Vigoux farmhouse rental - Solar Heated Pool and Terrace
Solar Heated Pool and Terrace
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Vigoux Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Heated outdoor swimming pool, 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 8 +2

Le Boué is a charming, rural, 19th Century farmhouse with a heated (solar) outdoor swimming pool (12m x 5m, fenced for security), situated near Argenton-sur-Creuse in Central France, Loire Valley. Accommodation for 8 people. It has many original features; oak beams, stone walls and large fireplace.

Full central heating for winter lets. It has its own lake with a sun deck overlooking the valley and is situated in an idyllic rural setting of 3 acres of unspoilt countryside. It is totally secluded and safe, away from any passing traffic. Argenton town is 10 minutes by car. Enjoy the serenity and beauty of the area and participate in the many leisure activities available for families and couples alike or just relax by the pool and watch the sunset over the lake. Activities available are; bird watching, horse riding, golf, canoeing and cycling. There are private lakes close by for carp fishing and the Brenne National Park with its 1,000 lakes is a must for any fisherman!

Further expeditions to be made: Situated on the edge of three counties you can profit from a diverse range of activities. Poitiers is about an hour away famous for the fantastic cinematography centre of Futuroscope and Limoges an hour further South with its beautiful cathedral and of course plenty of opportunities to purchase gifts of the outstanding Limoges porcelain. It is also an area of great historic interest. The important château at Châteauguillaume is a fifteen minute drive and further afield the Château of Sarzay which is the process of being restored to its full glory. In a wonderful setting with four towers it is well worth a visit. Or visit the valley of frescoes between St. Savin and Saulge.

The Brenne Natural Park and Lac de Chambon, Eguzon: The Brenne Natural Park with its thousand lakes is a vast conservation area dotted with lakes and criss-crossed with bridle-paths. There are organised hikes or you can simply set out on your own with a map. At the Maison de la Brenne, there is an interpretive centre where visitors can learn about the region, its ancient traditions of fish farming and nature conservation, also there is an excellent restaurant there which is very reasonable. A day out to visit the vast lake at Eguzon is a must. The lake stretches for twenty-five kilometres and is the perfect place where you can learn to water-ski, canoe, sail and windsurf. There are several beaches for swimming and restaurants with a wonderful choice of menus.

Châteauroux: For a day out shopping, Châteauroux has all the major supermarkets selling food, clothes, sports gear at Decathlon etc.etc. Not far is the ancient town of Montmorillon on the edge of the Gartempe with its 'Cite de L'Ecrit' - everything to do with the art of the book - there are also many historic churches to visit in this town along with a famous chocolatier Ranno-Metivier. The pretty town of Argenton-Sur-Creuse is well worth a visit and is only ten minutes away. The ancient houses sit on the banks of the river Creuse and the central square has a welcome café where you can sit out and watch the world go by in true French fashion.

Facebook Page: www.facebook.com/TrailFrance

Twitter: www.twitter.com/Trailfrance

More Details
Hide Details

I was born in London then moved to Essex where I grew up and met my husband 25 years ago. He is from Durham and moved to London 26 years ago. We are now a family of 4 and we live in Leigh on sea in Essex.

We were looking for a renovation project in 2001 and bought Le Boué in 2002 and lovingly restored it and developed the land surrounding. A lot of hard work, tantrums and tears were involved but it was worth it. We lived in this house for a few years while we renovated it, preparing it for rental. Our young children attended the local village school. We still visit Le Boué for our family holidays; it holds many happy memories for us.

Laura Jordan purchased this farmhouse in 2002

It is remote, surrounded by beautiful countryside and we saw a fabulous sunset over the valley when we viewed it. We fell in love with the place! It teams with wildlife; there are many birds in the garden (Barn owls, swallows, hoopoes, black redstarts) deer (you have to be up early in the morning to see them!), hares and rabbits hopping around.

It is so accessible, remote and tranquil but you would never believe how close the access from the main motorway route is (the A20 which goes south to Toulouse). As you exit the motorway you weave through the country lanes, deeper and deeper and it's like you fall upon a secret location! No neighbours except for the wildlife! Sitting on the deck overlooking the private fishing lake, watching the sunset in the valley you forget about everything and just relax. Or lounge around Solar Heated pool til dusk. It is totally private and is for the sole use of the party staying at the property. What more could you want for a great 'away-from-it-all' holiday.

15 Reviews of Property 50428 in Vigoux, France

Rural farmhouse with private heated outdoor swimming pool & sun deck
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Rural farmhouse with private heated outdoor swimming pool & sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p50428
+44 (0)1702 831 342
Vigoux Indre
5

A wonderfull place for a family holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a fantastic week at Le Boué - only wish it could have been longer and we would love to do it again sometime soon. Everything was just as we'd hoped for and more... beautiful farmhouse with a stunning garden and lake ...and so quiet and relaxing yet close to a main road. It was just right for our family celebration and the accommodation (9 of us in our party) suited everyone from my 82 yr old mother who needed a downstairs bedroom and bathroom to our two little grand-daughters who thought it was all great...especially the trampoline and pool. The whole house and garden is very well equipped - and the bikes are a plus too. The caretaker, Ray was very helpful a couple of times and his wife, Janice provided a delicious celebratory meal on one of the nights. All in all, a great family holiday to remember - a beautiful place to spend time together..
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that all your needs were met. Thats great news to hear . Especially as it was a 'special' celebratory holiday too!! We are glad our 'team' were able to deliver all that was required - they do share our passion to make things comfortable for our guests. Thank you for a fab review and hope to welcome you back again-don't forget about the loyaly discount!! Laura ;-)
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Rural farmhouse with private heated outdoor swimming pool & sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p50428
+44 (0)1702 831 342
Vigoux Indre
London
5

What a fabulous Christmas at this great house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We were 2 families of 8 arriving at the house hidden from the main road, surrounded by farmland. The house was just great, there were Christmas lights outside as we approached and even a dressed Christmas tree ready! The property was ample for us all and the the space in the living room and dining room was ideal for our Christmas dinner!! What a memorable holiday with the 2 log fires burning and cosy and warm spending our family holiday together. The house was clean and the beds were made and looked welcoming on arrival. There was a good restaurant on the RN20 near Le Grand Chezeau junction (towards Limoges) . ' Relais 21 Sarl' is the name of the restaurant although it didnt look much from outside the food was tremendous, Cous Cous Royale was lovely and such good value, staff were great too. Overall a wonderful holiday had by us all. ;-))
Owner's Response: That's great news, thank you for that. We have spent many Christmases at Le Boué and the house has so much charm that it really makes Christmas special! Glad you had a lovely time. Thank you for looking after our house.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rural farmhouse with private heated outdoor swimming pool & sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p50428
+44 (0)1702 831 342
Vigoux Indre
5

France Ole La La

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Wonderfull House and amenities, pool fantastic well mantained and very clean.
Within reach of places to visit.
Good places to eat,Will go again.
Owner's Response: Oh that's great news...glad it was all to your liking - it is a hidden location but easily accessible - especially for a half way stop if you were continuing on to Spain for example. So pleased you had a good time!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Rural farmhouse with private heated outdoor swimming pool & sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p50428
+44 (0)1702 831 342
Vigoux Indre
5

Wonderful family holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house was absolutely beautiful with everything you could possibly want right at your fingertips.

We spent many a night looking for 'Big Jim' in the lake and spent hours of fun in the incredible pool.
It was like our own private paradise.

Highly recommended and we would live to go back!
Owner's Response: Wow that's great news! The pool really has been a hit! The terrace is great for families especially the shallow pool for the little ones! Sounds like you really had a great time!! Big Jim and Big Daddy have kept many a fisherman amused! Big Daddy was caught a few weeks ago! Glad you enjoyed it!! ;-) Laura and Micky.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Rural farmhouse with private heated outdoor swimming pool & sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p50428
+44 (0)1702 831 342
Vigoux Indre
5

Perfect for a relaxing holiday.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This beautiful property was an ideal base for our family holiday.Our three generations had plenty to enjoy.All of us loved the pool.Grandad and his grandsons 14 and12 played boules and the boys had great fun fishing,especially when they caught the big fish naming him Big Daddy!We did put him back into the pond.Thankyou for sharing you wonderful home with us.
Owner's Response: Oh that's great news to hear- building fabulous family memories!! Big Daddy returns to the deep! Who will be next to catch him! Glad you enjoyed using the fishing rods ;-) thanks for a great review! Laura and Micky.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Rural farmhouse with private heated outdoor swimming pool & sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p50428
+44 (0)1702 831 342
Vigoux Indre
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

What a great fortnight we all had!  

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Dear Laura
 
On arrival at Le Boue, 2 year old Phoebe's first word was "Wow"!  She spoke for all of us.
 
The property is first rate - apart from looking gorgeous, it was comfortable, beautifully maintained, and spotless.  Ray, Janice and Heather are lovely, and deserve top marks for their work - in Janice's case going the extra mile when I (J) needed to see a doctor (an unfortunate habit of mine while on holiday!).  The gardens and pool are a credit to Ray and Janice's work - first class.  Despite advising Heather that all we needed was a "quick wipe" halfway through, we came back later in the day to find it as shiny and clean as when we arrived!
 
We had a wonderful holiday - and even got to see Murray win! - and everyone went home happy and relaxed.  It was a valuable entree into future French holidays for Rob, Vicky, and Phoebe, and brought back happy memories of many earlier French vacances for Rob and Alex. 
 
It also provided the perfect end to our 40th celebrations, so many thanks to you and "Team Le Boue".
 
All best wishes
 
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Rural farmhouse with private heated outdoor swimming pool & sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p50428
+44 (0)1702 831 342
Vigoux Indre
5

Two weeks of heaven at le boue

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What an amazing property. Everything absolutely lived up to our expectations. Not only did the children (3yrs & 5yrs) love the pool, but the garden and all that came with it, including the trampoline, swing and slide. We truly had the most relaxing and enjoyable two weeks....even managing to watch the Olympics in full. Thank you so much for making this perfect for our summer family break.

Highly recommended and hope to go again sometime (soon!!)

Vicky, Phil, Hannah and Charlotte Woods
Owner's Response: That is great news, happy family holiday memories are priceless!!! We are glad all our facilities met your needs and a great way to remember the Olympics London 2012!!
Thank you for your comments and a lovely review!! Laura Jordan, Trailfrance Holiday Let
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Rural farmhouse with private heated outdoor swimming pool & sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p50428
+44 (0)1702 831 342
Vigoux Indre
5

A Wonderful Place to relax in the Sun.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Just spent a fantastic 2 weeks at this beautiful holiday home in the Indre. The location is very peaceful, although still within striking distance of major towns, charming scenery,and the lake d'Eguzon at Chambon.

The house itself is superb, the rooms are all a very good size, and equiped to a high standard, and it was useful to have the wi-fi at our disposal. The grounds are also lovely, plenty of area to play a small game of cricket or bat-and-ball in, with the feature point of the swimming pool that we put to very good use !

The weather for the 2 weeks was incredible, in fact a little too hot during the middle of our stay when it didn't drop far below 40 degrees in the daytime. However, with the pool available and cold beers and bubbly in the fridge this wasn't too much of a problem!

We tried out the Kayaking, bouees (inflatables), water flume and swimming at Chambon all of which were very good and reasonably priced. I'd particularly recommend the kayaking for a couple of hours along the river. The cafe on the beach was also excellent, croque monsieur, chips and cold draught beer essential on a hot day.

Gargilesse and St Benoit were both charming, the drive up from Eguzon to Gargilesse along the banks of the Creuse a particular highlight. And the Rive Droite restaurant in Argenton was excellent and well priced.

For a day trip out head over to the Brenne National Park. The Haute Touche animal park at Azay-Le-Ferron was fantastic, really lovely surroundings, excellent value, and the combination of safari drive followed by the walking circuit in the trees was lovely. It also never feels like there are too many people there. Combine this with a trip to the chateau at Azay afterwards and the lovely gardens there.

Thanks for sharing your home with us, it definitely didn't disappoint !
Owner's Response: Oh I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay...!!! There are so many beautiful places to explore - it's a hidden gem! Eguzon is a fantastic place for the family to have fun. I am glad also that all our amenities were to your liking, we do aim to please, together with our great caretakers who are in partnership with us! The only thing we can't change is the weather!! Thank you for a wonderful review ;-) .
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Rural farmhouse with private heated outdoor swimming pool & sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p50428
+44 (0)1702 831 342
Vigoux Indre
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Rated in the Best - Top 3'!!!!!!

Rated in the Best - Top 3'!!!!!!
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
'I rated your house in the top three of the villas we have stayed in (in no particular order), the grounds were probably the top one. The combination of being five minutes from the A20 yet so far back in the country that you might need light importing, was wonderful, (there was a house about a kilometre however away but you cannot have everything). Other things being equal we expect to rebook next year'

John and Lorraine Haigh - WAKEFIELD UK
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Rural farmhouse with private heated outdoor swimming pool & sun deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p50428
+44 (0)1702 831 342
Vigoux Indre
5

Fantastic Farmhouse - great memories!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We have had the pleasure of staying at Le Boué on several occasions and we have always found the property in very good order, always very clean and well turned out. The heated pool is a bonus, which allows you to chill out for a day after visiting some of the attractions that are in the area.
There is plenty for the children to play on and of course the lake is great fun for a bit of fishing.
We will definitely visit again. Brilliant!

Happy customers : Dave and Bernice
Owner's Response: You are always welcome! You are great guests and you really look after our farmhouse!
Thank you ;-)
Helpful votes: 5/5