Keaau house rental - pic from gate
pic from gate
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Keaau House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bed, 2 Bath

This house sits on a semi-private 1/2 acre lot, fully landscaped with a large yard. 3 bedrooms, master with king size bed, large bath with a shower and a bathtub. 2nd bedroom has a queen size, and the third doubles as a work center with a queen size bed, free WiFi with a fax, printer in room. full kitchen with 6 burner gas stove, dishwasher, double refrigerator, toaster, blender pots pans etc.. Large lanai with gas BBQ, and furniture. Cable TV, all the amenities, great place to stay while you explore the east side of the big island.

semi retired contractor living the dream in Hawaii

David j Anderson sr purchased this house in 2008

Beautifully constructed cedar home in a great location

9 Reviews of Property 492921 in Keaau, Hawaii

Unique Cedar Home in a quiet country setting
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
business
Unique Cedar Home in a quiet country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p492921vb
8089823236
Keaau Puna District
Fanny Bay BC
5

Rural Piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband, and I and two teens stayed here for four days in March. It was blissfully quiet and nestled in the green jungle flora of Hawaii. All the comforts of home, but not commercialized. Very central to everything from Volcano Nat'l Park, to Champagne Ponds, PahoaTown (do not miss!), Hilo, Lava Tree Monumen tand more. Dave and Dianne steered us towards cool things we might otherwise have missed, like the lovely drive down Road #132, and the Farmer/Flea Market at MaKuu! We plan to come back! We'll tell all our friends about you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Cedar Home in a quiet country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p492921vb
8089823236
Keaau Puna District
Where do you live?
5

Spectacular Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband and I stayed at the Cedar House in February. We fell in love with it immediately. It is true the pictures don't do it justice. The house is so much bigger and the yard is really nice. The new appliances were wonderful with the six burner stove, double refrigerator and dishwasher. It had everything you could possibly need. My husband spent hours everyday sitting in the covered lanai. Diane keeps the house absolutely immaculate! The location is perfect for seeing the nearby attractions or exploring the whole island. Dave and Diane were so helpful with all our questions and made us feel so welcome. We plan on staying again. Thank you so much Dave and Diane for sharing your unique and beautiful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Jodi, thank you very much for the review we look forward to seeing you two soon, be well and Mahalo. Diane and Dave
business
Unique Cedar Home in a quiet country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p492921vb
8089823236
Keaau Puna District
North Pole, Alaska
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This is the nicest place I've stayed anywhere on the islands! Quiet, relaxing and away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist crowds. There were only three of us and we had plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the beautiful and unique house. Everything we needed except for our own food was provided. For day trips we ventured as far as Volcano NP and the Botanical Gardens on the other side of Hilo, but there's no lack of things to see or do in the immediate Puna area either.....Kapoho tide pools, Ahalanui Park, Lava Tree SP, the village of Pahoa, Makuu Farmers Market, the drive to Kalapana, etc. When we return to the Big Island we will be staying here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Marty and family thanks for the glowing review hope to see you next year. Might be in Fairbanks this summer will look you up Aloha and mahalo nui loa. Dave and Diane
business
Unique Cedar Home in a quiet country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p492921vb
8089823236
Keaau Puna District
5

Pics do not do it justice!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I are living on the Kona side. When my mother came to visit, we wanted to make our way over to explore Hilo and Puna district and visit a friend of ours who owns an organic ginger farm. We had a great time seeing the sights, going to Uncle Robert's Awa Club night market, walking around Lili'uokalani Park, and the Mango Grove drive was beautiful. I highly recommend not missing the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. All in all though, we could have stayed the entire time sitting on the porch at the cedar house, listening to the quiet noise of nature going on around us and we would not have been disappointed one bit. The house has everything you could possibly need!! I can't even think of anything else to say other than it was perfect for us and Mahalo to Dave and Diane for their hospitality and sharing their little bit of paradise with us. We can't wait to come back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Tim and Sandra, Mahalo for the great review, look forward to seeing you guys for a Gelato in the near future. Come and stay again soon. Mahalo nui loa. Diane and Dave
business
Unique Cedar Home in a quiet country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p492921vb
8089823236
Keaau Puna District
5

A lovely country get away, in a modern surround!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Wonderful setting for a delightful house! Worked very well as a home base as we explored the southern coast of the Big island. Close to snorkeling tide pools and star gazing up the volcano. All the amenities were as advertised and the cool factor of the round house can't be overstated. Dave and Diane were available as needed and offered a peaceful and relaxing home away from home. Kymm & Kirk , Milton, Ont. Canada
Owner's Response: Aloha Kymm and Kirk, mahalo for the great review, half the fun of doing what we do is meeting great people from all over the world. Thank you and come again. Diane and Dave Anderson
business
Unique Cedar Home in a quiet country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p492921vb
8089823236
Keaau Puna District
5

Beautiful place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I stayed here with our 13 year old son and 18 month old toddler. The place is beautiful, with a vaulted ceiling, beautiful kitchen with open concept living, kitchen and dining room. Plenty of space to kick back and relax. My husband will miss drinking his coffee under the covered lanai every morning. The pictures don't do it justice. It is immaculate, new, and spacious. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to explore the east side of the island and Volcano National Park, and I would definitely stay here again. Dave and Dianne were great hosts that were very helpful and eager to please. Thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Aloha Erica thank you for your wonderful review one of the reasons we do this is to meet great people and so far we have had really great people stay at our house you guys are welcome back anytime,thank you and a aloha, hope you're staying warm up there. Mahalo, Diane and Dave
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Unique Cedar Home in a quiet country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p492921vb
8089823236
Keaau Puna District
San Francisco, CA
5

Great House; It Doesn't Get Much Better Than This!

Great House; It Doesn't Get Much Better Than This!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My boyfriend and I spent a week at this house between Christmas and New Year's Day. The house looks and feels new, with new kitchen appliances (six-burner stove and big oven) and nicely decorated bedrooms. The owners were very nice and gave us great directions to the property (helpful because we arrived after dark and the signing in Hawaii can be a little confusing). They were available to answer questions, give us recommendations, and even left the cutest little bananas for us from their tree.

There's a washer and dryer (also new) on the property, available for use and did a great job. The area is quiet and peaceful, and you've never seen so many stars as we did when standing on the lanai (porch).

The only drawbacks were that the area can be a little too quiet (located between Hilo and Pahoa) and a bit far from the nearest grocery store (so if you arrive at night, make sure to bring some breakfast food), and the kitchen utensils/cookware could use a little upgrading--but they certainly did the job.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Cedar Home in a quiet country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p492921vb
8089823236
Keaau Puna District
4

Stay at Puna Cedar Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Very nice neat and clean and comfortable all-wood home. We enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, People with Disabilities
business
Unique Cedar Home in a quiet country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p492921vb
8089823236
Keaau Puna District
5

Beautiful house with rainforest feeling

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The house was very beautiful with kitchen and livingroom in the middle. Three nice bedroom, two functional bathroom and a relaxing laine made it to a perfect place for our family of five persons. The owners Dave and Diane were very helpful and recomended their favourite spots to visit. We will highly recomend it for borg couples and families!
Stort tack Dave och Diane för er gästfrihet!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha and Mahalo for your review Anna we were very pleased to have you as guests and you are welcome back any time. Hope all is well with your family and you had a safe trip back to Sweden. Mahalo nui loa, Dave and Diane