Connemara cottage rental - Casey's Cottage
Casey's Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Connemara Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Mountains & Lakes surround this 200 year old Cottage,beautifuly restored in 2004

Casey's Cottage is located in the scenic mountains and lakes in the surroundings of North Connemara.

This historic country house was built in the period before the famine of the Casey family.

In 2004 it was renovated CAREFULLY to retain the original features, including a thatched roof.

The villa is located 3 minutes from Lough Mask and 8 km from Lough Corrib, two of the largest lakes in Ireland.

You can take a beautiful walk along the road and reach the village of Clonbur (4km). There you will find restaurants, nice pubs and shops. The location is an ideal base for playing golf, fly fishing, horseback riding and hiking, and even for those who just want to stay away from it all.

Gearoid Burke, the owner, lives just around the corner and would be glad to assist you.

8 Reviews of Property 529821 in Connemara, Ireland

Beautiful Thatched Cottage in a Scenic Mountain Valley, Connemara, Co. Galway
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Beautiful Thatched Cottage in a Scenic Mountain Valley, Connemara, Co. Galway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p529821
Connemara County Galway
Where do you live?
5

Christmas in Clonbur

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
A fairytale cottage in a warm and welcoming community! The hosts are so accommodating, as are the folks in town at the pubs. A car rental is a must in order to explore the area. The cottage was decorated for our Christmas holiday, and the Burkes left us gifts as well! We hope to return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments and I am glad you had a great time, thank you for the U.S. Coast Guard caps you brought with you. I'm sorry I did not get a chance to meet you, I was working over the Christmas period (Retail) but maybe next time? All the very best, regards, Gerald.
business
Beautiful Thatched Cottage in a Scenic Mountain Valley, Connemara, Co. Galway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p529821
Connemara County Galway
New Mexico
5

Charming place to live sort of like your ancestors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This cottage is perfect to give you an idea of how your ancestors lived--but with modern conveniences. The cottage is just as it appears in the photos. It does have 2 bathrooms, one being behind the red door in the master bedroom. It is tiny, sort of like on an older cruise ship, but charming. The washer & dryer are separate units (rather than a combo unit) & work well. The kitchen is compact but has what is needed to cook a meal. Note that the dishwasher is no longer functioning, so bring some rubber gloves to spare your hands when washing dishes. The coffee pot is one of the French Press style, so learn how to do that before arriving. The "king" beds are really more Queen size. There is no wifi at the cottage, but you can go to Burkes Pub in Clonbur, have a pint & use their wifi.
The cottage is about 15 minutes from the village of Cong, famous as the filming location for the John Wayne move The Quiet Man. Pat Cohan's Pub is still right on the corner. It even has a nook that looks just like the pub did in the movie-be sure to look at all of the photos they have posted. The cottage is a good base for touring into Connemara-which is just beautiful. Just mind the sheep in the road!
Casey's Cottage was a wonderful week. At night it is so quiet you can't believe your ears. And if you luck into a clear night, the stars are magnificent since there is little interference from street lights, etc. A great, quaint place to stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Thatched Cottage in a Scenic Mountain Valley, Connemara, Co. Galway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p529821
Connemara County Galway
Hopedale, Massachusetts
5

A Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had the pleasure of staying at Casey's Cottage in June 2013. Without a doubt this area is one of the hidden gems of Ireland. This lovely cottage is nestled among the mountains and lakes of Connemara. The cottage is located only a short walk from the shores of Lough Mask. Lough Corrib and Lough Nafooey are only a short drive by car. Each day we would venture out to all parts of Connemara and Mayo. The cottage itself has been remodeled with all of the modern conveniences yet it still maintains the cozy charm of a 19th century cottage. The owners added so many extra touches including videos, turf for the fire and enough food to help us enjoy an Irish breakfast each morning. The kitchen is fully equipped, and the oven was newly purchased before our arrival. For those interested in the pub scene the towns of Clonbur and Cong are a few miles away. Staying at Casey's Cottage truly enhanced our Irish experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Thatched Cottage in a Scenic Mountain Valley, Connemara, Co. Galway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p529821
Connemara County Galway
Castle Rock, CO
5

~~OUTSTANDING~~

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
One of my husband's favorite movies is "The Quiet Man" starring John Wayne and Maureen O'Hara. Staying at this lovely cottage made us feel as if we were transported into the film! The property is nestled at the foot of a large hill looking over a valley. A stream runs down below the cottage and a lake is within walking distance. Inside the cottage, the decor is warm and inviting, sometimes making it hard to go exploring the beauty that fills the outside. The owners were more than kind and helpful. A dream come true!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Thatched Cottage in a Scenic Mountain Valley, Connemara, Co. Galway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p529821
Connemara County Galway
5

The "trip of a lifetime" it was!

The "trip of a lifetime" it was!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
If anyone ever goes to Ireland this is the place to stay. For the residence of course. It is charming and welcoming. It feels like home as soon as one opens that wonderful red door. For the peace and serenity certainly. Everything there makes for calm and relaxation. Stress just doesn't have a place there. For the convenience surprisingly so. Everywhere we wanted to go was an easy and delightful drive away. However, more than anything, for the people! The human kind. (We saw none of the magical kind that we know of.) The Burkes are warm, reliable, intelligent and their smiles will stay with us forever. So pleasant. So generous. Go to this place to find the finest Ireland has to offer. Magnificent scenery. Legendary fishing. A picture book village with a truly fine Irish pub. Delicious food. Ringing laughter. And real Irish people who live each day with grace, courage, hope and more than a little wit.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Beautiful Thatched Cottage in a Scenic Mountain Valley, Connemara, Co. Galway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p529821
Connemara County Galway
New Jersey USA
5

Way beyond our expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
My family's experience at Casey's Cottage was truly unforgettable. We visited in June 2010 and were welcomed so warmly by the owners, the Burkes. Our visit was enhanced by lovely weather, but not even Ireland's usual drizzle could detract from the beautiful scenery of the countryside surrounding the cottage. The view from every window in the house is gorgeous! We were impressed with how quaint and rustic the interior of the cottage is -- with its slate floors, stuccoed walls, and a few furnishings from its pre-Famine days. Although there was a restoration done in 2004, apparently, the cottage has an authenticity that lets you hear the echoes of generations. Despite its rustic charm, there wasn't a dust mite to be seen! Every room is immaculate and we were grateful for the conveniences of a washer and dryer, deep bath tub, very warm water and electricity we didn't have to drop money in a meter for. The town itself was equally cozy and welcoming; the food at Burke's Bar was excellent and the view from its patio out back is breathtaking. And in June the days are so long that we were able to enjoy breakfast at the picnic table out front of the cottage and still have a full day to tour the area. There's Connemara National Park, Coole Park, Kylemore Abbey, Lakes Corrib and Mask, bike riding, hiking, Galway, the Aran Islands, Clifden on the coast -- we could go on and on!! This is just a wonderful spot if you enjoy the quiet and quaintness of a real Irish country experience,coupled with the hospitality of genuinely sweet and thoughtful hosts. Just writing about our visit there makes me miss it all the more. Enjoy!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 21/21
business
Beautiful Thatched Cottage in a Scenic Mountain Valley, Connemara, Co. Galway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p529821
Connemara County Galway
5

Super

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Dies ist ein wunderbares Ferienhaus - wir haben eine sehr schöne Zeit verbracht.
Das Haus ist sehr liebevoll restauriert mit roten Details.
Es gibt ein Ehebett unten, ein Ehebett und 2 Einzelbetten oben. Das Haus war pieksauber.
Die Bilder hier geben das Haus sehr gut wieder, ausser, dass wir es noch geräumiger fanden als gedacht.

Es hat einen Gasherd und -ofen, einen grossen Kühlschrank mit Gefrierfach, einen Toaster und eine Mikrowelle. Man hat Torf und Holz für den Kaminofen, Literatur über Irland, sogar irische Cds.
Besonders hervorzuheben ist die Freundlichkeit der Besitzer, die sehr gerne helfen. Wir fanden alles für ein echt irisches Frühstück im Kühlschrank vor - Eier, Toast, Würstchen - supernett!

Die Gegend ist wundervoll - Cong (von wo aus man schöne Spaziergänge machen kann - im Tourist Office Karten mitnehmen), Clifden, jede Menge lohnenswerte Ausflugsziele.
Das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis ist sehr gut.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Thatched Cottage in a Scenic Mountain Valley, Connemara, Co. Galway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p529821
Connemara County Galway
San Giovanni Lupatoto (Verona) Veneto - Italia
5

LA CASA IRLANDESE DESIDERATA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Abbiamo abitato il Casey's Cottage per 4 giorni in 6 persone. Venivamo da 3 giorni passati in un lodge situato nelle vicinanze, più grande e moderno rispetto a questo, dove ci siamo trovati altrettanto bene. Il Casey's Cottage ti fa pensare di vivere nel mondo rurale irlandese certamente con tutte le comodità della vita moderna. E' situato in un luogo tranquillo anche se vicino alla strada e a circa 3 km da Clonbur e una decina da Cong, villaggio dove si trova tutto quello che serve. Da qui abbiamo visitato per bene tutto il Connemara e molto altro! Non abbiamo potuto conoscere il proprietario Gerald ma abbiamo conosciuto i coniugi Gearoid e Collette che abitano nel cottage accanto: persone gradevolissime e sempre disponibili.
Ringraziamo tutti per l'ospitalità con la speranza di poter ritornare e rivederli. Grazie
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4