengestellten Reiseführer, Wanderkarten und alles was man zum Urlaubmachen braucht.
Der morgendliche Baguette-Service war das "I"-Tüpfelchen; alles wirklich sehr empfehlenswert
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
GRENIER
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p538745
+49 017626930323
Urrugne Cote Basque - Biarritz
5

Wunderschönes Baskenland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Trotz nicht wirklich schönem Wetter haben wir Ende Mai 12 erholsame Tage in der schönen Ferienwohnung von Susana und Steffen verbracht.
Die Wohnung ist groß genug, um auch zu dritt einen Regentag mal drin zu verbringen. Die liebevolle Inneneinrichtung ( Bücher, Zeitschriften, Radio, Karten, etc.) trägt ihren Teil dazu bei.
Lage und Ausstattung der Wohnung sind optimal, um alle Aktivitäten ( Wandern, Meer, Radfahren , Kunst und Kultur und gutes Essen ) auszuüben.
Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt und werden bestimmt wiederkommen.
business
GRENIER
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p538745
+49 017626930323
Urrugne Cote Basque - Biarritz
5

Wohlfühlen wie Zuhause aber in traumhafter Lage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Die Bilder täuschen keinesfalls - die Appartments sind auch in der Realität so modern und stilsicher gestaltet. Hang zum Schönen trifft auf professionelle Innenarchitektin in der Familie. So etwas findet man nicht so häufig in dieser fantastischen Urlaubsregion, in der jeder umgebaute Schrank noch als Appartment vermietet wird.

Wir (Sie 40 Jahre, Er 47 Jahre und die beiden Kinder 8 und 5 Jahre) sind bei Suzanna und Steffen Wiederholungstäter gewesen und wenn jetzt - im Mai 2013 - noch ein Appartment im Sommer frei gewesen wäre, wären wir wohl zum 3. Mal gekommen.

Empfehlenswert ist es für Gäste jeden Alters, die nicht auf Partymeile unmittelbar an der Strandpromenade stehen. Die Lage der Appartments lädt zu Wanderungen und Radtouren direkt in die Pyrenäen ein, ohne mit dem Wagen erst mal lange anzufahren. Strandbegeisterte finden viele schöne Strände entweder in Richtung Spanien oder in Richtung Biarritz. Mit Biarritz und vor allem San Sebastian liegen unglaublich beeindruckende Städte innerhalb von 30 Minuten mit dem Auto in unmittelbarer Nähe zu den zentral gelegenen Appartments.

Für das Abendessen deckt man sich dann eben auf dem Rückweg mit den besten Lebensmitteln aus der Region ein und bereitet sich in der gut ausgestatteten Küche eine tolle Mahlzeit oder nutzt den Grill im Garten. Auch wenn es vier Appartments sind, kann jeder unter blauem Himmel Essen, ohne dass man sich gegenseitig auf die Nerven geht.

Übrigens gibt es nicht nur einen Grill zur Benutzung draußen, sondern auch ein Surfbrett, Bodyboard und wenn ich mich recht erinnere auch Fahrräder. Sicher ist, dass jedes Appartment schöne Sonnenliegen hatte.

Noch ein Tip: Die Appartments von Suzanna und Steffen sind aus unserer Sicht übrigens perfekt geeignet mit Freunden Urlaub zu machen, wo sich jeder auch in seine eigenen 4 Wände zurückziehen kann, wenn man mal seine Ruhe haben möchte.

Viel Spaß in Wohlfühlatmosphäre in einer der schönsten und abwechslungsreichsten Urlaubsregionen in Europa, in der man übrigens auch noch bis Anfang Oktober Strandurlaub machen kann!
Niels und Barbara
business
GRENIER
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p538745
+49 017626930323
Urrugne Cote Basque - Biarritz
5

Tolle Gegend, schöne Wohnung, sehr nette Vermieter

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Wir (Familie mit zwei Söhnen, 11 und 14) waren eine Woche in der Wohnung im 1. Stock. Sehr sauber und nett eingerichtet. Susanna und Steffen sind total nett und hilfsbereit. Der von ihnen gestaltete Reiseführer ist super. In der Gegend kann man toll wandern, baden, essen, Städte anschauen, ... . Wir haben den Aufenthalt sehr genossen.
Christine, Michael mit Simon und Sebastian
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
GRENIER
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p538745
+49 017626930323
Urrugne Cote Basque - Biarritz
5

So schön kann Frankreich sein

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Neue eingerichtete Appartments mit schöner Atmosphäre. Die Bilder geben die Situation sehr gut wieder. Sowohl die Zimmer, Küche und Bad waren sehr sauber und gepflegt als auch der Garten.

Wir waren mit Kindern 13 u. 15 dort.

Sehr freundliche, deutschsprachige Vermieter die immer mit Rat und Tat bei den geplanten Aktivitäten unterstützt haben (Vermieter hat sehr guten Surflehrer für Anfänger organisiert). Wir waren mit Mietwagen unterwegs und damit war der Standort perfekt für den Surfkurs der Kinder und den Strandbesuch an verchiedenen Stränden, sowie zum Laufen/Joggen in die Hügel und Berge.

Sehr gute Basis für Ausflüge in die Grotte mit Steinzeitmalerei, die Düne von Pyla oder das Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao sowie zum Essen in herrlichen Restaurants in San Sebastian, Saint Jean de Lux, Hendaye oder Honderrabia (Vermieter kennt sehr schöne Lokale). Wir gehen sicher wieder hin. Oliver
Helpful votes: 1/1