South Iceland house rental - Northern Lights over Nordurnes
Northern Lights over Nordurnes
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

South Iceland House Rental Photos and Description
Cozy and peaceful cottage with beautiful views! NORTHERN LIGHTS in winter!

(If your dates are already booked please check out our new and third cottage Sel: listing nr. 2052798, http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p2052798 or http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2052798)

We offer 2 separate cottages for rent: they each stand peacefully by themselves and afford great views onto volcano Hekla, the mountains and the surrounding pastures. Cottages 'Nordurnes' (for 2-4 persons) and 'Bjalli' (for up to 4 persons) are well equipped, cosy and in a scenic location on our 130 Hectare. On our land we also have horses, an outbuilding and our home, all generously spaced out for privacy and views.

Ideal location for daytrips to all the sights in the South of Iceland! Detailed information and descriptions are in the cottages for you. We gladly assist you with any queries you have!

Some of the day trips: Golden Circle, Geysir, Gullfoss and Thingvellir; Skogar waterfall and museum, bird cliffs near Vik (black beach) and Dyrholaey. Or take the ferry to the Westman Islands! Blue Lagoon and scenic drive along coast road; Reykjavik in 80km. In summer you can take the highland bus or Hekla taxi to Landmannalaugar and its hot springs in the highlands, or drive to the bottom of Hekla and hike to the top!

The nearest pool is 7km away. Insider tip: a very rustic old geothermal pool in the middle of nowhere: Seljavallalaug gamla, info in the cottages!

A very good riding stable is nearby (7 km), catering for beginners and experienced riders alike, see here for more information: www.herridarholl.is

Bird watching: From May until the end of July you can watch up to 20 bird species around the house and on our 130 hectares. Feel free to roam around! There are paths on our 130 hectare and you are welcome to explore and greet the horses.

In winter you can see NORTHERN LIGHTS!

Details for Nordurnes Studio, Sleeps 4, 1 Bathroom

Through the separate entrance room you enter the one room cottage and take in the views into the landscape and onto volcano Hekla. The bright room has a double door onto the deck and large windows. The kitchenette functiones well and you can enjoy the view onto Hekla from the dining table. The seperate bathroom has a shower and WC. Up the 'chicken ladder' and you reach the open sleeping loft with 2 low beds (we can add 1 mattress if you wish): it is cozy here and in wintertime you can look straight out into the night sky and - with a little luck!- enjoy the NORTHERN LIGHTS! The sofa downstairs pulls out into a bed (140cm wide). Around the house are open countryside and horse pastures. You have your own piece of Iceland here! (The other cottage Bjalli is 700m away and cannot be seen from here.) Information on day trips provided!
More Details
Hide Details

Originally german, I have lived here in Iceland since 2000 with my icelandic husband, icelandic dog, chickens and horses! We love our home and we enjoy sharing our knowledge and experiences of Iceland and our area with you. Originally I came here because of horse riding and today I feel at least as icelandic as anything else! I am looking forward to welcoming you in the country I chose to be my home!

Maja Siska purchased this house in 2005

Nordurnes and Bjalli are each situated on their own in spectacular landscape: a cosy retreat with views onto horse pastures and mountains, volcanos and glaciers. And all that in an ideal location for trip to the sights of south Iceland, into the highlands and out for riding tours in summer… and the hour drive to Reykjavik ( 80km) over the pass Hellisheidi is always a scenic experience.

The atmosphere in Nordurnes and Bjalli is very peaceful and you are in touch with nature and the surrounding landscape. The idyllic setting with its views onto volcano Hekla and the mountains keeps surprising you! The next pool and the next riding stable is only 7km away.

35 Reviews of Property 535515 in South Iceland, Iceland

Nordurnes
average rating of 4.96875 based on 35 reviews
business
Nordurnes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

Cosy cottage in countryside

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our very own 'Little house on the Prairie"! Nordurnes is a comfortable, clean very well equipped cottage. Although it feels remote it is within easy reach of the main sights of south Iceland.
Maja and her husband were extremely welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed including local information to make the most of our stay.
I would definitely recommend the cottage to family and friends and now our sons have seen the photos will have to return with them!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying in Nordurnes! I am so glad that you got to see the Northern Lights:) You are welcome cam anytime!
business
Nordurnes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

Beautiful place to stay in a beautiful country!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our hostess Maja went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay in Nordurnes exceptional!
The cabin itself was immaculate and toasty warm even when the weather outside really was frightful, and the pretty decorative touches made it feel very comfortable and welcoming. We didn't even have to get out of bed to watch the sky at night thanks to the clever layout!
All the information we could have needed was provided and we were encouraged to just ask if there was anything we needed. Great sets of directions were sent beforehand, includng tips about where to avoid in bad weather - hugely useful and we didn't get lost once.
The location was also very good indeed. Off the main route 1, it was peaceful and quiet but not too far out of the way, making travel to attractions and activities easy.
We will definitely be coming back!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying with us:) and hopefully we´ll see you gain some time!
business
Nordurnes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

A memorable stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Nordurnes is the most unforgettable, beautiful and perfect place to stay and enjoy the South of Iceland. It is by far the most memorable stay we have had anywhere in the world. We intend to return.

If you are after a relaxing, awe-inspiring, remote place to stay which still has easy access to towns and sights across the whole of the South of Iceland, then I would recommend it as your first choice.

The cottage:

We arrived to find an immaculately presented little cottage, which was open for us to enter without having to pick up keys beforehand. Soon after our arrival, Maja came down to greet us. She was approachable and very friendly and re-assured us that if we needed her at any point during our stay, we could pop over to her house, which is about 100 meters or so away. She then left us to it.

Nordurnes was perfectly sized for the two of us. It is beautifully furnished and provided an ideal space to relax in the days and evenings. The bedroom, which is on an upper level overlooking the longe, is a very quaint and charming feature. a small window positioned at eye level behind the pillows provides a unique opportunity to gaze out into the night's sky, which is always majestic (perfect for seeing the Northern Lights if they decide to appear).

Location:

The location is stunning. The surrounding views of mountains, valleys and fields are the type that are so beautiful, I wouldn't be able to do them justice in this review. You'll have to see them first hand.

Things to do:

There are a wealth of things to do (and we went in the winter period when there are generally less things open). While we were there, we saw the Geezers, the stunning Gullfoss waterfalls and the fascinating town of Hveragerdi with its surrounding geothermal activity. These are just a few of many places we could have visited with ease. We just didn't have the time.

Information provided on arrival:

Maja is extremely well organised. She provides folders in the cottage with valuable information about Iceland and the various things to do. This included contact details for services that provide tours to the sights around the South. It even included the weather prediction for the length of our stay.

Other facts:

- The directions provided are very efficient. We had no problem finding Nordurnes despite its location 15 minutes off the main road.

- Nordurnes is within an easily manageable distance from Keflavik airport (Approximately 1 hour 30 minutes drive).
Owner's Response: oh my:) Thank you so much for this detailed review. I am so pleased that you had such a fantastic stay and a good time in our cottage and in Iceland. Even in the off season the landscape and many of the attractions are just awe inspiring. And sometimes the changing weather and lighting conditions just add to the magic! I am happy to share it with you! :)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Nordurnes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

Favorite stay in Iceland!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The perfect place to get away from it all. Nordunes is such a wonderful cottage with everything you need and more. Comfortable, Clean, ambiance, views galore! Maja is very friendly and extremely helpful. We were lucky is see the northern lights and had clear skies all around to enjoy the view. I would love to come back again and stay even longer. Ever since we've come home from our travels we keep saying...I wish we were back at the cottage Nordunes!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying with us. I am glad we managed to "switch on " the Northern Lights for you:) See you next time!
business
Nordurnes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

As Awesome AS it Looks

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at Nordurnes, we arrived late evening to an immaculate, cosy and warm cottage. Directions we had been given were easy to follow even though it was dark. Maja had left the lights on, so locating the cottage wasn't a problem. Woke up the following morning to realise the beauty of our surroundings and to be greeted by the lovely Maja & Skinna. The weather wasn't great but Maja gave us some great advice as well as directions and the best routes to take for our travels. The welcome pack was really comprehensive and we found it very useful for our first visit to Iceland. The cottage is really well equipped, with everything we needed to make a good meal, there was even quite a lot of basic larder items left from previous guests. The cottage was in such a convenient location that we were able to drive up to the golden circle as well as Selandjafoss, Skogafoss and Vik. We would definitely recommend Nordurnes to our friends and family as it made our first time in Iceland perfect. Our only regret is that we weren't there for long enough, will definitely be returning!
Owner's Response: Thank you! We enjoy sharing Iceland and its beauty with our guests! Hope to see you again some time! All the best:)
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Nordurnes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
Plainfield, New Hampshire
5

Great Get-Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This cosy cottage on a windswept ridge was the perfect place for three traveling companions (aged 50+) to discover the Iceland that lay beyond the "Golden Circle". Surrounded by rolling hills punctuated with Icelandic ponies and sheep under the gaze of a snow capped volcano, it provided an excellent home base from which to explore the traditional sightseeing highlights of South Western Iceland, and yet allowed us to retreat to a rural setting each evening to enjoy spectacular sunsets.
The cottage was immaculately maintained, felt sturdy and snug, and though small, was so well appointed that three of us fit comfortably. The kitchenette was well equipped allowing us to easily cook our meals. One day we were even surprised with a half dozen farm fresh eggs! The sleeping arrangements included a loft with three mattresses (which we used) and a pull out couch (which we did not try, but looked fine).
The owner graciously provided suggestions and travel advice for hiking and outings both in a booklet in the cottage and in personal communications. Her suggestions for restaurants and some less travelled routes were unerringly right on. We enjoyed the hiking in the Hengill region, liked Hveragerði, found a lovely short hike from Stong, and loved the unpaved portion of the rift valley in Þingvellir. Of course we also enjoyed the highlights of the Golden Circle, the waterfalls of the southern coast, and the cliffs of Dyrhólaey, too. A more ambitious outing took us to Snaefellsjokull, and a beautiful walk along the coast, but this was a very long day. Only with daylight well past ten pm (in May) was Snaefellsjokull doable as a day trip.
We would definitely recommend this location and cottage to friends and family, and hope that others find it as remarkable as we did! Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/9
business
Nordurnes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
Montreal
5

Absolument magnifique!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Nous avons fait un voyage inoubliable dans un lieu de rêve. La maison est exactement telle que vous la voyez en photo, aussi propre et coquette. Les paysages sont grandioses. Elle est magnifiquement située entre Selfoss et Hella, ce qui facilite la découverte du sud de l'Islande grandement. En une semaine, nous avons fait le Golden circle, Reykjavik, le Blue Lagoon, Skogar, Vik, Skaftafell et Jokulsarlon. Nous avons monté le volcan Hekla et nous nous sommes aventurés sur la route vers Thorsmork.

Maja, la propriétaire, est d'une grande générosité. Fort sympathique, elle nous initie aux us et coutumes de ce peuple si particulier. Elle sait respecter l'intimité des voyageurs, tout en étant présente lorsqu'il le faut.

Nous n'oublierons jamais notre séjour à Nordunes. Cette maison est un bijou pour les voyageurs qui désirent voir toutes les splendeurs de l'Islande.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Nordurnes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
Philadelphia
5

Our favorite cottage stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
This was the first place we stayed upon arriving in Iceland and turned out to be our favorite. We loved the rural location, the wide open space, the view of Hekla and the evening sunsets. The property is in excellent condition and the owner provided great information for us. During our stay we travelled to an explosion crater, went horseback riding, visited the black sand beaches and visited the local women's cooperative to buy Icelandic sweaters. The cooperative is not to be missed as these were the highest quality sweaters of any we saw in Iceland. Animal lovers will enjoy the owner's Icelandic sheepdog and the neighboring herds of horses. So beautiful! All in all, a memorable visit for us. Highly recommend this cottage. Best to have a 4 wheel drive!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/10
business
Nordurnes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

Ein Ort, wo man zur Ruhe kommt

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Wer die Ruhe und Einsamkeit mag-wie wir, wird sich hier sehr wohl fühlen. da, Das Häuschen ist wirklich fernab von Verkehrslärm und Stadttrubel. Es ist super gemütlich und liebevoll eingerichtet.Es ist alles da, was man braucht und das Haus ist sehr sauber. Maja, die Vermieterin ist total nett und unkompliziert. Wenn man Fragen hat, oder irgend etwas fehlen sollte- kein Problem. Das Haus ist ideal , um Nordlichter zu beobachten.
Absolut empfehlenswertes Feriendomizi!
Owner's Response: Danke fuer Euren Besuch und Alles Gute!
business
Nordurnes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

Traumhafter Blick und Ruhe pur!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Das Ferienhäuschen war ein Traum! Allein in der Natur, umgeben von Wiesen mit Islandpferden, mit Golgregenpfeiffer und Alpenschneehühner, einem Blick auf die Hekla ... einfach nur traumhaft!!! Wer ein stilvoll eingerichtetes und typisch isländisches Cottage sucht, ist hier absolut richtig! Ein herzlichen Dank auch an Maja für den herzlichen Empfang! Wir wären so gerne noch länger geblieben!
Owner's Response: Herzlichen Dank fuer Euren Besuch! Hekla und Skinnhufa grüßen:)