Haarlem apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Haarlem Apartment Rental Photos and Description

21 Reviews of Property 528162 in Haarlem, Netherlands

Holidayhouse, 2 floors, 90m2 in a small city, 15 minutes to North sea beach
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
business
Holidayhouse, 2 floors, 90m2 in a small city, 15 minutes to North sea beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p528162
Haarlem Amsterdam area
Chicago, IL USA
5

Perfect place in beautiful city

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is one of our favorite Homeaway experiences! The house is just as described and spotlessly clean. All of the amenities are top quality and the location is perfect-we could tell that this had been someone's home and we felt immediately comfortable. The owners could not have been nicer and more accommodating-nothing was too much trouble-we genuinely liked them. It was an easy short walk to the center of town and grocery stores. We also loved Haarlem which is a lovely little city with a very interesting history. We did go into Amsterdam twice which was very easy on trains which run frequently. We loved the cathedral and the Almshouse walk-very pretty. Teylers Museum was another highlight with its Rembrandt collection and old fashioned charm.
We recommend this lovely place highly and would stay there again-great experience!!!!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the lovely words you wrote about Haarlem and your stay at our house. We do our best for our guests to feel at home! We hope to welcome you again on one of your trips to Europe.
business
Holidayhouse, 2 floors, 90m2 in a small city, 15 minutes to North sea beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p528162
Haarlem Amsterdam area
5

Wishing to return

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
It is a nice surprise when the reality of a place is even better than the internet pictures!

We stayed a week in this property and it was fabulous. It had everything we needed, it was beautifully clean and we were treated like family. Minke and her husband were so helpful and we used a lot of their great advice.

We would dearly love to come back again.
Owner's Response: Dear Natalie and Family, thanks for your review. We were happy to hear you felt at home in Haarlem. We wish you all the best "down under" in Australia.
business
Holidayhouse, 2 floors, 90m2 in a small city, 15 minutes to North sea beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p528162
Haarlem Amsterdam area
street, Maryland, USA
5

Wonderfull stay in Haarlem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My Husband , myself and our two daughters stayed in this wonderfull house for two weeks. The house is very well equiped with everything you would need. Minke our hostess even supplied us with a handicapped stool for my Husband, she certainly went out of her way for us, she was very helpfull. The house was spotless, very quiet and excellant location. There are many shoppes within walkin distance. We had a great vacation and Minke and her husband made it even more special! Thank's again.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the appartment in Haarlem. We hope our future guests will feel like home in this beautiful city and area as you did. with best regards M and H.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Holidayhouse, 2 floors, 90m2 in a small city, 15 minutes to North sea beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p528162
Haarlem Amsterdam area
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Fabulous place to stay. We have just stayed for six nights at Minke's apartment with another couple. Our flight arrived three hours late and as a result we were late in meeting Minke. Minke surprized us by meeting us at the bus stop. What a treat. I sure can't think of anything else to add that haven't already been said by the other reviewers. Immaculate, all the comforts of home - in fact it felt just like home, fully equipped kitchen, just like the pictures provided and very quiet. Our hostess was very helpful and provided all kinds of information to assist us with our time in Haarlem and Amsterdam. The train trip to Amsterdam is only 15 minutes to Central station and a 30 minute walk from the apartment to the station. We also took the train to Zandvoort which only took 12 minutes. Very safe neighborhood with grocery store just a 10 minute walk. We are all hoping to stay here again on another trip to the Netherlands. Would be a good central location to visit other places besides Amsterdam. Thanks again Minke you made it really special for us.
Owner's Response: Dear guests B and C, thanks for your lovely review. Despite the rain in the Netherlands, we know you enjoyed your stay. We are happy you returned safe to Canada. Hope to meet you another time in Haarlem.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Holidayhouse, 2 floors, 90m2 in a small city, 15 minutes to North sea beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p528162
Haarlem Amsterdam area
5

Cute, cozy home in Haarlem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our family of four stayed in this very comfy home for five days. Minke was there to greet us upon arrival and presented us with a bottle of wine and chocolates. The house is in pristine condition, with modern kitchen and bath. The rooms are all nicely furnished - you will feel right at home. We were particularly delighted with the location, in a quiet area but close proximity to the town center. A nice park is across the street. We walked everywhere, even the train station. On reflection, we are so happy we chose to stay in Haarlem, as it is a lovely, charming town and a quiet respite from busy Amsterdam. We would definitely recommend this house to anyone coming to the area.
Owner's Response: Thanks Melanie for your review. We hope you returned well from your trip to Europe. we hope to see some other time in Holland, especially Haarlem.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Holidayhouse, 2 floors, 90m2 in a small city, 15 minutes to North sea beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p528162
Haarlem Amsterdam area
Sandy, Utah
5

The Perfect Place to Stay in Beautiful Haarlem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My sister, our 81-year old mother, and I stayed in this wonderful home for four nights, and could not have been happier. Minke and Henny are the perfect hosts. Minke met us when we arrived, and had a bottle of wine and box of chocolates waiting for us. She is extremely warm and friendly. The home itself if spotlessly clean, comfortable, modern, and "gezelllig". The kitchen has everything you need. There is a small bathroom on the main level. Upstairs is the large bathroom, with shower and separate bath tub, as well as the washer and dryer. On either side of the bathroom are the bedrooms. One has separate twin beds, and the other has the mattresses pushed together to make a queen size bed. The home is next to a park, and is about a 15 minute walk to the heart of the city.

Haarlem is such a beautiful city. The streets with the shops and cafes are pedestrian-only. One tip for a gorgeous view of the city is to go to the department store V & D, go to the very top to their restaurant "La Place", which is self-service and casual and has very good, very reasonably priced food, and you will have a breathtaking view while having lunch or a cup of coffee. Another tip is to get your groceries at Albert Heijn. They have a sesction with prepared food that are ready-to heat and delicious. After a busy day sightseeing, it's nice to just come home, heat up some dinner, open a bottle of wine, turn on the TV, and relax.

Haarlem is very close by to Amsterdam and, if you are there in the Spring, De Keukenhof (absolutely not to be misssed). While Amsterdam is a wonderful city, it is also very busy and crowded. Haarlem is quieter, and honestly, has more charm.

Minke would check in with us to make sure everything was going well. If we had questions, we would call, or e-mail her. She offered to arrange for a taxi to take us to Schiphol airport, and worked with the taxi company for a set rate. This rate ended up being about 15 euros less than if we had booked the taxi ourselves.

I cannot recommend this home highly enough. We plan to return in two years for another visit to the Netherlands, and this is where we will stay again.
Owner's Response: Dear guests, thank you for your very nice review! We always try to be very helpful to our guests and that they feel happy in Haarlem. Also in summertime and autumn Haarlem is worthwhile visiting!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Holidayhouse, 2 floors, 90m2 in a small city, 15 minutes to North sea beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p528162
Haarlem Amsterdam area
Northampton, England
5

We recommend Haarlem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We returned yesterday from six days in this lovely accommodation in the delightful town of Haarlem. The apartment has been very tastefully decorated, is extremely comfortable and very well equipped with everything you could possibly need for a holiday stay. The friendly owners were extremely helpful, with information before our visit, on our arrival and at the time of our departure. The van Taarlings provide excellent customer service and would be on hand if there were any problems - which in our case, there weren't! We would certainly recommend this lovely 2 bed roomed apartment for a stay in Haarlem. It is about a ten minute walk from the centre of the town, very near an attractive park and within easy reach of bus routes. The railway station is about a 20-25 minute walk away but a bus will take you there quickly and easily.
We chose the dates of our visit to coincide with the annual flower festival which comes into the town of Haarlem on a Saturday evening. The amazing decorated flower floats park up in the centre till Sunday and gave us a further opportunity to admire these great 'works of art'! We also spent a wonderful day at Keukenhof Gardens which is opened for 8 weeks every Spring - the beauty there, and in the nearby bulb fields, is hard to describe. We can well understand why 800,000 visitors make the trip each year.
We loved the windmill village (Zaanse Schans) which was easily accessible by train. It is a historic and typically Dutch location; some of the windmills are open to the public and there are some interesting museums - including 'a clog making museum' (we bought a pair!)
One of the reasons we chose to stay in Haarlem was to visit the Ten Boom house, now a Museum (home of 'The Hiding Place'). The story is amazing, and it was an emotional experience to stand in the spot where the ten Boom family sacrificially helped so many. Well worth a visit.
We did visit Amsterdam, half an hour by train from Haarlem, (the bus does not go into the centre). An early arrival is recommended - there are long queues for the major attractions, (we stood in a queue for well over an hour for a 'Hop-on - Hop-Off' canal trip!) Although there is much to see and much of interest in the capital city, we by far preferred the less-crowded town of Haarlem, its delightful houses and streets, its friendly people and so much more. We recommend it and would not hesitate to recommend a stay in this lovely apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Holidayhouse, 2 floors, 90m2 in a small city, 15 minutes to North sea beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p528162
Haarlem Amsterdam area
Buffalo, New York USA
5

Great Place for a Romantic Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The landlady, Mrs. vanTaarling, greeted us not only with a warm and friendly manner, but also with a welcoming gift of a bottle of wine. When she saw that we were traveling without a car, she even offered to take us to the airport for our return trip to the States.
The apartment is spacious, comfortable and well-equipped with everything you need to feel at home – cable TV, laundry, internet, stove, fridge, cooking utensils, etc. Whatever you need is here. There are also manuals for the various euro gadgets. The manuals are written in Dutch, French and German. Fortunately, my wife and I speak German and French, so we were able to navigate the washer/dryer, microwave, and two coffee machines. If you only know English, however, don’t expect to make much sense of the hieroglyphs. The machines here are very different from the ones we’re used to in the States. Google’s literal word-for-word translator could cause you to start an international incident, so you’re best off just asking Mrs. vanTaarling how to work all the gismos in the apartment. There’s a separate bath and shower. The bathtub is huge – perfect for an evening candle light bath.
Haarlem has all the charm of a 17th century European city without the crowds of unwashed tourists. It is full of quaint boutiques, outdoor cafes, historical architecture, and fantastic local cuisine such as the Indonesian rijst tafel, which is rice with 15 – 20 little dishes each with a distinctive explosion of flavor. The typical western meal has only 3 flavors: meat, starch and veg. After the first taste, your taste buds dull, and you lose the high of the initial flavor. A rijst tafel, in contrast, keeps your taste buds active with small portions of many different flavors. The best rijst tafel in town is at De Lachende Javaan at Frankenstraat 27. Make sure to order your rijst tafel with the local silky smooth beer or “pils.”
Bicycles are an extension of the Dutch soul. There are cyclists and cycle paths everywhere. We rented bikes and biked on this neat bike path through forest and sand dunes from Haarlem to Zandvoort on the coast. Make sure to rent at least 3-speed bikes. You’ll need a few gears to bike over the dunes and into the coastal wind.
All told, our stay in Haarlem at Twijnderslaan 3 was the perfect way to spend our 25th anniversary.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Holidayhouse, 2 floors, 90m2 in a small city, 15 minutes to North sea beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p528162
Haarlem Amsterdam area
5

Our Sping Half-term Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We have just returned to England after spending a week at this property, and we cannot recommend it enough.

As a family consisting of two adults and two children aged 8 and 9, we found that we had everything we needed to make our stay very comfortable.

The property is in walking distance of the centre of Haarlem (20 minutes) and accessible to buses across the city and to the railway station, which opens up travel to Amsterdam and beyond.

Within a 5 minute stroll is a major public park which includes an animal sanctuary and pancake cafe. And in less than 10 minutes you have crossed the canal into the historical area of Haarlem with its museums, churches and restaurants.

As we said to the owner at our departure, we felt very much at home in this house and hope to return some day.

The Johnson Family
(Birmingham, UK)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Holidayhouse, 2 floors, 90m2 in a small city, 15 minutes to North sea beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p528162
Haarlem Amsterdam area
5

Nur zu empfehlen, man fühlt sich wie "Zuhause"

Nur zu empfehlen, man fühlt sich wie "Zuhause"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Wir hatten einen wunderschönen Aufenthalt.
Die schöne Wohnung war in Wirklichkeit noch besser als auf den Fotos und mit wirklich allem ausgestattet was man sich wünscht.
Alles sehr sauber und gepflegt.
Es gibt ein Zimmer mit einem Doppelbett und ein Schlafzimmer mit 2 Einzelbetten.
Man kann mit 4 Personen dieses Haus bewohnen ohne das es zu eng wird.
Bei schönem Wetter kann man auf der großen Terasse entspannt Frühstücken,
was wir sehr genossen haben.
Die Lage des Hauses ist mehr als optimal.
Man ist in 3 min. mit dem Fahrrad in der Innenstadt.
Das Haus grenzt an einen sehr ruhigen Stadtpark, an der Hausvorderseite befindet sich eine wenig befahrene Anliegerstrasse.
Die Fahrräder wurden uns von der sehr netten Minke (Eigentümerin) sogar kostenlos überlassen.
So hatten wir genügend Zeit die schöne Stadt Haarlem mit dem Rad zu erkunden.
Das Auto sollte man wirklich stehen lassen, denn Holland ist ein Fahrradland und man kann alles bestens uns schnellstens mit dem Rad erledigen.
Wir kommen bestimmt wieder... :-)

Liebe Grüße nach Haarlen,
Anja & Martin
Owner's Response: Wir danken für euere Kommentare. Wir sind immer froh wenn Gäste sich bei uns so gut wie zu Hause füllen.
Helpful votes: 1/1