La Jolla house rental - Welcome to Westbourne
Welcome to Westbourne
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
 

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Don't miss the video tour! Click 'Video' Button at top left of this listing!

Note: 7 night minimum,Sat to Sat stay 6/15-9/1, 2 week minimum stay during winter months JAN,FEB

This charming, 'Pottery Barn' style home is located in the heart of La Jolla, three blocks from famous Wind n' Sea Beach and close to village eateries and shops.

Relax, enjoy the hickory-pecan hardwood floors throughout, large, open, sunny living area, and 'Pottery Barn' furnishings sprinkled with early American antiques. This three bedroom, two bath, smoke-free home also features large front and back yards (back fully fenced) in a quiet, serene residential neighborhood. The large patio in back is perfect for barbecues, entertaining, or just relaxing in the sun.

The master suite features a private entrance in back and the home accommodates up to six people in two queen beds and two twins. A perfect and much more economical alternative to more expensive hotels in La Jolla.

La Jolla, 'The Jewel' and long renowned as 'the American Riviera' is unique in its European feel and resort town atmosphere. Bask in the Mediterranean climate, stroll village streets lined with shops, restaurants, and art galleries. Swim at 'The Cove' with marked one-quarter and half mile buoys or at the new heated Olympic size pool just a block away. And,of course, the beach is just down the street!

The University of California, La Jolla also offers day passes to the new RIMAC Sports Center and Canyonview Olympic pool complex. Other attractions on campus include the world famous La Jolla Playhouse, libraries,concerts, and the Scripps Oceanographic Aquarium.

Torry Pines Golf Course lies just to the north of La Jolla on the bluffs overlooking Black's Beach.Avoid the congestion and traffic of Del Mar for the late summer Del Mar Races by staying not too far away in La Jolla.

La Jolla is only 20 minutes from the San Diego International Airport and city center with its multitude of attractions.

Please note:This is a doctor's home in a quiet residential neighborhood of La Jolla.We welcome guests who appreciate the home and surroundings.Families welcome, but children must be well behaved and not disruptive of the neighbors or destructive of the property and furnishings.This house has not been child proofed (cabinets doors,etc). Please inquire if questions.

Minimum 1 week booking required for

June 15-31, July, August, discounts for longer stays.

Keywords: Home,charming,beach,La Jolla,UCSD,Village,Cove,Wind N Sea

More Details
Hide Details

Barb, the onsite property manager, and I have lived here since 1989 when I purchased the property. I am semi retired and travel frequently ,usually gone all summer. I currently practice part time and work part time with a small biotech company based in San Diego. Barb rents the studio located behind the main house and also has a house cleaning and pet sitting service(both available to guests in the house).

Barb Walker purchased this house in 1989

This has been my home since 1989. I have traveled all over the world and would not trade this for anything! La Jolla truly is a gem that fortunately is still somewhat untouched from masses of tourists. The location, weather, and available activities are uncomparable world wide.

Again, La Jolla is unbeatable for location, weather and activities. Summer in La Jolla is like being on the French, Italian, or Spanish Riviera without the crowds!

20 Reviews of Property 51222 in La Jolla, California

The 'Pottery Barn' House at Wind N' Sea Beach
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 20 reviews
business
The 'Pottery Barn' House at Wind N' Sea Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p51222vb
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Great Time in La Jolla

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Came with my wife, 16 month old son and my dad. The house was clean, bright, quiet and the yard was great for our little guy to run around. The house was very quiet so our boy could nap when he needed to. It's not baby-proofed, but we managed without much trouble. The location was excellent with quick access to La Jolla and the interstate. THe manager and her dog were great and very amenable to our requests/inquiries about the best places to go. Highly recommend the Farmer's Market if you are in La Jolla on a Sunday. We will be back for sure!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The 'Pottery Barn' House at Wind N' Sea Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p51222vb
La Jolla San Diego County
Diablo, Ca.
4

Great Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Very nice neighborhood and close to the shops in la Jolla. My family enjoyed the week, in this very comfortable home. There were five adults and a baby and we had plenty of room. This is a real gem.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The 'Pottery Barn' House at Wind N' Sea Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p51222vb
La Jolla San Diego County
1

Hygiene????

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The location was gut. But I couldn't breathe in the master bedroom and bathroom. I could smell moldy! I cleaned up the bathroom by myself but no help. The master bed(semi double?) was too small for two and the mattress was old. I think it should be at least clean and doesn't smell.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you had a problem during your stay. We have never had a similar complaint,in fact,the latest review just posted noted how clean and well maintained the house was.I contacted the cleaners and manager,Barb about this to see if anyone had complained during your stay and she told me no one had contacted her (as instructed in the welcome letter) so she could have checked.This now is 2 months after your arrival.She takes special effort to use bleach in the bathrooms and kitchen to sanitize and all windows in the house are left open for full ventilation and fresh air upon every guest departure.The matress is a standard queen size and does have a plush topper on it which most people have found very comfortable.I do thank you for mentioning however,so that we might follow up with other guests to be sure everyone is made as comfortable as possible.Thank you. Jim
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
The 'Pottery Barn' House at Wind N' Sea Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p51222vb
La Jolla San Diego County
Syracuse, NY
5

Great house, close to everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the "Pottery Barn House." We had two adults and two small kids (4 yrs old) and found the house very spacious, clean, and packed with all needed amenities. The kitchen was well equipped and the eating area comfortable and light, which meant we could cook at home almost every night. The house has a nice size backyard that is completely fenced in, which was great for letting our kids play outside after long days at the theme parks or beach. The house also had beach toys and chairs, which we used several times and appreciated not having to buy. The property is walking distance to Windansea Beach, although we enjoyed swimming at La Jolla Shores better, which is only a short drive. There is a 7-11 convenience store a few houses away, which was great for last minute errands. There is also a nice restaurant (Promiscuous Fork) that was delicious and also only a few houses away. It was easy to walk to Pearl Street for restaurants and shops. We found everything to be only a short drive away (Sea World, Zoo, Legoland) and thought La Jolla, and this house, were the perfect central spot in the area. Overall, this is a great price for a well-equipped, perfect little house centrally located in La Jolla. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Laura-

Thank you so much for the lovely review.You really highlighted all the qualities of the house and what Barb and I strive for in guest experience. We strive to be sure the house is clean,well maintained and stocked with essentials so you just have time to enjoy and relax. If there are any little items that you noticed that need attention or any suggestions on how we might improve the house or your visit,please let myself or Barb know at our personal e-mails. Thank you again so much for taking the time to let us and interested guests know about your stay!

Would love to have you back to stay with us again!

Jim
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The 'Pottery Barn' House at Wind N' Sea Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p51222vb
La Jolla San Diego County
Irvine CA
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this charming and meticulously care for for beach house. With 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms a large fenced yard, large living area, and kitchen with everthing i meeded to prepare home cooked meals,, it was truly a home away from home.

The house is walking distance to the beautiful windandseabeach beach, as well as my favorite new little restaurant The Promiscious Fork!

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the property manager Barbie. She was helpful, warm and gracious.

Thank you! We look forward to returning soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The 'Pottery Barn' House at Wind N' Sea Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p51222vb
La Jolla San Diego County
Chandler, AZ
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My Husband, puppy and 2 sisters rented the Pottery Barn Home just recently over the 4th of July week. Loved the home and Barb the minute we walked in. The pictures shown are exactly as the home is and much better. Barb shared with us local "things to do" as well the local 4th of July parade in La Jolla. We hurried that morning to see the parade and instead of seeing it we were in it!! What a wonderful neighborhood and friendly! It makes me want to start a neighborhood block party of our own. As much as we love home.... we were not ready to leave. We enjoyed dinners at home and our dinner at "Georges at the Cove" for the 4th. We walked to downtown and fireworks directly in front of us. We loved our stay and hated to leave. We hope to return soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The 'Pottery Barn' House at Wind N' Sea Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p51222vb
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Beautiful house in great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My family stayed for a week with our 2 grade school aged kids for our spring break trip. From the moment we walked in, we knew we had made the right choice. The house is extremely clean, has modern appliances and updated bathrooms. Each of the rooms has great light from the windows. The bedrooms have comfortable beds and pillows. We were all so glad to have our own rooms as well as a comfortable, sizable living room to hang out in together. The rooms are all larger than they appear in the photos. We ended up having more meals at home then I thought we would, as it was so comfortable to stay "home". We walked to the beach (windansea) each night to play in the water and watched the sunset.

The neighborhood is quiet with many small and large homes. There is a convenience store and small set of shops/restaurants within a block or two. We also walked to the Children's Cove and downtown La Jolla easily, with the kids. We also drove to the zoo, Coronado, Sea World and the Birch Aquarium with fairly easy access to Hwy 5 from the house. I would highly recommend this house to any of my family or friends.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The 'Pottery Barn' House at Wind N' Sea Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p51222vb
La Jolla San Diego County
3

December 2012 stay in La Jolla

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed in this house late December 2012. Initially we had asked for a discount because only two of us were going to stay here.The request was denied, we were offered the house at full holiday fees. Since we paid full price we had 4 others stay with us. The onsite manager questioned this which we thought was strange. The contract to rent included a clause that we would be responsible to pay for extra water usage. The first and second day of our stay, the manager was washing clothes. We asked how is water usage kept track of if she is doing laundry? She said not to worry we wouldn't be charged extra. We were not. The manager lives on the property, it was unsettling to go into the yard and have her and her dog hanging out.
The house itself was comfortable. It sleeps 6 but in the dining area there is only seating for 4. So having meals together as a family was a challenge.
The area is residential, so it was quiet and close to a grocery store and some restaurants.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review. As owner, I felt I had to follow up on your comments because we usually get 5 Stars everytime with many favorable comments about Barb and Blondie! I would hope everyone would read them to get a feel for the house. Barb works hard to be sure it is a good match for the guests with the house so everyone is happy.Yours was only a 5 night booking,usually we do require minumum 7 nights,but initially since it was only 2 persons,Barb went ahead and made it. The reason you did notice her doing laundry was the the Holiday season was back to back and the sheets,linens,towels,etc had to be ready for the next guest.Again,she thought this would be no problem with only 2 persons staying,but with 6,everything had to be clean and ready to go,since she had to clean for 6 rather than 2 after you left.Barb is fanatic about having the house clean for the next arrival and was nervous she could not have it ready.Barb also respects (and has been reminded!!)the privacy of all our guests in regards to use of the back yard. It has worked both ways,as she reminded me,that she get's knocks early in the morning on her back gate "wondering if Blondie can come out and play?"from children (and adults!) staying in the house.I think this is evident from previous reviews.But there are those times,complete privacy is preferred during your stay and Barb is the first one that wants to be clued in so your wishes can be respected.Again,we want guests to be happy on their vacation,the house is very pleasant and sunny with lot's of windows,a big fenced in back yard and perfect for those that want to enjoy a warm,friendly,relaxed vacation. A plus of having Barb close,is that problems that occasionally occur,can be dealt with immediately.Hopefully,next time you can find a house more matched to your needs and give it 5 Stars,but thank you for the input,as we can all learn from our mistakes!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The 'Pottery Barn' House at Wind N' Sea Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p51222vb
La Jolla San Diego County
Iowa
5

Fabulous Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We rented this wonderful home while in town for our daughter's wedding. It was the perfect home for our celebratory week! The house has a cozy welcoming atmosphere that made us feel right at home. Everything we needed was there. Barb, the property manager was so friendly and helpful; just what we needed during this special time. Our family and friends also enjoyed Blondie, Barb's beautiful dog. This property is highly recommended; we'll definitely return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The 'Pottery Barn' House at Wind N' Sea Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p51222vb
La Jolla San Diego County
Nobleton, Ontario
5

Fabulous home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband, daughter and son in-law stayed in this fabulous home for 1 w eek in October. The home is well equipped with all kitchen supplies, towels etc. it is also located in our favorite part of La Jolla, walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the best beach in the area. The house is open concept and airy in feel, due to a large number of windows. The back garden was very pleasant as well. Barbie was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with...we fell in love with her dog, Blondie. We would definitely rent this home again. It was very comfortable. Felt like a home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1