Massanutten house rental - View of the Sungrazer from a distance
View of the Sungrazer from a distance
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps18
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Massanutten House Rental Photos and Description
House, 7 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 18)

The SunGrazer is a spacious (2005) 3,200 sq ft, 7 bedroom, 4 bath mountain home that sleeps 18.

Located in the Massanutten Four Seasons Resort in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley, the house features 2 forty foot decks with ski slope, stream, and golf course views, 9 ft and cathedral ceilings, 2 family rooms with a 55'HDTV, 2 fireplaces, a garage, two bikes, fusball table and game table. We are not connected to the Massanutten Resort so get no special breaks on Resort amenities. Everything open to the public is available to you includig the Skiing, winter and summer tubing on the ski slopes, GoKart Course, mini-golf, either of the two 18-hole golf courses, fishing, horseback riding, etc. In summer you also have access to the Property Owner's pool at the top of the mountain near our home.

Everything is provided at our home, all you need to bring are your personal items and food. If you plan to use the Water Park, bring some extra towels (we don't want ours taken from the house and the Water Park does not provide towels). Smoking is allowed on decks. You can walk to the golf course or fishing, and the ski slopes are 5 minutes away. The Appalachian Trail runs right by the home and the famous Skyline Drive has an entrance only 20 minutes by car. We cater to families (preferred) and adult-led groups that will respect our home, the privacy of our neighbors, our house rules and the rules of the Massanutten Property Owners Association.

Upstairs - 1 master Queen suite with foldout double sofa, 2 double bunk rooms (sleep 8), kitchen (seats 6), dining room (seats 10), garage, great room with fireplace, 2 bathrooms, deck access. Downstairs- family room with 55' HDTV, master King suite, 1 triple bunk room, one bedroom with twin beds and another with a twin-over-double bunk, great room with fireplace, deck access. All bunks were handmade for us. They were built to accomodate adults. The Driveway is paved with ample parking for 3-5 cars. Additional cars can be parked on the shoulder of the road across from our home. For the disabled or elderly, there is only one step from our driveway into our home.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Three of our four grandchildren live in Harrisonburg. We found ourselves visiting Harrisonburg at least once a month and we always stayed with our son and his family. When their third child arrived five years ago we knew staying with them just wouldn't work. We needed more room as a family especially when our other two children, their spouses, and our fourth granchild came to visit. So we built a home large enough for our frequent family get-togethers.

There are so many things to do and see in the Massanutten area that none of our family ever gets bored. Whether it's hiking in the National Forest that abuts the Resort, or Skyline Drive just a few minutes away, or skiing or tubing in the winter, or using the pools that are available, we all have fun and get a chance to RELAX. The views from our upper deck are spectacular, whether it's the ski slopes in the distance, the golfers on the course below our deck, the sunrise that creeps over our home in the morning, or the sunset that slides below the mountain across the valley. If you want to unwind, this is the place.

23 Reviews of Property 52914 in Massanutten, Virginia

7 Bedrooms - Sleeps 18 - Comfort/Great Views/Fusball
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 23 reviews
business
7 Bedrooms - Sleeps 18 - Comfort/Great Views/Fusball
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52914vb
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
Fairfax, VA
5

Great Christmas Gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We celebrated Christmas with our family (10 adults, 4 children). The house was excellent and met all our needs. The Christmas tree and decorations were an added bonus. There was plenty of space for eating and family gatherings. The owner is very cooperative and pleasant to deal with. We would definitely use this property again.
business
7 Bedrooms - Sleeps 18 - Comfort/Great Views/Fusball
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52914vb
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
Manassas Park, VA
5

Relaxing week in the mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We just returned from our week's vacation at Sungrazer in Massanutten. This house is wonderful. It is very clean with a fully stocked kitchen. The views from the decks are spectacular. There are plenty of things to do at any time of the year. Everything was as advertised and Carol is very easy to work with. We really enjoyed our nice relaxing stay - I only wish I had more time to spend there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
7 Bedrooms - Sleeps 18 - Comfort/Great Views/Fusball
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52914vb
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
5

Weekend Family Get-together

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We just returned from our stay at the Sungrazer. My families 1st trip to Massanutten. Everyone had a fantastic time and are planning on returning again in the spring! The house was clean and well stocked. Everything was as mentioned in the description. The owner Carol was very attentive and answered all my questions. Would definitely rent again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
7 Bedrooms - Sleeps 18 - Comfort/Great Views/Fusball
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52914vb
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
5

Excellent Quality. Great Views. Spacious

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
First off let me say I was suspicious of this whole arrangement. I never heard of homeaway.com and during the process of negotiations with the owner I was still a bit nervous. But once my group of 18 Adults and 2 children got to the house, all fears were alleviated. It was sooooo beautiful. The Masssanutten resort itself is top class. The facilities were immaculate. We couldn't have chosen a better place. The lady was very courteous throughout all the negotiations and patient with me also because I'm personally an overly skeptical person. All in all we had a wonderful visit and we would like to come again next year :)
business
7 Bedrooms - Sleeps 18 - Comfort/Great Views/Fusball
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52914vb
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
VA
5

Ideal location for any event

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our group had a wonderful experience once again at this location. Carol, the owner is wonderful to work with and very prompt in communication. The house is spacious, nicely decorated and clean. Everything we needed was there. The layout is great for encouraging fellowship and interaction with one another. It also works great for team meetings. The deck is great and the view is beautiful. I highly recommend this home to anyone looking for a spacious, clean, comfortable place to get away!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
7 Bedrooms - Sleeps 18 - Comfort/Great Views/Fusball
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52914vb
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
4

Easter Holiday

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We rented this property 1 weeks prior to our arrival. The owner Carol was very nice and easy to work with. There were 7 of the slept there, but during the day time we had friends that visited us. At some point we had up to 13 people in the house. The house is very well laid out, which contributed to our wonderful experience. 7 bedrooms and 4 full bathrooms. lots of room to spread out. The two separate living rooms made it very easy to enjoy space with over grown college age children. They had their space and the adults had our own space. College kids were able to keep late hours downstairs, while adults were able to enjoy the peaceful early mornings. The dinning room table was large and we really enjoyed long meals and lots of wine and conversations. Even the kitchen which appears small in the picture was large enough for us and had plenty of everything to cook for a large group. The view from the upstairs living room and the deck was a very nice bonus. The washer and dryer were top quality. House is close to everything is in a nice quite scenic neighborhood. Our group had a wonderful time.
The only reason I gave the place a 4 star instead of a 5 star it that, the carpet and furniture was worn out in places
business
7 Bedrooms - Sleeps 18 - Comfort/Great Views/Fusball
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52914vb
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
richmond,va
5

reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Foremost, the owner is very pleasant to deal with.. prompt in replying with all my inquiries. The owner even gave me a better deal as compared to other properties in the area.The house is perfect for our family and friends new year's reunion (coming from different states) ..the house is clean, spacious enough for socializing..has more bunk beds that caters more to teens and early teens population.Excellent view of the mountain especially the ski slopes.. I love the deck.. I wish this was summertime so that we could spend more time sitting outside.The location of the property is close to many activities Massanutten Resort offers. There are DVDs the owner provided which is a plus, our teens enjoyed watching them in the evening in the basement. The driveway is sloppy, a little bit of a concern if it's icy/snowy but we did not encounter any problems. The pictures of the rooms is accurate but it would be better if all 7 bedrooms have photos posted. Everyone in the group is happy and satisfied. I would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for an accommodation in the area.
Thank you Carol..
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
7 Bedrooms - Sleeps 18 - Comfort/Great Views/Fusball
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52914vb
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
Wash DC
5

A family holiday.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I rented the sungrazer home for a family Christmas holiday. The house was perfect, it was spacious, clean, had everything that we needed. My family was pleased with my choice for our holiday getaway. We went snow tubing, indoor water park, arcade, it is a really nice place in the winter time. It snowed on Christmas eve which made the trip more special. The house was decorated with really nice holiday things, tree, snowman, the works. We are already planning another trip and would love to stay at the Sungrazer property again !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
7 Bedrooms - Sleeps 18 - Comfort/Great Views/Fusball
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52914vb
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
McGaheysville, VA
5

Perfect place for a staff retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We have used this house for two years in a row for our staff retreat. It is a perfect place for a getaway. This home is clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The view off of the deck is absolutely beautiful! Everything you could need is there. Thanks so much for a wonderful getaway location!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
7 Bedrooms - Sleeps 18 - Comfort/Great Views/Fusball
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52914vb
Massanutten Shenandoah Valley
Arlington, VA
5

A Perfect Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We rented this house so that our daughter's extended family could all join us to celebrate her JMU graduation. In all, 18 adults fit comfortably in the house and shared cocktail hours on the deck and buffet dinners inside. Everyone commented on my brilliance at finding this house on VRBO. The owners, Carol and Martin, happily accommodated several last minute requests, and couldn't have been easier to communicate with during this rental process. Their location is peaceful and lovely, the house well-stocked, and the place is spacious. We hope to return, even without any more graduations from JMU in our future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children