Alfama apartment rental - Outside of the apartment, it is located on the 2nd floor of the white building
Outside of the apartment, it is located on the 2nd floor of the white building
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Alfama Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Comfortable & clean, fits 2 people, ideal location for exploring the city!

If you are coming to Lisbon, come and stay in the old city center, experiencing a typical Portuguese neighbourhood life. Alfama is considered to be the birth place of Fado, survived 1755's earthquake, which destroyed 2/3 of what the city was then, and still resembles it's original structure. Today it is a traffic restricted living area, just 10 - 15 minutes walking away from Baixa and Praca do Comercio. It is well served by all means of transport, making it the ideal location for visitors to the city. Close to the apartment there are many Portuguese food restaurants, many small shops where to buy food, groceries, fresh produce.

The apartment os located on the 2nd floor of a renovated 18th century restored building, and was renovated 12 years ago. It is composed by bedroom with double bed, livingroom, fully equipped kitchen, bathroom supplied with shower basin. The bedroom has a balconey overlooking the street, and is insulated with doublepane windows. Livingroom with satellite TV

Hello to everyone! :-) This is me, Rui, your potential (hopefully!) host in Lisbon. I love the city where I am lucky to live in, and am always happy to share it with visitors to the city. I always try to make my guest's holidays worthwhile, contributing with (small) suggestions which make (big) differences!

Rui coelho purchased this apartment in 2008

Location is great! And this, not just within the city, but also within Alfama, which is like a small village lost in time, where not much has seemed to change. From the apartment you can reach on foot all other major city districts (Baixa, Bica, Castelo, Graça, Bairro Alto, Chiado, ...). Staying in the city center makes all the difference in experiencing the city.

37 Reviews of Property 509447 in Alfama, Portugal

Portuguese atmosphere apartment , in romantic Alfama, Fado's homeplace
average rating of 4.918919 based on 37 reviews
business
Portuguese atmosphere apartment , in romantic Alfama, Fado's homeplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p509447
+351 966163890
Alfama Lisbon City
4

ALFAMA AL FANTASTIC

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Good location and good value - ample accommodation for two. We recommend this property and we would stay there again. Good restaurants and adequate shops close by. Plenty to see and do around and about - Sintra is a must visit, Cacilhas is worth a trip, and don't miss tram number 28, but there are lots of others places. Rui, the owner, apart from being extremely helpful, is a great guy.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review on the apartament, G & P :-) it was great having you as guests, hope you come back, one day! :-)
business
Portuguese atmosphere apartment , in romantic Alfama, Fado's homeplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p509447
+351 966163890
Alfama Lisbon City
New York
5

Perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Recently we came back from our European vacation. It was our first visit to Lisbon and we loved it!
Our enjoyment has a lot to do with the apartment, it’s location and Rui – very nice and helpful person who is always available if you need him and answers all your questions. He even has his own city guide which was very helpful to us.
The apartment is not big, but it has everything you need and even more than you can expect including tea, coffee, Porto and soap in the shower. The only thing it lacks is Internet connection or WiFi. But it’s not a big problem because there are a couple of Internet café nearby.
And, of course, location! It’s really in the heart of Lisbon, very close to the most important sightseeing and transportation and a lot of Fado places. The atmosphere of this neighborhood is charming, romantic and gives you very warm feelings.
Our first language is Russian but we didn’t have any problem communicating with Rui because he speaks English well and we understood each other perfectly.
We definitely want to visit Lisbon again and, of course, can’t think of staying anywhere else but at this beautiful Alfama apartment. And we very thankful to Rui who contributed a lot in our nice time in Lisbon. Also our thanks to Rui’s friend Raul who helped us on our arrival departure with our luggage and taxi.
Thank you again, Rui!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hello to New York!

This is such a nice review, thank you I & R! It was my pleasure meeting you and having you at S. Miguel, I am happy you enjoyed your stay :-) Hopefully we meet again, if not in Alfama, perhaps on your side of the ocean, who knows! :-)

Thank you once again, I wish you all the best.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Portuguese atmosphere apartment , in romantic Alfama, Fado's homeplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p509447
+351 966163890
Alfama Lisbon City
FR
4

Thanks Rui!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Though the apartment feels smaller than the pictures, we found the apartment well located, clean, well kitted-out and comfortable. Perfect for two people.

Thanks a lot Rui, for all the recommendations, information and guides, we used the Lonely Planets the whole time we were there. The kitchen has all the basics - it was very helpful to have the oil and condiments and tea...made life a lot easier! Also, the bread and fruit Rui brought us on arrival was really sweet and very much appreciated.

Alfama is a lovely district, very small and charming. There are lots of bars and restaurants with character. It's wonderful to explore the labyrinthine streets...

Thanks Rui for your recommendations, help and hospitality!

Jessa (NZ) and Fred (FR)
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Thank you, Jessa & Fred :-) It was my pleasure having you as guests, I am happy you enjoyed it :-)

As for the size of the apartment, the official papers of the apartments state the total of a 55 sqm area, and this together with all corners and storage space, as usual. Your remark was however very useful, and I have added the area of each room to the bottom of the pictures I have in the ad, hoping this will help potential guests having a better idea of the apartment :-)

Thank you, once again :-)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Portuguese atmosphere apartment , in romantic Alfama, Fado's homeplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p509447
+351 966163890
Alfama Lisbon City
Goteborg, Sweden
5

Lovely weeks in Alfama

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
It's like being transferred back in time, viewing out from the balcony. The small alleys climbs the hill in labyrinths. Dogs barking, Fado songs echoes at night. In the morning you cross the street for some fresh bread. If being in Alfama during the Sardine festival you smell the smokey scent of grilled fish from noon til dawn. Time slows down and your legs will get a proper workout if you plan to see some of all the things worth seeing, and it's impossible to grasp it all. Take the bus and the ferry and explore the mighty waves of the Atlantic ocean in Telha da Fonte. The apartment has everything you need for a pleasant stay and if you need anything, we mean anything, just call Rui, who showed out to be the the most kind and forecoming landlord we could have imagined.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jan & Pia,

Such a nice review! It was a pleasure meeting you, you are such the perfect guests :-)

Greetings from Lisboa to Gothemborg :-)

Rui

P.S. Thank you as well for the nice swedish writers I am discovering through you :-)
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Portuguese atmosphere apartment , in romantic Alfama, Fado's homeplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p509447
+351 966163890
Alfama Lisbon City
Schwarzenbek, Deutschland
5

Eine schöne Woche

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Unser Urlaub in der Alfama war wunderbar. Lissabon ist eine ganz besondere Stadt und die Atmosphäre in der Alfama ist einzigartig, vor allem wenn man dort wohnt.

Die Wohnung ist so liebevoll eingerichtet, alles was man braucht ist vorhanden, besser kann es nicht sein.
Wir hätten nicht tauschen mögen mit einem 4-Sterne Hotel.
Die Treppe war am nächsten Morgen auch nicht mehr so furchteinflößend.

Es war so interessant zu erleben, wie dort das Leben in den Gassen abläuft.
Morgens haben Frauen auf ausgebreiteten Decken Kleidung verkauft. Das Ganze war auch nicht zu überhören!
Vom Balkon konnten wir alles hautnah miterleben.

Es ist eine andere Welt, in die man dort eintaucht und das ist so interessant.
Es gibt so viele schöne Aussichtspunkte und unser Vermieter Rui hatte noch so tolle Tipps, die in keinem Reiseführer stehen, das war einfach super!

Wir haben noch nie einen so netten und sympathischen Vermieter gehabt, der so um das Wohl seiner Gäste bemüht ist!

Nochmals vielen Dank, lieber Rui,
Gudrun & Werner
Owner's Response: Ich bedanke mich für Ihre Aufenthalt einmal wieder ... es ist immer schön, so nette Gäste bei der Wohnung in Alfama zu haben, die sich für die Geschichte und Wesenheits Lissabon & Alfama interessieren. Vielen dank, Gudrun & Werner :-)
Helpful votes: 13/17
business
Portuguese atmosphere apartment , in romantic Alfama, Fado's homeplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p509447
+351 966163890
Alfama Lisbon City
5

Wenn man das ursprüngliche Lissabon erleben will,

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
... sollte man unbedingt seinen Urlaub in der Rua de S. Miguel, in der Ferienwohnung von Rui verbringen!

Mitten im bunten Treiben von Alfama liegt die Wohnung, in der alles, was man für das alltägliche Wohlbefinden benötigt, vorhanden ist. Von hier aus haben wir zu Fuß, mit der Metro, mit der Tram, mit dem Zug oder mit der Fähre Lissabon und die Umgebung entdeckt. Abends, wenn wir voll von Eindrücken zurückkehrten, konnten wir vom Balkon aus den Fado-Klängen aus den umliegenden Lokalen lauschen, die uns oft bis in den Schlaf begleiteten.
Dank der wertvollen Tipps, die wir schon vor unserer Ankunft von Rui erhielten, war die Reise streßfrei. Rui holte uns vom verabredeten Treffpunkt ab und begleitete uns zur Wohnung, in der wir mit frischen Obst und Brötchen Willkommen geheißen wurden. Auch während unseres Aufenthaltes versorgte Rui uns mit zahlreichen Ausflugs- und Veranstaltungstipps. Wir verlebten und erlebten so eine fabelhafte Zeit in Lissabon, nicht zuletzt dank Rui.

Eine wunderschöne Stadt, die man nicht verpassen sollte!

Viele Grüße nach Lissabon und an unseren sehr hilfsbereiten, herzlichen Vermieter Rui.

Gisela & Janine
Owner's Response: Hallo Gisela & Janine, was für eine schöne, nette Bewertung, vielen Dank! :-) Es freut mich immer, wenn Gäste es bei São Miguel 10 in Alfama geniessen :-) Und Ihr habt es recht, dort liegt das ursprünliche Lissabon, und mann soll es geniessen, während es da ist, mit seine Gassen und Fado Sängerinnen! :-) Vielen, vielen Dank!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Portuguese atmosphere apartment , in romantic Alfama, Fado's homeplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p509447
+351 966163890
Alfama Lisbon City
5

Super Ferienwohnung in bester Altstadtlage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Die Wohnung liegt ideal in der Altstadt.
Die allermeisten Sehenswürdikeiten sind zu Fuß zu erreichen.
Wenn man morgens am Fenster steht, erklingen schon die Gitarrenklänge aus dem Fado-Restaurant gegenüber und die älteren Altstadtbewohner halten ein Schwätzchen vor der Bäckerei direkt gegenüber.
Wir fanden die Alfama mit ihren urigen Lokalen den schönsten Stadtteil von Lissabon.
Rui, der Vermieter, spricht deutsch und holt einen sogar vom Bus ab, da die Wohnung ohne Ortskenntnisse beim ersten mal schwer zu finden ist.
Rui ist sehr, sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit.
Wir hätten ihn jederzeit bei Problemen anrufen können.

Die Wohnung ist mit allem besückt, was man braucht und in gutem Zustand.
Wir würden sie jederzeit weiterempfehlen.
Wir haben die Woche in Lissabon über Silvester sehr genossen.

Viele Grüße
Maren und Sebastian
Owner's Response: Vielen, vielen Dank für die schöne, nette Bewertung, Maren & Sebastian :-) Wir treffen uns hoffentlich noch Einmal, wer weiss, noch wieder in Alfama!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Portuguese atmosphere apartment , in romantic Alfama, Fado's homeplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p509447
+351 966163890
Alfama Lisbon City
5

Originelle Unterkunft

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Auch uns hat die Woche in Lissabon sehr gefallen. Die Wohnung ist wirklich originell.
Es gibt zwar einen Fernseher, aber viel spannender war es, abends vor dem Schlafengehen aus dem Fenster zu schauen und das Treiben auf den Gassen zu beobachten, Fadoklänge inbegriffen. Lissabon ist eine lebendige Stadt, wo man zu jeder Tageszeit etwas entdecken kann. Um sein leibliches Wohl muss man sich nicht sorgen. Es gibt eine unglaubliche Anzahl von Lokalen für jeden Geschmack und jeder Preisklasse. Zum Essen hat uns vor allem der Vinho Verde gemundet. Die Menschen sind freundlich und offen.
Rui war schon im Vorfeld ein aufmerksamer Gastgeber und hat uns mit allen Informationen versorgt. Im Kühlschrank fanden wir Brot, Butter und Marmelade sowie Früchte für den ersten Hunger vor. Er spricht sehr gut deutsch. Leider hat sich unser Portugiesisch auf wenige Worte und kleine Sätze beschränkt, aber man sollte es ruhig versuchen.
Es lohnt sich wiederzukommen!

Regina und Dieter
Owner's Response: Danke Regina und Dieter ... wenn Sie etwas von dieser Ecke Europas brauchen, bin ich für Sie da :-)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Portuguese atmosphere apartment , in romantic Alfama, Fado's homeplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p509447
+351 966163890
Alfama Lisbon City
5

Originelle Unterkunft

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Auch uns hat die Woche in Lissabon sehr gefallen. Die Wohnung ist wirklich originell.
Es gibt zwar einen Fernseher, aber viel spannender war es, abends vor dem Schlafengehen aus dem Fenster zu schauen und das Treiben auf den Gassen zu beobachten, Fadoklänge inbegriffen. Lissabon ist eine lebendige Stadt, wo man zu jeder Tageszeit etwas entdecken kann. Um sein leibliches Wohl muss man sich nicht sorgen. Es gibt eine unglaubliche Anzahl von Lokalen für jeden Geschmack und jeder Preisklasse. Zum Essen hat uns vor allem der Vinho Verde gemundet. Die Menschen sind freundlich und offen.
In der Alfama leben die meisten Menschen sehr bescheiden. Man sollte Respekt davor haben, wie sie ihr Leben meistern und darüber nachdenken, wie schnell wir manchmal unzufrieden sind.
Rui war schon im Vorfeld ein aufmerksamer Gastgeber und hat uns mit allen Informationen versorgt. Im Kühlschrank fanden wir Brot, Butter und Marmelade sowie Früchte für den ersten Hunger vor. Er spricht sehr gut deutsch. Leider hat sich unser Portugiesisch auf wenige Worte und kleine Sätze beschränkt, aber man sollte es ruhig versuchen.
Es lohnt sich wiederzukommen!

Regina und Dieter
Owner's Response: Vielen Dank für die schöne, nette Bewertung, Regina und Dieter!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Portuguese atmosphere apartment , in romantic Alfama, Fado's homeplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p509447
+351 966163890
Alfama Lisbon City
5

Tolle Woche, nicht zu übertreffen!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
1 Woche Alfama, so erleben wie es sich gehört, nah dran sein am Geschehen und dem dortigem Leben. Wir haben dieses erlebt. Dank der sehr netten kleinen Wohnung von Rui (der auch mehr als sehr nett und überaus hilfsbereit ist). Der Empfang durch Maria (Rui hatte gerade seinen verdienten Urlaub auf den Azoren) war sehr herzlich und sie hat uns am Museo do Fado vom Taxi abgeholt. Nachdem Rui aus dem Urlaub zurück war, stattete er uns einen Willkommensbesuch ab, bei dem wir noch viele nützliche Tipps und Anregungen für den Rest unseres Urlaubes erhielten. Die steile Treppe war zuerst mit Gepäck schon furchterregend aber die zweite Benutzung war dann schon ohne Probleme zu bewältigen. Wir möchten uns noch mal herzlich bei Rui und Maria bedanken für die absolut offene Gastfreundlichkeit und wünschen Ihnen noch weiterhin alles Gute.

Es grüßen mit einem Hamburgischen Hummel Hummel

Beate und Manfred
Owner's Response: Hallo Beate & Manfred, vieln Dank für die schöne Bewertung, es war sehr nett von Ihnen :-) Ich bin froh, dass es Ihnen in Alfama gefallen hat, Sie haben dort unsere letzte Sommertage von diesem Jahr gehabt ... jetzt kommt der herbstlichen Regen :-) Viele Grüsse aus Lissabon!
Helpful votes: 1/1